Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

3 Armed merman on a moose in tallaght

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Ever a time, when there isn't something happening in Tallaght.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,307 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

#teamhutch

Gotta go with the underdogs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭BillyBobBS

Why don't the Gardai give a description of the person?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Since this is After Hours, the response which will get the most thanks is obviously "Religion of Peace"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,111 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Three cars hijacked seemingly. Early hours of the morning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Lackey

Latest news says 3 cars hijacked ...2 have been recovered, by a man with an automatic weapon.

No one injured thankfully .....probably best moved to gangland thread alright.

Becuause of their yuman rights. And sure their just good lads buzzin. Need more money for dem facilities.

No idea what point you are attempting to make.

I'm simply saying why not give a description in case someone spots them? Bizarre

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Savage game of GTA. Next he just needs to mow down some prostitutes in the red light district and hijack one of those tanks you always see driving round he streets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,464 ✭✭✭Ultimate Seduction

What's going on. Is it terrorists?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

Oh... this is the "jump to conclusions" thread. OK.

Yes, It's ISIS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,169 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Just the normal Jobstown shenanigans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I don't think ISIS would be stupid enough to take on a heavily armed area like Tallaght

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

One arm or two?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,287 ✭✭✭givyjoe

Rick Shaw wrote: »
    One arm or two?

I think it might be bear arms..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

givyjoe wrote: »
    I think it might be bear arms..

Further proof we need the introduction of a bear tax asap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭SexBobomb

Let the bears pay the bear tax, I pay the Sexbobomb tax !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Jobstown...certain irony in the name...

• Registered Users Posts: 986 ✭✭✭joe stodge

Don't most men in tallaght have arms?

So he car jacked 3 cars and is walking around with a machine gun.. No description of the man available so I assume he's not an Irishman..

• Registered Users Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

So he car jacked 3 cars and is walking around with a machine gun.. No description of the man available so I assume he's not an Irishman..

Or nobody got a good look at him...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,354 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    Why? Because lazy stereotype?

I know a fair few from there. All working hard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,691 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

anyone working in fast food, keep the breakfast menu going

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,729 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

It's actually a woman, Joan Burton. The courts didn't give her the justice she wanted, so she's gone back to administer some street justice.

Joan Justice - like Rambo 5, she's not going to leave anything behind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,345 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

endacl wrote: »

^^^
    Looks like the guy from Easilyoffendedtown just walked in!

Smiley face.

Or nobody got a good look at him...

Pulled 3 people out of there vehicles. Running around Dublin with a ****ing machine gun, someone must of spotted him unless he's wearing a burka..

Just another day then. Oh, and wan't there a thread on this already.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭tupenny

Heard on newstalk "it began as a domestic dispute , then escalated "
    Who knows how reliable that is though

• Registered Users Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭GhostyMcGhost

me_irl wrote: »
    Oh... this is the "jump to conclusions" thread. OK.

Yes, It's ISIS.

Could very well be

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=76240166&postcount=1

Savage game of GTA. Next he just needs to mow down some prostitutes in the red light district and hijack one of those tanks you always see driving round he streets.

And manage to drive it back to a safe house, save game to avoid arrest, AND keep the tank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,887 ✭✭✭SteM

PARlance wrote: »
    ^^^

Smiley face.

Perhaps he's from lazyjokesboremetown?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

The new normal. Mama Merkel has blood on her hands yet again. Where are all the Tallaghtbanis renouncing this atrocity?

And so on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

FCUK YOU, his jokey was funnier :)

Creating an account that's not even spelled correctly for the "joke", 10/10.

(I'm sure you meant Tallaghtban).

No desciption of the man. I think we all know what that means...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭somefeen

tupenny wrote: »
    Heard on newstalk "it began as a domestic dispute , then escalated "
    Who knows how reliable that is though

The aul ball and chain was probably onto him for playing too much GTA.

PARlance wrote: »
    ^^^
    Not really. I live close enough to Jobstown. I work with a lot of young people from the area. As well as the actual difficulties they encounter in getting themselves up and running, they also have to deal with that low level “a sure I was only messing” shyte. Makes things a little more difficult. Not anything anybody would take seriously, but it’s constant and unfair. That’s all I meant.

Not offended at all.

SteM wrote: »
    Perhaps he's from lazyjokesboremetown?

Damn. That would have been a better response...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,325 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Since this is After Hours, the response which will get the most thanks is obviously "Religion of Peace"

But not if I said it :)

endacl wrote: »

http://www.echo.ie/news/article/latest-census-figures-show-unemployment-blackspots-in-tallaght-and-clondalkin
    Jobstown, which is 20km west of Dublin city centre......male unemployment rate is 49.3 per cent.

Source

No lazy stereotype.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,647 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Mod: Mergearoo

Funny enough you are the only one mentioning religion of peace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

Lackey wrote: »
    Latest news says 3 cars hijacked ...2 have been recovered, by a man with an automatic weapon.

No one injured thankfully .....probably best moved to gangland thread alright.

This gun man is doing all the work. He's got two cars back.
    What are the cops doing?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

If they purged all instances of this joke off the boards servers, they could probably retire half the hardware.

If they purged instances of this joke off the boards servers, they could probably retire half the hardware.

Read back a couple of posts, good lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Lackey wrote: »

Some classy journalism there -

"Gardare hunting for an armed man after a series of incidents in Tallaght in Dublin this morning.
    It is understood number of garda units are pursuing a man in the Jobstown area after a number of incidents there this morning.
    He is believed to be armed, and may have been involved in a number of other incidents."

There's an armed man involved in a number of incidents apparentely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,591 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    Ever a time, when there isn't something happening in Tallaght.

Started in Naas smart arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,887 ✭✭✭SteM

Just because it's factually correct doesn’t make it any funnier every single time it's trotted out. It's the level of comment you'd see on thejournal.ie

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Update - 10.36am: Gardaí a series of incidents in Tallaght in Dublin this morning are asking for the public's help in finding a car being driven by an armed man.
    The car is a black Renault Kadjar with a registration number 162 D 8767.
    They have said that the driver of the car is believed to be armed and is described as a white man of a medium build and wearing grey shorts, a green and black Northface jacket and grey and navy runners.

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/latest-gardai-appeal-for-help-to-find-car-being-driven-by-armed-man-after-series-of-incidents-810952.html

• Registered Users Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Dunno what your situation is so this is not necessarily aimed at you for making a joke, but a lot of people on here that look down on areas like that would themselves sink through the cracks if they were brought up somewhere like jobstown.

Even though they think having an education and OK job is somehow always indicative of some inate ability rather than the result of the much higher odds of their formative environment.

Update - 10.36am: Gardaí a series of incidents in Tallaght in Dublin this morning are asking for the public's help in finding a car being driven by an armed man.
    The car is a black Renault Kadjar with a registration number 162 D 8767.
    They have said that the driver of the car is believed to be armed and is described as a white man of a medium build and wearing grey shorts, a green and black Northface jacket and grey and navy runners.

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/latest-gardai-appeal-for-help-to-find-car-being-driven-by-armed-man-after-series-of-incidents-810952.html

He's white??? Close the thread. This is fakenews

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Galadriel

No desciption of the man. I think we all know what that means...

Yeah, guess you were wrong there.