Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

you ever been in a fight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Auldloon

A lot unfortunately. Usually did ok but Ive had a few kickings from groups no serious damage, broken nose a few times. Been stitched after being on the wrong end of a knuckle duster had a few knives pulled on me and a gun once pointed in my direction but not specifically at me. Thankfully that was all 20+ years ago. Did have an incident in recent years a guy swung at me in a nightclub he regretted that pretty quickly and so did I because my missis saw a side to me she'd not seen before or since!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

I shot a man in Ballyjamesduff, just to watch him die.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Neon_Lights

No never hit anyone but I was nutted by someone years ago, wrong place at the wrong time I suppose and when it happened there wasn't much I could do about it.

That's nuts

• Registered Users Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

I was attacked by another woman, well, teenager, when I was in secondary school. She was very short and skinny but aggressive and mentally unstable. She was hanging onto my jumper trying to swing me around (it must have looked hilarious) so I just shook her off like shaking a snappy terrier off your ankle, but she grabbed my hair hard so I took hold of hers , dragged her head back and told her in a quietly psycho voice to eff off or I'd mash her face into the floor. She obliged :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Ipso wrote: »
    I shot a man in Ballyjamesduff, just to watch him die.

Ha!

I hung my head and sighed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

This one time at band camp...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,515 ✭✭✭valoren

U askin bud

U startin

I like 'u askin bud' but I also like 'u startin' but which one is better?

There's only one way to find out......

FIIIIIIIGHT!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,468 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

joe stodge wrote: »
    well have you?
    did you win?

only two ever

one in early primary school with a fella the same name as me - neither of us wanted to but the mob wanted us to so we threw a few shapes and maybe rolled around the floor for a few seconds. Don't think either of us touched the other one.

second was in secondary school - some lads were relentlessly picking on me and during an indoor football match when one of them was trying to trip me up, I turned and smashed his nose. Blood everywhere. Not sure that qualifies as a fight. But that was the end of them annoying me.

not raised a hand since... not really for me

• Registered Users Posts: 4,591 ✭✭✭blue note

Not sure it quite qualifies as a fight, but when I was in college I was involved in an incident. I was sitting on a bench after a DCU ball with a girl I had been kissing. A guy came over to us and started messing for want of a better word. I'm sure I'd have had a better word back then, but I'm a bit older now and just regard that sort of carry on as messing.

So he was pestering and wouldn't leave us alone so I stood up and just said something along the lines of would you ever get lost. It wasn't an aggressive situation at all at this stage, but he was annoying and the girl I was with really didn't like it. But once I stood up your man panicked and sucker punched me in the gob. My natural reaction would still be to try to calm the situation rather than fight, but just in case his friend (who was fairly big) threw his arms around me so I couldn't move. The girl I was with started giving out basically to the guy that punched me and then he started apologising profusely for what he had done. He even offered to give me his student card if I wanted to report him the next day. He really was quite upset over it.

So I'm not sure if it was a fight. But I do know that I definitely won. I lost my virginity later that night to that girl :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,468 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

dd972 wrote: »
    Always get the feeling that people in their 30's or 40's who've never been in a fight must have grown up in Castleknock or Monkstown and be imbued with that middle class confidence created by agency over your life and not being hemmed in by your surroundings, I'm completely passive and unaggressive and never wanted to fight anybody but have had at least 10 fights and feel like a 'pussy' about letting people off the hook when they deserved a clout but didn't get one.

cool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

I've been in a few handbags at dawn but that's about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

I was only ever in one little fight but it scared my mother who made a snap decision to send me to the west coast to live with my wealthy uncle.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 903 ✭✭✭MysticMonk

Milly up!
    Milly up!
    Milly milly milly up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,272 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Always get the feeling that people in their 30's or 40's who've never been in a fight must have grown up in Castleknock or Monkstown and be imbued with that middle class confidence created by agency over your life and not being hemmed in by your surroundings, I'm completely passive and unaggressive and never wanted to fight anybody but have had at least 10 fights and feel like a 'pussy' about letting people off the hook when they deserved a clout but didn't get one.

Perpetrators usually target the weak. They can smell the fear.

What say you Mr. Miagi?
    raw

• Registered Users Posts: 564 ✭✭✭Pivot Eoin

Always get the feeling that people in their 30's or 40's who've never been in a fight must have grown up in Castleknock or Monkstown.

So me the posh bastard that I am went to CBC Monkstown. I was in a number of fights in that school alone not to brag. I also went to Hollypark in Foxrock and was in another number of fights. Ive had 1 fight in Tenerife, 1 in Hersonnisos, 1 in Prague. Probably about 15 overall. I would say I won 12, drew 1 and lost 2 viciously (Getting KOd both times). None since I was 21.

Major reason for most of these is that I was the big 6'3" guy in a group full of cheeky ****ers. So I was generally pitted against others. Anyway, felt dreadful after all, and made amends with all of people whom I knew who I was fighting.

But how about you chuck your stereotypes out the window, fights and tough times in general are sparked out of circumstance, not Geographical location.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,821 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

A good few growing up I was quite small but never backed down and have a hatred for bullies so many fight where sticking up for friends from older lads, ,
    I lost a few won a few but never got beat up to bad but never beat someone up badly either,
    I'd older brother's who where into various combat sports so was used to getting a bit of a hiding at home way worse than any fight gave me,
    Never got in a fight after I was about 23 , and wouldn't dream of it now 15 years later,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭Ineedaname

Wouldn't call it a fight as such but a few years ago myself and a friend were on a night out. Some fella tried to pick a fight with me spouting some rubbish about me feeling up his girlfriend. He was politely told to fcuk off.

Few minutes later himself and a few friends tried to jump us from behind. What they failed to realize was that my friend was a boxer and a solid right hook brought the "fight" came to a very sudden conclusion. Your man didn't move for a good few seconds after and I have to confess I was never in my life more relieved to see someone stir.

About a year after we bumped into the same fella trying to pick another fight apparently unaware of who we were. He got the fright of his life when one of his friends informed him who he was trying to mess with. You could actually see the colour drain from his face.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Yes in primary school.

A boy was asking for a fight, he wanted a boxing match, I didn't want to but he persisted, so I boxed him on the nose, his nose started bleeding and it was over.
    He never asked again...

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 77,653 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Moved to a new primary school about the time of my 11th birthday. Was nearly 5 foot 6" tall and some of the thugs from the secondary school heard about this "big" boy and came looking for me. I refused to get involved.

When I got to secondary school the following year I was promptly christened "Big Boy". 6' 2" and I stopped growing aged 12. I was the one who stopped fights at school. Had this ability to put my hand on someone's forehead and hold them at bay while they calmed down a bit.

Did try and start a fight myself when a kid 2 years older than me threw a nail at my sister when she was on a bike. His nose started bleeding fairly quickly and he quickly ran back in his house. Later on he said he just went in for a tissue and then came out again looking for me (I'd gone back home myself at that stage)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,661 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I only remember one instance of trying to "fight" another lad in school. I reckon I would have been about nine or ten. I didn't like this guy because I thought he had a nasty sense of humour and seemed arrogant - even though I didn't know of arrogance then - but I had a sense that he was probably a coward, or a "pussy", as I would have thought at the time, and I wanted an opportunity to shut him up to arise. One day in the school line he must have said something or did something, I can't remember, and before I fully knew what was happening we were shaping up to fight. I remember swinging wildly and connecting with nothing; he constantly backed away and seemed more interested in half-heartedly trying to claw at me than actually throwing a fist: it was obvious within milliseconds that neither of us had a clue how to fight: score draw. Even if it was, ultimately, quite pathetic, I'm still sort of glad to this day that I at least tried to knock that dickheads block off. I met him recently, I wonder does he have any memories of the incident - I suspect he does, you know. He's still a dickhead.

I fought my neighbor and his friend when I was about thirteen and they were about twelve. It was a bit of horseplay - messing - at first, but it quickly got out of hand and there was a lot of punching and kicking with feeling going on, quite dangerous. Vivid memories how difficult it was to fight two people at once and how much it hurt to get kicked repeatedly. I remember being shocked at the obvious relish with which my neighbor's friend dished out violence - he loved it. Scary really, wonder what kid is doing now - finance I bet.

Then no fights for years and years... until the arrival of the late teenage years and alcohol and socialising. I really don't like physical confrontation - I'm not cut out for it. I'm definitely not the biggest guy, so I never would fancy my chances against the type of person who would want to fight. Apart from that one instance in the mists of time, I've never instigated any scrap, but I was definitely caught up in a few - defending friends and the like in those years when been out on the town meant machismo was sky-high, while sobriety was dirt-low; that kind of nonsense was bound to happen occasionally. My memories of those type of occasions are quite hazy - uhhh I'm getting punched...should probably do something about it...I would have expected more pain...I must be really drunk...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,305 ✭✭✭✭branie2

With a yank who's married to my sister, as he claimed land that I wanted was his birth place. We've made up, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,661 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

branie2 wrote: »
    With a yank who's married to my sister, as he claimed land that I wanted was his birth place. We've made up, though.

You did shout "go home Yank!" I hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,272 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Arghus wrote: »
    You did shout "go home Yank!" I hope.

You're The Bull, you're The Bull, you're The Bull

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭NinetyTwoTeam

Yeah, loads. I used to go to school and tell anyone who messed about that I came here to kick ass and chew bubblegum... And my Mammy says I'm not allowed bubblegum.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

I've been absolutely battered a lot of times, unfortunately I never really got the knack of fighting back. I'm quite a big, broad shouldered bloke so people seem to think that translates into being able to handle myself, but I'm not a good fighter. Good at taking knocks though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,288 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Constantly in school and most weekends from about 15 to 18. Most would be over in about 30 seconds though. I've gotten belts off bottles and golf clubs.

Not gotten into a fight in years now and to be honest I wouldn't like to, you'll get stabbed these days by some prick who can't take a few digs.

I compete in kickboxing, bjj and mma now so plenty of hard sparring every week and fights n0w and again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,409 ✭✭✭corner of hells

I've been absolutely battered a lot of times, unfortunately I never really got the knack of fighting back. I'm quite a big, broad shouldered bloke so people seem to think that translates into being able to handle myself, but I'm not a good fighter. Good at taking knocks though.

I'm after laughing out loud at the honesty of your post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,676 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I can never understand lads that try to scrap with bouncers, I've seen big guys who look like they could handle themselves get floored when they took them on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 511 ✭✭✭TheBiz

I remember going to a teenage disco a couple of years ago (.. when I was a teen) and we got off the bus to relieve ourselves (p1ssstop)
    Some guy was there and he walked towards me, I sort of waved my hand as I swaggered away from the bus, his drunk self took it as an offence.
    So he blindsided me and landed a punch straight onto my jaw (left handed, was to my right and hit me with a left hook).
    I stubbled a bit and fecked him out of it onto the steps of the bus giving out basically just saying 'what was that for', everyone broke it up and we went back onto the bus.
    Everyone who saw it thought it I was going to drop like a sack of spuds.. thinking back I'm surprised I didn't either.
    Everyone sort of took it I had some training because I managed to stay up after a blindsided box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,305 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Was your jaw OK afterwards?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,742 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Ineedaname wrote: »
    Wouldn't call it a fight as such but a few years ago myself and a friend were on a night out. Some fella tried to pick a fight with me spouting some rubbish about me feeling up his girlfriend. He was politely told to fcuk off.

Few minutes later himself and a few friends tried to jump us from behind. What they failed to realize was that my friend was a boxer and a solid right hook brought the "fight" came to a very sudden conclusion. Your man didn't move for a good few seconds after and I have to confess I was never in my life more relieved to see someone stir.

About a year after we bumped into the same fella trying to pick another fight apparently unaware of who we were. He got the fright of his life when one of his friends informed him who he was trying to mess with. You could actually see the colour drain from his face.

The saddest part of that story is the fact that the scumbag never learned anything from picking on the wrong guy ie your mate, and continued his pathetic crusade against others. People like that who end up getting seriously hurt or killed I have no sympathy for, If you go looking for trouble then you need to deal with the consequences.

Ive never been in a physical fight in my adult life although I have been close once or twice but really the majority of times its safer and smarter to walk away. I'm a tall person so I find that people generally don't start fights with me even though I know being tall means nothing as regards you ability to fight, just as being small doesn't mean you cant defend yourself. It gets more embarrassing to be in a fight the older you get anyway.

I did fight some guy who was picking on me back in school a quick few slaps and that sorted it out. I resent people thinking that not being in a fight means you are posher or better off than others. Not the case at all. Some people hate fights others go out looking for them, background really isn't a huge influence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 511 ✭✭✭TheBiz

branie2 wrote: »
    Was your jaw OK afterwards?

Yes for the most part.
    The day after it would sting at random when i was chewing.. I had braces at the time so I'm surprised my teeth stayed put.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Maybe you weren't wound up or angry enough at the time, I sometimes dwell on things where I've been bullied but didn't react at the time but would want to rip the c**ts head off thinking about the incident whilst having a bad day weeks later, but alas it's of no use, just another bad memory to stack on all the others.

Have been watching self defence and martial arts videos lately and they're good at explaining that fighting is something that should be regarded as a science, these are not mythical 'hardmen' that lots of B.S is talked about but people who know their stuff, lots of things like headlocks and choke holds are surprisingly easy to combat and get out of, an unschooled person might panic if they found themselves in one.

Unfortunately been in more fights than I would like to have been. Thankfully so far they have all gone my way.

Great friends with one of them now. It was the brother of a girlfriend who basically thought I was sexually exploiting her or some such. He attacked when he saw me be dismounting his bike while in the process of ramming it into me - while following through with fists. It did not end well for him thankfully. Could have been a lot worse for me if his aim with the bike had been direct rather than glancing.

The scariest one was outside a gym. Never been a fan of gyms myself but a friend took me to one to check it out - show me the machines and so forth. Half an hour into the place and one of the female clientele in no uncertain terms came up to me and suggested finding a hotel room together.

Turned her down and thought little more of it until some tight vested muscle he-man wannabe took offence to me - in his head - using the gym as a cruising joint for girls. After failing to diffuse the situation with words - it was abundantly clear he came into the confrontation with the agenda to end it violently - I got to put some of my combat training into real world use outside. Thankfully - again - it did not end well for him but I genuinely thought he was going to make paste of me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭Edward M

Been in many scraps as a school goer, playing Gaa and in other sporting contests.
    I haven't been in a violent fight since I was about 16, but I'm married now for thirty yrs and have been in many with herself since that, I haven't won one of them:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

RoboRat wrote: »
    I spar 3 times a week, does that count?

Yeah I usually get a breakfast roll 3 time a week neself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

The scariest one was outside a gym. Never been a fan of gyms myself but a friend took me to one to check it out - show me the machines and so forth. Half an hour into the place and one of the female clientele in no uncertain terms came up to me and suggested finding a hotel room together. .

Said the bloke at the bar over a pint...:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭Stacksofwacks

No never been in a physical fight and never plan to. I have a rule of thumb, especially when I'm out of night etc and some bozo looks for aggro- WALK AWAY. You might look like a coward but save yourself lot of potential hassle down the line becuase you never know what the outcome will be.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 42 Funny how?

Yea unfortunaly. Six in total between 12 and 23
    I used to get picked on a bit. Won all six. I think it was to do with people thought I was quiet, very skinny and dunno why I was picked on so much. Only thing is I'm able to fight which isn't something to be proud off. Wish none of them happened bar the lad with the knife who deserved it.

Fight one: Age 12: Neighbour hit me a slap on the way home. Didn't retalite. Lucky enough it was the Jaw. Next week I seen him and he tried again. I bet the absolute ****e out of him. Friendly with him now. Just a young lad trying to show off.

Fight two: Age 12 - This lads cousin tried then a few weeks later to jump me. Bet the crap out of him too. Friendly with him now.

Fight three: Age 16 After soccer training this lad (little **** who everyone hated, wasn't from our area) waited for the managers to leave and then started shoving me. Friends were going to break it up but I bet the crap out of him when he tried to throw me a head butt

Fight four: At age 22 I was walking home from the pub and a guy held a knife to my throat. Luckily enough the Stanley blade fell out of the knife and bet the crap out of him. Friendly with this lad as well but was off his head on drugs and drink.

Fight five- Age 14- A friends turned on me after he started hanging out with new group of friend's. Again showing off. Bet the crap out of him and choked him out. We are actually best friends today.

Fight six: Age 15. Getting picked on by a guy in my class and kept giving me abuse and kept kicking up the arse and making fun of me. I retaliated by hitting him a punch and throwing him over table's. He wanted a fight afree school. Bet the crap out of him.

Not proud of any of this and my area isn't rough. I guess I was just the kid that everyone thought they could bully.

If at all possible walk away but I couldn't in my situations. Would have been bet alive or getting punches to the back of the head which is dangerous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

Funny how? wrote: »
    I used to get picked on a bit. Won all six. I think it was to do with people thought I was quiet, very skinny and dunno why I was picked on so much. Only thing is I'm able to fight which isn't something to be proud off. Wish none of them happened bar the lad with the knife who deserved it.

Fight one: Age 12: Neighbour hit me a slap on the way home. Didn't retalite. Lucky enough it was the Jaw. Next week I seen him and he tried again. I bet the absolute ****e out of him. Friendly with him now. Just a young lad trying to show off.

Fight two: Age 12 - This lads cousin tried then a few weeks later to jump me. Bet the crap out of him too. Friendly with him now.

Fight three: Age 16 After soccer training this lad (little **** who everyone hated, wasn't from our area) waited for the managers to leave and then started shoving me. Friends were going to break it up but I bet the crap out of him when he tried to throw me a head butt

Fight four: At age 22 I was walking home from the pub and a guy held a knife to my throat. Luckily enough the Stanley blade fell out of the knife and bet the crap out of him. Friendly with this lad as well but was off his head on drugs and drink.

Fight five- Age 14- A friends turned on me after he started hanging out with new group of friend's. Again showing off. Bet the crap out of him and choked him out. We are actually best friends today.

Fight six: Age 15. Getting picked on by a guy in my class and kept giving me abuse and kept kicking up the arse and making fun of me. I retaliated by hitting him a punch and throwing him over table's. He wanted a fight afree school. Bet the crap out of him.

Not proud of any of this and my area isn't rough. I guess I was just the kid that everyone thought they could bully.

If at all possible walk away but I couldn't in my situations. Would have been bet alive or getting punches to the back of the head which is dangerous.

Are all these lads friends with you now because you've shown them how to outfox Paddy Power and Ladbrookes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

Funny how? wrote: »

Are all these lads friends with you now because you've shown them how to outfox Paddy Power and Ladbrookes?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,902 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Always get the feeling that people in their 30's or 40's who've never been in a fight must have grown up in Castleknock or Monkstown and be imbued with that middle class confidence created by agency over your life and not being hemmed in by your surroundings.

Hmm...bit of reverse snobbery there, a bit of a crass generalisation?

I'm 42, grew up in Castleknock and was in a quite a few scraps in my early teens, largely because I was being bullied and had to defend myself.

Last memorable fight I was involved in was when I was about 20 in the nightclub Hollywood Nights (anyone here remember that place?) and one of my best mates got involved in a big scrap over his new GF (her ex had it out with him). This took place in the car park outside the club, and while my mate and this guy were at fisticuffs his scumbag mate threw a punch at me - I tactfully ducked and his fist went slamming into a concrete wall - ouch! I scarpered along with my mate who successfully floored the jealous ex.

Oh yeah, there was also the incident where a mate (with a very aggro streak) glassed a guy with a big ashtray he accused of taking his seat in a city centre night club, circa 1998. I tried to restrain him but to no avail. Bouncers chucked us all out.

But then I'm just a delicate wallflower from Castleknock, what would I know about fights? I'm not a "proper hard man" like some on this thread claim to be. ;)

One of the saddest things I ever saw, when my drinking was really bad, was seeing two overweight 50 something drunk guys trying to scrap in the beer garden of a dive pub.

What is it with us Irish? Drink and fights... :( Nothing to be proud of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Have you ever been in a proper, physical fight? If so how did you come out of it? If not, do you feel you're missing out?

I was in a fair few punching matches in my glorious days on the minor team but not sure if that counts. Outside of that I've been "jumped" twice, both times I threw a few punches and once a nice kick to the knee before engaging a tactical withdrawal. It's such a weird sensation, your adrenaline shots sky high and your senses are all over the place.

No hard man stories please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,158 ✭✭✭frag420

Oi,what did you just say to me...??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Your ma

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭kg703

When I was 14 a gang of young wans kicked lumps out of me. Was with my group of friends (about 10 male and female around me) and not one of them helped so I got kicked a lot in the face while on the ground. Hardly a fight.

When I and a very good friend (me female, him male) got really drunk one night we decided to go into the front garden (bottom floor apt) and have a fist fight. I have no idea why, but we thought this would be a brilliant idea. He just said dont hit him in the face cause he had to go to work I think the next morning. My then boyfriend (now husband and best friend of said male) rolled his eyes, told us we were idiots and went to bed. We had a good scrap, I of course, accidentally hit him in the face and we kicked lumps out of each other. Someone even stopped their car to ask was everything alright, we smiled and waved at them.

Was covered in bruises the next day. The things you get yourself into at 21 :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,930 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

everyone things i was cause I have a black eye from Sunday night but I wasant in a fight I got very drunk and slipped at home hit my eye off the corner of a tv table

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Loads. First proper serious brawl was when I was around fourteen and a group of Travellers tried to intimidate money off me and my buddies. I remember the lad I ended up squaring off against was the same as me but looked like a fully grown man. Got one slap in and then was absolutely battered.

Had a series of scuffles growing up in my early to midteens, and more then when I started going to pubs at 17 and encountering local gobsh*tes. Boxed in the amateurs and later had two unlicensed "semipro" fights in London, winning one handily and losing the other narrowly because I was unfit as f*ck. Got paid around £800 for each bout cos I could flog loads of tickets. I can honestly say the hardest and toughest fights I've ever had were in the ring where people know what they're doing.

Worked as a doorman in Cork City for three years and was involved in umpteen scrapes, vast majority being ok as you'd only take glancing blows trying to separate people but also was seriously attacked a number of times. I honestly couldn't put a figure on it.

Haven't been in any real fights between 25-30 but did get bottled in the face by a Jamaican on St Patrick's Day five years ago (scar on my forehead) and also had a fight with right-wing football fans at the grounds of the left wing non-league team I support. On the whole, fighting is stupid and drink is definitely the divil. I now do my best to avoid any such situations and venues where that sort of vibe can go on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Far too many for my liking when I was younger. I grew out of it, though.

I imagine if someone started on me nowadays, I'd just walk away. It's not worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Been jumped once or twice, wouldn't call them fights as I didn't get a proper chance to retaliate.

Fist fight where punches were actually exchanged? Thankfully not since school. Always better to walk away I find