Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ulster v Leinster Build up thread

• Registered Users Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

PhoneMain wrote:
    I definitely don't look like a scrum half......

Neither does Paul Marshall but they let him go to all the games.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,670 ✭✭✭✭MJohnston

Buer wrote: »
    Neither does Paul Marshall but they let him go to all the games.

In fairness, the only way that Paul Marshall resembles a scrum half is in looking like one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Leinster to win 30-0 after the Ulster side don't emerge from the changing rooms because they're terrified of the absolute dominance.

How come we only manage to score 30 points despite no opposition?

.ak wrote: »

That's what happens when you've two Kearney's in your backline.

I hate myself for typing that but you left the door so wide open.

• Administrators Posts: 54,184 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

That's what happens when you've two Kearney's in your backline.

I hate myself for typing that but you left the door so wide open.

This is funny because I was actually going to post the exact same thing.

I did post it to make awec cheer up a bit in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

.ak wrote: »

30-0 is a walkover!

Although it actually reminds me of a true story that happened in the 4th test last summer when Ireland played South Africa secretly in Tokyo. This wasn’t a very well known match so you probably missed it.

The Irish lads had been having a tough season and they really weren’t feeling like playing. They realised that South Africa are truly terrible rugby team and so they thought they’d prefer to go on the piss in Tokyo, so they turned to their talisman James Ryan and Luke McGrath said

“hey James, this is all a bit too easy for you so I think what we should do is let you play the Boks on your own while we go for a few drinks.”

Ryan agreed so they whole squad went out for a few drinks in a pub in Tokyo. Being Tokyo the game wasn’t televised, so the lads had to keep track of the game via teletext. They had a few drinks and got the bar man to check the score, it was 7-0 to Ireland after 15 minutes, Ryan had scored under the posts. They had a few sakes in his honour and they lost track of time.

After a few hours Luke McGrath remembered that poor Ryan was still at the stadium. The lads checked on the score and the game had finished 7-7. The lads were ecstatic that one man on his own had managed to draw with the Boks, even if they’re terrible at rugby. So they went to the stadium with a few drinks for him. They found him in the dressing room feeling miserable for himself.

“What’s up James, how could you be feeling bad, you just drew an international rugby match on your own!” said Luke.

“Ah yeah,” said Ryan, “but I got sent off after 20 minutes”

30-0 is a walkover!

Interesting. I didn't know you got that PD.

• Registered Users Posts: 573 ✭✭✭Hastentoadd

very hard to see anything other than a Leinster rout in this one! Yet paddypower would say otherwise?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

very hard to see anything other than a Leinster rout in this one! Yet paddypower would say otherwise?

That you reggie? ? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,880 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Andy Ward saying the ulster lads need to give 110%. Fcuk that...they need to give 118.3%.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

Leinster by 12

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,728 ✭✭✭Former Former

Lights out for Reid.

Nice to see the two captains getting 'friendly' early on

Jesus early days but Cairns is a crisp passer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,353 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Bowe looked so slow chasing that ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,303 ✭✭✭ongarite

Reid off for HIA, Lamour on.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,824 ✭✭✭Jump_In_Jack

Rodney Ah You looks useful, if he could be consistently this good surely he's worth calling into the Ireland camp again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,914 ✭✭✭Rigor Mortis

Oh Jordan...

Commentators are absolutely useless. I don't mind their bias but they're just not competent.

• Administrators Posts: 54,184 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Commentators are absolutely useless. I don't mind their bias but they're just not competent.

It’s on sky too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,076 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

Hmmm. Ulster look lively. Nice kick for the 3.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,824 ✭✭✭Jump_In_Jack

Clegg wrote: »
    Bowe looked so slow chasing that ball.

I keep hearing Tommy Slow whenever the commentator says his name!

McGrath is doing a lot of work

Byrnes ball....Stockdale says no

• Closed Accounts Posts: 553 ✭✭✭Elvisjuice

class by stockdale

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,353 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Reckon James Ryan's game is over.

Took a knock to the head then fell down twice when trying to get up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Stockdale was like a spoilt child holding on to that crossfield. Super defending from him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

Jeez, Leinster butchered that

• Registered Users Posts: 4,230 ✭✭✭A-Train

Brainless kick there

Ah so nearly wonderful with the cross kick.

Ryan off......pheck.

what was gibson-park thinking. that said stockdale continues to impress

Reid staying off......Jezuz what a start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

Weh-haaaaaaaaaaaaay !
    The Schmidtster!

Dire from Leinster not to finish that. Really poor composure.

JGP with the wrong decision to kick also.

Great contest between Byrne and Stockdale.

Ferris is never going to have a career outside of Ulster if he can't find some ability to detach himself from his Ulster career. It's disappointing because he makes plenty of good observations otherwise.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭clsmooth

Great play by Tracey

Interesting fact....Jim Neilly actually commentated on the very first interpro derby 140 years ago.

byrne aint going well

Stockdale is immense....that's twice he's beaten Byrne inthe air.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

And a star is born !

graet try

• Registered Users Posts: 4,230 ✭✭✭A-Train

Great try get in

Larmour! Incredible.

Larmour......you treasure!

Or La-Moooouuuuurrr as Sky say. Fabulous try!

Ulster with the "tackling optional" ploy tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,303 ✭✭✭ongarite

WOW

Don't think he grounded that...

Edit: nah grand, fabulous try.

Oh Jordan.....

Don't think he grounded that...

TMO says it's fine.....so goodeeeee!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

Beautiful from Larmour. He's gonna be a star