Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Assistance needed in compiling assignment briefs

Options
  • 01-11-2017 2:17pm
    Registered Users Posts: 6

Hi I am new to teaching and have landed a great role teaching adults in a PLC. My speciality is Psychology but I’ve worked in Social Care settings too. As much as I love the post I am concerned about my lack of training and guidelines when reading and interpreting the module Descriptors. I am to now outline assignment briefs for the following subjects and would welcome any support or direction on finding a sample or help in compiling them...Boundary Management (L6) Disability Awareness (L6) and Mental Health Awareness (L6). Thank you

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

There are a number of ways you could approach this.

I would suggest you get hold of the assessment breakdown - is it all Continuous Assessment, or is there a final exam? If so, what percentage for each?

Say it's a 40% CA and 60% exam breakdown, when do these happen? The exam is most probably at the end of the term/semester/year, so that leaves you 40% during the term/semester/year. You don't want one big high-risk assessment during the semester, so can you break that down into 2 x 20%?

Now that you have the weighting, you need to figure out what kind of assessment the 2 x 20% might take. One could be an essay/report, the other might be broken down further into 2 x 10% multi-choice questions (in my opinion, anything more than 10% for MCQ is bad practice. But that's just my opinion).