Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

People who have lived abroad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

I'm from Wales myself, moved over here in 1998 .

I was Invited to our class reunion last year, as soon as I arrived I was met by " say that again..... The last thing you said ... Ha ha ha ..... Say something else ......they totally wrecked my head . .. Was like something out of " The hills have eyes".

Don't go to Wales!!! Go as far north as you can .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,613 ✭✭✭server down

somefeen wrote: »
    You'll learn to love the NHS. When I was over there I went to doctor about 3 times more than I do here. Felt rude not to.

Its a weird place though, despite being very similar a lot of things are very alien. Or at least they were to me.
    The sheer cultural diversity of England compared to Cork is mind blowing and seeing the army everywhere is a bit mad. Stuff like that reminded me how quaint and small Ireland is.

Funny that - I lived in a part of England less diverse than Dublin and probably Cork. There are large regional differences.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭Donal55

Pubs open Christmas Day. Enjoy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭LadyMacBeth_

Donal55 wrote: »
    Pubs open Christmas Day. Enjoy.

Ooh speaking of which, are off licences open later and do pubs serve until a later time? The important questions, of course.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

Ooh speaking of which, are off licences open later and do pubs serve until a later time? The important questions, of course.

If you're in London, corner shops open 24 hours and sell booze. I had one literally 10 meters away, used to drink a lot more back then! Pubs... the more traditional ones will close at 11, but they seem to be few and far between these days, so it can be 11, 12, 1, or 3 or 4 or all night really. You can always get a drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

People there generally work as mechanics, pub landlords, own a caf, or work down the market. And they drink at lunch, then again after work. Usually get in an argument at the drop of an ‘at. The build up to Christmas is generally jovial but then on the 25th it collapses into a massive fight that tears families apart, possibly followed by a death.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

KungPao wrote: »
    People there generally work as mechanics, pub landlords, own a caf, or work down the market. And they drink at lunch, then again after work. Usually get in an argument at the drop of an ‘at. The build up to Christmas is generally jovial but then on the 25th it collapses into a massive fight that tears families apart, possibly followed by a death.

There's also a worrying amount of murders over the years concentrated in a very small area

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

There's also a worrying amount of murders over the years concentrated in a very small area

No, you're thinking of Midsomer. Different area altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,314 ✭✭✭✭branie2

no, but I had relatives who did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Tae = brew
    Sangich = sarnie

That's all you need to know.

Oh and you'll love their sausages, they're really big :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 925 ✭✭✭rekluse

Open a bank account with Lloyds you only need a passport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭jacksie66

anna080 wrote: »
    Tae = brew
    Sangich = sarnie

That's all you need to know.

Oh and you'll love their sausages, they're really big :pac:

Sausage sarnie anyone? :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

If you're going to Reading OP, avoid Whitley on the far south of the town, full of scobes, and the Oxford Rd area heading out west from the town centre, a seedy place full of bedsits and takeaways, apart from that it's quite a thriving, prosperous town with stuff going on a lot of the time, good shops, and well connected as well, fast trains to London Paddington or Ealing, Oxford or Birmingham in another direction and Bristol and Cardiff, as well as a frequent Coach link to Heathrow. Zero Degrees is a good brewpub there worth a visit.

On the local train line to Paddington avoid Slough, West Drayton, Hayes and Southall, they're all s**tholes.

Take note, though that it's the South of England and doesn't really have much of a personality or the sort of craic and banter you'd get the further north you go in England, the Irish are 'Northern' in a similar way that Nordies have that Scottish aspect about them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭G.G.G.

The biggest thing that got me overseas was changing my entire pattern of communication, just sooo many mistaken moments of 'rudeness' (given and received) that were just down to cultural differences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Oldtree wrote: »
    Dint worry about the crisps, kerrygold and cidona, there are many "Irish" shops over there, just find them. Was one around tooting somewhere from what I remember.

Don't dwell on the homesickness, just get out there. Plenty if clubs with similar interests to your own.

I would guess thar Skype and the like will make everything seem less further away than in my day.

Have a ball, it's a place for young people.

Definitely not a place for old crusties such as yourseself then ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

Probably not, but beats being on a chicken farm I suppose.

You live on a chicken farm in the UK?. Did the smell not get to you?

gozunda wrote: »
    You live on a chicken farm in the UK. Did the smell not get to you?

Your grammer needs work... and no I don't live on a chicken farm, you do by your own admission. Do you find the smell bad, is that why you are asking?

What's wrong with your granma? You said it beat being on a chicken farm. Sounds like you have experience there. Does she live on the chicken farm then? I presume she would know what the smell was alright

What's wrong with your granma? Does she live on the chicken farm then? I presume she would know what the smell was alright

I think you need to take a break from the chicken farm, clearly the fumes have gotten to you. So much so that you are no longer able to read the content of a post correctly. It might explain the grammer issues too.

I think it was the spelling and lack of pronouns / adjectives in that last post of yours. Stop barking about it - ok.

Stop barking about it - ok.

Very good :) aviva el pollo...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Mod note: Oldtree and gozunda, let it go, gentlemen, before I have to 'encourage' you to let it go!

Thanks in advance,

Buford T. Justice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭con___manx1

I lived in canada and oz for nearly 4 years.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,105 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

I lived in San Francisco for a year in my early 20s just after college. Was a little homesick at first but made a load of friends, some of which I'm still friendly with today. Ended up absolutely loving it. Missed Tayto crisps, chipper chips and proper tea but a friend of a friend brought over two huge bags of Lyons a few times so that was nice. :)

In comparison to most other countries, England should be a doddle. We are very alike culturally.

One thing though is not to do the Mrs Doyle "ah you will, you will!" when offering a visitor tea/biccies or a drink. When the English say "no thank you" they really mean no thank you. They don't do that "polite refusal" lark us Irish do when offered something, when we say we are fine but would really like to take the host up on the offer. Likewise, if you are offered something and say "no thanks" you won't be offered again.

And who under the age of 60 uses the term "messages" for groceries these days? My grannies certainly did, but my mum didn't and neither did anyone I grew up with. But then I'm a Dub (of Nordie extraction) and maybe it's still a term used widely in Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭Estrellita

So, my fellow AHers, I am on the move, off to England after Christmas.

New year, fresh start eh? :) Delighted for you. I've a lot of family over there and have been plenty of times. I nearly moved myself at one stage.

As others have said about doing your ground work first, in terms of proof of address etc. you'll be fine. Bring some tea with you. For every second cup have one of theirs to transition you slowly. You don't want the cold turkey to set in :D

So have you ditched most of your worldly goods, or are you going by ferry with all your things? :)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,083 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

jester77 wrote: »

You'll quickly discover how over rated Barry's.

Take that back! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Lived in England for many years.

A few tips for you; Don't call the airing cupboard the "Hot press" as this will cause no end of amusement & bewilderment!

If you've overslept, don't say "I've slept it out" as you may be asked "What did you sleep out???

Never call sandwiches 'Sambos', just don't!

Other words & phrases to be aware of include the river Thames (silent h), Thailand (silent h) also. Don't call the Police " Guards" don't call crisps 'Taytos'. Trams are trams (not the LUAS) :)

Oh yeah, when in London don't even try to thank the bus driver as you disembark, remembering that you exit by the middle doors (NOT BY THE FRONT DOORS), hence you can't thank the driver unless you shout up to the front!

England is very regional, so depending on what part you live in, different customs & words may be used differently too. Different dialects in different parts.

PS when in England I used to notice many Irish people mixing of interchanging the term UK with England, be sure to note the difference or people will be quick to correct you.

Finally, have a great time in Blighty, its s great and interesting country with much to see and do.

(A loaf of bread is not a Pan, it is a loaf of bread).

Bonfire night is the 5th of November (not Halloween).

Tally-ho . . . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭marvin80

So, my fellow AHers, I am on the move, off to England after Christmas. Not exactly a big leap, but I am already considering some important cultural differences. Have ye ever lived abroad and do ye have any tips for me? Bear in mind that I'm a Corkonian as well so the culture shock will be doubled. How did you survive without Barry's tea and Taytos? Will the bus driver look at me funny when I thank him/her? Will anyone be able to pronounce my Irish name? Do I have to stop interrogating people into drinking tea/coffee/having some food when they come to my house?

I have already decided that I will staunchly refer to the hotpress as the hotpress, and there will be no airing cupboard in my house I tell you.

This is exactly how it'll play out for you OP:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F_euK9aKLEw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Baron Kurtz

You've gone there twice now! Have another look at the last line. There are some issues here, as you put it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 421 ✭✭lemmno

I always thanked the driver. The middle of the bus isn’t that far back. And he or she would often wave back at me in acknowledgment. Others also thank the driver, not just the Irish! Maybe I just lived in a civilised part of London!

Join a few teams. You’ll meet a lot of people. More Irish accents over there now than there was in the 70s, or so they say.

Enjoy!

lemmno wrote: »
    I always thanked the driver. The middle of the bus isn’t that far back. And he or she would often wave back at me in acknowledgment. Others also thank the driver, not just the Irish! Maybe I just lived in a civilised part of London!

Join a few teams. You’ll meet a lot of people. More Irish accents over there now than there was in the 70s, or so they say.

Enjoy!

yeh, English people thank the driver. Not all buses in England exit in the centre either. The First range of buses don't have centre doors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

There are some cultural and linguistic differences of course, you'll get them in time. Maybe just me, but people swear a lot less over here and I've changed to match that. Greggs is rubbish and the people there just accept that you can end up with a cold sausage roll (their counters aren't heated). Council tax is a bit strange coming from the land of rage over paying for water. Societal norms and expectations are a bit strange like I was shocked the first time the Queen showed up on my doorstep, I didn't have the correct tea pot etc on hand but she made do with a mug and a kitkat. The local Lord will sleep with your wife on the first night of your marriage, it's an ancient rite. After a few months I found myself locked up for a bombing I had nothing to do with. The police beat me into a confession and I'm now serving a 20 year sentence at HM Prison Belmarsh. You'll have a great time.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 6,485 Mod ✭✭✭✭silvervixen84

I don't know anything about Reading, but I've been living in London for 7 years.

I don't have a hot press in my flat!

Regarding bank accounts, when I moved over, Lloyds were the only ones who gave me an account without much hassle, so try them before going around the houses. You can always open an account at a different bank when you settle in.

Like moving to anywhere new, just spend some time exploring the area and go out and meet people. It can be a bit overwhelming and lonely otherwise. I posted on the Boards London forum asking if anyone was interested in going to a pub quiz, and have made great friends that way.

80% of the time when someone asks if you're Irish, they'll assume you're from Dublin, so you'll have to explain where Cork is :D

Best of luck with the move!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,682 ✭✭✭deisemum

I lived in London for over 12 years. People avoid making contact on public transport.

Over there press means print media, I still call presses cupboards after moving back over 20 years ago. Pronounce three with the h as pronouncing it as tree amuses the English. When offered a cup of tea or coffee don't expect biscuits or cake with it, you usually just get what's offered and nothing more and I agree with the previous poster you wont be offered a second time if you politely decline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭beans

Setting your Facebook status to "I'd murder a sambo right about now" will land you in prison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭circadian

beans wrote: »
    Setting your Facebook status to "I'd murder a sambo right about now" will land you in prison.

My first week in England I said to my newfound course friends "I'd murder a sambo". Spoken in an angry nordie accent. They all looked at me like I was mental.

Thankfully one of them had an Irish dad, realised what I meant and told me what sambo meant there.

beans wrote: »
    circadian wrote: »
    My first week in England I said to my newfound course friends "I'd murder a sambo". Spoken in an angry nordie accent. They all looked at me like I was mental.

Thankfully one of them had an Irish dad, realised what I meant and told me what sambo meant there.

So what does sambo mean there? Ye are leaving me in suspense here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

The obvious answer to the bus departure conundrum is to go all in. Two feet. No prisoners.

Go raibh maith agat agus slán go fóill!

You might throw in a "lá bog, buíochas le Dia!" for added hilarity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,268 ✭✭✭Rawr

Permabear wrote: »
    This post had been deleted.

I would echo this. In the many years since I moved up to Norway I have taken up many of the various quirks, customs and lingo of the Norwegians, & I'm as integrated as you can get really. The plus side to this is that home-sickness is very rare. There are fleeting moments of intense nostalgia for your Irish life, but they do pass.

A bizarre side-effect of this (at least for me), is that you will begin to see two nations as home. When you return home to Ireland on trips, it will be home like always, and when you go back to your new adoptive nation, it will also feel like home, despite all of the differences. The transition always feels odd, even to this day :)

You haven’t integrated into boards.us :-p

I did all that when I lived in the US except watch NFL. that sucks. Baseball is ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

Always remember to thank the Tube drivers. You'll need to run up and bang on the window of their carriage though. They love that

Also when eating popcorn crisps etc on the tube it’s the absolute done thing to offer them around to everyone in your carriage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭PMBC

Aineoil wrote: »
    Wow a two week wait. That's way too long.

I lived in UK in 2014 and could get a doctor's appointment in a few days. Might be busier down south. Generally, from what friends tell me, NHS is still excellent.

I worked in London twice, in the late 60s and early 70s. Lovely people with a few exceptions. Worst English person I ever met was in ME - he was of Scottish and Irish parentage and was (almost) sociopathic.
    As others mentioned not all UK people know about Ireland particularly UK-Irish history. The general picture was that they brought civilization to here; of course we had the exact opposite education.
    Enjoy your time there and best of luck. I would have no hesitation of returning there, particularly outside of London.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

My mother went to England in 1957 and she had completely integrated within about 6 months despite having come from a rural backwater which had remained unchanged for 100s of years.
    She had the cop on to see very quickly that like a lot of other nationalities, Irish people abroad can be inclined to get stuck in a cycle of complaining bitterly about the host nation and longing to go “home” while forgetting why it was they had to leave “home” in the first place. Do in general she just avoided them like the plague.
    (My non English speaking Polish neighbor is doing it right now.).
    There’s good and bad aspects to living anywhere and there are dickheads and absolute gems everywhere.
    Be happy and be yourself OP and you’ll have a great experience !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,856 ✭✭✭irishguitarlad

Lived in Brum for four years. When I got on the bus there for the first time I gave the driver more than the ticket fare expecting change. He took off and I was just standing there expecting my money like a big country bumpkin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭shaunr68

So what does sambo mean there? Ye are leaving me in suspense here.
    Equally don't greet your mate Patrick by shouting "oi Packie" in a busy street in Bradford...it could be taken the wrong way! :D