Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

D&D Subforum / Pen & Paper RPG Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 6,617 ✭✭✭Mollyb60

Necrominus wrote: »
    You won't be saying that when I put on my chainmail armour :pac: I'd be probably classed as a massive item :P

I meant you give me a piggy back!
    Banjo wrote: »
    I swear on this picture of Lou Zocchi that I will try to stick around long enough this time for the game to kill me! Thanks for letting me pull up a stool to the table again, Fourier.

Yay good to have you back Banjo. :D

Right I'm not actually sure that Elin needs much else in the way of equipment. A horsey would be nice and some extra rations but that's about it. Ooh maybe I'll get a light crossbow so I can do ranged stuff. The book says that 10 quarrels and a case are 3ep. What does that translate to if we're not using ep for currency? If 1ep is equal to 5sp then round up to 15sp? Am I doing that right?

So shopping list:
    Horsey - 75gp
    Grappling Hook - 1gp
    10 Preserved Rations - 50sp
    Silk Rope - 10gp
    Large Sack x2 - 4sp
    Light Crossbow (incl 10 quarrels and case) - 16gp, 15sp

Maths are hard. That comes to 102gp, 69sp. I think. That'll do me.
    I'm away out for din dins with the in'laws so assume Elin has darted around the shops and bought this stuff ok?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,404 ✭✭✭✭sKeith

Ekbard does an inventory..

Ekbard
    Banded Mail armour (worn)
    sword (in hand)
    waterskin (worn)
    backpack (worn)
    - Javelin
    - flint & steel
    - shield
    - 16 presereved rations

Horse
    saddle
    cart (attached)
    - 100 days horse feed.
    - rope
    - bedroll
    - 2x large sack
    - barrel of mulled wine
    - 4x javenin

money 1054gp 5sp

encumberance
    ekbard 2
    horse -9 (+1 for 8 items, -10 for cart)
    ekbard and horse & cart -2 (+5 for human , +3 for 16 items, -10 for cart)
    ( that is .. 0-10: 48 miles per day travelling, 240 feet in ten minutes)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,532 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Someone buy me a horse and saddlebag please and I'll meet ye at the gates 
    Edit: Obviously with my money, I have 206GP left

I'll do it.

you should really ask ekbard in character to do it for you though...

info for your inventory.

horse, saddle bag and 23 days of feed
    hands over 61 gold pieces

sKeith wrote:
    you should really ask ekbard in character to do it for you though...

Give me a few mins ;)

does the owner of guard/war dogs get any xp for their fights/kills?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,464 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Sorry, I've not been on much today having been out for ages. Will read over everything asap.

Lord TSC wrote: »
    Sorry, I've not been on much today having been out for ages. Will read over everything asap.

We have money for dogs :D

• Registered Users Posts: 10,558 ✭✭✭✭Fourier

I'll catch up with the actual game in the next hour or two, busy day!!
    does the owner of guard/war dogs get any xp for their fights/kills?
    This was a big debate back in the day in D&Ds first few years. In D&D itself, the rules don't say anything about it, but dogs are lethal against low-level creatures so they are a massive bonus at early levels. Here is what Daniel Proctor, the maker of Labyrinth Lord has to say:
    The referee may opt to apply a penalty to XP earned when dogs are involved in an encounter.
    The value penalty could be relatively low compared to the proportion retainers receive. It is suggested that a flat 2% penalty be applied to group experience for an encounter per dog employed. However, the argument could be made that even though dogs cannot perform as many duties as retainers, they are selfless allies who will sacrifice themselves for their masters. In addition, they receive no treasure. Using that logic it may be appropriate to apply the normal retainer deduction to group experience, totaling half a share per dog.

I won't bother unless they were really crucial to your success and I'll only go for the 2%.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,485 ✭✭✭✭Banjo

So how does it work for retainers? Do they get a share in treasure or just a per diem?

Edit : never mind, i have instead pissed all my money up the wall on horse barding :)

Phew, that took me a while. Spent ages working out reducing my encumbrance.

Got both the horse and myself to the minimum I could to travel the max distance.

Phew, that took me a while. Spent ages working out reducing my encumbrance.

Got both the horse and myself to the minimum I could to travel the max distance.
    Yeah, I was doing it wrong and tried to reduce it to a min, but in the end, i could carry another 60 objects and still go at full speed. lol.

sKeith wrote: »
    Yeah, I was doing it wrong and tried to reduce it to a min, but in the end, i could carry another 60 objects and still go at full speed. lol.

I just posted in game thread I think my calculations are right. 11 items on the horse, 5 on me

11 items on horse,
    its +1 for every 5 objects, I took it to mean +1 for 1,2,3,4,5; +2 for 6,7,8,9,10; etc.
    you could also take it thats its 0 until 5 is hit, then its +1.
    depending on which is true, 11 items is either +2 or +3.

11 items on horse,
    its +1 for every 5 objects, I took it to mean +1 for 1,2,3,4,5; +2 for 6,7,8,9,10; etc.
    you could also take it thats its 0 until 5 is hit, then its +1.
    depending on which is true, 11 items is either +2 or +3.

I took it that up to 4 items wouldn't affect the horse but 5 would. If not then It's still grand, just. +9 so I can travel the full 48 miles a day if needed.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,485 ✭✭✭✭Banjo

Sorry, I can't find the post about Horses and encumbrance. How does it work?

Banjo wrote: »
    Sorry, I can't find the post about Horses and encumbrance. How does it work?
    https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=105295923&postcount=481

I took it that up to 4 items wouldn't affect the horse but 5 would. If not then It's still grand, just. +9 so I can travel the full 48 miles a day if needed.
    ah, i didn't do +1 for banded mail, will add then now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

my charachter pretty much has what he needs except for magical items i have my longbow a horse and money for food but i'm wondering are we not sharing out the 1000gp?

take your share if you wish, 100gp, there is 10 of us now i think, was keeping it as a pooled fund. There will be shops in thurmontin, before we enter the dungeon and after our 1st wilderness adventure.
    If you want your 100gp share, just take it in character off Ekbard and you will get it.

A lantern and oil to light it would be a good purchase for someone imo...

Also I fully expect Lord to buy an army of guard dogs now he has the coin :pac:

I'm still waiting to make sure the the 20% dwarvian sale was not a myth! If all is good with my purchases, then i have some coin to spare, but if I have to revert the 20%, I'm very near to the bottom off my purse.

I'm not exactly stuck for it, but it might come in handy :D

My current stash is 149GP

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,464 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Sorry lads, speed reading over things at the moment, I've fallen a bit behind. Is it just general inventory checking going on at the moment?

I'm pretty sure I wrote/accounted for all this in the thread earlier. I've got...

Spell book
    Quarterstaff
    Waterskin
    Backpack
    Lock
    Ink
    Quill
    Preserved food x10
    A magical piece of paper

That's 48 gold and 1sp spent of my 50gp.

Don't have a horse, so I'll need to catch a ride with someone :P

Sorry lads, speed reading over things at the moment, I've fallen a bit behind. Is it just general inventory checking going on at the moment?

I'm pretty sure I wrote/accounted for all this in the thread earlier. I've got...

Spell book
    Quarterstaff
    Waterskin
    Backpack
    Lock
    Ink
    Quill
    Preserved food x10
    A magical piece of paper

*Waits for Lord to find out he has been provided with a further 300GP...:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Spell book
    Quarterstaff
    Waterskin
    Backpack
    Lock
    Ink
    Quill
    Preserved food x10
    A magical piece of paper

you have 300gp and access to a further 100gp
    but you can ride out with me if you want

Is Soupy/Arry still playing? Havent heard from them in ages...

I could throw Arry in my Cart and carry him along until he is back. halfling with 10 items = +5 so total encumbrance is +3 so even have room for another.