Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

D&D Subforum / Pen & Paper RPG Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 10,485 ✭✭✭✭Banjo

Fourier wrote: »
    I'll start at nine then.

Don't delay it for me. Sure at 9 what happens if the Mrs hops on my irresistible bod, might not be able to post until 9.03.
    Start at 8.30!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,558 ✭✭✭✭Fourier

9.00 unless Banjo's missus jumps him, in which case we'll start up to a minute later.

Thread up.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,617 ✭✭✭Mollyb60

Banjo I can't understand a word your character is saying. Lol.

I painted myself into a corner. I took a hindrance that means I can't speak english. Then when I presented my back story, Four needed certain things cleared up, which ended up with her having enough of a grasp that *she* thinks she can speak english. So I had to drop the hindrance but keep the accent.

And since I can't speak Haitian Creole and can only approximate it by translating half my sentences into french, saying them to myself in my generic Caribbean accent and spelling them phonetically, it comes out as nonsense. But I think if you listen to "Jammin'" by Bob Marley a few times, then read it out exactly as it's spelled.... nah, still makes no sense...

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,534 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Why in God's name would you take a hindrance not allowing you to speak English :pac:

Yeah, I should have just turned up in Chaps and a raincoat with a napoleon complex!
    Because it's purely a role-play penalty, and in exchange I get half an edge. I can start talking perfect english any time I want, and the only penalty is that I don't earn Bennies.

But I figure, you all learned to read Tigger, so you can learn to read this too :D

Not a Napoleon complex ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

i hadn;t notoced anything

Quite busy today and possibly tomorrow. Normal service back on Saturday.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭Digital Solitude

What do ye think of my cake lads?

IMG_20180225_WA0002.jpg

Serious job done on it, tasted great too!

Wow!! Beyond impressive, that's class!

Fourier wrote: »
    Wow!! Beyond impressive, that's class!

Twas a double, my mates cake was an open book with a dragon and it's horde (some chocolate coins) on top, absolutely amazing stuff :D Got a kick out of it anyways

Awesome stuff Digi... Happy Birthday I guess :D

• Registered Users Posts: 12,637 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

/Waiting (im)patiently for a slice o'cake.
    Stop TEASING!

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

Happy Birthday Digi.

Jesus christ, 21 was a long time ago.... I'm nearly in double Digi's!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,637 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Banjo wrote: »
    Happy Birthday Digi.

Jesus christ, 21 was a long time ago.... I'm nearly in double Digi's!
    and yer still just a youngfella.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,617 ✭✭✭Mollyb60

That is an epic cake in all fairness. Happy Birthday Jack, if that even is your real name!

Are you suggesting he ordered that cake himself with a "I have this friend... uh... 'Jack'...yeah, his name is Jack - he's really into D&D the saddo! But I want to buy me him a cake..."
    OldGoat wrote: »
    and yer still just a youngfella.
    Ah, you're only as young as the person you feel. And that's why my Leap Card has Lifetime Ban stamped on it, but sure I need the exercise anyway.

Thanks chaps,

My mother rang the cake maker

"Hi CM, want to order a cake for Js birthday, he's in Dragons and Dungeons and phones, geeky stuff like that"

She did a great job with feck all to go off in fairness :D

Who's playing Shadowrun by the way? And how are ye finding it? Dropping a group shortly so I might have time to return to a game here

Shadowrun hasn't kicked off. Given that it was Tigger's preferred game, I'd be very surprised to see any move on it while he's recuperating in Tahiti. So roll up a character or two!

The idea was (I think) that it's one night, one run - episodic, so if you can do it one week and not another, that shouldn't be an issue, but if you commit to the Run you commit to the Run, start to finish; It would also mean that the people playing on a given night would be defined by the job (or more likely, the job would be defined by who could play) so you get that kind of Mission Impossible / Dick Tracey feeling of assembling a team of specialists to surgically pick apart whatever Four throws at us rather than just throwing a bunch of street rats into a grinder and seeing what kind of burger comes out.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,263 ✭✭✭robyntmorton

Oh Banjo, you have such a way with words...

image?url=https%3A%2F%2Fthumbs.gfycat.com%2FEntireZealousImago-size_restricted.gif&key=b1e305db91cf4aa5a86b732cc9fffceb

Banjo wrote: »
    Shadowrun hasn't kicked off. Given that it was Tigger's preferred game, I'd be very surprised to see any move on it while he's recuperating in Tahiti. So roll up a character or two!

The idea was (I think) that it's one night, one run - episodic, so if you can do it one week and not another, that shouldn't be an issue, but if you commit to the Run you commit to the Run, start to finish; It would also mean that the people playing on a given night would be defined by the job (or more likely, the job would be defined by who could play) so you get that kind of Mission Impossible / Dick Tracey feeling of assembling a team of specialists to surgically pick apart whatever Four throws at us rather than just throwing a bunch of street rats into a grinder and seeing what kind of burger comes out.

I'll take a peek then so...

Anyone interested in a meet-up?

Forum Games Beers

Info here if you're interested. :)

Might be time to dust off this old thread if there is further talk of a new D&D campaign.

Plus there's a certain thread we still have to smite....

Necrominus wrote: »
    Plus there's a certain thread we still have to smite....
    Agreed.

If it's D&D and you're taking sign ups Fourier - count me the heck in.

Haven't decided on a character yet, but looking back at the start of this thread, I slotted in as a dwarf because the party needed one. It worked out... very well I want to say :D

If others, or new players have a specific class they wish to try out I don't mind doing the same for this campaign :)

So people know we'll be doing 5th Ed this time, but with rules from the dungeon masters guide to keep first edition lethality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

I shal play