Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Masterchef: The Professionals 2017

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,868 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Hasn't Craig got to do desserts quite a few times over the series?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,677 ✭✭✭Eyepatch

Will be watching in a few minutes. Don't mind who wins, but Louisa possibly has a slight edge in my book - because she's so "different".

Gawd, Andrew Fairlie is gorgeous!

A bit unrealistic to expect (if they do) one person to plate up a warm dish for 30 people all by themselves!

How come the others had time to spare to help him? :confused:

I'd fully expected those from earlier courses to row in with those serving later, but Craig and Jamie still have courses to prepare themselves!

That starter looks GAWJUS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭4Ad

The Asian critic didn't mince her words..Refreshing..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,179 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

Don't think louisa is up to the level of the other 3. Steven is my favourite and has been from the heats. Now there's the kiss of death :)

Oh Louisa :(

Too much, again.

I know there's an uber-fan on here somewhere, but that Cherish wan gives me a pain in my face every time I see/hear her.

Lovely words from Louisa after the comments, that's a very mature head on a young girl!

There was no talk of how they all came up with the overall menu.

Surely they can't all have randomly come up with dishes that compliment each other - did they all get together beforehand and discuss?

I think we should be told!

Jeepers that dessert!!!

The caramelised apple just looks amazing!

The child done well!!! :D

Awww, I really feel for Louisa :o

She's fighting so hard to be positive, but that just didn't go well for her.

It's still anybody's game. Two more nights to go!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,751 ✭✭✭zoobizoo

I really love this show...

The only talent show that is based purely on talent.

Really looking forward to Thursday night now.

Reckon Louisa will be gone tonight... it's a pity they don't just let the 4 compete in the final though.

zoobizoo wrote: »
    I really love this show...

The only talent show that is based purely on talent.

Really looking forward to Thursday night now.

Reckon Louisa will be gone tonight... it's a pity they don't just let the 4 compete in the final though.
    A large part of me thinks (hopes) that Louisa will bounce right back and blow their socks off tonight - she's made of stern stuff, that girl!

But I do think it'll either be her or Steven gone before the final final cook-off.

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    A large part of me thinks (hopes) that Louisa will bounce right back and blow their socks off tonight - she's made of stern stuff, that girl!

But I do think it'll either be her or Steven gone before the final final cook-off.

Yep!

And we are off :)

Inn-I-votave?

Whats than then???

Here we go!!

Jeepers, that's an awful lot of black pudding :eek:

I can barely manage one disc with my full Irish on a hungover morning!

A whole dinner made of it??? Dunno about that....

OK, Louisa has abandoned the plait for a swept-back ponytail..... should we be reading anything in that?

Grapefruit? I LOVE grapefruit!! And what's more, I've recently gone on a binge of loving tinned fruit, of which grapefruit is top of the list - how's that for coincidence :D

G'wan Louisa!!

Uh oh Jamie.....

No Jamie !!!...I like Jamie..
    I like them all actually !
    So talented..

Ooof, that was harsh!

Thought they might base it on the overall last few rounds, in which case I think Louisa would have gone.

Shocked to see Jamie fall at that hurdle!

Where??

Who??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 360 ✭✭Humour Me

Wow I had Jamie as the overall winner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭twill

Humour Me wrote: »
    Wow I had Jamie as the overall winner
    I thought he was a strong contender. Amazing how chefs of his and Matt's calibre didn't make it to the last three this year.

twill wrote: »
    I thought he was a strong contender. Amazing how chefs of his and Matt's calibre didn't make it to the last three this year.
    It really is a case of "you're only as good as your last dish"!

His tart was very simple, and not perfect.

I'd say he'll kick himself from here to 2019 for choosing that to do at this stage of the competition!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭twill

It really is a case of "you're only as good as your last dish"!

His tart was very simple, and not perfect.

I'd say he'll kick himself from here to 2019 for choosing that to do at this stage of the competition!
    He and Matt both made tactical mistakes, but it just shows how high the standard is this year. Usually a really good chef is given some leeway when they slip up, but there was simply no room for that this time.

I'd really love to know how much time they were given to figure out their concept and the look of their dishes....

Like, what time were they at the market, how much prep time did they have, what time did they start cooking?

Hah! You wait for months and months to eat at yer man's snazzy restaurant, and you wind up with amateurs cooking for you!

Well, "amateurs".......

Oooh, Monica looks a bit odd without her glasses!

Jaysus, he's a bit (a lot) of a stickler for details :eek:

F##k off Chef.
    I can't go any faster..
    Imagine working in that environment !

Jeepers, that forest dish looks absolutely gorgeous!

All the seafood and fish I could take or leave (probably leave, if I'm honest) but that looked amazing!

Jeepers, that forest dish looks absolutely gorgeous!

All the seafood and fish I could take or leave (probably leave, if I'm honest) but that looked amazing!

They all look amazing but can't see anything I would eat :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭Greybottle

Thought it odd how Jamie was kicked out. Technically they should count yesterday and today for that round.

If so Louisa was the weakest over the two rounds IMO.

The meals at the restaurant were mind-boggling in their beauty, but rather light, over all. It was more like a tasting menu.

Nevertheless, I'd say we'll see a lot of influences, from this experience among the contestants, in tomorrow's menus.

For me, the winner today was Craig. Of the three, he seemed to have picked up the concept behind this cooking, the best of all three contestants - "the sea, the garden and the muountain". Wonderful!

Ooof, that was harsh!

Thought they might base it on the overall last few rounds, in which case I think Louisa would have gone.

Shocked to see Jamie fall at that hurdle!

They did say, at the start, that someone would leave, based on that round. Jamie, unfortunately got a bad response from the judges, compared to the others. Stephen seemed to win that round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,140 ✭✭✭ebbsy

With the three dishes that the others cooked any mistake was likely to be crushed.

And Jamie made a few with that tart.

Eyepatch wrote: »
    They did say, at the start, that someone would leave, based on that round. Jamie, unfortunately got a bad response from the judges, compared to the others. Stephen seemed to win that round.

OK. I didn't get that as I missed the first 10 minutes. Fair enough so, he was the poorest of the four.

So the intro's took over 20 minutes and we find out that Craig's Dad is Irish, or Northern Irish and that Louisa was badly bullied in school.

Greggg is dressed like something out of Miami Vice.

And the food sounds class. Hard to say who will win, but doubt it's Louisa, the two lads are usually a bit ahead of her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭AnneFrank

Greg's in the mafia!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,332 ✭✭✭Poochie05

Think it's going to be Craig

Yes craig is the champ, I'm a bit worried Louisa might stab them all though

Jesus that lamb could get up and run away!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,651 ✭✭✭Meauldsegosha

Has lamb fat lost it for Stephen?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,324 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

Has lamb fat lost it for Stephen?

And undercooked egg in the first dish

This girl is a fighter, she's not dead yet

I think Louisa has it.

Joint winners again?

Gutted wanted Louisa or Stephen to win. Never warmed to Craig throughout the series.

Me either but I think he was the best on the day