Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Plex Server Build

Options
  • 05-11-2017 5:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭

Right, so I'm completely new to all of this end of things and a little clueless!

A few months back I built a budget gaming/HTPC as a gift for the sister and her boyfriend who had just signed a lease on a house, and the other day they asked about a second one as they'll be living in the home with two friends on the lease to buy thingy for the next while - in case they want to watch different things at the same time, or for different rooms etc.

Plex server sounds about perfect right? They already have a 3TB HDD stuffed with media on their one so it's a solid starting point and means I'd only need a 500GB-1TB HDD that I could put in their computer while using the 3TB one as the first drive in the plex server. It would also make a fairly easy out in terms a two-for-one Christmas present for them, which I'm generally crap at shopping for.

Thing is, I'm completely lost as to what is required for a Plex server in terms of components. First, apparently you need a passmark of roughly 2,000 on the CPU for each concurrent stream but it's also rounded up so I'd probably be needing a base of about a 6,500-7,000+ score. I'd imagine that all four of them using them separately would be rare enough so while 8,000+ would be ideal I don't think it's a huge necessity if it means a significant price bump.