Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2017 Grand Slam

• 07-11-2017 4:19pm
    Registered Users Posts: 17,939 ✭✭✭✭

Starting on Saturday

Group A
    Michael van Gerwen
    Rob Cross
    Joe Murnan
    Ross Montgomery

Group B
    Raymond van Barneveld
    Gerwyn Price
    Steve Lennon
    Jamie Hughes

Group C
    Phil Taylor
    James Wade
    Robbie Green
    Peter Machin

Group D
    Daryl Gurney
    Darren Webster
    Mark Webster
    Danny Noppert

Group E
    Peter Wright
    Alan Norris
    Corey Cadby
    Glen Durrant

Group F
    Dave Chisnall
    Stephen Bunting
    Jeffrey de Zwaan
    Scott Mitchell

Group G
    Mensur Suljovic
    Michael Smith
    James Wilson
    Mark McGeeney

Group H
    Gary Anderson
    Simon Whitlock
    Berry van Peer
    Cameron Menzies

• Registered Users Posts: 3,855 ✭✭✭statto25

Group E looks tasty!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,214 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

Love the grand slam

• Registered Users Posts: 13,399 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

A yearly complaint by me which I'm sure bores people, but the structure of the knockouts remains garbage in this tournament.
    Basically it's 4 mini tournaments with the winner of A&B, C&D, E&F, G&H being the semi-finalists.
    A proper structure would allow say the top two players from Group E to get to the final if they happened to be the two best players.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2017_Grand_Slam_of_Darts#Knockout_stage

• Registered Users Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

Cadby and norris will be interesting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,464 ✭✭✭Ultimate Seduction

Durrant will get some hop with cadbys antics after every score.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭jrkb

Any of the bdo guys on form to challenge?

jrkb wrote: »
    Any of the bdo guys on form to challenge?

Menzies is the form player from BDO but it's possible for all exept Ross Montgomery to get out of the group.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭sc86

cant see more than 2 getting out of the group - 3 at best
    duzza might not even get out of the group - or he could have good run
    depends which duzza turns up , was unlucky to lose to barney last year
    some really awfull bdo players are in it this year
    previous years with adams / hankey etc it was far better to see
    nobody wants to see mark mc geeney or ross Montgomery
    well actually im looking forward to Montgomery getting hammered every game and blaming the crowd
    he is a grade a prick

sc86 wrote: »
    cant see more than 2 getting out of the group - 3 at best
    duzza might not even get out of the group - or he could have good run
    depends which duzza turns up , was unlucky to lose to barney last year
    some really awfull bdo players are in it this year
    previous years with adams / hankey etc it was far better to see
    nobody wants to see mark mc geeney or ross Montgomery
    well actually im looking forward to Montgomery getting hammered every game and blaming the crowd
    he is a grade a prick

6 out of the 8 bdo players got out of the group last year.

Durrant is class as we know. McGeeny is world number 1. Menzies is on fire this year too. Danny noppert is a serious talent too wholl be shaking up the pdc next year. Machin in form latley too.Mitchell and Montgomery have it all to do. Id fancy at least 4 bdo players in semis

How has jeff smith managed to not qualify for this?

6 out of the 8 bdo players got out of the group last year.

Durrant is class as we know. McGeeny is world number 1. Menzies is on fire this year too. Danny noppert is a serious talent too wholl be shaking up the pdc next year. Machin in form latley too.Mitchell and Montgomery have it all to do. Id fancy at least 4 bdo players in semis

no1 in the bdo doesnt mean much
    fair chance machin might not win a game
    menzies has no chance - again lucky to win a game

anyway time will tell
    looking forward to it

no1 in the bdo doesnt mean much
    fair chance machin might not win a game
    menzies has no chance - again lucky to win a game

anyway time will tell
    looking forward to it

Have you watched McGeeny this year, or just blindly dismissing him because he plays BDO?
    Same with Menzies, cracking player banging in high 90s+ averages all year. Short format will help them too. Great tournament this so many unknowns

durrant is far from a class player, 105+ average on a regular basis is class,low 90's ,even high 90's is nothing these days

Brainwashed by sky aswell eh.. tell me, how many pdc players hit a 105+ average on a regular basis on tv this year......

If "regular basis" is more than twice, the answer is ONE!

The maority of players in PDC average 90s. The stats are there.

Mensor suljovic, one of the best pdc players this year averaged over 100 ONCE on tv this year..

The top few elite players hit the big averages, but 95 percent of them average in the 90s. Again, facts don't lie, mardle does..

You said durrant is class, he isn't,I didn't mention any other players, or divides, the only class players right now are mvg,Taylor,Ando, snakebite, the rest are just good/great players..
    Durrant is good,would be no better than a chizzy if he were in the pdc though. You can believe otherwise,it's allowed you know.. different opinions.

No ones allowed a different opinion to me ☺ got a bit carried away after a few last night ha..
    Tis what you define as class I suppose. Hoping for few good games now today

• Registered Users Posts: 39,546 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Lol bunting had to Nick that in the end despite being 4-1 up at one stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,546 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Decent couple of games to open things all the same.

• Registered Users Posts: 42,085 ✭✭✭✭Scorpion Sting

Van Peer did well to overcome a sudden bout of dartitis to beat Whitlock.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

I think Cadby has had a few.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,563 ✭✭✭✭peteeeed

Yeah benny van peers yips was hard to watch but what a win all things considered

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

Optimists everywhere.

Untitled.jpg

Nice 100+ average there from one of those useless BDO players...

• Registered Users Posts: 17,939 ✭✭✭✭paulie21

Go on Duzza

Durrant beats Peter Wright with a 106 average. Far from class alright.
    Only 2 players had a 100 average today. Both BDO players...

ultimate suduction will you please stop posting rubbish - your posting same crap on the mma forum

106 average over 7 just legs - fantastic !
    1 win from 4 for bdo boys - with the only win from the only real consistant decent player in the bdo

you love the bdo players - we get your point
    by the time we are into the second round we will see the men from the boys
    i like to see the bdo lads do well , but sadly most are not up to it

Jayzuz what's up his arse lol,duzza played great ,fair play to him,loved Menzies game against Ando too, fantastic attitude he had, I dgaf which code they play for, I'm interested in great darts.

ultimate suduction will you please stop posting rubbish - your posting same crap on the mma forum

106 average over 7 just legs - fantastic !
    1 win from 4 for bdo boys - with the only win from the only real consistant decent player in the bdo

you love the bdo players - we get your point
    by the time we are into the second round we will see the men from the boys
    i like to see the bdo lads do well , but sadly most are not up to it

If you don't like what I have to say, just ignore me, you're just annoying yourself ☺