Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sensationalist story of bullying on the road

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,228 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Read this yesterday...

Guy dawdling at least 30 km/h below the limit without cause (per his description the road was quiet enough) and forces other cars and HGVs to overtake him as a result. No wonder other drivers were pissed.. a HGV overtaking at 90/100 km/h can take minutes to do so as anyone who's been behind two trucks side-by-side will know.

He has only himself to blame. If he doesn't want to/isn't comfortable with driving at the posted limit when it was safe to do so, then he should have stuck to the secondary routes. If 40 foot trucks are overtaking you, you're driving too slow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,470 ✭✭✭MOH

GreeBo wrote: »
    Do we know which lane he was driving in?

The one on the right side of the centre line? Might explain all the honking and flashing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,228 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

MOH wrote: »
    The one on the right side of the centre line? Might explain all the honking and flashing

No, he says he was in the left lane doing 90 km/h (which could be closer to 80 km/h in reality as most speedometers over-read). In other words, he was doing 30-40 km/h below the limit of 120 km/h for no reason.

Car comes up behind him, overtakes and moves back in... fine

Car in the right lane overtakes... fine

Car comes up behind him at the same time as a faster car in the right lane approaches. Car has to slow significantly until they can move out behind the faster car or cut off that faster car (as happens a lot) necessitating that other car to brake sharply.

Truck or coach comes up behind him... these are limited to around 90-100 km/h.
    Driver has to wait for a big enough gap in the right lane and move out, but not be able to overtake much/any faster while doing so. Meanwhile other cars start arriving behind the bus/truck and have to slow significantly until the bus/truck finishes the overtake (which can be minutes).

All because of some eejit who thinks he was in the "right" :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,529 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

GreeBo wrote: »
    So argument is that I shouldn't read posts on the internet, I should instead read different posts on the internet?

I see.

No the point is to read the source material about the discussion before forming an opinion and attempting to discuss it. You have gotten involved in the discussion on a topic that you know nothing about because you havent read the article.

Its exactly what happens all over Facebook.
    Someone posts an article with the title like "Politician XXXX assaulted innocent woman" and the comments filled people accusing the politician of sexual, physical assault, calling for resignation, jumping to random conclusions.
    Then you actually read the article and in fact he just "verbally assaulted" her by calling her a bitch and she actually deserved to be called one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,216 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

https://www.independent.ie/life/motoring/car-news/eddie-cunningham-i-drove-90kmh-on-an-irish-motorway-the-rudeness-and-hostility-i-endured-was-chilling-36298645.html

Some journo called Eddie Cunningham has an Indo article on being bullied on the road for driving at 90km/hr:

I have driven at 100km/hr on motorways all over the country and I've never experienced this type or level of abuse. I've never heard the like of it tbh. It all sounds a bit hard to believe.

Is it another case of "paper doesn't refuse ink" shocker?

Maybe I have my answer here:

Maybe they just realised he worked for the rag the indo.
    amcalester wrote: »
    Standard of driving in this country is piss poor so I wouldn't be surprised.

Sure, why not drive Galway - Dublin - Galway and back in a small car and report back your findings.

Did it once in a punto heap of shyte while my Accord was in getting fixed.
    One of the worst drives of my life and this was in the days before any motorway past Kilcock.

Jaysus you would want to drive in some other countries which make our drivers look sane. We aren't the worse by any means.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

RayM wrote: »
    Odd article. If I'm not in a hurry and I want to save petrol, I'll often drive in the left-hand lane of the M50 or M11 at 80 or 90, and nobody has ever beeped or flashed. Not even once. You might get the odd tailgater, but I find that's more likely to happen when you're overtaking in the fast lane. And even then, as long as you signal that you'll get out of their way as soon as you've finished overtaking, they generally don't start making rude gestures.

Devastated that nobody took the bait.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,529 ✭✭✭TJJP

53.— (1) A person shall not drive a vehicle in a public place in a manner (including speed) which having regard to all the circumstances of the case (including the condition of the vehicle, the nature, condition and use of the place and the amount of traffic which then actually is or might reasonably be expected then to be in it) is or is likely to be dangerous to the public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,857 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

I see them all the time. People in glorified golf carts nursing them home on the motorway. If you have a low range town car, stay in town!

You should really educate yourself on electric cars.

I drive a Nissan Leaf glorified golf cart. Have done 40k+ miles in about 2 and a half years and I've never been flashed or abused for driving too slowly. I've driven from Donegal to Cork and back and never felt the need to fanny along the motorway at 90km. The only issue I have on the motorway is keeping under the speed limit.

Doesn't matter if this eejit was in a Zoe or a Ferrari he'd still have been doing 90kmph because he's an ass.

Illegal? No. Idiotic, most certainly.

Driving ridiculously slowly and getting in others way, in a mode of transport without an engine and defending himself by claiming he is perfectly entitled to do so.

Sounds like a cyclist... ;)

Ps I always thought that it was an offence to drive too slowly, something to do with keeping speed with the rest of the traffic or something. That's why some tractor drivers have been fined for driving on the main road and not pulling in to let people pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,415 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

Patww79 wrote: »

Not really, there's such thing as 'making reasonable progress'

90kph on a quite motorway is just being a hazard, just the same as doing 70/80kph on a national route.

No consideration for other road users, you have those people who are quite happy to sit at 70kph and then 2 or 3 cars sit behind them who have no idea how to overtake either, they just sit behind the first hazard doing 70kph which means anyone wishing to get home from work before it's time to get up again can either sit with them or chance a dangerous overtake of 3 or 4 cars.

So no, what he was doing was not ok!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

elperello wrote: »
    As electric cars become more mainstream we may see more of this.
    Realistically it's a non-runner (no pun intended) to stop them using motorways.

Wow, much ignorance in this post. Well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,415 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

Patww79 wrote: »

There was, he was'nt making reasonable progress.
    You can fail your driving test for it, so i presume it's in the rules of the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭mosi

Bullying on the road is rife. I'm a learner driver and some drivers go out of their way to harrass me. One recent example is when I was at traffic lights. The lights had not even turned and I was being hooted at. I also frequently experience tailgating and dangerous manoeuvres such as undertaking, just because some prick has a problem being behind a learner.
    When my OH drives the car with the L plates on, he gets the same treatment, despite him being an experienced driver. Without the plates on, he receives far less hassle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭amcalester

jmayo wrote: »
    Maybe they just realised he worked for the rag the indo.

Did it once in a punto heap of shyte while my Accord was in getting fixed.
    One of the worst drives of my life and this was in the days before any motorway past Kilcock.

Jaysus you would want to drive in some other countries which make our drivers look sane. We aren't the worse by any means.

Of course there are worse places to drive, Cairo and other parts of Egypt were the worst I’ve experienced.

But they all drive badly which can actually make it easier (though not necessarily safer), it’s the one lunatic in ten on Irish roads doing something unexpected and stupid that’s worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,776 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Wow, much ignorance in this post. Well done.

That's a bit harsh!
    Care to add anything to the discussion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,472 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

No the point is to read the source material about the discussion before forming an opinion and attempting to discuss it. You have gotten involved in the discussion on a topic that you know nothing about because you havent read the article.

Its exactly what happens all over Facebook.
    Someone posts an article with the title like "Politician XXXX assaulted innocent woman" and the comments filled people accusing the politician of sexual, physical assault, calling for resignation, jumping to random conclusions.
    Then you actually read the article and in fact he just "verbally assaulted" her by calling her a bitch and she actually deserved to be called one.

And the counter argument is that an article is no different than a boards.ie post on the matter.
    Just because its "source material" doesnt make it any more factual, if it did convictions would be trivial. Its an opinion piece, just like every post on boards.ie, opinion.

Also, I'd like to point out the *fact* that I havent made a single post offering an *opinion* on the author; but hey, dont let facts get in your way!

DrPhilG wrote: »
    You should really educate yourself on electric cars.

I drive a Nissan Leaf glorified golf cart. Have done 40k+ miles in about 2 and a half years and I've never been flashed or abused for driving too slowly. I've driven from Donegal to Cork and back and never felt the need to fanny along the motorway at 90km. The only issue I have on the motorway is keeping under the speed limit.

Doesn't matter if this eejit was in a Zoe or a Ferrari he'd still have been doing 90kmph because he's an ass.

Illegal? No. Idiotic, most certainly.

Driving ridiculously slowly and getting in others way, in a mode of transport without an engine and defending himself by claiming he is perfectly entitled to do so.

Sounds like a cyclist... ;)

Maybe you shouldn't regard yourself as representative of all electric drivers. What you describe is not what I experience, so kudos to you, and only you.

Where did I say that I believe I represent all EV drivers?

You are accusing me of claiming that all EV drivers are like me except this guy.

Which would be just as silly as claiming that all EV drivers are like this guy except me, (like you're doing).

What I can say as a fact is that the car is not the reason for this person's bad driving because the car is perfectly capable of more. My comment was a reply to the suggestion that EVs are "glorified golf carts" only suited for town driving which is plainly nonsense.