Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Supervision & Substitution info

Options
  • 10-11-2017 6:59pm
    Registered Users Posts: 20

I'm an NQT so forgive my ignorance on the issue.

I've recently started a job share post of 11 hours and I've been given a lot of substitute classes everyday since I started.
    I know as a job share teacher I should be doing 21.5 hours of supervision & substitution. Do I wait until I have the 21.5 hours complete then put a claim in for the additional substitute classes or should I be putting in a claim each week if I have a lot of classes to cover?

Thanks 😊

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭joebloggs32

Mia A wrote: »
    I'm an NQT so forgive my ignorance on the issue.

I've recently started a job share post of 11 hours and I've been given a lot of substitute classes everyday since I started.
    I know as a job share teacher I should be doing 21.5 hours of supervision & substitution. Do I wait until I have the 21.5 hours complete then put a claim in for the additional substitute classes or should I be putting in a claim each week if I have a lot of classes to cover?

Thanks 😊

You could only be paid once go over the 21.5 limit for the year. Your salary has s&s built into it already.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,517 ✭✭✭✭TheDriver

It should be clear from outset which are S&S and which are subbing.

• Registered Users Posts: 20 Mia A

TheDriver wrote: »
    It should be clear from outset which are S&S and which are subbing.

The classes normally appear as substitution on vsware. I haven't been given the option of nominating preferred slots.