Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Louise O'Neill on manned mission to Mars: "Why not go to Venus?" (MOD Warning post 1)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,800 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

I'd love to see it..

Katie Hopkins v Louise O Neill!

Not too sure it'd be that entertaining. Hopkins is an all rounder, whereas O'Neill is a specialist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,402 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Would someone be so kind to explain the meaning and origin of the word "woke?

Too lazy to google.

TIA

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,167 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Can it be contained at this stage? Is it terminal?
    Maybe not. I think more and more people are thinking and saying get bent to these "progressive" eejits. Now it is coming out in things like that idiot Trump being elected, but that's a symptom of a wider anger and a rejection of much of the "accepted narrative". Watch the #metoo thing start to get a backlash as well. Not over actual genuine victims and genuine perverts, but over the attention seeking bandwagoners of which there are enough. Never mind the public wailing and gnashing of teeth when anyone dares questions their holy mission. EG Liam Neeson.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Benildus wrote: »
    I'm still confused by the actual title of her latest rant: "What whats constitutes being a 'cool girl'".

Is it a typo by a sub-editor?

did LON not notice that the character who talks about "cool girls" is a murderous sociopath? Although in her reading of Gone Girl she was probably the heroine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

darkdubh wrote: »
    "I think of when I was three, cuddling into my Granddad Murphy’s lap as he stroked my hair and told me I was the best girl and I wonder did he really think that, or did he secretly hate women too?"

i thought that was a parody, she really wrote that!?

• Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Ralf and Florian

goose2005 wrote: »
    i thought that was a parody, she really wrote that!?

Not intentional parody anyway. The same article had this gem.

I sit there in stunned silence for minutes, hours, days.

I get up, then sit back down then get up and scream; it is guttural, visceral, this scream is coming from some part of myself that I never even knew existed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 280 ✭✭Max Prophet

I get up, then sit back down then get up and scream; it is guttural, visceral, this scream is coming from some part of myself that I never even knew existed.

And she wonders why she can't keep a lad

• Registered Users Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭backspin.

The melodrama would be high with poor aul Louise.

• Registered Users Posts: 401 ✭✭soiseztomabel

What the hell is a woke male?

Was I one an hour ago?

The binmen woke me this morning.... took me ages to fall back asleep

• Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Ralf and Florian

Louise called Tupac Shakur a "woke bae" and "a ride". Don't think the woman he raped would agree.

https://www.joe.co.uk/news/tupac-rape-victim-appears-in-tv-interview-for-the-first-time-160222

https://twitter.com/oneilllo/status/872898766738771972

• Registered Users Posts: 530 ✭✭✭_Roz_

Louise raves endlessly about feminism, and the need to address objectification and harrassment of women, and then endlessly objectifies men and focuses relentlessly on her singledom.

She's a bloody hypocritical twat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Diana Warm Litter

_Roz_ wrote: »
    Louise raves endlessly about feminism, and the need to address objectification and harrassment of women, and then endlessly objectifies men and focuses relentlessly on her singledom.

She's a bloody hypocritical twat.

https://www.image.ie/life/women-we-love-40-questions-with-writer-louise-oneill-40443

greatest hypocrite ever from this interview

here are some "gems"
    #SquadGoals / three people you'd invite to a dinner party?
    Amy Schumer, Kristen Wiig, and Max Irons for my sexual pleasure. I will objectify him all day every day

The most annoying quality in people?
    Standing too close to me on public transport. Oh, and when they don't agree with every word I say. That really irritates me.
    And the best?
    I find most people to be inherently kind. (I also like to when they agree with every word I say.)

Any goals for 2017?
    Same as every year. I want to be healthy and happy. And to get the shift of Max Irons. WHERE ARE YOU, MAX? WHERE ARE YOU?
    Dream sandwich?
    Me, Max Irons, and Alex Pettyfer.

Reverse what she says to a guy saying this about a woman - she'd be having her daily meltdown on twitter over it

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

It's not like she can claim she doesn't know that her ideal idea of a male feminist was a sex offender. He was convicted and jailed and it was widely reported at the time, it's not a showbiz secret like Weinstein and Spacey were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,252 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Man, you're either reaching obsession levels with Louise O'Neill or you are her and trying to keep your name relevant.

Sonics2k wrote: »
    Man, you're either reaching obsession levels with Louise O'Neill or you are her and trying to keep your name relevant.

Yes I was hoping to be more outraged

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Any comment from her on the statements made by the woman raped by 2pac?
    Has he been downgraded to half asleep bae?

It's unfortunate for Louise that none of the male Irish politicians are "f*ckable" unlike in Canada

• Registered Users Posts: 281 ✭✭GMSA

Louise o Neill- the worst thing to come out of Clonakilty since .... erm erm ...EVER

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

GMSA wrote: »
    Louise o Neill- the worst thing to come out of Clonakilty since .... erm erm ...EVER

Clon? A nice bit of pudding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

The woke fellas are always a bit rapey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,782 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

The woke fellas are always a bit rapey

A standing cock has no conscience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

if rumours are to be believed, she's seeing a certain Mr Tubridy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,072 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

anna080 wrote: »

Jaysus. I dont know if either deserves to suffer the other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Sonics2k wrote: »

For someone who seems to despise the opinions of these twitter folk he appears to do his best to keep them in the public light alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,800 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

GMSA wrote: »

I think this awful paintjob is the worst thing to have come out of Clon:

http://www.phonebox.info/europe/wpe58.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

We'll know for sure when she starts appearing on the LLS every second week to plug her books.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Diana Warm Litter

Thought it was bressie with the way they tweet each other - I don't know which would be a nauseating, irritating couple, her and RT or Bresie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭Benildus

Thought it was bressie with the way they tweet each other - I don't know which would be a nauseating, irritating couple, her and RT or Bresie

No way would Bressie go from Roz Purcell to Louise O'Neill.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,287 ✭✭✭givyjoe

True, she has virtually no baps.

Lads, I literally saw her profile on bumble earlier this month, so I reckon it's unlikely to be either.

Wearing a repeal the 8th jumper I might ad!

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

That's just too much.:D

Can you imagine if Lou had been on the scene with 2pac and his crew in the mid 90s? They would have really 'respected' her.

She's virtue signalling here and also practicing the 'Bigotry of Low Expectations'. Black males are not held to the same behavioural standards as white males.

The irony of this being racist never seems to dawn on people like her.