Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Louise O'Neill on manned mission to Mars: "Why not go to Venus?" (MOD Warning post 1)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 752 ✭✭✭DickSwiveller Returns

You said that the Sunday World had Mary McAleese listed as an icon of 'Irish society' which I would be think she would, whether you agree with her views or not. I think most people in Ireland would know who Mary McAleese is despite what you said. You then shifted the goalposts by saying being an icon is an international thing like Elvis or Mickey Mouse. That wasn't what I would have though being an 'icon of Irish society' would have meant so I think we've ended up at cross purposes on the topic so I didn't see the point of continuing the conversation.

She's a former journalist but she's also a former professor of Criminal Law in Trinity and Pro-Vice-Chancellor of Queen's University who moved to Rome after her Presidency to study Canon Law. I don't care about the Church anymore, you probably don't either but she seems to care deeply about it. She cares enough to devote several years of her life to study to help advocate for those, like her gay son, that she feels aren't represented by the church. To me, it's tilting at windmills because she's never going to be able to change it but I'd admire that the passion and personal commitment she has made and to accuse her of doing it for likes or to be cool is being incredibly reductive and petty.

Well, I do care about the Church, and would like to see some reforms, but she isn't helping anyone by grandstanding and given speeches about "An empire of misogyny". You don't think she knew that the media dopes would collectively start slobbering all over her when she made those comments? Likewise, announcing that she'll be marching at Gay pride with her son, gives me the impression that she is desperate for attention. I've noticed in the last few weeks that posters of her son organising public meetings about housing have been springing up in South Dublin. Looks like he'll be making a stand for the Dáil soon enough. Seems a bit cynical if you ask me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,247 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

DONTMATTER wrote: »
    I thought one of their main issues was to highlight the number of women who've been raped and assaulted and fight against it. Is that NOTHING?

This is from the other thread, but since that's closed.

The problem with that is , is her line is just believe women no matter what they say, so innocent men are being tarnished, rugby players careers are being ruined for a rape that never happened - etc.

So on the surface it might seem noble but it's doing more damage to innocent men and genuine rape victims.
    Calling George Hook a "Rape apologist" which is clearly slander doesn't help things either.

Meanwhile LON will ignore the gang rape of an Irish girl in Prague because they were the wrong type of perpatrators.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,355 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

TomSweeney wrote: »
    This is from the other thread, but since that's closed.

The problem with that is , is her line is just believe women no matter what they say, so innocent men are being tarnished, rugby players careers are being ruined for a rape that never happened - etc.

So on the surface it might seem noble but it's doing more damage to innocent men and genuine rape victims.
    Calling George Hook a "Rape apologist" which is clearly slander doesn't help things either.

Meanwhile LON will ignore the gang rape of an Irish girl in Prague because they were the wrong type of perpatrators.

There was an allegation made against Chris Hardwick (Host of Talking Dead, generally covers nerdy stuff and other things) by a former girlfriend.

His name get's smeared all over the media, She gets believed...and then a thorough investigation is carried out, and it's revealed she told this story before, but with a different number of elements to the story.
    And evidence contradicts her claims...

https://www.screengeek.net/2018/07/28/chloe-dykstra-statement-chris-hardwick/

She comes across as incredibly immature and doesn't seem to understand th major damage her allegations did-I would even allege she's unstable. She didn't get involved in the investigation, didn't provide the alleged evidence she claimed to have, and now wants to 'move on' with her life.

When LON and co pull this kind of 'believe women' rubbish, it's hard to not pay attention to similar stories like this, where a smear campaign is conducted on folks who are entirely innocent.

But this is the sort of infantilisation of women that's happening now.

Similarly, Dykstra is dating actor Robert Kazinsky, who sexually harassed a woman about 11 years ago. He's admitted to this, yet this shows she's somewhat damaged (not beyond repair I mean, just has terrible taste in guys).

https://www.screengeek.net/2018/06/24/robert-kazinsky-sexual-harassment-multiple-women/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

I hear she’s joining the mod team, big announcement soon.

Fr_Dougal wrote: »

I imagine she's gleeful now that there's a Rose of colour in the competition-in her eyes 'the first time ever' (even though its not).

If she doesn't win, expect calls of 'racism, sexism, outdated competition' etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,965 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

you forgot misogyny. Dont forget misogyny!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,755 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Could you imagine if you were and escort for the Rose of Tralee and you were paired with Louise!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

Fr_Dougal wrote: »

Even more pretzel-brained hypocrisy in our future. Great.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 991 ✭✭✭The Crowman

You forget they did-Dana tried to run against her, but she couldn't get the support. She was running as an independent, and I don't know the methods required, but she needed two parties to offer support to help her run in the campaign.

She couldn't get em. It was more that people, party political folks, didn't want to endure a campaign.

She wasn't as popular as Mary Robinson, for example.

TBH Dana hadn't a hope of being elected. I remember her on one of the RTE presidential election debates the time she ran and she was clueless, she came across as a bit unhinged really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

If you don't like what she's saying why would you give her the oxygen of free publicity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,524 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

If you don't like what she's saying why would you give her the oxygen of free publicity.

This isn’t about a battle of ideas. It’s a cartoonish circle jerk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

Without it I would never have heard of this person.

Me neither. I’ve still never come across one of her articles by accident. I reckon some of this threads posters are some of her most faithful readers!

Could you imagine if you were and escort for the Rose of Tralee and you were paired with Louise!

Oh God-I'd imagine she'd get you to wear the dress, and she'd wear the suit. Cos gender roles.

The ROT did have a feminist on the Rose of Tralee one time-she complained about every darn thing. Months after the darn thing was over, she was still whinging. (Tbf, I agreed with her on the 'elimination' thing which was douchey.)
    TBH Dana hadn't a hope of being elected. I remember her on one of the RTE presidential election debates the time she ran and she was clueless, she came across as a bit unhinged really.

Yeah, she was trying to get the EU to ban gay marriage across the board, then she also tried to get abortion banned across the EU, as well as putting 'God' into the written 'ban'.

Now, each to their own regarding beliefs-but forcing those beliefs on others means you can get lost.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

The girl hasnt been born yet that doesnt crave donning her best frock, being charming to a man lobbing her easy question that give her the opportunity to show off, and a chance to display to the assembled, one of her accomplishments.

And Louise is such a doll. She would have been super on it. Could have taken her on different life track altogether. Landed herself a strapping escort. Become part of the Cork county set. Ah well. Sliding doors and all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,305 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Do the escorts get paid protection money at all ? Why is Louise o Neil entering the rose of Tralee ? Oh I can imagine the scene on the dome stage when daithi calls her girleen or some other offensive statement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,755 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    Do the escorts get paid protection money at all ? Why is Louise o Neil entering the rose of Tralee ? Oh I can imagine the scene on the dome stage when daithi calls her girleen or some other offensive statement.

I don't think the escorts get paid but they generally get sponsored by a few business that are from their area.
    Daithi might bring her out of her shell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,305 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

I don't think the escorts get paid but they generally get sponsored by a few business that are from their area.
    Daithi might bring her out of her shell.

I'd say might get a clatter in his shell. If he said something she considered offensive will Leahy would earn his money then I'll tell ya. The camera would shoot the crowd while a ruckus has broken out on stage.

Will Leahy: ladies and gentlemen we are experiencing some technical issues with the stage lighting at the moment. Please stand by

• Closed Accounts Posts: 771 ✭✭✭HappyAsLarE

Something just popped into my head re oppression of women and this is the most appropriate place for it: have any of yee married men tried to oppress your wife? Yeah...not possible is it?!

Christ on a bike.
    Never heard of domestic violence?
    You’ll be shocked to hear that men can be subject to domestic violence too.

With a bit of luck your lone thought will pop back out of your head soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,042 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Clonakilty author named Cork Person of the Month

Critically acclaimed writer and columnist Louise O’Neill has been named Cork Person of the Month for August 2018.

The Clonakilty native’s book ‘Asking For It’, which examined rape culture in Ireland, was commissioned for a spin-off play and was the inspiration for an RTÉ documentary.

A movie is also in pre-production and the play will be back on stage this November at the Abbey Theatre, Dublin.

Ms O’Neill also writes a weekly column for the Irish Examiner newspaper, covering topics such as as gender politics, women’s rights, and challenging subjects like anorexia and bulimia.

“Louise is a feminist and very politically engaged,” said awards organiser Manus O’Callaghan.

“She is one of Cork’s bravest and most honest writers as well as being a great writer.

“Her work is important for both young and old alike and for both male and female,” he added

https://www.eveningecho.ie/corknews/Clonakilty-author-named-Cork-Person-of-the-Month-174ce5fb-c9b2-4eef-90e4-0cabbd2e5ae3-ds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    Clonakilty author named Cork Person of the Month

Critically acclaimed writer and columnist Louise O’Neill has been named Cork Person of the Month for August 2018.

The Clonakilty native’s book ‘Asking For It’, which examined rape culture in Ireland, was commissioned for a spin-off play and was the inspiration for an RTÉ documentary.

A movie is also in pre-production and the play will be back on stage this November at the Abbey Theatre, Dublin.

Ms O’Neill also writes a weekly column for the Irish Examiner newspaper, covering topics such as as gender politics, women’s rights, and challenging subjects like anorexia and bulimia.

“Louise is a feminist and very politically engaged,” said awards organiser Manus O’Callaghan.

“She is one of Cork’s bravest and most honest writers as well as being a great writer.

“Her work is important for both young and old alike and for both male and female,” he added

https://www.eveningecho.ie/corknews/Clonakilty-author-named-Cork-Person-of-the-Month-174ce5fb-c9b2-4eef-90e4-0cabbd2e5ae3-ds

Dangerous, the amount of girls and women that look up to her as some sort of role model is frightening.
    And all based on disingenous info and twisted stats - all thrown in with good old fashioned man hating.
    Ironically about LON is , she wants young girls to have a "victim" mentality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,926 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

Dangerous, the amount of girls and women that look up to her as some sort of role model is frightening.
    And all based on disingenous info and twisted stats - all thrown in with good old fashioned man hating.

wonder will she give her thoughts on Roxanne Pallett and her antics on Celebrity Big Brother. Probably not ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Ah Jaysus, I thought Cork was better than this.

Now, that Louise O'Neill,
    And her man-hating spiel,
    Her books and her plays, I don't see the appeal
    'Cause at the end of the day,
    With what she has to say,
    You'd be mad not to call her, a langer.
    A langer?
    A LANGERRRRR!
    You'd be mad not to call her, a langer.

LON being named 'Cork Person of the Month'... so we can confirm absolutely nothing of note happened in Cork this month.

Emma Willis did what Louise didn't-and pretty much said 'enough!' to Roxanne. She's getting praised for it, but I imagine LON and co will blame her for not supporting women. Pallette had no support on twitter or anywhere-I imagine Rosemary MacCabe and LON will be supporting her.

I saw some 'girl' on twitter trying to make out that Roxanne was telling the truth-blaming yer man going to the gym for not knowing his own strength. Yes, because 'air punches' can cause so much damage. Didn't know that Ryan guy was Superman.
    2smiggy wrote: »
    wonder will she give her thoughts on Roxanne Pallett and her antics on Celebrity Big Brother. Probably not ...

Sure he was there raping her with his eyes when he looked at her, and then he put his hands on her without permission, and now he's shedding 'male tears' and possibly suicidal...
    Of course she won't support a guy who, despite all evidence, did nothing wrong.
    Sure a trial happened in Belfast where two lads were found not Guilty based on the witness testimony of a woman. LON of course saw through all the evidence to pronounce the two lads guilty. She then used it to promote her book and denounce men (except Daddy, who's absolutely perfect in all perfectness-unlike Grandpa).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

KrustyUCC wrote: »

Oh, the irony .......... for having a name like that.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,590 ✭✭✭LLMMLL

LON being named 'Cork Person of the Month'... so we can confirm absolutely nothing of note happened in Cork this month.

Emma Willis did what Louise didn't-and pretty much said 'enough!' to Roxanne. She's getting praised for it, but I imagine LON and co will blame her for not supporting women. Pallette had no support on twitter or anywhere-I imagine Rosemary MacCabe and LON will be supporting her.

Bizarre to compare Emma Willis and LoN. Emma Willis was interviewing her as part of her tv work. LON hasn’t and has nothing to do with CBB. Why would you compare the two. Really strange argument.

And yes. Their supposed support of Pallett is in your imagination. That’s why you had to imagine what they’d say.
    Sure a trial happened in Belfast where two lads were found not Guilty based on the witness testimony of a woman. LON of course saw through all the evidence to pronounce the two lads guilty. She then used it to promote her book and denounce men (except Daddy, who's absolutely perfect in all perfectness-unlike Grandpa).

That’s an incredibly weak comparison. The Belfast trial was a he said she said with a witness catching a glimpse of what was going on. The CBB situation has video evidence of the whole incident.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,421 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

'A great writer'

Really?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

I just listened to the Blindboy podcast interview with LON. She comes across grand. Just a person doing their but to advance the causes in which they believe.

I didn’t think she said anything controversial. It was my first time listening to an interview with her and she failed to live up to the grotesque caricature I’ve seen portrayed on this thread.