Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

How many have gone on holidays alone?

• 12-11-2017 10:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭

How many of you have gone on holidays alone, either by choice or because you no-one to go with you?

I've gone abroad alone several times alone because I haven't had someone to come with me and I've also gone on many accompanied hols too. The solo trips were mostly very successful as I made acquaintances along the way and had a good time.

Overall I prefer company but I've had a few shared trips where the companion, though well-known to me for years, turned out to be not the best person when it came to things like sharing rooms, alcohol over-indulgence, hygene issues, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,021 ✭✭✭✭anewme

There's a forum for independent travel in the travel section.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,305 ✭✭✭✭branie2

not me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Fair play! Id love to try a short weekend away on my own for a start anyway, see how it goes. Im very introverted, so youd think Id like going away alone, but I dont think Id be able to go somewhere new, fall asleep alone, wake up alone..go to see attractions and not have anyone to ask their opinions about it too.

When I do go on holidays though I usually get sick of company very quickly, someitmes take the odd day to myself and go off on my own. Its nice to have the company there even if I dont want it all the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,902 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Yes, I've travelled abroad alone but usually hooked up with friends and acquaintances when I got to my destination.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Ya....and had a lot more fun than if I'd gone with anyone else

Deffo do it again in the future

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭lazeedaisy

I love to travel alone and am glad himself is not one of those people who think it's weird their wife loves to go away alone!

I travel with himself or my mum if the travel calls for it, but if I need alone time or don't want to be dragging them places I want to go, then I go. My work can dictate the time off, and I took several weeks to travel various states on my own.

However, I was planning a trip and himself is coming with me, we are taking a month off, and for the month of January will head to San Francisco.

I love the fact that we do our own thing and our together thing, but some people just don't get it. I don't love golf, he does, so he gets his breaks and has interests that just don't appeal to me.

Plus we have 3 dogs, and it makes life all the more simpler when one stays to mind them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,487 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭Comhrá

anewme wrote: »
    There's a forum for independent travel in the travel section.

I know that but I wanted to ask the question here on AH.

Comhra wrote: »
    I know that but I wanted to ask the question here on AH.

You have removed the smart ...if that is ok with you bit.

"I wanted to ask the question if that is ok with you"

I was letting you know as a courtesy from someone who has travelled alone.

No need to be passive aggressive.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

Loads of times, it can be a bit lonely at times but I've had some of my best times and met the best people while travelling alone

You have removed the smart ...if that is ok with you bit.

"I wanted to ask the question if that is ok with you"

I was letting you know as a courtesy from someone who has travelled alone.

No need to be passive aggressive.

When I saw your comment, at first I thought you were being a bit sarcastic and after I replied, I thought I might have misjudged it and I edited my post.

Apologies...I misconstrued your post....definitely not wanting to be discourteous or rude to you

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,170 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Yeah, a couple of times. Then again I'd talk to the wall, so tend to collect people along the way.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

Just once, and I discovered that it's not really for me. I'd rather have another person to knock around with, and spur me into doing things. They're in short supply though. I dithered about going alone for years, then I did it, and I'm not really interested in doing it again.

I've been on both Group travel where you know no one before you go(some brilliant and some disaster) and just setting off with backpack.

The Camino is brilliant for just going off and walking by yourself and seeing what happens. You always meet fantastic people from all over the world. You meet mad bonkers people you would never encounter day to day. I went with a walking group from Ireland on one trip and set off with four strangers and came back with solid friends for life.

Most of my friends were married and going to kids clubs on the costa, so I had the choice of sitting at home knitting or heading off myself.

I've been all over the world and no regrets.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

I travelled around Canada and some parts of the United States on my own. Well, you start out on your own, but your wolfpack swiftly expands to include new people, people from different continents, people from different cultures, people who are far more interesting than your own friends basically.

I like my friends but, being in my late 20s, most of them have steady jobs and or steady relationships which take priority over travelling, which is fine, but I thought it was a bit stupid for me to miss out on a bit of the world in fear of going alone, so I did and it was brilliant.

It makes your wallet as light as an empty packet of Wheelies, and especially if you don't budget, but you can't put a price on making foreign friends who you still contact regularly, and memories which warm the heart whenever you get sad about not being back there.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Yes, always.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

Gone on a few holidays by myself and got on grand cos I like my own company and stay in hostels so I get to meet lots of interesting people.

There are some places I probably wouldn't do by myself again though. Got awfully street harassed in Naples and parts of Southern Italy. As a 6' tall, blonde, pale female I stuck out like a sore thumb and the attention was extremely uncomfortable. Germany, France and Nordic countries are grand but some countries I would avoid cos of the street harrasment by myself.

What I've found about going on trips alone, is that you have to reach out a bit more if it's company you desire.

I've done a few of those escorted trips as a solo traveller and I've always found that there's usually several nice people in any given group with whom I can get on with. Indeed, some of my most enjoyable and sociable hols abroad came about from being mixed in with a motley crowd of 20-40 people. After about two days, everyone usually chills out an becomes amenable to mixing.

Comhra wrote: »
    What I've found about going on trips alone, is that you have to reach out a bit more if it's company you desire.

I've done a few of those escorted trips as a solo traveller and I've always found that there's usually several nice people in any given group with whom I can get on with. Indeed, some of my most enjoyable and sociable hols abroad came about from being mixed in with a motley crowd of 20-40 people. After about two days, everyone usually chills out an becomes amenable to mixing.

Went on one extremely expensive trip where they were all alpha successful females. The guide could not cope and when anti Irish comments were passed I lost the plot!

That was the end of that!

I had one eventful trip once too, in Majorca. I went alone with an escorted tour and there was a group of about five middle-aged unattached females who were good fun.....until one of them approached me alone, and asked if I'd take one of her friends to a night-club. I was taken aback and made an excuse, which wasn't graciously accepted and the rest of the week was a bit awkward with the ladies a little underwhelmed with my 'snub'. Takes all kinds but that was the only uncomfortable experience I've had as an unaccompanied male on vacation. :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 93 ✭✭Tommy Ferguson

Alone with an escorted tour are you extracting urine?

Why?

travellling solo is a big deal for the person concerned.

I've traveled alone and also in small group tours in areas I was not sure of, you still feel alone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,742 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

I have holidayed several times alone and always enjoyed it. What i dont like is when people look at me blankly and say "oh you are going alone?"- eh yes i mean who the hell could i find to go with me to America or south africa etc when your single? Nobody has the time or money so i enjoy my solo trips. Some people cant bear to be alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭Estrellita

I wouldn't have any qualms about it. As in, I wouldn't be afraid to. But my OH likes travelling too, and it's something we would want to experience together.

I can definitely see the attraction though to just heading off somewhere on your own. Visiting historical sights, going to restaurants etc all at your own pace. Oh and the markets, love the markets.

No I'm not. I was on a tour with approx forty other strangers to me. The trip had a guide. That's what I meant. I was travelling on my own.

I have holidayed several times alone and always enjoyed it. What i dont like is when people look at me blankly and say "oh you are going alone?"- eh yes i mean who the hell could i find to go with me to America or south africa etc when your single? Nobody has the time or money so i enjoy my solo trips. Some people cant bear to be alone.

It's a complete pain in the hole, and as long as money allows, touch wood, I'll set off.

My ma often says you'll come back dead but secretly she's proud of me.

As a single female of a certain age, it is a big deal. I've friends who would not as much as walk into the pub alone. But I could walks to the top of a mountain in Ethiopia. That's far from where I came from.

You'll be a long time dead.

I went to London and Manchester alone in 2013. Loved it, could do what I wanted without having to worry about anyone else. Would gladly do it again. :)

I've done a few city breaks alone, for two-three nights at a time. Going on another solo trip next month, am spending three nights in Madrid (will be my first time ever in Spain) which will coincide with my birthday. I don't have many close friends so it's hard to find travel buddies. I do enjoy solo travel because I can pursue my own itinerary but it does get a bit lonely as I'm not the best at making friends with strangers. Travelling with friends at least ensures you have company and don't feel lonely.

I did travel a bit of China five years ago by myself but most of my three months there was spent working.

People both single and partnered have so many different habits re holidaying.

My sister is married and her husband and her occasionally holiday together, but they also do their own thing. He went to South Africa once for a month as he had connections there from previous employment. She wasn't keen to go there.

His wife would take a week by herself in Spain or the Canaries as he's not a sun lover. Different strokes etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

Been all over the place travelling alone, moved abroad when I was young also. It can be difficult but the benefits are there to be experienced. I'm not bothered by perceived social opinion much anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 399 ✭✭leestone

travelled solo to London two years ago was alright got to try a few things my mates wouldn't be into, planning a trip to the states in January looking at Boston NY and DC, auld pair rather I go with a group but I'm 28 and plan to see a lot of the world now