Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Republic of Ireland vs Denmark, World Cup Play-Off 2nd Leg, kick-off 7.45, RTE 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,656 ✭✭✭DJIMI TRARORE

I'd say the FAI just"lost" the contract that was on the table

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,166 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

brilou23 wrote: »
    That's it keep insulting people speaking sense.

People regularly insult Dunphy (calling him Dumbphy) only to parrot his gospel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,729 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

D.Q wrote: »
    What's the harm in giving holohan 45 minutes. Literally nothing to lose.

They might be his last 45 minutes for Ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Poor Ireland, but we can turn this around. Two foolish goals to giveaway tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Burial.

Might as well throw the kitchen sink at it. Get on McGeady to run at them, get on someone like Hourihane who actually has the balls to play ball and make something happen. Get Wes on. There are options there. Need to make changes now and have a go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Brady and Arter didn't bust a gut to get back when Ward lost the ball

• Registered Users Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

This is a discussion forum, what do you expect? Just a line of posts all commenting "Go on Ireland" "COYBIG" etc?

Not everyone trying to find a scapegoat. Most of the comments are simplistic, knee jerk rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,453 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

The nutmeg on Arter shows his complete lack of defensive ability. I could have defended that better, leaving your legs wide open like that is a remedial error.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,067 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Unearthly wrote: »
    Feck life
    Jesus man it's only a game of football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,605 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

We're just lulling them into a false sense of security

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,111 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Can someone tell me what has Wes Houlihan done that makes people think so highly of him?

Omackeral wrote: »
    Some positives if we fail to qualify, we won't have to put up with;

A) The Best Fans in the World having the mad craic daily.

B) This Paddy Power 'banter' every ad break.

C) That cockwomble ringing that godforsaken bell every few minutes.

The fact that other people enjoying themselves on holiday seems to annoy or offend Boards posters is not a surprise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭brianregan09

yeah I'd defo stick Brady left back at least him and Mclean can work well together

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

I wish I was english

The fact that other people enjoying themselves on holiday seems to annoy or offend Boards posters is not a surprise.

Irish fans should be miserable predicting we are going to loose every match. Thats the downtrodden spirit we deserve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,661 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

I'd have Long and Hoolahan on for Arter and Ward. Stick Brady or McClean at left back.

Hendrick will come off.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

Mclean only had to move a yd or two to the left the get the ball into feet on the edge of the box for that second goal. He just stood still and gave ward no option.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

If MON doesnt make changes at half time it shows he is clueless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,453 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

I wish I was english

So your disappointment could come in the form of penalties?

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

I'd bring Wes & Long on now for Ward and Hendrick who is invisible yet again.
    No point waiting till the 75th or 80th min like he usually does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,396 ✭✭✭sjb25

It's grand we are playing downhill this half :)

Brady's woeful underhit pass did Ward no favours but Brady is immune to criticism.

Mclean only had to move a yd or two to the left the get the ball into feet on the edge of the box for that second goal. He just stood still and gave ward no option.

Listen Ward ****ed up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,943 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

We can only come back to the failure to get an away goal. Even now we would be in a much better position coming back with a 1 - 1 or 2 - 2 from Denmark.

Felt it would really hurt us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Unearthly

Jesus man it's only a game of football.

Ah yeah i know i just like being dramatic :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,121 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

I wish I was english

Get out

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

After seeing the wide angle replay i wouldn't blame Ward tbh and I'm not his biggest fan.

Everyone went to the box cause ONeill just wants them to get it long, he had nowhere to pass it but back.

You wouldn't see this stuff at Junior level.

Every throw in is a long ball, every free is into the box, every attack relies on the attacker beating 4 defenders to win something to repeat the process over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭johnpatrick81

pjohnson wrote: »
    Brady's woeful underhit pass did Ward no favours but Brady is immune to criticism.

He’s really not. I think he’s deservedly getting a trashing. Terrible attacking and defending in that half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,843 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I'd have Long and Hoolahan on for Arter and Ward. Stick Brady or McClean at left back.
    Arter and Ward...terrible tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,968 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Hate those Paddy Power ads where they read out fake social media posts, so irritating...

I hate those paddy power things. pure ****e.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

sjb25 wrote: »
    It's grand we are playing downhill this half :)

The scoring goals as they say in the GAA

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Quazzie wrote: »
    Can someone tell me what has Wes Houlihan done that makes people think so highly of him?

Scored the goal against Sweden in the Euros.

Set up the goal against Italy in the Euros.

Perfectly weighted pass for McCleans goal against Austria.

Perfectly weighted pass for Long vs Moldova

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Wes on for the second half.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,250 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Wes on mcgeady on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭brianregan09

Arter and Meyler off O_O

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

McGeady

Yay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭johnpatrick81

Here we go!! Wessi time! And mgeady!!!

Arter off, no offence to anyone but he's been awful in an Irish shirt.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Hoolahan and McGeady coming on.

COME ON!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,546 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Wes and McGeady on the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭alta stare

Strumms wrote: »
    Arter and Ward...terrible tonight

And Christie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

Wes & McGeady on, ok well at least it's more attacking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

pjohnson wrote: »

Brady has been criticized plenty on this thread already. The pass was slightly under hit but it was all on Ward losing possession. He still had plenty of time to deal with it.

Good to see you finally commenting on the game than hab8nga dig at other posters although you still managed to get that into the above post anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Burial.

At least they're showing some balls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,529 ✭✭✭irishgeo

Saint Wes on

Let's see what wes has.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,214 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

The confidence I had in our defensive prowess has proved accurate. Really, really poor goals to give away. Really poor, asking for the first with the leaving the 2 on 1 option at the corners constantly.

Wes the Irish Messi is coming on so who knows, but I can see Denmark scoring again now we will be open.

Hopefully the players were brought together at half time because they were niggling at each other a little there which is no good for anybody.

Come on Ireland!

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."