Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Republic of Ireland vs Denmark, World Cup Play-Off 2nd Leg, kick-off 7.45, RTE 2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

That's what you get when you replace a competent midfielder with McGeady

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

Too much space in front of the back four again. Lovely finish. Top class player. Feared they would do this when they had more space. Anyway, that's that for you. Back to our game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭johnpatrick81

0-0 in copenhagen

Set us up nicely for tonight.

Well done MON

Well done indeed. Playing open it woulda been 6-0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,932 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

Quazzie wrote: »
    And that folks is why we needed the midfield we had at the start.

Game Over!

fcuk you're right, had we kept the defensive mids on we could hold them to only winning 2-1.

Couldn't be arsed watching anymore.

Hopefully MoN steps down and the night won't be a total write off.

Another two years of that dross isn't worth 2/3 WC games where we stick 11 behind the ball and wait until we're behind to try play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

I didn't want to go to Russia anyway. Bears and Snow and ****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,943 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Would rather the ref blew the final whistle tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

The way O’Neill sent out the team to play against Georgia was the beginning of the end

He should be sacked but we’re stuck with him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,368 ✭✭✭MonkieSocks

This is a spanking now :mad:

Eriksen on a hat trick now

=(:-) Me? I know who I am. I'm a dude playing a dude disguised as another dude (-:)=

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

nullzero wrote: »
    They're playing us, they'll go the world cup and do nothing. Just like the sides who've spanked us over the last decade and a half, Switzerland for example embarrassed us time after time in qualifiers and were dogsh1t in every tournament they went to.

Strange that, I remember a team our group for the 2014 qualifiers going on to win the whole thing...

The last time I can remember the Swiss finishing above us in our group off the top of my head were the 2006 qualifiers; they topped their group in that world cup, ahead of eventual finalists France (who were also in our qualifying group).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,729 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

They could end up getting 4-5 goals + here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,121 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Way too open, we should have kept with the same tactics as Saturday night.

Hope dunphy and Co are happy.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Rank bad management by O'Neill taking off two defensive midfielders.

Take one off sure. But both?

Cancel that ****ing contract and pay up the compo and get him and that clown Keane out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Unearthly

It's the taking part that counts

Which is why not being part of world cup hurts :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭weadick

Curse of the pipe band strikes again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭mrsoundie

It's revenge for humiliating yer wan outside Victoria's Secret!

You are a fool

You are reported

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,656 ✭✭✭DJIMI TRARORE

Anything to be said for saying a mass

• Tyson Fury wrote: »
    Way too open, we should have kept with the same tactics as Saturday night.

Hope dunphy and Co are happy.

Bull**** x2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,358 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

McClean acting like Billy Big Bollocks running across getting frustrated and the whole shape went on the team. Sisto and Eriksen had all the time in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Good man Ronnie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

Well done indeed. Playing open it woulda been 6-0

We havent played open ball though.

Our ****e tactics have been rumpled. Like they were against georgia away amd serbia at home.

Well that's that. Our OTT celebrations in Cardiff look silly now. Folks, in truth we'd add nothing to a world cup anyway aside from eejits serenading nuns. Our two best players, Walters and Coleman were out injured and that fúcked us

• Registered Users Posts: 431 ✭✭Vital Transformation

The neatness of the passing for that goal just emphasised their technical superiority. Deserved qualifiers.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭TheCitizen

Couldn't be arsed watching anymore.

Hopefully MoN steps down and the night won't be a total write off.

Another two years of that dross isn't worth 2/3 WC games where we stick 11 behind the ball and wait until we're behind to try play.
    If he steps down who do we get Einstein?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,949 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Cancel that ****ing contract and pay up the compo and get him and that clown Keane out.

Did they sign in the end? I thought I remember hearing in a few weeks that it was still pending?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,534 ✭✭✭SomethingElse

That's what you get when you replace a competent midfielder with Wessi

FYP

• Registered Users Posts: 3,813 ✭✭✭One More Toy

Here's to a stress free Summer 2018.

Just my luck to get allocated tickets for our group matches if we qualified. Fitting end to a ****ty year for me

This is a spanking now :mad:

Eriksen on a hat trick now

He's a class act. He has more creativity and spark than our combined 11, and at least will bring something to Russia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,795 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Kind of funny how people were writing Eriksen off after the first leg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

If you pay the peanuts you get the monkey's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,292 ✭✭✭GreNoLi

Tyson Fury wrote: »
    You can't buy that quality in international football.

But you can naturalise it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭brilou23

But...but...Wes :,(

Idiot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

O Neil out should have qualified automatically after the start we had but the games against Georgia and Wales at home fcuked us

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Close from McClean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,295 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

Strange subs indeed, played further into Danish hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,949 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Good man Ronnie

I think we heard you the 10th time!

• Well done indeed. Playing open it woulda been 6-0

Talking out your hoop yet again
    We gave them the initiative once we took the lead

Those MON tactics invited the pressure

The goals were always going to come

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,736 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

Here's to a stress free Summer 2018.

Business owners and Ibec heads are breathing a huge sigh of relief....a more productive Summers work ahead nationwide.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

Our ****e tactics have been rumpled. Like they were against georgia away amd serbia at home.

It’s got little to do with tactics. They’re better than us.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,694 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Quazzie wrote: »
    And that folks is why we needed the midfield we had at the start.

Game Over!

a midfield that also conceded twice anyway?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

TheCitizen wrote: »
    If he steps down who do we get Einstein?

No Weinstein. Maybe we can molest are way to a world cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Bring on whelan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

You’re not the brightest are you. We play caution we get 0-0.

We attack them and concede 3(so far)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

good man MON
    take off the two lads covering their one world class player

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,358 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

Bottom line is the team are off similar general quality, but one team has a world class player and the other doesn't.

It's not rocket science.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭rebeve

Wes Who !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

I 'm afraid to say what I am thinking but I going to post it anyway. Have to be honest lads but I think you were a better footballing side under Trap. Not seeing what MON brings to the table on that front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

So do we still need 2 'managers'?