Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Al Porter Scandal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

Has anyone seen the messages floating around on WhatsApp? He really should've been more careful.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭glenfieldman

Has anyone seen the messages floating around on WhatsApp? He really should've been more careful.

No any chance of a screen grab ? or a PM ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,168 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

For the record, I don't care if he rode one guy or twenty guys, whether he uses course language in describing those times with his mates, snorts cocaine or is high as a kite before he performs on stage. I don't care and I don't need nor want to know. It is his own business.

The sexual misconduct is all that should be talked about. Anything else is just salaciousness and we really should try rise above that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Gets getting weird now.... Some people getting a little too involved. It's like people are getting off on it at this stage

everlast75 wrote: »
    For the record, I don't care if he rode one guy or twenty guys, whether he uses course language in describing those times with his mates, snorts cocaine or is high as a kite before he performs on stage. I don't care and I don't need nor want to know. It is his own business.

The sexual misconduct is all that should be talked about. Anything else is just salaciousness and we really should try rise above that.

Fact

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

Couldn't agree more, people now have such a tendency for tearing apart every detail of someone's life because they make a mistake in one area.

Let he without sin and all that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 155 ✭✭jack hackett

The thing is, just because Porter isnt in the media any longer doesnt mean hes not still a sex pest, the guy should seek help as he obviously has a big problem, not only has he destroyed his panto, radio and tv careers but he cant very well do stand up any longer, all his material was filth and now that he has been outed as a sex pest he cant very well do that kind of show any longer now that people know he is a sex pest, in a way i do feel (no pun intended) sorry for the guy but how did he ever think it was acceptable to go around grabbing guys by the goolies? you just cant do that type of thing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭Don Kiddick

How about an auld mickey grab instead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

pilly wrote: »
    Couldn't agree more, people now have such a tendency for tearing apart every detail of someone's life because they make a mistake in one area.

Let he without sin and all that.

Like the sin of touching up mental patients?

I'm pretty comfortable casting stones in this instance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

The thing is, just because Porter isnt in the media any longer doesnt mean hes not still a sex pest, the guy should seek help as he obviously has a big problem, not only has he destroyed his panto, radio and tv careers but he cant very well do stand up any longer, all his material was filth and now that he has been outed as a sex pest he cant very well do that kind of show any longer now that people know he is a sex pest, in a way i do feel (no pun intended) sorry for the guy but how did he ever think it was acceptable to go around grabbing guys by the goolies? you just cant do that type of thing

He will be able to do stand up though. Plenty of people have no problem with his behavior and don’t know what all the fuss is about.
    Roy Chubby Brown and Bernard Manning et al were very successful for years.
    He’ll have no problem turning all of this into part of his act.
    I don’t find it funny myself but I’m not going to tell other people what they can laugh at.
    What I don’t want is to have it shoved down my throat on mainstream TV and radio and all over the media basically.
    Al Porter is not a main stream entertainer and should never have been pitched that way, his agent/manager and the TV/radio bosses need to take some responsibility here too.

Bambi wrote: »
    Like the sin of touching up mental patients?

I'm pretty comfortable casting stones in this instance

Obviously that's awful.. But I'd like to see a legal verdict

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

splinter65 wrote: »
    He will be able to do stand up though. Plenty of people have no problem with his behavior and don’t know what all the fuss is about.

I seriously doubt that. Accusations of sexual misconduct are very hard to come back from - lots of theatres and venues won't be willing to book him or work with him.

I don’t find it funny myself but I’m not going to tell other people what they can laugh at.
    What I don’t want is to have it shoved down my throat on mainstream TV and radio and all over the media basically.
    Al Porter is not a main stream entertainer and should never have been pitched that way, his agent/manager and the TV/radio bosses need to take some responsibility here too.
    He's very much a mainstream act

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

This reminds me of BBC Show Extras, and yer man on the Panto.... (not Bunny)

He's very much a mainstream act

Absolutely not a mainstream act.
    If the whole family can’t sit down and watch it then it belongs in very late night TV or in private clubs and pubs where people choose to pay in to enjoy the act.
    Nothing about his appearance on LLS Valentines night was mainstream, his radio show was ridiculous for families in cars travellling home from school his Blind Date was a car crash.
    Not fair on him apart from anything else, he doesn’t have the comedic talent to modify his act to make him palatable to mainstream.
    Even if these allegations had not surfaced, I doubt if his “mainstream” career was going to go anywhere.
    When you can’t stop yourself from using the word “cock” in every sentence and you don’t have an act without the word “cock” then your pretty much snookered for prime time Saturday night TV.

If the whole family can’t sit down and watch it then it belongs in very late night TV or in private clubs and pubs where people choose to pay in to enjoy the act.
    Nothing about his appearance on LLS Valentines night was mainstream, his radio show was ridiculous for families in cars travellling home from school his Blind Date was a car crash.
    Not fair on him apart from anything else, he doesn’t have the comedic talent to modify his act to make him palatable to mainstream.
    Even if these allegations had not surfaced, I doubt if his “mainstream” career was going to go anywhere.
    When you can’t stop yourself from using the word “cock” in every sentence and you don’t have an act without the word “cock” then your pretty much snookered for prime time Saturday night TV.

He's a main stream act.... He never has and never will have a career in alternative comedy

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,611 ✭✭✭david75

Yeah he’s deffo not mainstream. He’s a much bluer version of Mrs browns browns boys. I don’t know anyone who ever even found him funny. Loads like his big personality but his version humour not at all.

It's the "bit of blue" end of mainstream... But it is mainstream

He’s loathed in Dublin’s comedy scene and was before all this news broke. And said as much in the Irish Times only a week or two ago. There’s no come back for him in that scene either.

Alternative comedians don't usually discuss mickeys etc

Well it’s obvious he’s not alternative either.

The most fitting term I can think of is he’s a throwback.

If this was late 70s/early 80s he’d probably be huge. In Britain at least. He wouldn’t have been allowed on Irish tv at the time.

God be with the days

Well I have to fully agree with you on the fact that he is not and never could be mainstream hes too one dimensional, filth and inuendo and thats it, his agent is always going to get him what he can, he landed him a 140k a year job with todayfm but its todayfm who have to take a lot of responsibility here, they made a massive error here and it backfired on him completely
    Brown and Manning weren't outed as sex pests and there is no way porter can make a joke out of the fact that he has been caught out as a sex pest, even people who like his sort of crap, i dont think anybody can find sexual harassment funny

tv and radio stations will learn a hard lesson from this now and wont be so brave as to bring in a non mainstream guy like this again, it has badly backfired on tv3 and todayfm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,857 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

It's the "bit of blue" end of mainstream... But it is mainstream

Nah his act isn't mainstream, it was pretty much full on sexual themes even more so than Brendan o Carroll at his mid 90s blue-est -

HOWEVER his agent managed to shoehorn him into mainstream jobs like the today fm gig and tv3 light entertainment, the attitude seemed to be fcuk the public they'll take what they are given...

It's backfired to say the least.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 93 ✭✭Ballstein

The most astonishing thing for me is the way he was allowed to quietly step away from the panto. The man is a sexual deviant who targets vunerable psychiatric patients and yet there wasn't a defeaning roar to have him removed from a setting that involved working intimately with children and intellectually challenged people i.e the people who attend panto's. If old Harvey had been lined up to play the ogre in some show in the Gaitey then the mob would have been outside with burning torches and forks.

Alternative comedians don't usually discuss mickeys etc

Only Al and Twink do.

Fitting, in a way :D

He's a main stream act.... He never has and never will have a career in alternative comedy

So your happy to sit preteens and pensioners in front of his Blind Date show?
    Everyone to their own but I think the preteens in particular are bombarded with enough pornographic rubbish without adults who care for them force feeding them more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,168 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Ballstein wrote: »
    The most astonishing thing for me is the way he was allowed to quietly step away from the panto. The man is an alleged sexual deviant who allegedly targets vunerable psychiatric patients and yet there wasn't a defeaning roar to have him removed from a setting that involved working intimately with children and intellectually challenged people i.e the people who attend panto's. If old Harvey had been lined up to play the ogre in some show in the Gaitey then the mob would have been outside with burning torches and forks.

Fixed your post for you. You might be right, and it is right that he stepped away from the panto and the radio show, but at the moment they are allegations and pitchforks and torches are a little away at the moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,857 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Fixed your post for you. You might be right, and it is right that he stepped away from the panto and the radio show, but at the moment they are allegations and pitchforks and torches are a little away at the moment

It is definitely right and also I would add that if people have criminal allegations to make they need to report them to the guards so that they can investigate through a proper and fair process

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

_Brian wrote: »
    I 100% agree.
    The thing that scares me is aparrently this is being produced as it’s what the “general public” want as entertainment. That scares the hell out of me as it seems Irish people have become a bunch of idiots entertained by the lowest form of wit.
    I’ve seen so many posts online calling for Porter to still do the stupid panto “because it won’t be the same without him”

This is being produced and marketed as what the general public want because the media want to push it and can justify it when some people think what he and other vulgar comedians do is funny. The media are a dirty lot by and large and cater for the lowest forms of entertainment. The media of course knew full well what Porter is and still his face was all over the TV and papers and his voice all over radio. Also one wonders where all these relatively small stations can get the money to pay him and others like him their inflated salaries.

So your happy to sit preteens and pensioners in front of his Blind Date show?
    Everyone to their own but I think the preteens in particular are bombarded with enough pornographic rubbish without adults who care for them force feeding them more.

I used to love the old Cilla Black blind date and I was horrified to see that a good old fashioned family show was to be presented by that smutty filthy porter, he was a disgrace, every sentence that came from him was referencing mickeys etc, no way could you sit and watch that with your granny or your kid, hes a sex pest and he obviously couldnt help himself but i am delighted for today fm and tv3 to see if spectacularly backfire on them, one day i was listening to the radio show and he asked a caller hows your flute, now how in the name of high school football can that ever be acceptable for the middle of the day radio listening?

Do people look for the TV programs to watch with their grannies? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

tv and radio stations will learn a hard lesson from this now and wont be so brave as to bring in a non mainstream guy like this again, it has badly backfired on tv3 and todayfm

There's plenty of non-mainstream people out there that aren't Gropy McGroperson…

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭s3rtvdbwfj81ch

Do people look for the TV programs to watch with their grannies? :confused:

No, but I bring my almost 4 year old over to my ma's house every Saturday and we stay for tea, and then watch a bit of telly before heading home.

Programs on between 5 and 7 on a Saturday are aimed at this kind of "something for everyone" kind of communal viewing - sure there may be a bit of inyourendo or double entendre, but nothing like what Porter was at on Blind Date.

That kind of stuff makes it uncomfortable for everyone in the room.

Or maybe it's different for you? Are you from one of these fully enlightened families where a the da never starts whistling nonchalantly when a sex scene comes on and there's a teenager in the room? Bully for you if so.

I'm from a weird family where we don't all sit around staring at the telly like the ****ing Royles :)

No, but I bring my almost 4 year old over to my ma's house every Saturday and we stay for tea, and then watch a bit of telly before heading home.

Programs on between 5 and 7 on a Saturday are aimed at this kind of "something for everyone" kind of communal viewing - sure there may be a bit of inyourendo or double entendre, but nothing like what Porter was at on Blind Date.

That kind of stuff makes it uncomfortable for everyone in the room.

First off, Blind Date was on at 9pm on a Sunday, not between 5 and 7 on a Saturday, you've obviously never even seen what you're calling filth.

Secondly, there was no more innuendo on it this time around than there was when Cilla Black did it.

You genuinely are blatantly judging the programme based off your dislike of Al Porter or maybe gay people in general, I'm not sure?

But I'll state it again, there was absolutely not once anything on Blind Date that I wouldn't be very comfortable to watch with my granny or children.

• Registered Users Posts: 181 ✭✭AustinLostin

First off, Blind Date was on at 9pm on a Sunday, not between 5 and 7 on a Saturday, you've obviously never even seen what you're calling filth.

Secondly, there was no more innuendo on it this time around than there was when Cilla Black did it.

You genuinely are blatantly judging the programme based off your dislike of Al Porter or maybe gay people in general, I'm not sure?

But I'll state it again, there was absolutely not once anything on Blind Date that I wouldn't be very comfortable to watch with my granny or children.

No in fairness now, Blind Date was pretty bad in terms of the innuendo- definitely one you'd be embarrassed to watch with your granny, and no way would I put that on for kids. Fair enough you saying that you were fine with the show, but I saw plenty of stuff I wouldn't have been comfortable to watch with kids. I'm gay and I think my boyfriend is as well and we watched the first episode because on ex of one of our friends was on - that programme was really bad, and really made me dislike Al Porter before any of this started - nothing to do with his sexuality or the scandal, it was just a very bad crass unfunny show.

Blind Date has always been crass and unfunny, that's my point, it's totally scripted and it followed exactly the same format as Cilla Black's version.

I presume you mean above about that you would be embarrassed to watch it with your granny because I've already said that I wouldn't be so no need to decide for anyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

PM sent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

I'm from a weird family where we don't all sit around staring at the telly like the ****ing Royles :)

Watching TV is a popular pastime for families all over the world.
    Trying to make other posters feel small because they enjoy two generations of a family bonding over some bubble gum TV on the weekend is a real cheap shot.

Al Porter. Fun for all the family.
    Oh and if you don’t like his act you’re a homophobe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭Irish Praetorian

PM sent.

Couldn't trouble ya do to me too could I?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭LadyMacBeth_

And then can someone send it to me please? :p

• Registered Users Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Rory28

PM sent.

Can I get in on this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭miece16

And then can someone send it to me please? :p

BIG-ALS-_3.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 465 ✭✭Ewan Hoosarmi

Did anyone see the video floating around of him exposing himself on stage? He ran naked onto a stage where a band with a female lead singer was playing live. He bent over with his arse towards the audience and then did a star jump, exposing everything. Nice individual.

Edit: remembered where I saw it.

http://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/tv3-pull-blind-date-episode-11546033

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭miece16

Did anyone see the video floating around of him exposing himself on stage? He ran naked onto a stage where a band with a female lead singer was playing live. He bent over with his arse towards the audience and then did a star jump, exposing everything. Nice individual.

it's alright, he's gay sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,399 ✭✭✭xtal191

PM sent.

Go on send us a pm there please!

The bull**** in here is unreal. Giving out about the filth on blind date, crying uproar about a sex pest and everyone's just dying to see the texts, it's like being down the local shop and everyone's gossiping. Pathetic really.

At least be honest and admit that the best part of all is the juicy scandal.