Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Al Porter Scandal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Pathetic.
    Thankfully it's only The Star, a Dublin rag, but it wouldn't surprise me as the RTE and Irish meeja lovelies rallied around him originally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Green ticks..... I'm in....

• Registered Users Posts: 33,757 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

So are cigarettes being linked to groping, no connection to what he did.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

You know, I was starting to feel bad for the guy. I'd read about the McSavage appearance and thought, ok he's holding his hands up to what he did and wants to reform.

But to associate smoking and drinking with sexual harassment is beyond hideous.

He's doing himself no favors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

By summertime there will be a general all round agreement that Al is the REAL victim in all this and Ray Darcy will be sympathizing with him on the radio because “everyone deserves a second chance” and there are “no winners here”.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭threein99

They should put the warning on cigarette boxes:

"May cause smokers to carry out sexual assaults"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,789 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

threein99 wrote: »
    They should put the warning on cigarette boxes:

"May cause smokers to carry out sexual assaults"

Joke as you will but remember what Bill Clinton did with a cigar. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Poor Al, I feel sorry for him. Born in the wrong era. If he'd been born 30/40 years earlier he'd have had a huge career in the BBC.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

"Trying to rebuild his stalled career"...?

*arches eyebrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭recyclebin

Why hasn't anybody pressed charges against him? I'm not a fan of trial or redemption by media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,700 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

razorblunt wrote: »
    Pathetic.
    Thankfully it's only The Star, a Dublin rag, but it wouldn't surprise me as the RTE and Irish meeja lovelies rallied around him originally.

You are right to be cynical, the Irish media have form in this regard. Case in point being Tim Allen of Ballymaloe and his conviction for having kiddie porn found on his computer. Tim just went away for a while and upon his return the Irish media did an amazing job of not asking questions as to why Darina was letting a paedo back into her house.

Al Poster is hoping for a similar reformation courtesy of an unquestioning and compliant Irish media.

recyclebin wrote: »
    Why hasn't anybody pressed charges against him? I'm not a fan of trial or redemption by media.

Chances are he has *cough* come to a legal agreement with the complainants copperfastened with an NDA. Otherwise he would not be running this attempt of redemption in fear they would pipe up.

Patient: Despite knowing that I shouldn't be doing such things, these urges come over me and next thing I know, the act is done. I don't want to be a serial groper, I don't want to be openly putting my hand down mens' pants at social outings. There has to be something which can help...

Therapist: Have you tried giving up the cigs? Or even, less cigs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Muahahaha wrote: »
    You are right to be cynical, the Irish media have form in this regard. Case in point being Tim Allen of Ballymaloe and his conviction for having kiddie porn found on his computer. Tim just went away for a while and upon his return the Irish media did an amazing job of not asking questions as to why Darina was letting a paedo back into her house.

Al Poster is hoping for a similar reformation courtesy of an unquestioning and compliant Irish media.

There's a lot of rumours around that case. Darina does seem to have taken a back seat, tv wise though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭Eponymous

I suppose less cigarettes = sucking on fewer butts...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,611 ✭✭✭david75

We’re really dragging the arse out of this story

razorblunt wrote: »
    There's a lot of rumours around that case. Darina does seem to have taken a back seat, tv wise though.

Yeah every now and again you hear the rumour that Tim was really covering up for a different member of the family. I dont believe that rumour for one minute. And even if it were true it does not excuse a member of that family viewing kiddie porn. Also if the rumour were true then it also means that the course of justice has been perverted and there is an unconvicted paedo on the loose and Tim Allens conviction has tricked the Gardai & court system into thinking it was him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,700 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I don't think he'll really come back. It's hard to see him engaging in too much innuendo and blatant perving on lads, in light of what's come to light - and without those things he basically has no act.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

Arghus wrote: »
    I don't think he'll really come back. It's hard to see him engaging in too much innuendo and blatant perving on lads, in light of what's come to light - and without those things he basically has no act.

That’s true.
    He didn’t really have anything to offer apart from the constant stream of well rehearsed smut, as far as I can see.
    If he has he should show his hand (ooeerr matron!) fairly soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Otherwise he would not be running this attempt of redemption in fear they would pipe up.

Wasnt that what he was hoping for?

*ironic smutty double entendre in Al Porter thread
    ** gets coat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,414 ✭✭✭✭Penn

At this stage it's up to the TV/Radio stations not to give him new shows etc. I imagine he'd likely be able to be a guest for hard-hitting interviewers like Tubridy and D'Arcy, but I can't see him getting any hosting/presenting gigs, and don't think he should be afforded that opportunity either.

I know no charges have been brought against him or anything, but a) he didn't deny many of the accusations (instead trying to pass them off as his "flamboyant character" or whatever such nonsense), and b) he's apparently been in therapy now for same, which means there is at least a not-insignificant amount of truth to the accusations which should discount him from stepping back into the spotlight.

Eponymous wrote: »
    I suppose less cigarettes = sucking on fewer butts...

Astonishing, isnt it? Like I am a smoker and after todays revelations from Al I am a bit concerned that soon I might go out groping other men. Luckily I only smoke Silk Cut so it will only be a bit of a weak grope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,823 ✭✭✭lertsnim

recyclebin wrote: »

He has already admitted to it. Blamed it on his flamboyant outrageous persona. That creep doesn't deserve a pass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

Can you imagine the outcry if one of the metoo targets were given the front page to say he’s cutting back (but not given up) alcohol and cigarettes.

Well, is anyone taking this seriously? I doubt it. Don't forget Weinstein came out with some weak therapy proclamation not long after his scandal hit. They all seem to be met with eye-rolling.

All is ok, as I have now chosen to life my life as a moderate drinking and smoking man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 554 ✭✭✭Creol1

Chances are he has *cough* come to a legal agreement with the complainants copperfastened with an NDA. Otherwise he would not be running this attempt of redemption in fear they would pipe up.

As I remember, the inpatient in the psychiatric hospital has already made a complaint and several other complainants went public so what's already been said/alleged can't be "un-said" by an NDA. Brings us back to the question of why the Gardaí aren't doing more.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

No words

"Long road back" what bollocks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

Creol1 wrote: »
    As I remember, the inpatient in the psychiatric hospital has already made a complaint and several other complainants went public so what's already been said/alleged can't be "un-said" by an NDA. Brings us back to the question of why the Gardaí aren't doing more.

Because it'd involve them doing actual work? :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 670 ✭✭✭sightband

Who’s going to say it? Difference is he is gay, different rules. It’s as simple as that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

Astonishing, isnt it? Like I am a smoker and after todays revelations from Al I am a bit concerned that soon I might go out groping other men. Luckily I only smoke Silk Cut so it will only be a bit of a weak grope.

Is it exclusively to smokers or are vapers included?
    I vape but I couldn't dedicate myself full time to the oul groping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,251 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

BattleCorp wrote: »
    Joke as you will but remember what Bill Clinton did with a cigar. :D

I think it was Monica that did something with it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 554 ✭✭✭Creol1

sightband wrote: »
    Who’s going to say it? Difference is he is gay, different rules. It’s as simple as that.

I don't think so. Kevin Spacey's clumsy attempt to deflect from his alleged misconduct with reference to his sexuality got him nowhere and backfired and didn't mitigate the consequences; closer to home, Pat Carey, who was lauded after he very publicly "came out", has faced allegations of child sex abuse, and he seems to have vanished without a trace from the public arena even though (as far as I'm aware) the allegations have never been substantiated.

Age is probably more of a factor; the image of paedophiles and sexual assailants is middle-aged and older men, often scruffy in appearance. Porter is 25 and clean cut and just doesn't fit the profile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,882 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

Are people here really comparing this gobsh*te to Harvey Weinstein? :D

I am not at all a fan of his schtick and rarely caught his radio show so if he was never seen or heard again it would be absolutely fine with me... but there's people on this thread who would stop at nothing to see the eejit burned at the stake.

What he did was not serious enough to ruin his career and his life - despite what people on this thread would love to believe.

The reason there's been no legal cases against him is easy to figure out and it's hardly anything as exciting as pay offs and Non Disclosure Agreements.

He grabbed a couple of lads by the c*ck and a few months later they decided they were actually offended. Get. The F*ck. Over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

WHIP IT! wrote: »
    What he did was not serious enough to ruin his career and his life - despite what people on this thread would love to believe.

He grabbed a couple of lads by the c*ck and a few months later they decided they were actually offended. Get. The F*ck. Over it.

1) His career was not established enough to survive this

2) Fondling someone against their wishes is disgusting and a sexual assault. If a man walked up to me (famous or not) and grabbed my crotch, I'd be calling the police.

1) His career was not established enough to survive this

2) Fondling someone against their wishes is disgusting and a sexual assault. If a man walked up to me (famous or not) and grabbed my crotch, I'd be calling the police.

1) So you feel if he was more famous he'd be given more leeway?

2) And you'd be absolutely right to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,292 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

What he did was not serious enough to ruin his career and his life.

Career - yes. Life - no

How do you know exactly what he did?
    How do you know it took them months to get offended?
    How do you know that it is simply a case for them to "get over it"?

Because without knowing all of the above, you are talking out of your ****

everlast75 wrote: »
    Career - yes. Life - no

How do you know exactly what he did?
    How do you know it took them months to get offended?
    How do you know that it is simply a case for them to "get over it"?

Because without knowing all of the above
    , you are talking out of your ****

Are we now restricted to only commenting on threads where we have intimate, first-hand details of every part of the subject matter? I must have missed the Boards memo. I know exactly as much as you on the subject - ie, what was reported.

As regards the "get over it" comment - I was referring to the many posters here who seemingly won't rest until the moron is in manacles and kept locked in a basement lest he touch another man on the willy ever ever again.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 670 ✭✭✭sightband

Are we now restricted to only commenting on threads where we have intimate, first-hand details of every part of the subject matter? I must have missed the Boards memo. I know exactly as much as you on the subject - ie, what was reported.

well then you would know that it has been reported that he sexually assaulted a patient in a psychiatric hospital. that's a low i don't remember hearing about weinstein hitting.

As regards the "get over it" comment - I was referring to the many posters here who seemingly won't rest until the moron is in manacles and kept locked in a basement lest he touch another man on the willy ever ever again.

I think most people just hope he f*cks off into obscurity where the talentless p*ick belongs...as pointed out his hiatus seems to be up and he's rearing his ugly head again and doesn't seem the least bit contrite.

sightband wrote: »
    well then you would know that it has been reported that he sexually assaulted a patient in a psychiatric hospital. that's a low i don't remember hearing about weinstein hitting.

I think most people just hope he f*cks off into obscurity where the talentless p*ick belongs...as pointed out his hiatus seems to be up and he's rearing his ugly head again and doesn't seem the least bit contrite.

Alleged. It had been alleged. When's the court case?
    "If it was in the Sun sure it must be true"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,292 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Alleged. It had been alleged. When's the court case?
    "If it was in the Sun sure it must be true"

Okay Al. You can quit with your posts now.

We get it - you are innocent!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

they were 'offended' at the time and knew there would be people like you who wouldnt give a sh1t and probably say something like 'man up',
    but when they heard it happened to others too they were able to talk about it more openly

Brendan Fraser gets the same kind of abuse from people like you now , but what happened to him pretty much ended his career and he was the actual victim

everlast75 wrote: »
    Okay Al. You can quit with your posts now.

We get it - you are innocent!

Innocent of? What has he been charged with?
    they were 'offended' at the time and knew there would be people like you who wouldnt give a sh1t and probably say something like 'man up',
    but when they heard it happened to others too they were able to talk about it more openly

I would implore anyone, if you feel you are the victim of a crime - please, go to the Gardai... not Twitter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭Sidebaro

WHIP IT! wrote:
    Are people here really comparing this gobsh*te to Harvey Weinstein?

Well, he's closer to Harvey then he is to the average person in terms of sexual assault.

I think his career should be over. It would be very damaging to all victims of sexual assault to see him return. Not the kind of message that should be sent, I think.

Sidebaro wrote: »
    Well, he's closer to Harvey then he is to the average person in terms of sexual assault.

I think his career should be over. It would be very damaging to all victims of sexual assault to see him return. Not the kind of message that should be sent, I think.

Was he convicted of sexual assault?

WHIP IT! wrote:

He admitted to doing it. Not the same as a court of law but does away with the necessity for 'innocent until proven guilty by a jury of peers' argument.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Was Harvey?

Louis CK wasnt even convicted, he openly talked about his masturbation in public before some journalist decided it was time to make him into a sacrificial mexican lamb.

he asked for consent every time, and it wasnt part of a job offer, it was during leisure time away from some kind of power dynamic(tho some would argue that dynamic always exists). some women said ok, some said no, so he wouldnt do anything in that case. there was never any body contact between them

but Al went a step further, he didnt ask, he allegedly put his hands on peoples sexual organs without consent. but hes a working class gay guy from Tallaght, not a bald middle aged redheaded mexican comic , the media seems to get to decide when someone gets a free pass. i realise im talking about 2 different countries, but modern western media is behaving the same everywhere

i realise im talking about 2 different countries

I could have this arseways but I think in America the burden is on the accused to prove innocence, while on this side of the Atlantic, the burden is on the accuser to proof guilt and if they don't, it's defamation. That's why Jimmy Saville was only outed after his death - you can't defame the dead. I could be totally wrong about that?

Sidebaro wrote: »
    I could have this arseways but I think in America the burden is on the accused to prove innocence, while on this side of the Atlantic, the burden is on the accuser to proof guilt and if they don't, it's defamation. That's why Jimmy Saville was only outed after his death - you can't defame the dead. I could be totally wrong about that?

its difficult talking about that guy without sounding like a conspiracy theorist, but i believe his behaviour was well known by BBC execs, and he mingled with powerful people who were involved in vile behavior. he was protected, why bring him down when hes alive when he has so much leverage to bring more down with him

Matthew Kelly and Micheal Barrymore had their careers and lives destroyed by accusations in the UK