Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Al Porter Scandal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,557 ✭✭✭RocketRaccoon

Have i misunderstood people in this thread? Are there folk here actually trying to defend Al Porter in this situation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,877 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Are people actually trying to defend kavanagh now????? (That’s his real name. Porter is a stage name aimed at British audiences).

• Registered Users Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭badabing106

Unless your convicted of a heinous crime , Rte is like the catholic church. They will turn a blind eye and tolerate any behavior . The head of Rte 2fm radio was singing al porters praises only last month

Unless your convicted of a heinous crime , Rte is like the catholic church. They will turn a blind eye and tolerate any behavior . The head of Rte radio was singing al porters praises only last month

Do you mean dee forbes?

Sorry.I meant head of Rte 2fm Dan Healy

Ah right ok. What did he say about him. I’m surprised because kavangh was a today fm dj

Abc

1 month ago
    Head of 2FM hints at a radio return for Al Porter on RTÉ
    429 Shares

The head of 2FM has said he believes Al Porter could make a return to radio.
    The comedian and radio host left his popular lunchtime slot on Today FM last year following several allegations of sexual misconduct.

But Dan Healy, the boss at the RTÉ station, reckons that Al could be back on the airwaves in the future given his flair for broadcasting.

"Al is a very talented guy, and we haven’t seen how the next few months will settle with Al," he told the Sun.

"The reality is he is a guy who oozes talent."

But, he said, the comedian's future in broadcasting could lie with RTÉ 1 rather than on his own station.

"I don’t think he plays for 2fm," Healy continued.

"That doesn’t mean that RTÉ won’t engage him in the future if all the matters are resolved.

"Until he is through all that, we won’t comment on that one way or another."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Osses talent.... What the fcuk planet is he on....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Wtf is their hard on for this clown

Oooh, as the actress said to the bishop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

Wtf is their hard on for this clown
    not allowed joke about grabbing women by the pussy, but allowed grab men by the dick. its a funny world

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

In future refer to him as Cock grabber Al Porter, and his supports as friends of Cock grabber Al Porter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,760 ✭✭✭volchitsa

Louis CK wasnt even convicted, he openly talked about his masturbation in public before some journalist decided it was time to make him into a sacrificial mexican lamb.

he asked for consent every time, and it wasnt part of a job offer, it was during leisure time away from some kind of power dynamic(tho some would argue that dynamic always exists). some women said ok, some said no, so he wouldnt do anything in that case. there was never any body contact between them

but Al went a step further, he didnt ask, he allegedly put his hands on peoples sexual organs without consent. but hes a working class gay guy from Tallaght, not a bald middle aged redheaded mexican comic , the media seems to get to decide when someone gets a free pass. i realise im talking about 2 different countries, but modern western media is behaving the same everywhere
    You've had to move into CT territory to get past the massive problem in your comparison.

Western media - don't make me laugh.

The idea that Irish media, and Irish law on defamation, is comparable to the US is too funny. When did the Irish media ever publish a scoop like Watergate? Is it even conceivable that they might? Completely cowed by power and fame, and always ready to jump on whatever bandwagon is going.

Reem Alsalem UNSR Violence Against Women and Girls: "Very concerned about statements by the IOC at Paris2024 (M)ultiple international treaties and national constitutions specifically refer to women & their fundamental rights, so the world (understands) what women -and men- are. (H)ow can one assess fairness and justice if we do not know who we are being fair and just to?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,882 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

Have i misunderstood people in this thread? Are there folk here actually trying to defend Al Porter in this situation?

You may or may not be referring to some of my posts so, on the assumption that you are, I would say I've not defended him - I can't stand the chap, but it's important to draw your conclusions from the facts, not from any personal animosity you have towards him or his ilk.

A little perspective is called for. I'm uncomfortable with the manner in which his "victims" came forward and the medium they chose to do so.

We've had people here mention Porter in the same breath as Weinstein, Saville and Anthony Lyons - who chased a young lady down a laneway and sexually assaulted her and was convicted of rape.

Anyone here who has a friend or family member who has been the victim of a sexual assault knows the horrific impact it has.

Having some goon grab you, then continuing to socialise with said goon does not strike me as the actions of someone who has been impacted by a supposed sexual assault.

Comparing it to a man grabbing a woman by the crotch is folly as well. Equality is all well and good - but there is an inherent physical threat in a man doing this to a woman who (usually) would not be able to physically counteract her 'pursuer' and that threat is just not there when it's a 'flamboyant' twit like Al Porter grabbing another man.

I don't believe that the victims in his case were impacted in any serious way and I question their real motives for coming forward.

Again, if you're the victim of a crime - please go to the Gardai, not Twitter...

volchitsa wrote: »
    You've had to move into CT territory to get past the massive problem in your comparison.

Western media - don't make me laugh.

The idea that Irish media, and Irish law on defamation, is comparable to the US is too funny. When did the Irish media ever publish a scoop like Watergate? Is it even conceivable that they might? Completely cowed by power and fame, and always ready to jump on whatever bandwagon is going.

I would suggest getting your news from real news outlets and not joe.ie - there has been some fantastic "scoops" in Irish media in the past year... just ask Frances Fitzgerald.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

WHIP IT! wrote: »
    You may or may not be referring to some of my posts so, on the assumption that you are, I would say I've not defended him - I can't stand the chap, but it's important to draw your conclusions from the facts, not from any personal animosity you have towards him or his ilk.

A little perspective is called for. I'm uncomfortable with the manner in which his "victims" came forward and the medium they chose to do so.

We've had people here mention Porter in the same breath as Weinstein, Saville and Anthony Lyons - who chased a young lady down a laneway and sexually assaulted her and was convicted of rape.

Anyone here who has a friend or family member who has been the victim of a sexual assault knows the horrific impact it has.

Having some goon grab you, then continuing to socialise with said goon does not strike me as the actions of someone who has been impacted by a supposed sexual assault.

Comparing it to a man grabbing a woman by the crotch is folly as well. Equality is all well and good - but there is an inherent physical threat in a man doing this to a woman who (usually) would not be able to physically counteract her 'pursuer' and that threat is just not there when it's a 'flamboyant' twit like Al Porter grabbing another man.

I don't believe that the victims in his case were impacted in any serious way and I question their real motives for coming forward.

Again, if you're the victim of a crime - please got to the Gardai, not Twitter...

Yeah, they were men, its their own fault for not fighting back. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,465 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Just flicking through the Belfast rape case thread and I notice how much support there is for the 4 aqquited defendants in the case on that thread.

Yet here people are ready to hang Porter from the highest tree for things that are mere allegations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭Sidebaro

Yet here people are ready to hang Porter from the highest tree for things that are mere allegations.

Allegations that he admitted to.

Sidebaro wrote: »
    Allegations that he admitted to.

The allegation about the hospital has not even been offically reported, which is statoury.

Okay, what about the stuff he admitted to? Hardly mere allegations?

Sidebaro wrote: »
    Okay, what about the stuff he admitted to? Hardly mere allegations?

He admitted that the events happened, but no formal charge has been brought against him to this point, so neither side has had the opportunity to present their "side of the story" as it were, in court.

Porter has already had serious damadge done to his career because of his own actions, but until he is found guilty in a court of law then he is guilty of nothing other than possible poor judgement or being a sex pest.

then he is guilty of nothing other than possible poor judgement or being a sex pest.

That doesn't sound as friendly as mere allegations.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭DavidLyons_

Just flicking through the Belfast rape case thread and I notice how much support there is for the 4 aqquited defendants in the case on that thread.

So you are equating the defence of 4 young men acquitted of rape in a court of law with the justified condemnation of an admitted serial sexual assaulter and uninvited fondler?

Yeah, good man.

Any even pretense of perspective has long since fecked off in this thread.

When your default setting is "Extreme Outrage", where do you go from there??

The very fact people have been drawing comparisons between Porter's antics and some of the most high-profile and serious sexual assault cases we've seen in recent times tells you this subject has jumped the shark some time ago.

So you are equating the defence of 4 young men acquitted of rape in a court of law with the justified condemnation of an admitted serial sexual assaulter and uninvited fondler?

Yeah, good man.

On the other thread people are calling for the lady to publicly apologise to the 4.

People are calling for her to be charged with a false complaint of rape.

A lady on the thread that says she was raped by a local high profile sports person is being told she did not try hard enough after being rebuffed by the Gardai, and that she should have fought back in the first place anyway.

Yet Porter is guilty as sin even tough the statoury reporting of one of the alleged incidents has yet to happen.

The other allegations played out in the media and again there is not a single formal complaint.

On the other thread people are calling for the lady to publicly apologise to the 4.

People are calling for her to be charged with a false complaint of rape.

A lady on the thread that says she was raped by a local high profile sports person is being told she did not try hard enough after being rebuffed by the Gardai, and that she should have fought back in the first place anyway.

Yet Porter is guilty as sin even tough the statoury reporting of one of the alleged incidents has yet to happen.

The other allegations played out in the media and again there is not a single formal complaint.

Thankfully I haven't clicked 'the other thread'. I can only imagine...

To think that certain people here would associate the "suffering" of two lads who got their c*cks grabbed then tweeted about it six months later with what that girl has had to go through in the past few months is nauseating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Vladimir Poontang

Thankfully I haven't clicked 'the other thread'. I can only imagine...

To think that certain people here would associate the "suffering" of two lads who got their c*cks grabbed then tweeted about it six months later with what that girl has had to go through in the past few months is nauseating.

Yeah it must have been awful for to try and keep track of her story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,834 ✭✭✭Captain Flaps

the "suffering" of two lads who got their c*cks grabbed then tweeted about it six months later

I'm not sure why there's still this idea that not punching him in the face and fleeing to the guards = dodgy story.

It's been pretty clearly explained that these are jobbing comedians in a small, tight knit industry who claim sexual assault by a big player in that industry. Being placed in a position to choose between justice and your career is an awful one, and frankly your description above is something that strikes me as 'nauseating' also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,789 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

I'm not sure why there's still this idea that not punching him in the face and fleeing to the guards = dodgy story.

It's been pretty clearly explained that these are jobbing comedians in a small, tight knit industry who claim sexual assault by a big player in that industry.

Porter was never a big player in that industry. He was a sh1te comedian who ended up on the telly and radio for reasons that are totally beyond me.

Ah yes. Because there are only two courses of action you can take, of course: "Punch him in the face and flee to the Guards" as El Capitano says or.... tweet about it six months later. There's no middle ground here.... apparently

BattleCorp wrote: »
    Porter was never a big player in that industry. He was a sh1te comedian who ended up on the telly and radio for reasons that are totally beyond me.

I appreciate that but I do know a few people involved in the industry who were familiar with the supposed particulars of the situation, and the consensus seems to be that certain actions would pretty much close a number of important doors to an up and comer. Sure look, you've got the likes of McSavage and Karl Spain all chummy with him (opinions on those two in particular aside), so you'd understand at least being hesitant about pissing guys like that off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,789 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

I appreciate that but I do know a few people involved in the industry who were familiar with the supposed particulars of the situation, and the consensus seems to be that certain actions would pretty much close a number of important doors to an up and comer. Sure look, you've got the likes of McSavage and Karl Spain all chummy with him (opinions on those two in particular aside), so you'd understand at least being hesitant about pissing guys like that off.

Well whatever he did or didn't do, I sincerely hope I don't have to see or hear from him ever again.

Ah yes. Because there are only two courses of action you can take, of course: "Punch him in the face and flee to the Guards" as El Capitano says or.... tweet about it six months later. There's no middle ground here.... apparently

What about feeling deeply uncomfortable, speaking about it with your mates/colleagues and discovering it's happened to some of them too, wondering what to do and then saying 'f*ck it' and tweeting during what's probably as receptive a time as any to do so?

Also, my handle is 'Captain Flaps', the very least you can do is address me by correct rank.

What about feeling deeply uncomfortable, speaking about it with your mates/colleagues and discovering it's happened to some of them too, wondering what to do and then saying 'f*ck it' and tweeting during what's probably as receptive a time as any to do so?

Also, my handle is 'Captain Flaps', the very least you can do is address me by correct rank.

It is a great username...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Al was apparently on stage at the George last night making jokes about "dropping the hand".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Al was apparently on stage at the George last night making jokes about "dropping the hand".

One trick pony.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Did he at least appear to be cutting down on the cigs and booze though?
    Otherwise the Daily Star headline is wrong (gasp, sharp intake of breath).

Classy lad, clearly learned his lesson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

When will this nightmare ever end....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,208 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Making jokes about it is down-playing the whole thing. Incorporating it into his act. Take Jimmy Carr and the tax thing. He handled it the same way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Making jokes about it is down-playing the whole thing. Incorporating it into his act. Take Jimmy Carr and the tax thing. He handled it the same way.

Carr didn't sexually assault anybody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,208 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Carr didn't sexually assault anybody.

Don't split hairs.
    The connection is two comedians who were faced with scandals and both handled it the same way. That being acknowledging it and making a joke out of it.

Personally I don't find porter funny and couldn't give a toss about watching him but hey, it's what's he is attempting to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Imagine the outrage from certain sections of society, twitter and the mainstream media if Porter had attacked women in the same way?

One rule for straight men it seems...........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

Don't split hairs.
    The connection is two comedians who were faced with scandals and both handled it the same way. That being acknowledging it and making a joke out of it.

Personally I don't find porter funny and couldn't give a toss about watching him but hey, it's what's he is attempting to do.

It's not really splitting hairs though is it. A tax avoidance scheme is a million miles away from being branded a sexual predator - especially when you're known for a 'nudge nudge, wink wink' sexual innuendo brand of comedy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭11214

Imagine the outrage from certain sections of society, twitter and the mainstream media if Porter had attacked women in the same way?

One rule for straight men it seems...........

Just about to post the same, it's an utter disgrace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,292 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

What are you trying to imply there?

He's implying that two blokes who were tried and found not guilty is exactly the same as a bloke who has confessed to multiple inappropriate acts of a sexual nature

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

everlast75 wrote: »
    He's implying that two blokes who were tried and found not guilty is exactly the same as a bloke who has confessed to multiple inappropriate acts of a sexual nature

Except he doesn't mention Porter at all just the George.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Don't split hairs.

Ah now there is a world of difference between tax avoidance and sexually harassing people

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Read that as "Al was apparently telling jokes on stage at the George".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,320 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Tigger wrote: »
    Ah now there is a world of difference between tax avoidance and sexually harassing people

And having a bit of charm, timing and finesse to pass off the jokes when appropriate.
    Al Porter has one joke. Make some sort of sexual innuendo. That's it. Crude innuendo and repeat x 1000, that's his career. If you Like Jimmy Carr or not, he's 100 times better and more versatile comedian than Al Porter.

Don't split hairs.

There's a huge difference between following an accountant/tax advisor's advice and groping people. Seriously like.