Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Gerry Adams finally retires

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,716 ✭✭✭✭maccored

Do all political parties not require leadership to be ratified at Ard fheis every year?

apparently not SF - sure they're commies with dictatorships

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70,141 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

A man full of hypocrisy. A man pushing for the truth on monaghan/Dublin whilst ignoring the truth about his own past. A dictator of his party for 32 years while keeping quiet about a sex abuse scandal and bullying with in his party.

Full of populist tripe whilst not wanting to take a lead. Look at the shinners take on homelessness- giving out like goodo here whilst presiding over a debacle in the north.

His shinnerbot army will be directed to flood social media and the likes pushing that he was a Nelson Mandela like figure which couldn't be further from the truth.

I hope he is haunted by the innocent victims of so called republicans for the rest of his life. I am a republican and there are a lot of decent republicans in this country. Gerry or his cabal of murderous pals do not represent me and I would hope any decent person with any sort of conscience can see through the shinner lies

What 'truth' about his own past has he ignored?
    He has addressed each and every issue relating to his past.

I don't see anybody putting him up on a pedestal, The man was a human being, and made mistakes, like humans do.

'cabal of murderous pals' is a bit ridiculous tbh.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭A Little Pony

A man full of hypocrisy. A man pushing for the truth on monaghan/Dublin whilst ignoring the truth about his own past. A dictator of his party for 32 years while keeping quiet about a sex abuse scandal and bullying with in his party.

Full of populist tripe whilst not wanting to take a lead. Look at the shinners take on homelessness- giving out like goodo here whilst presiding over a debacle in the north.

His shinnerbot army will be directed to flood social media and the likes pushing that he was a Nelson Mandela like figure which couldn't be further from the truth.

I hope he is haunted by the innocent victims of so called republicans for the rest of his life. I am a republican and there are a lot of decent republicans in this country. Gerry or his cabal of murderous pals do not represent me and I would hope any decent person with any sort of conscience can see through the shinner lies
    The covering up of the sexual child abuse scandal is the icing on the cake as far as Gerry is concerned. Any other "normal" person off the street and you wouldn't hear a good word about them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,906 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

The question now is what type of party is Sinn Féin? Should they just rebrand themselves to Socialist Party Lite?

None of their southern policies advances their goal of a united Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭joe swanson

maccored wrote: »
    you obliviously dont if you think they have a 'shinnerbot army' and that the presidency of SF is a dictatorship. plus you dont seem to have any understanding of the SF stance in the north about homelessness. Not too sure whats left to cherry pick out of that

http://www.sinnfein.ie/sfos

Seems a bit like a shinnerbot army

For god's sake this again? :rolleyes::rolleyes:
    The idea of a 'bot' is that they operate secretly.
    Can you not distinguish what that is a call out for? Really?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Thanks be to Allah! At last !

He's my local TD. The sooner he's gone the better, as he was useless for us.

Think you are mistaking the role of county counselor with the role of TD.

Your deflection does not change the truth about Adams and his party.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Which is??

You seem very ill informed and unwilling to engage with those who call yous out on it?

Journal.ie>>>>>>

What truths has he ignored?

He has addressed all questions put to him ad nauseum. Just because you didn't get the answers you want doesn't negate that.

What truths has he ignored?

He has addressed all questions put to him ad nauseum. Just because you didn't get the answers you want doesn't negate that.

See my original post , that's if you read it.

I did read it and you still haven't pointed out these 'truths' he has ignored.
    He has addressed all questions put to him.

What ones has he not?

they are called 'supporters'. Its people who support a party. Im sure Labour, FF, FG etc etc have supporters too (one would assume). OK, such parties mightn't understand the importance of social media, but basically all you're at is name calling. Same as the inaccurate 'commie' tag (thats Labour btw, the Workers Party etc etc) which is inaccurately thrown around by those who read the red tops and dont do their own research

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

considering such a party never existed, you should be happy

ya they just pretend they are left bunch of Freedom Fighters

eh? Did you just stick a load of random words together and hope it made a sentence?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Not a huge fan of the man, nor his political party, but I applaud and respect him for his good work towards the peace process and attempts to protect that peace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭Fake News

Speaking of retirements. Does anyone know what happened to Lucilita Bhreatneach? She played a leading role in the GFA negotiations and then disappeared from public eye. It looked as though she had a promising career ahead of her. 434012.PNG

eh? Did you just stick a load of random words together and hope it made a sentence?

better then SF and guns ever did

Fake News wrote: »
    Speaking of retirements. Does anyone know what happened to Lucilita Bhreatneach? She played a leading role in the GFA negotiations and then disappeared from public eye. It look as though she had a promising career ahead of her. 434012.PNG

She was tweeting from the Ard Fheis. Saw a retweet from her.

better then SF and guns ever did

...... indeed. Step away from the keyboard ....

Truth hurts......

it might if i had any idea what you were typing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Not a huge fan of the man, nor his political party, but I applaud and respect him for his good work towards the peace process and attempts to protect that peace.
    It sounds like there was a conflict in Northern Ireland, Gerry Adams knew nothing about it, but decided to try to make peace between the warring factions.

diomed wrote: »
    It sounds like there was a conflict in Northern Ireland, Gerry Adams knew nothing about it, but decided to try to make peace between the warring factions.

Sounds like you are projecting something on to his comment that isn't there.

Sounds like the Sinn Fein online warriors are policing this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,409 ✭✭✭corner of hells

It does , I always think of poor Martin Ferris out on a sailing trip when he was stopped by the navy.
    Who'd have thought there could be a problem smuggling seven tons of guns across the Atlantic.

Yawn. That the best you could come up with?

When does your shift end?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,111 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Seems like many on here is would have preferred the troubles to continue on..

Rather than I don't know setting history and putting issues aside to bring about a peace the place hasn't known for decades.

Shame people are so short sighted.

listermint wrote: »
    Seems like many on here is would have preferred the troubles to continue on..

Rather than I don't know setting history and putting issues aside to bring about a peace the place hasn't known for decades.

Shame people are so short sighted.

What's the most unusual of all...is the people who have right to have the most issues with sinn fein have no problems powersharing in tge north with them

It is beyond hypocritical for parties in the Republic to support the gfa.....and it's powersharing principles and immediately dismiss the same partys for coalition in the free state??

Much the same as it's hypocritical to commerate 1916 and demonise the pira.... (same applied to sf and dissidents mind)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,410 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Do all political parties not require leadership to be ratified at Ard fheis every year?

I think there is a North Korean political party that has the same ritual, but no, when it comes to Ireland, leaders don't go up for re-acclamation every year.

blanch152 wrote: »
    I think there is a North Korean political party that has the same ritual, but no, when it comes to Ireland, leaders don't go up for re-acclamation every year.

So someone gets elected head of any irish political party they aren't formally ratified every year at the aRd fheis.....yous sure about this :D

Pretty sure I seen an old labour party table of motions before from few years ago....which says opposite of what yous are saying

Any organisation unless it hands out multi year terms to its managers/leaders has an annual ratification as a formal process :D

When does your shift end?

You are the one more likely to be a bot. You were called out on projecting something onto a post that wasn't there and are unable to defend it and instead fall back on the lazy shinnerbot rant.
    Keep it up.

What 'truth' about his own past has he ignored?
    He has addressed each and every issue relating to his past.

I don't see anybody putting him up on a pedestal, The man was a human being, and made mistakes, like humans do.

'cabal of murderous pals' is a bit ridiculous tbh.

I am reminded by your post of these quotations:

"And if all others accepted the lie which the Party imposed – if all records told the same tale – then the lie passed into history and became truth. "Who controls the past," ran the Party slogan, "controls the future: who controls the present controls the past." And yet the past, though of its nature alterable, never had been altered. Whatever was true now was true from everlasting to everlasting. It was quite simple. All that was needed was an unending series of victories over your own memory. "Reality control," they called it: in Newspeak, "doublethink.""

"For how could you establish even the most obvious fact when there existed no record outside your own memory? He tried to remember in what year he had first heard mention of Big Brother. He thought it must have been at some time in the sixties, but it was impossible to be certain. In the Party histories, of course, Big Brother figured as the leader and guardian of the Revolution since its very earliest days. His exploits had been gradually pushed backwards in time until already they extended into the fabulous world of the forties and the thirties, when the capitalists in their strange cylindrical hats still rode through the streets of London in great gleaming motor-cars or horse carriages with glass sides. There was no knowing how much of this legend was true and how much invented. Winston could not even remember at what date the Party itself had come into existence."

I am reminded by your post of these quotations:

"And if all others accepted the lie which the Party imposed – if all records told the same tale – then the lie passed into history and became truth. "Who controls the past," ran the Party slogan, "controls the future: who controls the present controls the past." And yet the past, though of its nature alterable, never had been altered. Whatever was true now was true from everlasting to everlasting. It was quite simple. All that was needed was an unending series of victories over your own memory. "Reality control," they called it: in Newspeak, "doublethink.""

"For how could you establish even the most obvious fact when there existed no record outside your own memory? He tried to remember in what year he had first heard mention of Big Brother. He thought it must have been at some time in the sixties, but it was impossible to be certain. In the Party histories, of course, Big Brother figured as the leader and guardian of the Revolution since its very earliest days. His exploits had been gradually pushed backwards in time until already they extended into the fabulous world of the forties and the thirties, when the capitalists in their strange cylindrical hats still rode through the streets of London in great gleaming motor-cars or horse carriages with glass sides. There was no knowing how much of this legend was true and how much invented. Winston could not even remember at what date the Party itself had come into existence."

Is anyone going to address the question, what truths has he ignored?
    He may not have given the answer you want but I don't think he has ever been let ignore the past.

Is anyone going to address the question, what truths has he ignored?
    He may not have given the answer you want but I don't think he has ever been let ignore the past.

The problem with Gerry Adams at times is that we don't know which version of what he said is the truth. Take for example, what he told Spotlight about Liam Adams and what he told a court about Liam Adams.

Either he committed perjury or he lied to a TV programme. We still don't know which is which.

Edit: A perfect example of the doublethink envisaged in Orwell's 1984

The problem with Gerry Adams at times is that we don't know which version of what he said is the truth. Take for example, what he told Spotlight about Liam Adams and what he told a court about Liam Adams.

Either he committed perjury or he lied to a TV programme. We still don't know which is which.

This being a British court he probably deosnt have to recognise??

On another note....it should be interesting to see what tribute section 111 ultras pay him :D

The bar mustn't be set too high if these two are contenders for leadership.
    434030.PNG
    God save us.

Adams has addressed the issues surrounding Liam Adams ad nauseum and has admitted his mistakes in handling a family problem.

If he perjured himself he should have been prosecuted, he wasn't.

As I said, just because you don't like the answers, doesn't mean he hasn't addressed the issues.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

I merely stated that I admire the man for his part in forwarding the peace process and working on maintaining a lasting peace on this Island, which is a fact, and I sincerely hope that peace will last.

Unlike you, I have no agenda here.

I merely stated that I admire the man for his part in forwarding the peace process and working on maintaining a lasting peace on this Island, which is a fact, and I sincerely hope that peace will last.

Unlike you, I have no agenda here.
    He had no choice, IRA was riddled with informers as told by Brendan Hughes. It was a slow painful death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,854 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

He had no choice, IRA was riddled with informers as told by Brendan Hughes. It was a slow painful death.

I believe some at the very top of the Ra also suspected Adams was/is untrustworthy.

All you have to do is listen to the likes of Hughes, the Dolores Sisters on Adams to get the real picture of his character and not the myth within "mainstream" Republicanism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,854 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

All you have to do is listen to the likes of Hughes, the Dolores Sisters on Adams to get the real picture of his character and not the myth within "mainstream" Republicanism.

I've read the book Hughes did with Moloney so I know what you are driving at.

Two disaffected former members are trustworthy sources in Adams?
    There is no myth about Adams, he is human like us all.
    He made mistakes and is quite candid about them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,195 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

it be great for Terrorist SF to be gone from Irish Politics instead

sf are not terrorists and never were.

our boy gerry was a Nelson Mandela like figure. he stood up against oppression and sectarianism, eradicating the orange statelet in northern ireland. sf represent real republicans.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

I think what you'll find with some activists was that when the war came to an end, they didn't involve themselves in politics and because of this, they felt left behind, perhaps lacking in purpose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,195 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

It does , I always think of poor Martin Ferris out on a sailing trip when he was stopped by the navy.
    Who'd have thought there could be a problem smuggling seven tons of guns across the Atlantic.

the guns were planted.

that was his opinion. not fact though. the ira right from the start had the odd informer but they were no more then the normal amount at the end. the provos could have sustained the campaign for a longer time if they needed to.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

the president in SF get elected by the party members. democracy. you should google it. cant see what you are boasting about there tbh

surely that should be 'looks like'?