Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Pass the mince pies- Christmas Chat Thread Part Deux

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

Got very excited when I seen all the eggs in on 1st February in my local Tesco.
    And this day next month will be Pancake Tuesday, nyom nyom! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,450 ✭✭✭✭DvB

Loughc wrote: »
    Any superbowl fans?

Yep.

Shame this years was muck... Expected much more from that Rams team. Reckon my lot would have done a better job & that's saying something.

& just to be clear I'm in the 'anyone but the pats' camp so was doubly disappointed with the result & the quality of the game.
    "I will honour Christmas in my heart, and try to keep it all the year" - Charles Dickens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,827 ✭✭✭Jude13

Cannot get my head around some of the gra for yank football in Ireland. My cousin is involved in a team down the country and it is the cringiest thing I have ever seen. It's like a really really bad role play of Friday night lights wanabe for people who were never popular as kids. The get ups, not the actually playing kit, and the celebrations, not to mention the social side trying to mirror the states (tailgating ha). It would like and Irish rugby club team doing the haka and going around in grass skirts after. Its so cringe seeing adult men pretending to be something they are not unless they are in a play or something. Ilike the game, just the antics.

And I have enjoyed many a day in the states when I was there doing as the Romans do, having yank pals visit ans p*ss themselves at the Irish lads pretending to be yank hurts my face.

Anyway, back to Christmas. I have marshmallows left and they will be hit tonight.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 24,957 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

Posy wrote: »

One of my favourite days of the year!!

Love pancake Day.... Panmas?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 24,957 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

I don't know why I always feel like Easter is always Christmas-lite to me.

I think it's from the school days, 2 weeks off for both Easter & Christmas, revolves around Jesus, both usually result in a big fancy family meal and lots and lots of chocolate.

I remember when there used to be loads of great movies on at Easter time too making it very similar to Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,780 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

The only reason I know people are into the Super Bowl is to spend all night drinking!

I didn't have one drop of drink and I enjoyed the game :)

Just a little update!
    9 Days until Valentines Day.
    28 Days until Pancake Tuesday
    40 Days Until St Patrick's Day.
    48 Days until Waffle Day.
    75 Days until Easter.
    140 Days until June 25th.
    191 Days until Brown Thomas Christmas Shop.(Guess)
    268 days until Halloween.
    323 Days until Christmas.

I don't know why I always feel like Easter is always Christmas-lite to me.

I think it's from the school days, 2 weeks off for both Easter & Christmas, revolves around Jesus, both usually result in a big fancy family meal and lots and lots of chocolate.

I remember when there used to be loads of great movies on at Easter time too making it very similar to Christmas.

Halloween is Christmas lite for me. The decorations and the darkenss. I used to prefer Halloween as a youngster to christmas, even in to my early 20's. We would get dressed up (home made costumes only) and head to the pub, craic would ensue.

I have booked my flights home for Christmas!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,351 ✭✭✭Littlehorny

As a big fan of Christmas I hate hearing the bah humbugs giving out about how it "gets earlier every year" (it doesn't), but even I have to say that it is too early for Easter eggs in the shops.
    Easter is late this year, I mean Lent doesn't start for another month so Easter is ten weeks away!
    The point I'm making is Christmas is a much much much bigger celebration imo and people give out when the shops and ads are on ten weeks before Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,681 ✭✭✭✭Deja Boo

Does anyone know what Loughc's first Christmas podcast is about? ...sounds like great fun! :D

How do you download the podcast? will it be on podcast republic?

I'd have pancake day over easter, but Im not a mad chocolate person. Unless it baileys fudge.

Jude13 wrote: »
    I'd have pancake day over easter, but Im not a mad chocolate person. Unless it baileys fudge.

Keep talking.... :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,043 ✭✭✭DenMan

Only 322 days until Christmas Eve guys! :D

Just a little update!
    9 Days until Valentines Day.
    28 Days until Pancake Tuesday

Love this mini-countdown. 28 Days is no time at all, and then after that it's only 12 days to St. Patricks Day, then 8 days to waffle day, etc, etc.

By breaking the countdown into smaller chunks like that it really helps the year move along!

As a big fan of Christmas I hate hearing the bah humbugs giving out about how it "gets earlier every year" (it doesn't), but even I have to say that it is too early for Easter eggs in the shops.
    Easter is late this year, I mean Lent doesn't start for another month so Easter is ten weeks away!

The point I'm making is Christmas is a much much much bigger celebration imo and people give out when the shops and ads are on ten weeks before Christmas.

That's how retail works, we see Summer Holidays advertised in January, Easter Eggs in store Dec 26th, Halloween stuff from September, Valentines stuff in shops in Early January but as you pointed out no one bats an eyelid.

Yet when Christmas stuff appears, Twitter and FB go into meltdown! It does grind my gears there's definitely a vendetta against the Christmas season over any others.

Jude13 wrote: »

I have booked my flights home for Christmas!

So excited for you Jude and an extra special journey this year for you three! :)

Love this mini-countdown. 28 Days is no time at all, and then after that it's only 12 days to St. Patricks Day, then 8 days to waffle day, etc, etc.

By breaking the countdown into smaller chunks like that it really helps the year move along!

I always break down the countdown. I'd also include other dates in it also!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,681 ✭✭✭✭Deja Boo

Mini countdown??? cooooool

I really must read this thread more often, very fun stuff ya post!

I forget about Rudolph Days. (dunno why that popped into my head)

Tesco have got stocked up on frisbees, water guns , bubbles, water balloons, etc. Isnt Summer months away?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,229 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

Valentine's Day, what a load of commercialised rubbish.Watch out for the 2hrs 15mins approx. excruciating drivel on the Late Late Show next Friday night.

Yeah I don’t get it at all. But each to their own I guess.

We gave up The Late Late Show and only watch the Toy Show and if there was somebody we knew on it. It was a great decesion!

Did you know? In 2017, the United States imported $1.7 billion worth of Christmas ornaments and $402 million worth of Christmas lights from China.

Watch out for the 2hrs 15mins approx. excruciating drivel on the Late Late Show next Friday night.
    And every Friday. :p

Except for the Toy Show :P

No comment. >_>

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,066 ✭✭✭kitten_k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,470 ✭✭✭CheerLouth

Oh brilliant! I'll defo look into tickets! Thanks!

Christmas fact: Did you know the average home will spend out over €1,000 at Christmas; on food, drink, travel, decorations and presents!