Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Ibrahim Halawa radio interview.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,829 ✭✭✭irishproduce

Anyone here sent Neil an email or tweet to commend a decent thorough interview?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Certain people on this thread don't like him being asked certain questions either.
    Certain people are still waiting to be informed how agreeing with 38% of Irish voters would make him an Islamic extremist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,607 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Theres a lesson here for everyone.

Dont get involved in politics in these type of countries, they dont **** about.
    It looks very like he'd still be doing porridge but for the irish passport.

Yes don't make unnecessary journeys to the cinema :p

I thought both IH and his sister came across aggressive as the interview went on

Well done Neil and Red Fm #GoCork!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,140 ✭✭✭Odhinn

JohnMc1 wrote: »
    Yours certainly does because you clearly don't know what's going on in the world.

This would be the "liberals" using "Islam" to destroy society, as you put it..?

Phoebas wrote: »
    What are his views on the gay community that he's getting this free pass about?

Hes quite religious isnt he, certainly the family are anyway.

I just cant see them being too keen on it, the whole situation bemuses me.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,813 ✭✭✭One More Toy

I'm not sure where the notion that the left wing fuel the 'i was just visiting' cráp.

I'm hard left and don't believe a word he says about his reasoning, his motivations nor about his beliefs.

• Registered Users Posts: 90 ✭✭dreamliner

And is it not their right to have a view that isn't too keen on it, doesn't being an irish citizen grant that right? The same way you are allowed to have a view on it. I just really can't understand this obsession with their views on homosexuality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

I'm not sure where the notion that the left wing fuel the 'i was just visiting' cr

I'm hard left and don't believe a word he says about his reasoning, his motivations nor about his beliefs.

Yes, but you see the "Left" are just one big homogeneous group who all think and act the same, don't you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

However he can have a free pass on his views.
    I just find this support rather confusing.
    Phoebas wrote: »
    What are his views on the gay community that he's getting this free pass about?

So you don't know what his views on the gay community are, but you imagine that he isn't 'keen on it' :confused:

I find your completely unfounded criticism rather confusing.

Billy86 wrote: »
    Certain people are still waiting to be informed how agreeing with 38% of Irish voters would make him an Islamic extremist.

I don't regard him as an islamic extremist, id say hes a very silly boy, well out of his depth in Egypt :pac:

He needs to stop doing radio interviews (urgently) and go and get a job, and a regular life.
    And him and his family need never come to my attention again.

This I really hope.

I don't regard him as an islamic extremist, id say hes a very silly boy, well out of his depth in Egypt :pac:

He needs to stop doing radio interviews (urgently) and go and get a job, and a regular life.

This I really hope.

I entirely agree with this line. I hope those around him are aware of this and encourage him to do so. This may even inhibit him getting a job if he is constantly popping up on people's radars. He should allow himself to be forgotten about by the vast majority of the population and blend quietly back into normal life.

This I really hope.
    Don't worry, wasn't directed at you!

I do agree he would be better off out of the public eye, as would we because the amount of attention this story has got all around is just farcical.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭boardsuser1

Anyone here sent Neil an email or tweet to commend a decent thorough interview?

I’ll do it on Monday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,870 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

littelady wrote: »

IH went over to Egypt to voice his & his dad's views Imo. To get up on stage at a rally eh no that's not what normal 17 year olds do.

I think you'll find he was visiting friends, and went to the cinema and suddenly ended up addressing a massive crowd of people.

Seems legit...

• Registered Users Posts: 299 ✭✭SSr0

I'm hard left

Hard left? WTF does that even mean? You're a communist so is it?

well this thread has descended into a farce once again ... perhaps boards should just put a ban on any discussion on this topic

Aawwww... but why haven't even got to the part where he ripped up his passport or wrapped a baby in an Irish flag and set it on fire or whatever yet!? :(

• Registered Users Posts: 47 jonnyha

Sonics2k wrote:
    I'm no fan of the lad, but a quick run through a number of Irish peoples facebook pages and you'd never think they were raised going by the shocking language and grammar skills.

"peoples" is missing an apostrophe. Genitive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,104 ✭✭✭Oldtree

I can't imagine he is mentally well after spending 4 years in an Egyptian prison. Should be resting and recovering quietly down by the sea, along with his family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭Jamiekelly

dreamliner wrote: »
    Ah the typical 'he supports sharia law!' reaction

Well there's something we wouldn't have been able to predict :/ ... Muslim supports shariah law, hold the front page!

I despair at what I read on here at times. What next? Jews support the law of Moses? Christians support Biblical law!? Never!

As for his views on gay marriage, who gives a damn. So long as he isn't planning to kill them who cares? We have an entire county who voted against gay marriage.

There are serious issues around this case, but this nonsense that he supports sharia law and wanting to know his views on homosexuality is stupid, and in my view takes away from the real issues at hand. There are far more important, and relevant, questions that he could be getting asked.

Care to ask them so? You seem to deflect everything being brought up here. Almost like you have no answers or are offended at the notion that someone has to account for their beliefs or rationale behind believing such things. Sharia law is a corrosive and destructive ideology that has not been diluted or reformed since it's creation. It is absolutely correct to ridicule it. As for your comparison with the bible and the law of moses, Christians no longer stone gays to death and Jews don't force governments or leaders to make circumcision compulsory, Islam and it's followers by the clear majority actually do.

Oh and I don't see Roscommon advocating the murder of non-christians or gays either so comparing the Same sex marriage referendum to this is nonsense pure and simple. You're really reaching with that "argument".
    well this thread has descended into a farce once again ... perhaps boards should just put a ban on any discussion on this topic

The best way to stop it descending into a farce is to maybe stop people with less than 100 posts from commenting in it and muddying the waters of a decent discussion. You're very active on this one with only 30 posts on your boards account, very weird for you to be deciding what should and shouldn't be allowed to be discussed. Kind of makes sense now why you have no problem with a fascistic and backward ideology.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

Jamiekelly wrote: »
    As for your comparison with the bible and the law of moses, Christians no longer stone gays to death and Jews don't force governments or leaders to make circumcision compulsory, Islam and it's followers by the clear majority actually do.
    Is there any evidence at all that Ibrahim Halawa supports stoning gay people to death? Going by his interview, he clearly doesn't.

Some people have got no critical analysis skills at all.
    Some Muslims believe x; Ibrahim Halawa is some Mulsim => Ibrahim Halawa believes x!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Vladimir Poontang

We need a boards AMA with Ibrahim Halawa. And Al Porter. Together.

Careful now Vlad, you've less posts than me, expect Jamie's guillotine to come down on you.

It's very funny how all the islamophobes have an abnormal interest in this topic :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,320 ✭✭✭phonypony

The one thing I took from that farce of an interview, other than the need for media training for Ibrahim, is that his mother would bring him food every week which the guards would eat. Did it at no point occur to anyone that some poison in the food might have sped the whole release process by aiding an escape...

He tends to get really offended and defensive when asked any of these questions. The sooner he just addresses them clearly, calmly and with some sincerity, without interruption from a sibling, the better for everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

just heard it.

its a mixture of cringe, comedy gold and sense of sadness for people who believe them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

He would get quite a lot of his support from people with a bit of a politically correct left wing view point ....
    Odhinn wrote: »
    This would be the "liberals" using "Islam" to destroy society, as you put it..?
    Yes, but you see the "Left" are just one big homogeneous group who all think and act the same, don't you know.

Well the left used to have a certain homogeneous nature about it: labour rights and socialism.

You'd have to wonder what Big Jim and Connolly would think of what has now become of their movement.

Portrayal of these would-be fascist types as the 'downtrodden' and zero hour contracts operating quietly all the while in the background for lower skilled workers. Not media sexy though with no whiff of ISIS or Al Qaeda, so nobody cares. The Left indeed.

The Left has nothing to gain from the mass importation of people with an ideology that seeks to undo the progress achieved in our society over the last 100 years: women in education and workforce, sexual freedom, freedom from theocracy, freedom in artistic expression.

Those seeking cheap workers however...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,813 ✭✭✭One More Toy

SSr0 wrote: »
    Hard left? WTF does that even mean? You're a communist so is it?

Yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Tipperary animal lover

As your an old school buddy of he's, of course you'd like the thread closed, some of the questions and answers here are quiet good .... some just terrible, but isnt it good to debate!! Not just trying to shut it down every opportunity some ome comes up with something you don't like.
    He's doing himself no favours doing the interviews, as for the one friday it was good to here him get hit with some questions people wanted to hear as for the sister next time definitely dont bring her anywhere near a radio station, she didnt help one bit and made him more unlikable/untrustworthy.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Ralf and Florian

Very odd comment. Are you connected with the Halawas in some way that you want to shut down discussion on them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭Matt.ie

dreamliner wrote:

You want censorship Like they have in Islamic and communist countries?

it is indeed a highly suspicious comment.

Perhaps you could just unfollow the thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,854 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Careful now Vlad, you've less posts than me, expect Jamie's guillotine to come down on you.

It's very funny how all the islamophobes have an abnormal interest in this topic :pac:

You have a very odd reaction to people who are genuinely interested in this whole Halawa fiasco

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

Quackster wrote: »
    I hope the near 40% of the Irish electorate who voted against gay marriage are being subjected to the same vitriol as IH is!

You know, for equality's sake.. :rolleyes:

that some leap to equate people who voted against gay marriage to be on a par with people who want to execute gay people for just being.

explain that please or fcuk off with your nonsense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,989 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

I'd agree in a way. Just close threads and the media ignore him. The quicker this happens the quicker this fool goes away and we don't have to hear any more about him and his family's bull****.

arayess wrote: »
    that some leap to equate people who voted against gay marriage to be on a par with people who want to execute gay people for just being.

explain that please or fcuk off with your nonsense
    You'd need to be calling the interviewer for the explanation, he is the one that seemed very interested in Halawa's opinion on same sex marriage after all.

Their phone number is 1850 104 106, and he is back on at 9am Monday morning. Be sure to give a heads up in here first though, because you're not the first poster on the thread confused about him bringing up gay marriage.

I actually thought he came across quite well. In a way it was good to hear some difficult questions, but I definitely feel that prenderville was getting to the point of trying his hardest to offend.

Ibrahim seems to believe what the majority of Irish people would believe in 2017 - ie people can do what they want and live their lives as they want, it's none of his or our business. I didn't hear anything that indicated otherwise.

The lad has been through quite an ordeal since the age of 17, and considering our own proud history of standing up to oppressive regimes I don't really get the disdain for what he did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,921 ✭✭✭gifted

He's had his 15 min of fame....he should be left go back into his life ......people keep talking about him and next thing he'll be living with Lucy or some stupid rte celebrity show with the rest of the numpties

IH's views are important , he claims to be irish. The effort put into getting him home was huge. All this for somebody who supports a regime that is totally opposed to what Irish society is and stands for.
    Of course he should be quizzed on his view and supports...some of those beliefs, if implemented , would destroy Irish society.

Also many things were said about his imprisonment the cruelity the hunger strikes etc...
    The fella does look in great nick ...even a little too well fed....was irish society sold a crock of **** to pull on the heart strings...??? I think so.

I find it quite funny that IH's supporters claim the Egyptian Judaical system is corrupt , unfair and biased...and then on the other hand proclaim that he was found innocent by the same corrupt , unfair and unbiased system as proof of his innocence...which is it lads?

Finally (I said this in another thread) and I haven't heard an answer even though we all know the answer...

I see no campaign for any irish locked up without trial in spain media , media whores, leftie liberals , professional commentator on the journal.ie .... none of them on the march for any prisoner bar our dear friend Halawi ....why is that?

The same people in the media or making comments in support of this guy hasn't lifted a finger to type support in favour of any other irish locked up on remand abroad...why is that??

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=105038634&postcount=1602

The reason is that he is a progressive leftie wet dream , immigrant background but new irish ,oppressed muslim and a great cause to allow cries of "racism , racism".....

While the same do gooders ignore Irish held on remand abroad in similar circumstances.

Billy86 wrote: »
    You'd need to be calling the interviewer for the explanation, he is the one that seemed very interested in Halawa's opinion on same sex marriage after all.

Their phone number is 1850 104 106, and he is back on at 9am Monday morning. Be sure to give a heads up in here first though, because you're not the first poster on the thread confused about him bringing up gay marriage.

.I think the interviewer was correct to bring it up I was referring this :
    Quackster wrote: »
    I hope the near 40% of the Irish electorate who voted against gay marriage are being subjected to the same vitriol as IH is!

You know, for equality's sake.. :rolleyes:

which equates a vote on marriage to beliefs in murder because of somebodys sexual choices...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

I actually thought he came across quite well. In a way it was good to hear some difficult questions, but I definitely feel that prenderville was getting to the point of trying his hardest to offend.

Ibrahim seems to believe what the majority of Irish people would believe in 2017 - ie people can do what they want and live their lives as they want, it's none of his or our business. I didn't hear anything that indicated otherwise.

The lad has been through quite an ordeal since the age of 17, and considering our own proud history of standing up to oppressive regimes I don't really get the disdain for what he did.

hqdefault.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭Mrcaramelchoc

Prenderville.........is he the guy that was caught fiddling with himself on a commercial flight?halawa should have asked him about that.

Yeh that's your man, pleasant piece of work

arayess wrote: »
    .I think the interviewer was correct to bring it up I was referring this :

which equates a vote on marriage to beliefs in murder because of somebodys sexual choices...
    So why was the interviewer correct to bring it up? If he were against SSM as are 38% of the Irish electorate, what would relevance would that have?

It is, but to be fair that also has about as much relevance as the young man's opinion on two men or two women getting married.

So you may actually be right, come to think of it (still letting the coffee sink in)! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭minikin

If that was the worst thing some adherents to sharia law ever did on a commercial flight we’d all be better off right now.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭drugstore cowboy

The Muslim Brotherhood website are discussing him

http://www.ikhwanweb.com/article.php?id=32849

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Yeh that's your man, pleasant piece of work

What has that got to do with anything?please explain what the benefit of bringing that up is?he's an intviewer and he interviewed.he justified his question and gave context to them.as a cork man i hated prendeville for years as he was on the airwaves here constantly rising people but he's redeemed himself as an interviewer and journalist in my eyes.he asked the awkward questions and followed up with more questions when given nonesense answers.out of all the national broadcasters he's the only one that done this and he's to be commended for it. We will have serious problems in this country if topics become taboo and can't question them.

mfceiling wrote: »
    I think you'll find he was visiting friends, and went to the cinema and suddenly ended up addressing a massive crowd of people.

Seems legit...

You forgot about the headband soaked with vinegar to counteract the teargas....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭drugstore cowboy

smurgen wrote: »
    What has that got to do with anything?please explain what the benefit of bringing that up is?he's an intviewer and he interviewed.he justified his question and gave context to them.as a cork man i hated prendeville for years as he was on the airwaves here constantly rising people but he's redeemed himself as an interviewer and journalist in my eyes.he asked the awkward questions and followed up with more questions when given nonesense answers.out of all the national broadcasters he's the only one that done this and he's to be commended for it. We will have serious problems in this country if topics become taboo and can't question them.

Neil has done a lot for the people of Cork over the years and long may he continue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,177 ✭✭✭PeterParker957

minikin wrote: »

If that was the worst thing some adherents to sharia law ever did on a commercial flight we’d all be better off right now.

" You support the Muslim Brotherhood. You believe in the subjugation of women and the killing of apostates. You lied constantly about everything and expected Ireland to bail you out. Your sisters want to bring in unchecked men and are suing us for this. Your father heads a mosque with questions that need to be asked about terrorism links. Do you have anything to say?"

"You got your lad out on a plane"

"Excellent point. Ladies and Gentlemen Ibrahim Halawa. Good afternoon."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

minikin wrote: »

Well played sir