Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ibrahim Halawa radio interview.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭pitifulgod

Neil has done a lot for the people of Cork over the years and long may he continue.

Plenty of Cork people loath him too, he's somewhat of a shock jockey.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

pitifulgod wrote: »

I personally can't stand him and I say that as someone who met him, but I think he played a blinder in that interview and credit where credit is due.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭boardsuser1

pitifulgod wrote: »

Before his infamous deed he slated many a Cork person who was down on their luck, i know of a few he hammered over the years.

Ever since he isn't as damning about people and their misfortune.

The interview with Halawa was excellent though, i watched it, the sister thinks she is some sort of bodyguard though as Prendeville did rightly mention he wasn't expecting her.

What is the full story with the UCC on Monday?

• Registered Users Posts: 90 ✭✭dreamliner

Presumably the same as with DCU, he'll be going to a few more colleges throughout the country

• Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭Matt.ie

The image of Ali G talkin wive all dem intillectuals in Harvard spings to mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

road_high wrote: »
    Horseh1te. We are entitled to answers- this turnip has cost the state a small fortune in diplomacy, we are perfectly entitled to seek the truth. If you want to label that as racism then off ya go, label label label to your hearts content. It means nothing to me.

Six pages and not even an untravox joke made.

AH is gone to ****e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,177 ✭✭✭PeterParker957

dreamliner wrote: »

Presumably the same as with DCU, he'll be going to a few more colleges throughout the country

No doubt he'll come to mine. Better put the red carpet in for a wash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭JohnMc1

0ph0rce0 wrote: »
    I'd agree in a way. Just close threads and the media ignore him. The quicker this happens the quicker this fool goes away and we don't have to hear any more about him and his family's bull****.

No. We should completely discredit him first. It will discourage others like him and let them know the Irish aren't all bleeding hearts.

topper75 wrote: »
    Well the left used to have a certain homogeneous nature about it: labour rights and socialism.

You'd have to wonder what Big Jim and Connolly would think of what has now become of their movement.

Portrayal of these would-be fascist types as the 'downtrodden' and zero hour contracts operating quietly all the while in the background for lower skilled workers. Not media sexy though with no whiff of ISIS or Al Qaeda, so nobody cares. The Left indeed.

The Left has nothing to gain from the mass importation of people with an ideology that seeks to undo the progress achieved in our society over the last 100 years: women in education and workforce, sexual freedom, freedom from theocracy, freedom in artistic expression.

Those seeking cheap workers however...

Yet its still the Left championing for Open Border and unlimited and unchecked immigration. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 8,160 ✭✭✭Odhinn

JohnMc1 wrote: »
    No. We should completely discredit him first. It will discourage others like him and let them know the Irish aren't all bleeding hearts.

Where is your evidence that he supports IS and was wearing an "IS headband"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Billy86 wrote: »

Halawa headband:

maxresdefault.jpg

You are familiar with the types of headgear which Islamists prefer then?

Whatever it's not a Millwall supporters one anyway

Take your pick from amongst the following

http://jihadintel.meforum.org/identifiers/24/headbands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

JohnMc1 wrote: »
    Yet its still the Left championing for Open Border and unlimited and unchecked immigration. :rolleyes:

really? got any examples i can have a look at?

DrumSteve wrote: »

Apparently "the left" support this in order to destroy society, according to Johnmc1 at least.

Shariah law is what every muslim will aspire to follow. It is the very core of the faith, being a muslim in itself means someone believes shariah law to be the law of god and ultimate authority. The same way Jews would believe the laws in the talmud/torah.

The followers of said law will follow it, however where it may contradict with the common law of whatever land its followers are in, then they are to follow the law of the land, doing this is actually a law within shariah law. To respect the law of the land you are in but practice it where there is no contradiction.

Again, what bloody relevance has this got to do with halawa? The priorities here are all over the shop.

Ask why he was protesting, ask why he was on a stage getting involved in a political mess in a different land, but his views on shariah and homosexuality? Very poor.

Absolute bullcrap

Your bias is clearly showing....
    Pew Research Center survey of Muslims in 39 countries asked Muslims whether they want sharia law, a legal code based on the Quran and other Islamic scripture, to be the official law of the land in their country. Responses on this question vary widely. Nearly all Muslims in Afghanistan (99%) and most in Iraq (91%) and Pakistan (84%) support sharia law as official law. But in some other countries, especially in Eastern Europe and Central Asia – including Turkey (12%), Kazakhstan (10%) and Azerbaijan (8%) – relatively few favor the implementation of sharia law.

http://www.pewresearch.org/fact-tank/2017/08/09/muslims-and-islam-key-findings-in-the-u-s-and-around-the-world/

Sharia law is linked with the most militant brands of Islamists.

IH went to Egypt and actively participated in Muslim Brotherhood protests. The Muslim Brotherhood are same Islamist group which support the introduction of a strict sharia caliphate world wide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

littelady wrote: »
    IH starts his interview again mentioning he was born in the Coombe I was a normal 17 year old blah blah

His sister is a moany hole she had again an opportunity to thank the Irish government but no. The Irish government bent over backwards for him, put in 20,000 working hours on him come on. I can't abide her at all. She is so bitter.

IH went over to Egypt to voice his & his dad's views Imo. To get up on stage at a rally eh no that's not what normal 17 year olds do.

"Just a normal 17 year old guy... playing football, going to the cinema, buying penny sweets with any pocket money I didn't put into the Trocaire box..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭Help!!!!

There was a lot of Taqiyya going on in that interview. Ibrahim went on the radio to discuss his plight & get hugs from the bleeding hearts. Good to see Neil Prendeville did his homework.
    In 2010 there was a prime time program on radical Islam in Ireland Shaheed Satardien warned of radicalisation in Ireland & you had the Imam from Clonskeagh Mosque & Dr Ali Salim deny there was any going on. Forward a few years & over 100 went to fight for ISIS including Khalid Kelly. Now we are importing hundreds of men from war torn countries.
    If you really think we in Ireland will get away with not having a Islamic terrorist attack then you are very deluded. Should we just come to the same conclusion as the politicians in the UK & Europe & say its just a way of life now. Just go about our daily life & hope it doesn't happen?
    We in Ireland had enough of terrorists during the troubles, we have enough killings going on with the gangs, why do we need to import a ticking time bomb?

Help!!!! wrote: »
    There was a lot of Taqiyya going on in that interview.

You've no idea what that actually is.

Odhinn wrote: »

I actually do;)

Help!!!! wrote:
    There was a lot of Taqiyya going on in that interview.

This?
    Taqiyya has also been politically legitimised, particularly among Twelver Shias, in order to maintain unity among Muslims and fraternity among the Shia clerics. Yarden Mariuma writes: "Taqiyya is an Islamic juridical term whose shifting meaning relates to when a Muslim is allowed, under Sharia law, to lie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,177 ✭✭✭PeterParker957

I actually do;)

Granted it's more common to the Sunni branch of Islam but other parts are able to use it at times.

I'll never understand how people can think debate is shouting down the other person or insulting their knowledge - or denying they have it.

gozunda wrote: »
    This?

For starters its primarily a shia thing. Halawa is sunni.

Granted it's more common to the Sunni branch of Islam but other parts are able to use it at times.

I'll never understand how people can think debate is shouting down the other person or insulting their knowledge - or denying they have it.

When their "knowledge" is lacking and what they have is wrong, it's generally where ye start. (You've got it backwards there, btw).

A devout Muslim prays 5 times a day which includes killing the Jews & infidels but of course its a religion of peace:rolleyes:

Or even that other posters are gullible eejits who will believe just about any unreferenced opinion ...

See the "All Muslims love Sharia" bs posted previously ....

For starters its primarily a shia thing. Halawa is sunni.

All Muslims use it

Quran

Quran (16:106) - Establishes that there are circumstances that can "compel" a Muslim to tell a lie.
    Quran (3:28) - This verse tells Muslims not to take those outside the faith as friends, unless it is to "guard themselves" against danger, meaning that there are times when a Muslim may appear friendly to non-Muslims, even though they should not feel friendly.

But then again I dont know anything about Islam;)

All Muslims use it

Nope.

Quran (16:106) - Establishes that there are circumstances that can "compel" a Muslim to tell a lie.
    Quran (3:28) - This verse tells Muslims not to take those outside the faith as friends, unless it is to "guard themselves" against danger, meaning that there are times when a Muslim may appear friendly to non-Muslims, even though they should not feel friendly.

....lifted from a notorious hate site. Not linking back to a source is a bit of a no-no, and pointless when we can just drop the quote in google and trace it back.

Given your choice of website I'd have to agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,266 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

A devout Muslim prays 5 times a day which includes killing the Jews & infidels but of course its a religion of peace:rolleyes:

No they don't

Step away from the white powder.....

Nope.

....lifted from a notorious hate site. Not linking back to a source is a bit of a no-no, and pointless when we can just drop the quote in google and trace it back.

Given your choice of website I'd have to agree.

Sure all website or quotes are lies to you unless it comes from the Grand Mufti.
    Have you listened to Ayaan Hirshi Ali or Imam Tawhidi?

Sure all website or quotes are lies to you unless it comes from the Grand Mufti.

A non sequitur.

Why do you think you'd find anything reliable about a thing from a website that exists purely to undermine its subject?

Have you listened to Ayaan Hirshi Ali or Imam Tawhidi?

I have, and must say I'm suprised to see you champion Hirshi Ali, given her dubious history with regards immgration.

A non sequitur.

Why do you think you'd find anything reliable about a thing from a website that exists purely to undermine its subject?

I have, and must say I'm suprised to see you champion Hirshi Ali, given her dubious history with regards immgration.

Well I guess thats your opinion
    Well why not, ex Muslim victim of FGM. I would have no problem with ex Muslims coming to our country as they are trying to escape from MB, Sharia law etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 695 ✭✭✭beefburrito

Is Ibrahim Alawite,Shia or Sunni ?

Well I guess thats your opinion

No, that's a question.
    It's a hate site. You seem to think its as source of objective information. Why?
    Well why not, ex Muslim victim of FGM. I would have no problem with ex Muslims coming to our country as they are trying to escape from MB, Sharia law etc

Suprising, given your fondness for white power affiliated groupings.

You might want to do more reading on Hirst Ali, however.

Is Ibrahim Alawite,Shia or Sunni ?

Sunni.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭JPCN1

Step away from the white powder.....

Has flour suddenly become haram? Hard to keep up with you guys and your lists.

Sunni.

Ahem I'm sure if he was Shi'a,Allawite or Sufi he wouldn't have been there in the first place....

I don't like the Sunni interpretation of Islam

Ahem I'm sure if he was Shi'a,Allawite or Sufi he wouldn't have been there in the first place....

I don't like the Sunni interpretation of Islam

Not sure as to official tolerance of minority sects in Egypt so I can't comment.

Well (as ever) its a bit more complicated than that, there's Sunni (broad grouping) and factions/schools with in it. A conservative bunch would be Wahabi Sunnis and the offshoots of that.

He's a pikey.

Burn the bastard.

^^^^ Thread wrecker ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

Billy86 wrote: »
    So why was the interviewer correct to bring it up? If he were against SSM as are 38% of the Irish electorate, what would relevance would that have?

He may have brought it up to see if I.H. was following the line of the Clonskeagh Mosque who were against same sex marriage and requested their followers to vote No in the referendum.

All Muslims use it

Quran

You actually don't.

You are very good however at taking verses out of context to suit what you want to make Islam sound like.

Why do I even bother, anyway. Verse 106 of chapter 16 tells that the followers of Islam, if ever captured and threatened with death over their faith, are allowed to deny their faith to those threatening to kill them. You know, like if someone is threatening to kill you, you can say whatever you want in order to save your life ... or would you prefer if the verse said they can't deny their faith and should offer themselves to be killed?

As for 3:28, the context of that verse was when the muslims were dealing with an onslaught from the mekkans whilst seeking refuge in medinah. It is a command to trust nobody else during that time, as nobody could be trusted in the region, the pagans wanted the faith and its followers wiped out.

On the contrary, the Quran permits marriage with Jews and Christians. Are you proposing that the Quran says that Muslims can marry non muslims but not take them as friends? Or that they should pretend to love their spouse? What stupidity, I suggest you lay off answeringislam type websites run by lunatics.

It's sheer delusion. In such a volatile time you disingenuously take a verse out of context to imply a sly meaning that is non existant in order for the less knowledgeable to become fearful of adherants to this faith. You, sir/madam, ought to be absolutely ashamed of yourself.

Now, attempting to relate this to Halawa (which I'm lead to believe this thread was meant to be about), are ye proposing now that he wrote the Quran or what? What's this nonsense I've had to read got to do with him being taken out of egypt and the interview on cork radio ?? :confused::confused:

One of the most serious issues of that interview is why IH apparently continues to prevaricate about his attendance at multiple protest over several weeks while in Egypt in 2013.

He also denies referring to Morsi and Salah Sultan in his speech at one of the protests.

The video containing his speech from the protest stage is extant and has been translated into English by an Arabic speaker.

He has not challenged the translation of the audio recording of that video to date afaik.

Why the denials? What is he hiding?

You actually don't.

You are very good however at taking verses out of context to suit what you want to make Islam sound like.

Why do even bother, anyway. Verse 106 of chapter 16 tells that the followers of Islam, if ever captured and threatened with death over their faith, are allowed to deny their faith to those threatening to kill them. You know, like if someone is threatening to kill you, you can say whatever you want in order to save your life ... or would you prefer if the verse said they can't deny their faith and should take offer themselves to be killed?

As for 3:28, the context of that verse was when the muslims were dealing with an onslaught from the mekkans whilst seeking refuge in medinah. It is a command to trust nobody else during that time, as nobody could be trusted in the region, the pagans wanted the faith and its followers wiped out.

On the contrary, the Quran permits marriage with Jews and Christians. Are you proposing that the Quran says that Muslims can marry non muslims but not take them as friends? Or that they should pretend to love their spouse? What stupidity, I suggest you lay off answeringislam type websites run by lunatics.

It's sheer delusion. In such a volatile time you disingenuously take a verse out of context to imply a sly meaning that is non existant in order for the less knowledgeable to become fearful of adherants to this faith. You, sir/madam, ought to be absolutely ashamed of yourself.

Now, attempting to relate this to Halawa (which I'm lead to believe this thread was meant to be about), are ye proposing now that he wrote the Quran or what? What's this nonsense I've had to read got to do with him being taken out of egypt and the interview on cork radio ?? :confused::confused:

Well many Imams say that each verse can be interpreted many different ways so for you a non Arabic speaking person to say either is right or wrong you must be more educated better than an Imam.
    As far as Islam goes I have many friends that are Muslim, ex Muslim or do not follow the religion that closely so I have had many different conversations about Islam
    One of my Muslim friends were radicalised in prison
    & as for Halawa he went there to cause trouble & he found it. The Irish Government should never have helped him get out, especially when there is an Irish man rotting in a Philippines jail for roughly the same time over a supposedly small amount of marijuana

Well many Imams say that each verse can be interpreted many different ways so for you a non Arabic speaking person to say either is right or wrong you must be more educated better than an Imam.

So you're an Arabic speaker?
    As far as Islam goes I have many friends that are ...............

o good jaysis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

They definitely tried to sidestep the questions of timelines, sticking to the it all just happened and we got arrested. Yet in his Mosque video, which he admits is him, he refers to a longer timeframe of involvement.

So you're an Arabic speaker?

o good jaysis

No I am not an Arabic speaker but I have heard many say that verses can be construed many different ways

Some of us have lived outside Ireland.

You actually don't.

You are very good however at taking verses out of context to suit what you want to make Islam sound like....

And you appear to be good at making up "facts" such as this

Shariah law is what every muslim will aspire to follow. ..

I have already posted on this- no reply?

No I am not an Arabic speaker but I have heard many say that verses can be construed many different ways

Some of us have lived outside Ireland.

Ireland's full of the crack ;)

Full of people who try to tell people that they are wrong about Islam when the only Muslims they have met are the ones down the local kebab shop or curry house:rolleyes:

DrumSteve wrote: »

This is why the Left loves Muslims so much. They are both willing to lie and deflect to promote their agendas. And uncanny unwillingness to take responsibility for any of agendas don't line up with reality.

Guess what Snowflake, It ain't the Right that's waving around "Refugees Welcome" banners and they aren't the ones yelling "racist","bigot","xenophobe" ,"Islamaphobe" when someone dares questions why we're continually falling for this "refugee crisis" scam. Are you trying to say all the Pro-Open Borders talking heads in RTE and the media are on the right? :rolleyes:

As far as Islam goes I have many friends that are Muslim, ex Muslim or do not follow the religion that closely so I have had many different conversations about Islam
    One of my Muslim friends were radicalised in prison
    & as for Halawa he went there to cause trouble & he found it. The Irish Government should never have helped him get out, especially when there is an Irish man rotting in a Philippines jail for roughly the same time over a supposedly small amount of marijuana

Oh really, and what imam told you that's the interpretation? And I find it very funny how you talk to us on here as if you're the only one who has ever left Ireland or gained an insight into Islam :pac::pac:

It takes little more than a google search to come up with numerous translations of the verses and the surrounding verses to get an idea of the context. I too have spoken to many Muslim friends and colleagues about this and all seem to come at me with the same context and judging by their behaviour and personalities I have no reason to believe otherwise. There are also numerous online lectures by various different scholars from different madh'habs of Islam. None that I have seen offer the poisonous interpretation you tried to push on people here who may not know any better.

I find it potentially dangerous to be trying to suggest to us that none of them should be trusted due to verses you took out of context, again, in this day and age that has potential to be disastrous and we need to be absolutely sure of what we are saying before levelling such allegations against an entire group of people.

I did my best not to laugh at the 'I have Muslim friends'. It sounded Trumpesque. Anyway, perhaps true .. or maybe not ... you know, taqiyya and all that :cool: