Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Fingal councillor opposes flying Irish tricolour above county hall

• Registered Users Posts: 1,943 ✭✭✭indioblack

Help!!!! wrote: »
    Fingal councillor opposes flying Irish tricolour above county hall, saying it could offend foreign nationals

Solidarity-People Before Profits Cllr Matthew Waine has suggested not flying the flag but suggested flying the red flag of Marxism & socialism instead

Firstly I'm sorry, if you come to Ireland & you feel offended by our national flag then feel free to leave, we should not make the same mistakes as the UK & its usually not even the foreign nationals complaining but some idiot like this Cllr

Secondly why the hell would we fly a flag of an ideology that killed more people than the Nazi's? Why not go the whole hog & stick the ISIS flag up there

What do people think of this?

http://www.dublinlive.ie/news/dublin-news/fingal-councillor-opposes-flying-irish-13946267?ICID=FB_DublinLive_Main

Fun with flags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭Help!!!!

Odhinn wrote: »
    No foriegn people seem to have been involved thus far.

As for the red flag, I can't imagine too many from eastern and central Europe being overly assured by the sight of it.

Yeah I know, this is what causes problems. Some Cllr gets a stupid thought in their head, pushes on the foreigners, foreigners get blamed by locals, everyones divided. You just have to look at the UK to see this sort of thing divides communities
    Most Eastern Europeans, my wife included do not want anything to do with that flag having not that long ago getting freedom

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,613 ✭✭✭server down

The left really have jumped the shark with this one, Leo is diffinetly bot going anywhere soon.

A Fine Gael councillor agreed with the motion.

My feeling is the idea that a national flag upsets anybody is absurd but that a council building should primarily be flying the flag of the city or province.

And no Palestinian nonsense either.

Here we go.

320px-IRL_Dublin_flag.svg.png

Nice enough flag although they have thrown the kitchen sink at it. Anyway wiki tells me that’s the official flag of Dublin.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,140 ✭✭✭Odhinn

Here we go.

320px-IRL_Dublin_flag.svg.png

Nice enough flag although they have thrown the kitchen sink at it. Anyway wiki tells me that’s the official flag of Dublin.

As a dub I lament the lack of our native flora and fauna on it - theres not an empty can or discarded syringe in sight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Surely the flag of Dublin should be a resplendent royal blue with a pic of a Garda and a nurse eatin the face off each other on the dance floor of coppers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,570 ✭✭✭RandomName2

Fingal councillor opposes flying Irish tricolour above county hall, saying it could offend foreign nationals

Solidarity-People Before Profits Cllr Matthew Waine has suggested not flying the flag but suggested flying the red flag of Marxism & socialism instead

With this thread you're clearly just feeding an obvious troll. That he's a councilor doesn't change that fact.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,177 ✭✭✭PeterParker957

Conspectus wrote: »
    Surely the flag of Dublin should be a resplendent royal blue with a pic of a Garda and a nurse eatin the face off each other on the dance floor of coppers.

Can't. That's the city seal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,104 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

A Fine Gael councillor agreed with the motion.

The motion was to fly the Irish flag!

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

Conspectus wrote: »

With three gardai batoning the crap out of a homeless guy while somebody gets shot at a hotel in the background.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

When did we get to the point that we started assuming offense on behalf of others? We've had foreign nationals living here for decades, I've never heard anyone say they have an issue with the flag. Instead of pre-empting what foreigners do or do not think and cause the usual knee jerk hysteria as a result, let's wait until someone actually complains. They can still fcuk off though.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

If anything we don't see the Tricolour flown enough.

In other countries, the national flag is flown with pride.

eviltwin wrote: »
    When did we get to the point that we started assuming offense on behalf of others? We've had foreign nationals living here for decades, I've never heard anyone say they have an issue with the flag. Instead of pre-empting what foreigners do or do not think and cause the usual knee jerk hysteria as a result, let's wait until someone actually complains. They can still fcuk off though.

Irish commie politician taking tips from American commies that nationalism is BAD!!! Lets burn the tri-colour it made have been used in colonialism:D
    Like the idiot Cllr in Tuam who wants a monument to an Irish Confederate soldier taken down.
    Do they not realise they are in Ireland & stop getting there politicall ideas from America & Russia

Its a new phenomenon in the USA, why do you think they started burning them:D

What flags killed people in USA?

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

indioblack wrote: »
    Fun with flags.

Is that you Sheldon?

Terry Pratchet

What flags killed people in USA?

You need to ask the yanks, they used to have a problem with crosses so they burnt them, now its the flags;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

...And the flagpole too!!!...

Now, why didn't I think of that? I'm getting soft in my old age. :o

A here is Matthew aaaahhhhhing quite a bit about the flags

Jesus he's some f**king pox he is.

Who voted for him? Were the other candidates Big Bird and Louis Walsh's ma ???

Does he not actually know that he is in the minority of clowns that would want to see any of those flags flying rather than the tri-colour?

I'm not sure any of the AAA-PBP-Can Pay Refuse to Pay lot have ever had a second of self awareness ever.

The woman behind was keeping herself occupied by clipping the nails.

She contained herself from laughing at one point:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭KwackerJack

Well he's a politician....are we surprised

All of our politicians bar a few are tick and anti-irish

Ahhh, life under the left wing of sinn fein, aaa, pbp, Palestinian flags, blah blah.

What? Don't think SF oppose the the flying of the tricolour, unless you are trying to change the thread into a general left bashing exercise....?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭flaneur

Nobody. He was coopted when Ruth Coppinger was elected to the the Dail.

flaneur wrote: »

Nobody. He was coopted when Ruth Coppinger was elected to the the Dail.

Thank You! Makes sense that.

I'm all for replacing the Jim Larkin statue with one of Missy Elliot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

What? Don't think SF oppose the the flying of the tricolour, unless you are trying to change the thread into a general left bashing exercise....?

In fairness

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/sinn-fein-councillor-scales-city-hall-with-catalonia-flag-at-dublin-protest-36189949.html

They've little else to be at it seems.

...this has nothing to do with SF.

Ahhh, life under the left wing of sinn fein, aaa, pbp, Palestinian flags, blah blah.

I read that post as a general "flag loon" kind of thing once Palestinian flags got mentioned. What's wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,530 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Yeah I know, this is what causes problems. Some Cllr gets a stupid thought in their head, pushes on the foreigners, foreigners get blamed by locals, everyones divided. You just have to look at the UK to see this sort of thing divides communities

One would have to be particularly dense to blame foreign nationals for their imagined offence at the sight of an Irish flag.

A more pertinent question is: how on earth do t*ts like this councillor get to the positions they are in?

One would have to be particularly dense to blame foreign nationals for their imagined offence at the sight of an Irish flag.

A more pertinent question is: how on earth do t*ts like this councillor get to the positions they are in?

"Vote for me"
    "Why ?"
    "I'll make sure ye never pay for utilities ever again!"
    "Count me in sure"

Aside from the fact it's a Sinn Fein councillor ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,537 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

"Vote for me"
    "Why ?"
    "I'll make sure ye never pay for utilities ever again!"
    "Count me in sure"

nobody voted for this clown. he was co-opted not voted in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,253 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

The left really have jumped the shark with this one, Leo is diffinetly bot going anywhere soon.

Can we please stop with the 'the left' ****e.

I'm completely left wing and I know this guy is an absolute ponce just looking to get himself in the limelight a bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Shove the red flag of your horrible, murderous ideology up your hole councillor.

• Registered Users Posts: 304 ✭✭The Domonator

And so it begins...

Aside from the fact it's a Sinn Fein councillor ???

...who happens to be putting up a flag. Nothing to do with not flying a tricolour.

The post was made.

You said "nothing to do with Sinn Fein".

It was.

The post was made.

You said "nothing to do with Sinn Fein".

It was.

The thread has nothing to do with SF. Theres no parity between putting up a catalan flag and not wanting the tricolor flown.

Other than Dublin councillors doing/saying stupid things about flags, wanting non-Irish flags above council halls, yeah, no similarity at all!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭A Little Pony

The Eastern immigrants travel all over Europe to escape the damn Bolsheviks and yet some exist in the Republic. Who knew.

Anyone who's ever seen a UK Labour Party Political Broadcast!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,307 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

SF's dublin city councilors are the eejits who started all this flag nonsense by basically having a populist flag of the month contest for what to fly over dublin city council. They are the ones who lead the charge on ridiculous motions supporting foreign issues that have absolutely zero to do with their jobs as city councilors.

VinLieger wrote: »
    SF's dublin city councilors are the eejits who started all this flag nonsense by basically having a populist flag of the month contest for what to fly over dublin city council. They are the ones who lead the charge on ridiculous motions supporting foreign issues that have absolutely zero to do with their jobs as city councilors.

O, I do apologise that they have some knowledge of the world about them. Perhaps you might e-mail them and tell them your new definition of what they can and can't do and think.

They, like everyone, can do and think whatever they want.

However, we've had enough foreign flags flying over this country so them adding more is a dickish move IMHO.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭A Little Pony

Anyone who's ever seen a UK Labour Party Political Broadcast!
    Controlled by Marxists as we know. And they think Jeremy Corbyn will be Prime Minister. :D

What, so people can't complain about councillors behaviour now? That's not a world I want to live in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭Huexotzingo

Are you posting from the eighties:confused: