Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Conor McGregor Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,909 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Some really weird comments in here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,035 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Strazdas wrote: »
    Just saw the video on Facebook of two women (Irish and Russian I think) knocking seven bells out of each other in the arena before the fight.

Link?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,542 ✭✭✭RocketRaccoon

God be with the days of Bernard dune,Steve Collins,Barry mcguigan.they were worth singing the ole ole for.
    Mcgregor got what he deserved last night.an overhyped mouthpiece and a spoofer.he was found wanting straight away and got pasted in every round.tracksuits on sale tomorrow.half price.come with a free bottle of mctapper tap water.

Nobody is worth the ole ole ole crap, it's absolutely cringeworthy to hear anywhere in any situation.

I do find it ironic you mention Bernard Dunne being worthy of it though, he was a shambolic boxer who beat tin cans. He came up against 2 semi-decent boxers in his career and he was embarrassed in both fights. Martinez in particular made a show of him.

McGregor is the best fighter this country has ever produced, its time for people to separate the fighter from the showman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Could it be said McGregor has kind of ruined mma?

Nope, but he has damaged the image and added fuel to the flames for the people who think its a scumbags game.

The post fight melee, well that happens in a lot of sports. That doesn't bother me in the least.

But the carry on at the empty presser was the final straw for me. FTA (here in this thread) has done doorwork so I'm sure he can get this, but that carry on wasn't showboating or put on.

I've had hundreds of scumbags up in my face screaming insults and threats like CmcG done with Khabib, that's not something you can put on or rehearse if its not in you.

I've trained and worked with lads (fought a lot of them too) from Khabib's part of the world, and I said this earlier in the thread.

Over there you're playing with higher stakes when you start slagging off families and getting personal with someone.

Conor will do well to remember that the next time he thinks of dredging the Grand Canal for Crumlin's bottom feeders to go attack someone's bus and mock off their families and nationalities.

They'll clip his wings.

But all this will be forgotten very quickly, give it 72 hours and the conversation will be dead in the water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Yeah we must not insult Islam, jesus why is it just fine to insult and **** on any other religion - except Islam.

I don't like McGregor and very happy he was beaten, but he was beaten by another little scrote at the end of the day, who then attacked his team.

He also likes to humiliate the homeless - classy guy.

but wait, he's a "devout Muslim" so he must be a good person right ??
    The Irish Times thinks so - wetting themselves over him.

Cannot believe that in 2018 "liberals" think a devotion to a certain religion means they are a "good person".

Religious people often use their God to justify their own despicable behaviour and to avoid taking responsibility - why do you think religion is so big in prisons ?

Strazdas wrote: »
    Just saw the video on Facebook of two women (Irish and Russian I think) knocking seven bells out of each other in the arena before the fight.

It's a horrible weekend for MMA. I'd say the bubble has burst for a lot of neutrals who have a passing interest in the sport.

link please ! sounds like great entertainment :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

I know CmcG as does one other contributor in this thread I'm sure

I've known what he was for years, didn't bother me and mostly doesn't [bother me] still.

so whats he like away from the hexagon? still a d!ckhead?

It amuses me that so many people are stupid and naive enough to think that the bus incident was staged :D It personally cost Conor millions and a court appearance. Some people will beliece anything.

On the topic of criticising religion, so what. If it was me in the press conference I'd be telling kahbib that he's a weak minded lemming for believing in supernatural space fairies.

And the liberals would applaud that if he were a christian.

Sadly as he is a Muslim this apparently becomes "hate" speech and makes you a racist bigot.

Interesting times we live in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭Relikk

The thing about entertaining personalities outside of the ring in press conferences and fight build-up's... McGregor isn't very good at it. Anything that comes out of his mouth always sounds vitriolic. Typical scumbag, knacker comments that some aggressive scrote on the street would say to spark a row. Compared to somebody like Ali, who had bags of charisma and a brilliant sense of humour and comic timing.

There's ways of going about your profession in fighting and McGregor does it in the worst way possible. Nothing about anything he does is staged. It's all spur of the moment, and it really shows the lack of intelligence and class that the man has.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭Try_harder

Ali made some nasty racist comments to Joe Frasier.

Of which he did apologise for, not double down or ignore it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Nope, but he has damaged the image and added fuel to the flames for the people who think its a scumbags game.

The post fight melee, well that happens in a lot of sports. That doesn't bother me in the least.

But the carry on at the empty presser was the final straw for me. FTA (here in this thread) has done doorwork so I'm sure he can get this, but that carry on wasn't showboating or put on.

I've had hundreds of scumbags up in my face screaming insults and threats like CmcG done with Khabib, that's not something you can put on or rehearse if its not in you.

I agree pretty much. If you want to see showboating and hyping etc then look at Fury and Wilder now at the moment in the boxing; it's all for the cameras etc but there's no real malice there. McGregor v Mayweather is another example, all performative stuff. The carry on v Khabib was different and too see people lauding and clapping it is just utterly cringeworthy b*llocks. That having been said, Khabib is an arsehole as well I think; that stuff with the homeless lad took the biscuit for me.

Agreed regarding people from that part of the world, I used to box with Chechens and Georgians in one gym and you wouldn't dream of getting into that craic with them. Albanians are similar, if you get into that territory in anger or jest it's going to go off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,709 ✭✭✭Feisar

Motivator wrote: »
    I’m far from delusional. I saw it with my own eyes in Marseille in 2016. There was a small group of Russians eating breakfast in a cafe underneath our hotel and a huge group of English came around the corner and started mouthing. They obviously thought there was safety in numbers. They spent a good 10 minutes goading the Russians who were cool and calm. The Russians asked them to **** off nice and politely and when the English didn’t, the lads simply finished their breakfast and picked a man each. Once they swiftly dealt with the first lot, the just moved on through the crowd. The English got such a fright that they froze and didn’t know what to do. The Russians are dangerous fighters and in this case they didn’t do anything more than level the English. One punch, drop the man and move on to the next. These fellas were like John Rambo.

If the Russians last night had apopted similar tactics there’d had been dozens of Irish on the ground before anyone would even know what had happened. The thing with the Russians, Germans, Polish etc. is that they know exactly how to punch. Hit the man properly, drop him and move on. They are highly trained and unlike the Irish who, if anyone has watched a late night drunken brawl outside a nightclub, just start throwing punch after punch. No calculation, no skill and no technique. It would have been carnage had those Russian lads actually wanted a proper fight last night. I’ve no doubt plenty of Irish lads got a hiding last night away from cctv cameras and police that were all over that arena last night.

Bit of a sweeping statement!

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭c montgomery

What did he say about Islam in particular?

Nothing

I've trained and worked with lads (fought a lot of them too) from Khabib's part of the world, and I said this earlier in the thread.

Over there you're playing with higher stakes when you start slagging off families and getting personal with someone.

Conor will do well to remember that the next time he thinks of dredging the Grand Canal for Crumlin's bottom feeders to go attack someone's bus and mock off their families and nationalities.

They'll clip his wings.

But all this will be forgotten very quickly, give it 72 hours and the conversation will be dead in the water.

That's the point I was making over the weekend. McGregor and a lot of his fans don't seem to get that for some people there's stuff that's off-limits. "Oh he's selling the fight LOL" doesn't apply to saying that crap to some people, like Khabin. Also anyone who would accept someone spewing that vile at them without taking it "personally" would have huge question marks over them in my eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Two sets of eejits on this thread and in general.

1. These coked up and boozed up idiots draped in tricolours acting the hard man.

2. Ignorant f*cks on here thinking all of the above represents MMA. MMA is centuries old, it's very much a sport and it's not only UFC. Also, it didn't arrive with Conor McGregor.

Relikk wrote: »
    The thing about entertaining personalities outside of the ring in press conferences and fight build-up's... McGregor isn't very good at it. Anything that comes out of his mouth always sounds vitriolic.

Agreed. He's touted as being brilliant on the microphone but all he does is curse and say f*ck you and go for low hanging fruit. That's not brilliance. That's lowest common denominator stuff. Vastly over rated in that department.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Vincent Vega

I think one comment widely interpreted as being one attack on his religion was when he offered him some whiskey during the press conference.

"Why don't you drink? Why don't you drink?"
    "I never drink"
    "I'd say yer some buzz at parties, ye mad backwards cúnt"

The offending 'backwards' being such a common criticism of Islam that googling 'backwards religion' gives you predominantly Islam related results for the first few pages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,468 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

I think one comment widely interpreted as being one attack on his religion was when he offered him some whiskey during the press conference.

"Why don't you drink? Why don't you drink?"
    "I never drink"
    "I'd say yer some buzz at parties, ye mad backwards cúnt"

The offending 'backwards' being such a common criticism of Islam that googling 'backwards religion' gives you predominantly Islam related results for the first few pages.

such eloquence and sheer mastery of the PR arts

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 128 ✭✭The Dagestani Eagle

The Irish must be getting nose bleeds up there on the moral high ground.
    The moral gymnastics been shown by Mcgregor fans is quite a sight to behold. Your boy started all of this. Years ago. He has been allowed act like a toe rag without any meaningful reprisals or sanction.Dragging every pre fight into the gutter.

He was a spoiled brat and was allowed become bigger than the business.

Every indiscretion justified with cries of "genius" "numbers" "marketing" "moving the needle" .

Well guess what boys.The needle got moved. It got shoved clean up your arse. You wanted a war and you ****ing got one. Except this time the playground bully was bigger than yours.

The snake oil salesman has been found out. The emperor has clothes bar his fur coat with no knickers.

If you wrestle with a pig and it gets dirty, the pig might like it.

All the talk of "**** on bus" and "coward" and "tapping windows ".

Who's the tapper now? who looked afraid now?

Slagging off peoples family, culture ,calling them backwards kunts , laughing at other cultures because they don't drink and then the fans have the temerity to be offended when the taste gets slapped out of his mouth.

Manners well and truly put on the lot of them. That was a hiding. Khabib even landed the better punches.

Beaten in the Octagon in the stands and on the streets.

Get the ole ole'rs back to ireland. The streets won't sweep themselves.

Broken, Bloodied and Beaten. You'll die in the class you were born.

Inshallah

Collie D wrote: »
    Not an MMA fan but I watched a recording of the fight and I was wondering if some of his tactics like the shorts pull and attempts to grab Khabib's hands were legal.

glossed over by the perennially myopic McGenuflectors

He also mocked Khabib talking by making stereotypical Borat/Arabic/Team America durka durka sounding language every time the fella tried to talk at the press conference.

He had his mouth well and truly shut for him.

Khabib took care of business. I am glad he jumped out of the cage.He held them all to account and didn't shirk cleaning house one bit.

To quote the great bard of our time Sir Jamie of Vardyville

"chat **** get banged"

I would say mocking a homeless man is just as bad or worse than any of that.

What would the fictitious Allah think of that?

I don't care

• Registered Users Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Vincent Vega

Islam is backwards, much like most religions, it's nonsense.

Fair enough, this is your opinion.
    It's obviously something the guy deeply identifies with in any case.
    Seems to have went a bit overboard with the mouthing off anyway.

Great moment from the fight in relation to that:

"Let's talk now"
    https://twitter.com/JackCook95/status/1048975738400063489

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

It amuses me that so many people are stupid and naive enough to think that the bus incident was staged :D It personally cost Conor millions and a court appearance. Some people will believe anything.

On the topic of criticising religion, so what. If it was me in the press conference I'd be telling kahbib that he's a weak minded lemming for believing in supernatural space fairies.

Was he fined millions? I'm just too tired now to find out myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

If they get a rematch, I'll guess Conor would stop his late nights and get to training seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,460 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

YFlyer wrote: »
    Was he fined millions? I'm just too tired now to find out myself.

Wasn't fined millions but by the time he finishes settling all the civil claims it will probably run that high.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,993 ✭✭✭griffin100

• Registered Users Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭RWCNT

ZX7R wrote: »
    Just throwing this question out there,
    I don't follow MMA,but had an interest in McGregor.
    In sporting pretext what will happen to McGregor's carrier in MMA after this defeat is it hard to come back from it.
    Seen a lot of boxers carriers end after one defeat, different spot I know.
    Just wondering

MMA isn't really like boxing in that one loss can seriously impact your career. Undefeated records are very rare in MMA and there are people considered all-time greats that have losses in the double digits.

Conor is still one of the best in the world and can continue fighting at the highest level for truckloads of cash for as long as he feels arsed enough to do so.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭backspin.

That's the point I was making over the weekend. McGregor and a lot of his fans don't seem to get that for some people there's stuff that's off-limits. "Oh he's selling the fight LOL" doesn't apply to saying that crap to some people, like Khabin. Also anyone who would accept someone spewing that vile at them without taking it "personally" would have huge question marks over them in my eyes.

I agree, imagine it was 1950's Ireland where everyone was very religious and we were a poor country. And some flash harry from the other side of the world starts calling you a backward Irish c*nt. Talking about your father being a quivering c*nt the time he met the British Prime Minister. Calling him a dirty Irish rat. A terrorist. Mocking your religious phraseology like 'god be with you'. Mocking your country men and identity.

We would be outraged and absolutely hate that guy. That's what Conor did to Dagestan and Khabib. He was completely out of order and deserved the humbling he got.

A great post over on the MMA forum. A lot of people could especially do with reading the second paragraph.

I've always hated that the most famous athlete from our country was that scummer. And no it isn't begrudgery, I have no problem with numerous Irish actors, athletes, musicians who have made millions and had great success. People don't like McGregor because he represents a lot of the worst elements in our society nothing else.

Lastly i want to say I feel sorry for the hardcore MMA fans, i'm not a hardcore MMA fan i like the sport but i'm more a boxing fan then anything but i do have massive respect for most of the lads who compete and i have defended the sport from frankly misinformed comments about sport safety and the character of most fighters. However sadly last night only adds to the sterotype that MMA is just scumbags in a cage and the fans are just knuckle draggers, sad because for a lot of people this will be the only MMA fight they will watch or read about all year. Last night was a setback for the sport regardless of how much money it generated.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭Blanco100

RWCNT wrote: »
    MMA isn't really like boxing in that one loss can seriously impact your career. Undefeated records are very rare in MMA and there are people considered all-time greats that have losses in the double digits.

Conor is still one of the best in the world and can continue fighting at the highest level for truckloads of cash for as long as he feels arsed enough to do so.

truck loads of cash? love how people use money to legitimize his stupid antics.

messi is a genius but i dont think ive ever heard anyone eulogize him about how much money he makes.

its always a mark of the poster when their refuge is to mention that what he does = $$$$

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,225 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

McGregor also said "It's only business." at the end of a round. He was terrified of him.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 886 ✭✭✭NasserShammaz

Its no better than king of the Travellers/bare knuckle sh#t for settled shanks, as for the video on line of his brave fanboys trying to intimidate the Russian fans about 300 to 20 after the show ,pathetic .that runt getting flattened at the end says it all

He looked like an angry retard.

What a horrible turn of phrase.
    Was bordering on racism at times, but I suppose that's all grand for some fans coz "he was just trying to get under his skin"

Bordering on racism? No. It's either racist or not. There are no shades of racism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,050 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

What a horrible turn of phrase.

Bordering on racism? No. It's either racist or not. There are no shades of racism.

Ethnic slandering is very much of a muchness with racist slurs.

He has already thrown out similar racist comments to Aldo and Mayweather.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

Will JK still be on JRE today?

• Registered Users Posts: 208 ✭✭brainfreeze

Will JK still be on JRE today?

Yep. He's one of the coolest heads in the sport so McGregor losing won't phase him. Confirmed on his twitter.

br3riZW.png

Even his response after the fight was calm.

S8YVBZO.png

And even the picture doing the rounds of the look of shock in Khabibs face when he knocked down McGregor, and everyones face at the front of the octagon also in shock. Then you see Johns face bottom left.

Full image

oFt8GQf.png

I doubt many of McGregor's team, witnessing first hand his condition and his laissez faire pantomine approach to this fight for the last few weeks generally believed he had much of a chance in this fight. McGregor included. If anything it was mainly seen as an easy huge pay package and more importantly would be (well in the initial plan would be) a precursor to the rematch which he would have more time time to take seriously and would be,more importantly it seems to McGregor now, more lucrative, financially.

Khabib's antics will have p*ssed off McGregor's team big time if the chance of a relatively foreseeable rematch was their plan all along and it is hampered by Dannis shouting abuse at him. I am sure though Dana White will wriggle Khabib out of any significant ban once his faux outrage dies down and there will be another pantomine bout come February/March

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

At least with boxing, despite all the bad mouthng and trash talk, the two guys at the end usally hug it out, respect each other, and say great fight. Sat nights antics showed a really scummy side of MMA/UFC, and of a winner, who that showed zero grace. Jumping into the crowd, the riot in the ring, and despite my dislike for McGregor, the blind side sucker punch, was bang out of order, and Khablibs antics, also.

When McGregor first came on the scene, I thought great, someone representing the Irish, and a winner. But I soon became bored of the antics, the disrepect to our justice system when showing up in trackies, then mocking the judge when asked about his finances. The bus incident in NY, and not daring disrespect the Judge there. But what did it for me, when he said, if you had got off that bus you would be dead, and I would be in jail. From then I wanted him to lose, and after Sat night, currently, I am just, meh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    despite my dislike for McGregor, the blind side sucker punch, was bang out of order.

McGregor threw the first punch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,460 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    At least with boxing, despite all the bad mouthng and trash talk, the two guys at the end usally hug it out, respect each other, and say great fight

As is almost always the case in MMA. Including every single McGregor fight no matter how much abuse has gone by previously. I don't doubt that McGregor would have shook Khabib's hand and congratulated him if things hadn't gone south so quickly.

He accepted defeat by Diaz humbly, and was gracious to Aldo despite their long running dislike of each other.

Case in point: Chad Mendes, the guy on the receiving end of the infamous "rest my.balls on your forehead" jibe, following McGregor's win at UFC 189.

McGregor-Mendes1.png

04025959b191f8f9de3f924f0940515f.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭backspin.

I doubt many of McGregor's team, witnessing first hand his condition and his laissez faire pantomine approach to this fight for the last few weeks generally believed he had much of a chance in this fight. McGregor included. If anything it was mainly seen as an easy huge pay package and more importantly would be (well in the initial plan would be) a precursor to the rematch which he would have more time time to take seriously and would be,more importantly it seems to McGregor now, more lucrative, financially.

Khabib's antics will have p*ssed off McGregor's team big time if the chance of a relatively foreseeable rematch was their plan all along and it is hampered by Dannis shouting abuse at him. I am sure though Dana White will wriggle Khabib out of any significant ban once his faux outrage dies down and there will be another pantomine bout come February/March

And a lot of Khabib's men won't be allowed back in his corner.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,100 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Yeah, he's the same after every fight. Even after Diaz 2 which was hyped up as this huge grudge match and how much they hate each other. After the fight the two of them were hugging and McGregor complemented him. It's all just to hype up the fight and sell some tickets.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭RWCNT

Blanco100 wrote: »
    truck loads of cash? love how people use money to legitimize his stupid antics.

messi is a genius but i dont think ive ever heard anyone eulogize him about how much money he makes.

its always a mark of the poster when their refuge is to mention that what he does = $$$$

I was responding to someone's question about whether a loss will severely impact his career like we've seen in boxing, not legitimizing or even talking about anything vaguely related to his antics. Sorry if I've somehow offended you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Yep. He's one of the coolest heads in the sport so McGregor losing won't phase him. Confirmed on his twitter.

Yeah, was fairly calm but he did run into the Octogan and pull someone away from McGregor.

You can only see it from the overhead shot.

I'm looking forward to the interview but he never really gives much away. For example if he feels that the game-plan was abandoned, he won't come out and say it, he'll be very diplomatic about it, which is understandable of course, I'd hardly expect him to criticize Conor publicly and of course there'd be an eye on a potential rematch also and not wanting to say too much in case that ever materializes.

But, from the little that could be garnered from what JK was saying between rounds, McGregor did fight off-script.

Rewatched the fight last night. Christ Rogan's commentary was annoying and completely at odds with his co-commentator (whoever that was, might have been two others actually).

What I noticed about the two minutes or so from the end of the 3rd was that Khabib was taking large breaths here after taking many shots from McGregor but McGregor himself was gassing and so where before we'd have seen him go in on a fighter and throw a combo, he just started throwing kicks and Khabib took him to the fence and used it to take a breather.

That round was something I never thought I'd see from Khabib, standing in the middle of the Octogan trading like he was Nate Diaz. At one point he even slapped Conor, not sure if many noticed that. He just had no fear of his power at that stage, which says a lot.

But then, in the first Nate fight Nate eat McGregor's punches for fun and in the second they put him on his ass, so you can't say for certain that McGregor hasn't got the ability to do the same again, rectify his errors and come back and get that win. Different animal in Khabib than Nate though, obviousily, given his incredible take down to take down attempt success rate. Particularly his low singles.

Either way, I feel McGregor's stock dropped on Saturday night, by at least 25%. No way does he still have the power to call the shots with regards to who he fights next like he once did. I think he'll want Khabib again but will be told no as they will fear him losing again and so will want him to fight the winner of the superfighter division next, Nate or Dustin.

Still hoping the corner audios show up, as would love to hear what was being said throughout. MMA Core used to have 'em but haven't seen too many of late.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

backspin. wrote: »

Or the country.

backspin. wrote: »

What were the identity of the guys who punched Mcgregor. It was McGregor who punched Khabib's cousin (who was in Khabib's corner) This was the punch which started the maul inside the octagon. That maul wouldn't have happened otherwise.

Were the other 2 official members of his corner team? I am a bit ignorant as to how that all works but I would have assumed you can only have a certain amount of official people in the corner

• Registered Users Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭Blanco100

br3riZW.png

Even his response after the fight was calm.

S8YVBZO.png

And even the picture doing the rounds of the look of shock in Khabibs face when he knocked down McGregor, and everyones face at the front of the octagon also in shock. Then you see Johns face bottom left.

Full image

oFt8GQf.png

Hopefully Rogan will get an answer from Mr.Zen on why McGregor ignores his instructions in the corner. is it because hes a mere prop at this stage or will JK claim they like to transmit telepathic signals to each other during rounds??

JK is on the gravy train so it will be "business as usual" id imagine, he wont want to upset his paymaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

That maul wouldn't have happened otherwise.

It wouldn't have happened if Khabib hadn't jumped the cage attacked McGregor's team and it wouldn't have happened if Abubakar had not then jumped up on the cage beside McGregor. For all he knew he wasn't about to follow Khabib and jump in and help Khabib.

I condemned McGregor for what he did to that bus, given he could have seriously hurt someone, but it's amazing to me that the same people who criticize him for the slightest thing have very little criticism for Khabib's team who behaved equally as reprehensibly.

Imagine for a moment McGregor won a fight and then jumped two footed from the cage at his opponent's teammate. Imagine then that three members of McGregor's team jumped into the cage and punched that defeated opponent, one of them from behind. Can you imagine the headlines?

If you're going to condemn bad behavior, condemn it all.

It wouldn't have happened if Khabib hadn't jumped the cage attacked McGregor's team and it wouldn't have happened if Abubakar had not then jumped up on the cage beside McGregor. For all he knew he wasn't about to follow Khabib and jump in and help Khabib.

I condemned McGregor for what he did to that bus, given he could have seriously hurt someone, but it's amazing to me that the same people who criticize him for the slightest thing have very little criticism for Khabib's team who behaved equally as reprehensibly.

Imagine for a moment McGregor won a fight and then jumped two footed from the cage at his opponent's teammate. Imagine then that three members of McGregor's team jumped into the cage and punched that defeated opponent, one of them from behind.
    Can you imagine the headlines?

If you're going to condemn bad behavior, condemn it all.

Point to me where anyone is defending Khabib's actions???

It doesn't need to be pointed out that what he did is indefensible and stupendously scummy. He could have sparked a mass riot.

But this whole "McGregor wouldn't have punched if that didn't happen" does not excuse McGregor for initiating the brawl inside. That incident did not need to happen, McGregor didn't need to try and jump into the maul outside the octagon, sure it came as a consequence of the maul sparked by Khabib, which was itself sparked by McGregor;s team mate, which itself was sparked by McGregor and the bus, which was itself.................and so on and so forth.

This whole butterfly effect nonsense does not excuse McGregor throwing the first punch and being then painted as a victim and subsequently heralded as a pacifist for not "pressing charges" (probably knowing if he did, those charges would come back to his actions anyway)

So, no, there is no hypocrisy. Noone is making a point of condemning Khabib because it is damn blatant what he done but a lot of McGregor's fans seem to ignore the fact he started the maul inside the Octagon. So that is why people refer to the "first punch"