Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The 2018 World Cup Superthread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,612 ✭✭✭eigrod

Penalty decision was 100% correct. The dive was unnecessary but it was going to be a free kick anyway whether he dived early or stood there and took it.

Never ever a penalty, it must be deliberate, towards the ball and have travelled a distance- it fails on all 3, not just 1. And your justification for the dive is pathetic, a dive is a free kick the other way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,560 ✭✭✭✭CSF

They were clearly nowhere close to ready to implement VAR. How do you decide Pogba’s offside was not worthy of review but Perisic’s was?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,109 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

eigrod wrote: »
    Never ever a penalty, it must be deliberate, towards the ball and have travelled a distance- it fails on all 3, not just 1. And your justification for the dive is pathetic, a dive is a free kick the other way.

The ball came from the corner flag.How much more of a distance do you need? It was a clear penalty all day long.

Thankfully the ref doesn't seem as biased as half the people on here

• Registered Users Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

It’s not justification. Whether he dived or not it was still going to be a free kick.

So a player can jump towards the ball like a starfish and so long as he’s close enough it’s never a penalty?

Poorest I’ve seen Kante play in a long time.

It’s not justification. Whether he dived or not it was still going to be a free kick.

So a player can jump towards the ball like a starfish and so long as he’s close enough it’s never a penalty?

You really think it’s a defence to say he dived first as he knew he was going to be fouled next? The Croat could’ve got the ball or pulled out of the tackle. Either way, the 1st offence was a dive.

And his hands have to be somewhere and no way was it a pen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

Not a peno for me and also a dive for the first.

You really think it’s a defence to say he dived first as he knew he was going to be fouled next? The Croat could’ve got the ball or pulled out of the tackle. Either way, the 1st offence was a dive.

And his hands have to be somewhere and no way was it a pen.

You clearly have your own criteria for penalties.

Get in Pogba!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,109 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

adox wrote: »
    Not a peno for me and also a dive for the first.

Luckily there are professionals refereeing the game that got the decisions right so, and not some lad watching at home in his sitting room

Pogba with a screamer to wrap it up.

Allez Les Bleus!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,160 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

France score a goal without a Pitana assist

No way back now.

Quazzie wrote: »
    Luckily there are professionals refereeing the game that got the decisions right so, and not some lad watching at home in his sitting room

Pogba with a screamer to wrap it up.

Allez Les Bleus!!!!!!!!

Wow you told me there.

Such bollix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,160 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Wow you told me there.

Such bollix.

Worth remembering next time Arsenal start complaining about a ref. They are professional so can't be wrong.......DESPITE Pitana being suspended in Argentina for giving a Penalty that never was.

Hes a perfect professional.

Keeper can’t seem to dive to his right. :pac:

Well that’s that. Well done France. Deserving winners of a great tournament.

Keeper can’t seem to dive to his right. :pac:

Croatia are shot since HT. French far too powerful now

Haha!

****ing hell.

Whoops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,397 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Lloris Llorising.

Jebus

1 more to set up a cracking finish please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭The Golden Miller

Hope the Yugoslavs rally now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭crushproof

What's the highest number of goals in aworld Cup final... Could be getting there! ?

Lovren :pac:

What are they on about on BBC? Clear clash of heads.

Griezmann going over for the front page pose :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,050 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

crushproof wrote: »
    What's the highest number of goals in aworld Cup final... Could be getting there! ?

(Brazil - Sweden)

Could you not just have googled it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,529 ✭✭✭irishgeo

Hopefully we will never see that maroon 5 ad again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,464 ✭✭✭Ultimate Seduction

Modric player of the tournament, well deserved, has been outstanding. It's amazing when you talk about the best players in the world you don't really hear his name mentioned.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭irishguitarlad

Hi lads my spanish friends think Griezmann will win the balón d'or now. What do you think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,464 ✭✭✭Ultimate Seduction

Hi lads my spanish friends think Griezmann will win the balón d'or now. What do you think?

Not a hope in hell. Ronaldo or modric

• Registered Users Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭irishguitarlad

Not a hope in hell. Ronaldo or modric

Yeah I was saying that. I myself think It will be Ronaldo.

Hi lads my spanish friends think Griezmann will win the bal'or now. What do you think?

No chance. He's not even in the betting I've seen so he's > 250/1 for it.

Ronaldo should win it with ease.

Ye Ronaldo for the Ballon D'or. He has the best stats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,505 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Ask your Spanish friend for some of the crack he's smoking.

Ronaldo is odds on at like 1/4 to win and nobody, NOBODY touches him in 2017/18.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭crushproof

Tremendous World Cup. A total joy and it devastates me to think of a winter World Cup in Qatar. Could see how much Infantino enjoyed this world Cup, surely he must think what a stupid mistake Qatar is. So frustrating.

Ask your Spanish friend for some of the crack he's smoking.

Ronaldo is odds on at like 1/4 to win and nobody, NOBODY touches him in 2017/18.

Apart from the fact that Modric, for example, outperformed him over 90 minutes in just about every game this season.

Ye Ronaldo for the Ballon D'or. He has the best stats
    Apart from the fact that Modric, for example, outperformed him over 90 minutes in just about every game this season.

Oh, a Ronaldo stats debate. It's been a while

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,214 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

You sir, enhance my experience of boards.ie and I want to thank you for that.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Registered Users Posts: 1,849 ✭✭✭764dak

Funny how Croatia never seemed tired.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,330 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Raphael Varane is just the 9th player to play in and win the World Cup and European Cup finals in the same year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,635 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

crushproof wrote: »
    Tremendous World Cup. A total joy and it devastates me to think of a winter World Cup in Qatar. Could see how much Infantino enjoyed this world Cup, surely he must think what a stupid mistake Qatar is. So frustrating.

You are a very lucky person if the issue of a winter WC worries you so much.

If anything, the timing of the games will suit us in Europe very well. Also, SFA on TV, long nights and probably bad weather, so you'll be able to light the fire and watch the games without worrying about sun coming through the curtains.

It'll be grand, don't worry about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,214 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

764dak wrote: »

They been tired since the second round actually got a decent break between games this time

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

You sir, enhance my experience of boards.ie and I want to thank you for that.

It's always a pleasure enlightening the uninitiated folk like yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭brianregan09

So lads......what do we do now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,403 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

A great tournament. Fully justified the decision to award it to Russia instead of the England bid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,603 ✭✭✭lassykk

namloc1980 wrote: »
    Raphael Varane is just the 9th player to play in and win the World Cup and European Cup finals in the same year.

Now that's a quiz question that would be bloody hard to answer

• Registered Users Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Mocha Joe

764dak wrote: »

Yeah lots of bizarre levels of stamina going on there and with others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,330 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

lassykk wrote: »

Another piece of trivia. The 2018 World Cup is the first one where every participating team scored at least 2 goals. Never happened before.