Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The 2018 World Cup Superthread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,036 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Jesus christ...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,672 ✭✭✭elefant

Pressed square instead of circle.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

I’ll be glad to see the back of Argentina. Shower of chancers.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,424 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

Some finish all the same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,595 ✭✭✭✭Trigger

Argentina really missing Romero this WC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,179 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

WTF was that from the Argentine keeper? Messi must be thinking, I'm working with clowns here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,495 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

sligeach wrote: »
    Messi must be thinking, I'm working with clowns here.

He isn't exactly stepping up to the plate himself.

WTF was that from the Argentine keeper? Messi must be thinking, I'm working with clowns here.

Would love to know the difference if Messi actually ran around a bit though... ran the least of any player in the entire first round of games. Ran off the ball less than several goalkeepers even!

Like, I get that he should be conserving his energy to some extent, but christ, like...

• Registered Users Posts: 8,369 ✭✭✭Rossi IRL

Would Argentina be better off without Messi?

Rossi IRL wrote: »

They wouldn't be, as we saw in qualification - without him they simply were definitely not getting to the WC... only once he returned did they pick up points.

But they're still dreadful with him, and he doesn't help as much as he really should.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,611 ✭✭✭✭ERG89

How? they dont even have a good starting XI?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,914 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    They wouldn't be, as we saw in qualification - without him they simply were definitely not getting to the WC... only once he returned did they pick up points.

But they're still dreadful with him, and he doesn't help as much as he really should.

They seem very disjointed no real teamwork support

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

They seem very disjointed no real teamwork support

Yeah, look an absolute shambles in just about every respect.

Even still, they should have enough individual talent to nick a goal in just about any game. Reckon we'll finish 1-1 here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

Wouldn't be at the WC without him .

Very poor so far though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,050 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

I can see Messi doing something brilliant now.

Heroic defending by Rakitic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,595 ✭✭✭✭Trigger

Heroic defending by Rakitic

Followed by a superb tackle to stop the break

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Hate that one second delay on rte.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 610 ✭✭✭Sprinter Sacre

Even though he hasn't played well with Messi, not giving Dybala minutes is horrific. He has that magic spark. Also taking off Aguero is a bad move. Cannot believe Banega or even Lo Celso are not getting minutes either. This Argentina team are brutal.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Rezident

Mandukic is an awful diver. Have they no shame? Are their kids watching daddy rolling around on the ground like a little girl who hurt herself with a skipping rope?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Rezident

Do you think modric will be ok?

• Registered Users Posts: 607 ✭✭✭Pete Moss

Jorge Sampaoli is a man with a particular taste in fashion. Pretty sure I bought a Sergio Georgini faux Italian leather jacket from him in Unique Menswear in the Ilac Centre a few years ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,752 ✭✭✭Thepoet85

Embarrassing the amount of diving and play acting in this World Cup so far.

Olic on the bench for Croatia. He's not still playing, is he??

Big fan of Dybala!

Scored a 98 minute penalty to win me 700 quid on the last leg of an accumulator last year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,695 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Jaysus Argentina are an absolute shambles.

• Registered Users Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Benteke

You have to feel for the argie forward players, The players behind them can pass water

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,501 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Benteke wrote: »
    You have to feel for the argie forward players, The players behind them can pass water

The forwards haven’t done much good either when they have had the service.

martyos121 wrote: »
    The forwards haven’t done much good either.

What can they do when the players behind them keep misplacing passes

Great player

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,996 ✭✭✭FourFourRED

Deserved win for Croatia. Better team from start to finish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,791 ✭✭✭✭JPA

Beautiful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Wow....Modric....

Goodnight Irene.

Good work by Modric, Brozovic & Rakitic there. Awful defending by Otamendi who looked like he was being bamboozled by a 17 year old Pele

The commentators are talking like Argentina are out. They're not.

Class goal.

Meza is septic for Argentina. Their starting lineup is perplexing.

That's pure filth

has there only been one red card in the tournament so far?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,713 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

has there only been one red card in the tournament so far?

Just Sanchez so far I think

Which was a very strange call.

Every chance Iceland v Nigeria is a draw. If it is, then Iceland are highly unlikely to beat Croatia, which means if Argentina beat Nigeria, then they'll finish second.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭fyfe79

Every chance Iceland v Nigeria is a draw. If it is, then Iceland are highly unlikely to beat Croatia, which means if Argentina beat Nigeria, then they'll finish second.

Iceland beat Croatia in their qualifying group. Also, Croatia will be through so they might rest players.

If Iceland win tomorrow, Argentina are in big trouble. Especially with a -3 goal difference right now.

Good chance though that Croatia could rest a few players

Argie manager should be sacked before the next game

FourFourFM wrote: »
    Which was a very strange call.

By the player yeah it was a straight red all day long.
    Diego is weeping now :mad:

ERG89 wrote: »
    By the player yeah it was a straight red all day long.
    Diego is weeping now :mad:

Straight to the jacks for a pick me up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,977 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Wow, great input.

Benteke wrote: »
    Argie manager should be sacked before the next game

Taking Aguero off just as you go one down? So many decisions that seem very bizarre to a neutral.