Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The 2018 World Cup Superthread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭Minderbinder

Where was the great Kante there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

That was some strike.

Thought it had taken a deflection on fist look because Lloris seemed pretty slow to react.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,179 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

I worry that if Argentina do manage to win this they'll have a rake of players suspended for the quarter final. Mascherano is the first player ruled out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭sonic85

Well see whether that will change anything though. It was a great individual moment but it doesn't negate the rubbish that came before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,310 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

The Rte commentary are giving Argentina absolutely no credit at all.
    Outrageously biased.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 610 ✭✭✭Sprinter Sacre

sligeach wrote: »
    I worry that if Argentina do manage to win this they'll have a rake of players suspended for the quarter final. Mascherano is the first player ruled out.

Blessing in disguise so far. Hopefully Pavon is next. They'll have to play their good players then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,985 ✭✭✭ebbsy

I would take Mascherano off. Way out of his depth.

sonic85 wrote: »
    Well see whether that will change anything though. It was a great individual moment but it doesn't negate the rubbish that came before

Well the Argentinian keeper hasn't been busy either. Just the penalty and the free kick off the crossbar.

Outrageously biased.

What credit though? Argentina have been very poor for the majority of that half. The goal was magnificent but it was just one good moment out of 45 minutes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,050 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

Always think a clear sign of a poor commentator is an eye for an irrelevant stat. To illustrate Griezman's scoring prowess Ger cited his four goals in qualification. Yeah I think the Golden Boot at the Euros is a tad more pertinent Ger...

Surely they could branch out of the corriders in Montrose and contract some actual soccer commentators for a month. I am a massive fan of Hamilton, maybe it is the nostalgia of that voice that blinds me sometimes, I don't mind Eames to be honest and tolerate Stephen Alkin but the rest are really poor choices for such a flagship show for RTE.

Seems Hope Solo is making her RTE debut for the Brazil....Mexico game btw

PS, I don't have BBC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

France could score more if they went a bit more for it but they didn't at all, far too conservative and slow in their play. France not getting their attacking players in the game anywhere near as much as they should. Argentina have been pretty average going forward, but they could catch France if they don't wake up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,725 ✭✭✭✭blueser

Outrageously biased.
    The goal apart, do they deserve any credit? They're a mess.

Jaysus the RTE panel are really scraping the barrel looking for good bits of Argentina play!! Slim pickings!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,217 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

Argentina are shocking. Feel sorry for Messi to be honest having to play with this shower

Time for a new nickname I think,

Leo "teflon" Messi

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

sligeach wrote: »
    Well the Argentinian keeper hasn't been busy either. Just the penalty and the free kick off the crossbar.

Judging a team's performance on how busy their keeper is is flawed way to look at things.

Time for a new nickname I think,

Leo "teflon" Messi

Why? He can't initiate all the attacks and score all the goals himself. What's he supposed to do? They've pretty much been dirt all over the field he can't win the game on his own

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,907 ✭✭✭Stephen15

Seems Hope Solo is making her RTE debut for the Brazil....Mexico game

I thought they would have at least put her one of lesser group games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,036 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Judging a team's performance on how busy their keeper is is flawed way to look at things.

I don't see anyone making a whole judgement of a teams performance... it's a pretty relevant comment to make though.

For all France's dominance, they've actually not been that dangerous. They look more likely to craft an opening than Argentina certainly, but as yet haven't done much. Argentina gifted them a pen, which there was no need to give away, with the move not actually posing a threat.

Mbappe looks the most likely, so would hope to see the Argies try to minimize his space in behind.

Argentina are shocking. Feel sorry for Messi to be honest having to play with this shower

I hate this sort of comment. It's international football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,612 ✭✭✭eigrod

Are France immune from yellow cards? That shirt pull a clear yellow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,310 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

What credit though? Argentina have been very poor for the majority of that half. The goal was magnificent but it was just one good moment out of 45 minutes.

They haven't been great but they battled hard and showed fight.
    They had most of the possession too.
    France sat back and haven't created much in general play yet the commentators were crowing about them.

Well done Argentina. 2-1 up. Messi involved again.

I hate this sort of comment. It's international football.

What's your point?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,612 ✭✭✭eigrod

Get in !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

France **** again so happy with this score so far.

Frsnce need to wake up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,791 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

Wasn't there a rule that came in a while back that only the captain could question the ref on a decision.

Surrounding the ref like that is embarrassing, I'd card everyone of the feckers.

Hope Argentina can drive this home now get another one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,595 ✭✭✭✭Trigger

That’s a ridiculous challenge by Benega, what was he thinking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,217 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

This game is funny :)

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

That's Mascherano and Banega missing should Argentina progress. I think there'll be more. Worried Mascherano might get himself sent off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,864 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Box of biscuits for that man. Or maybe make him emperor of Japan.:P

Pogba left Mercado unmarked for that shot, got drawn into closing down Messi who already had a man on him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,117 ✭✭✭jacool

Can see Argentina finishing with about 9 players here. They are a nasty side. That should have been a card for Perez too.,

France are 13/2 with 35 minutes to go ................... I'll have some of that!!

That's the Fasio that was at Spurs.

Ha, that was like the Staunton, Given, Van Nistlerooy moment!

Argentina got away with murder there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,595 ✭✭✭✭Trigger

Omfg what a goal

Desmond!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,117 ✭✭✭jacool

Penalty ?

What a goal! What a game!

Turning out to be much better than I was expecting.

**** 2-2 now Pavard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,864 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

France are 13/2 with 35 minutes to go ................... I'll have some of that!!

Did you get on it in time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

Pointless if VAR can't see Fazio's pull on Griezmann's jersey.

Great strike but sickening. One in a million strike from the defender.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,464 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Pogba left Mercado unmarked for that shot, got drawn into closing down Messi who already had a man on him.

in fairness you can't blame Pogba for that...any player would have gone forward to block Messi off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,404 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

What a THUNDERBASTARD of a goal.

Pavards price just went up 60 mil

5/4 now!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

France can play when they want!

Dunno why they need to play so negative most time though. Especially with players they have.

Sampaoli looks shell shocked.

That was some fcuking goal. Ridiculous