Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Housemates who lliterally live in their rooms

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,914 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Vela wrote: »

I'll tell you what I think is odd; people who literally cannot spend any time on their own.

^^^ This times a million

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

My housemate is a nice lad but his sole topic of conversation is digital currency and how much he has made/lost for the day. I do be wiped from a days work and look forward to my space and chill out time at the end of the day. Once I get in the door the laptop is out and he is at pains to tell me his progress. I have zero interest in it and by nature am very introverted and happy in my own company.

In my opinion worst housemates are the ones that think your "weird" for being in your room. They need to grow up a little and be respectful of different personalities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

What a depressing thread.

I like my own company as much as the next person but when I was house sharing, I always made the effort to talk to my housemates and they did the same with me. And I say that as someone who wasn’t always the best housemate.

Some of the replies and sentiments expressed here (“too much effort”,”they’re boring and I’m not”, “if you want to talk to me, text or email”) are a bit sad.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Optimalprimerib

Because most people have nothing to say and I don't want to listen to it after a day's work. I'd hate to come home every day to some arsehole sitting on my couch talking ****. If you want to talk to me text me or email. Otherwise fcuk off

49 thanks for this??? Proof that the world is fcuked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭Mrcaramelchoc

I live at home, in the family house. I spend 99% of my time in my room. I get to watch what I want, when I want, with no stupid questions.

Its tough being in your 50 s id say.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

There is a reason why people are glued to their phones most of the day. It's because the phone is a better source of company. Almost anything is available at push of a button. Listening to some tool waffle on is obnoxious, especially in your own home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭Squeeonline

Living in shared places for about 10 years now and I'm done with it. Next place will be with my partner or on my own.

I'm tired after a long 12-14h day at work and dont want to talk shlte, I just want to relax before I have to start all over again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭Pelvis

By FAR the worst housemates are the ones who NEVER stay in their room.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Chrongen

Because most people have nothing to say and I don't want to listen to it after a day's work. I'd hate to come home every day to some arsehole sitting on my couch talking ****. If you want to talk to me text me or email. Otherwise fcuk off

Surely you could spend an hour on the couch with a cup of tea or a glass of beer just watching a bit of telly together before splitting off to your room. You don't have to talk much just a few comments on the crap on telly, maybe "another tea/beer, Eddie?", "nah, mate, good with this. Hitting the cot soon."

A little bit of social interaction staves off mental problems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

Well, you just worry about putting 49 boardsies on your ignore list. :)

Video games.

I hate having my console hooked up to the main sitting room TV of any house I live in, because I don't want to take up the entire space just with that. So I always have a TV in my bedroom. Sometimes you don't even notice the hours roll by.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭Malayalam

The internet is a hive of introverts, and so the responses here are likely to be swayed because of that. As an introvert, I can barely tolerate sharing any space with any human for any length of time - I make exceptions for suitable lengths of time for my husband, children and close family/friends - so a house share would be the very definition of a nightmare for me. I would only ever be seen fleetingly, scurrying to the bathroom with a hat and sunglasses on. :)

Vela wrote: »
    I'll tell you what I think is odd; people who literally cannot spend any time on their own.

Christ, I know a few of those.

I've only lived with friends, it can really go either way. If I was sharing with a stranger I would likely spend much more time in my room than I do currently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,498 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Chrongen wrote: »
    Surely you could spend an hour on the couch with a cup of tea or a glass of beer just watching a bit of telly together before splitting off to your room. You don't have to talk much just a few comments on the crap on telly, maybe "another tea/beer, Eddie?", "nah, mate, good with this. Hitting the cot soon."

The ironic thing is, if you lived with family you could **** off to your room for the evening and nobody would care. Its only with strangers that you have to play these games.

Yeah I would probably be fine living with one of my siblings because of that. Even living with a friend it can be a bit "Ya alright?" if you slink off to bed instead of watching TV.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,852 ✭✭✭Steve F

Patww79 wrote: »

65 now.Me and 64 other abnormal's apparently ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

If people want to socialise in the main room they can do that, or if they want to have their time to themselves in their own room they can do that too.

What really drives me mad are people like an ex housemate of mine that went on a massive rant about how unfair it was that other people spent their time in the sitting room, because it meant she couldn't use it for herself (there were four of us in the apartment) - nobody in the house was loud or anything so it wasn't a noise issue. Not just the right to pick what's on TV etc, she legitimately wanted allocated days where she could have the living room (which was also open plan to the kitchen) all to herself with nobody else allowed in, or having the right to kick everyone out if she wasn't first back.

Not a f***ing chance! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,498 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

I loved living with people who stayed in their rooms.
    It was like living by myself without having to pay for the rent by myself.

The TV was always mine, kitchen was always free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,498 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

Billy86 wrote: »
    If people want to socialise in the main room they can do that, or if they want to have their time to themselves in their own room they can do that too.

What really drives me mad are people like an ex housemate of mine that went on a massive rant about how unfair it was that other people spent their time in the sitting room, because it meant she couldn't use it for herself (there were four of us in the apartment) - nobody in the house was loud or anything so it wasn't a noise issue. Not just the right to pick what's on TV etc, she legitimately wanted allocated days where she could have the living room (which was also open plan to the kitchen) all to herself with nobody else allowed in, or having the right to kick everyone out if she wasn't first back.

haha thats a bit crazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭jsd1004

Probably a few of you are in that scenario. Drives me mad. Why would you pay rent in a house and not mix with the other people in the house?

Fair enough if you get landed with weirdos or have days when your just not in the mood. But it seems that within this generation, we are getting some deeply anti social living situations.

Yes, wed all love our own spaces and resent that we have to share. That notwithstanding, why not make the most of it?

I realise that a decent percentage reading this thread are currently dodging social interaction with their housemates. Why is my question to these people.

I organise a lot of house shares. I dont take any groups or friends. Just individuals. Majority of the time works great, everyone respects each others privacy. Kitchen is cleaned after use and generally the sitting room is seldom if ever used. I retain access to the common areas just to keep an eye on things but rarely have issues. If people want more interaction with others they generally get a group together and rent a complete house. Which is a whole lot messier for a landlord..

haha thats a bit crazy.

They were an ...interesting... room mate. Some other fun bits include leaving screamingly-angry voice messages on the whatsapp group about porridge bowls being left in the sink (they were the only on in the house that ate porridge, and every single morning at that!) and also writing to the landlord to complain about a suspected cockroach problem, then making themselves disappear when we were cleaning the place for the exterminator (landlord ordered it without checking and wasn't taking precautions as it was coming into Canadian summer which is surprisingly humid and sticky) because as she said when we took her to task on it "it's not my mess!". It turned out there were no cockroaches, but there was some woodlice and similar in her room where she had been hoarding (or rather too lazy to clean) dirty dishes.

First time living away from mammy and daddy, is my guess.

---

On the other hand, she kind of made a great common enemy of herself and as a result one of the other housemates and I are really good friends to this day... so silver linings and all that! :)

Because as a general rule I had no interest in interacting with housemates outside of a passing hello or a quick chat in the kitchen. In one houseshare where others used the living room I would spend some time in there as they tended to watch sport etc which I would want to watch though I'd also spend a lot of time in my room and the longer I was sharing the longer I'd spend in my room as it was easier to watch stuff there than make small talk.

Last houseshare I was in for a few years where all the other housemates either were out all the time or lived in their rooms so I had the living room to myself 90% of the time if I wanted it, I also had a great tv and media setup in my room so would still watch a fair bit of the tv I followed there as I just liked it. Sharing a house with people other than your parents/siblings or oh is s*it basically and the only way I could tolerate it was either spending a fair bit of time in my room or luckily living with people who did leaving the rest of the house free. Only shared for a few years and couldn't do it again.

Housemates that lived in their room were my favourite by a distance.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Chrongen

I would have strangled her. What a fucking liberty!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

I love that I see more and more listings for flatshares in my hometown that do proper castings for a new housemate. You need to fit in: You need to be sociable, have the same interests, maybe taking a course that's similar to all the others, have to love pets, have to love Marx, have to be ethically and politically correct, don't cook meat and so on.
    It's getting increasingly difficult for the socially awkward getting a room there because this retarded trend is absolutely booming for a few years now.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,914 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Malayalam wrote: »
    I would only ever be seen fleetingly, scurrying to the bathroom with a hat and sunglasses on. :)

LOL! :D
    wanted allocated days where she could have the living room (which was also open plan to the kitchen) all to herself with nobody else allowed in, or having the right to kick everyone out if she wasn't first back.

That's just plain knobish!

I would have strangled her. What a fucking liberty!
    Literally a f***ing rota got proposed, man! :pac:

I mean if she wanted a night alone on the couch with the boyfriend or have friends over for a girlie movie or whatnot, that's completely grand. Where we lived was within 50m of a few pubs in one direction, Chinatown in another, and a really nice area with amazing and cheap food throughout in the other with a park on the end of it. No bothers.

But no, she wanted a rota for what days people were allowed into the sitting room (which the front door of the place opened into). Sorry, just having flash backs of those mind-boggling few months now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,275 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

LirW wrote: »
    I love that I see more and more listings for flatshares in my hometown that do proper castings for a new housemate. You need to fit in: You need to be sociable, have the same interests, maybe taking a course that's similar to all the others, have to love pets, have to love Marx, have to be ethically and politically correct, don't cook meat and so on.
    It's getting increasingly difficult for the socially awkward getting a room there because this retarded trend is absolutely booming for a few years now.

This sh1te used to drive me mad in Dublin. I was only looking for a place to sleep on weekdays and cook a bit of dinner really but the places I called to seemed to be doing interviews for a new best friend to hang out with.

I wonder do these feckers do the same thing if they're selling their car. You take it for a test drive but they also check if you're a good driver and of all the offers they get they make a list and pick the best or most suitable driver for the car in their opinion and call that person back to sell it to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,552 ✭✭✭denismc

Hey roomy!
    The-Shining-Jack-Nicholson-Through-Door.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,432 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

always had great housemates.

live with GF now though so no worries about few weirdos ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

That only thing that kept me going when house sharing was the knowledge that I was saving money and getting the deposit together for a house. If I could have rented a place on my own for the cost of the house share, I'd have been gone like a shot.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Optimalprimerib

There is a reason why people are glued to their phones most of the day. It's because the phone is a better source of company. Almost anything is available at push of a button. Listening to some tool waffle on is obnoxious, especially in your own home.

I honestly don't know what to say to this. Give me human interaction any day of the week. I like private time as well and I use my phone quite a bit, but Jesus, I'd much rather talk and laugh with people than stare at a screen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,924 ✭✭✭orangerhyme

Probably a few of you are in that scenario. Drives me mad. Why would you pay rent in a house and not mix with the other people in the house?

Fair enough if you get landed with weirdos or have days when your just not in the mood. But it seems that within this generation, we are getting some deeply anti social living situations.

Yes, wed all love our own spaces and resent that we have to share. That notwithstanding, why not make the most of it?

I realise that a decent percentage reading this thread are currently dodging social interaction with their housemates. Why is my question to these people.

I think it's just modern society and technology.
    I've been renting and sharing houses since the turn of the millennium.
    Back then houses didn't have internet and mobiles were just for texting and calling. Nobody I knew had computers let alone a laptop. Obviously TV existed but we generally just had the poverty channels or maybe some UK ones.
    Back then we'd spend no times in our rooms, just for sleeping or studying or with gf.
    We all sat around the sitting room chatting, or in the kitchen eating and chatting.
    This makes me sound ancient but I'm only early 30's. I'm sure some people had computers and internet but we were students and had nothing.

Nowadays you're correct, it's completely normal to spend all your free time in your room on laptop, tablet or phone.

Its interesting to contemplate the implications on younger generations.
    Is the art of conversation dying?
    I spend time with younger people and they seem normal enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

I only ever shared a flat while in college and that was with a good friend who I knew from home. As a bit of an introverted person, it was perfect for me. None of the problems of food stealing, unknown people milling around the house, being able to sit in front of a big tv and chill out in the evening, without some annoying tw@t sitting beside you. We both did 90% of our socializing outside the flat so it was a grand, relaxed spot, a home away from home.

I often thought about what it would be like to just be lumped into sharing a house with some of the people I started college with and it chilled my bones. House sharing is grand for extroverted people because their default setting is being surrounded 24/7.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

I only ever shared a flat while in college and that was with a good friend who I knew from home. As a bit of an introverted person, it was perfect for me. None of the problems of food stealing, unknown people milling around the house, being able to sit in front of a big tv and chill out in the evening, without some annoying tw@t sitting beside you. We both did 90% of our socializing outside the flat so it was a grand, relaxed spot, a home away from home.

I often thought about what it would be like to just be lumped into sharing a house with some of the people I started college with and it chilled my bones. House sharing is grand for extroverted people because their default setting is being surrounded 24/7.

The short answer is technology.
    Up til the early 00's you'd have been bored off your tits alone in your room.
    Now you've endless entertainment and can "socialise" and "interact" with friends whilst lying in bed.
    It's just a different world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Its tough being in your 50 s id say.

I’d say so too. Good few years before I’m anywhere near there though. Anything relevant or on topic to add to the thread??

Why would you pay rent in a house and not mix with the other people in the house?

Just to pick up on this, I'm not sure why you think paying rent has any bearing on how sociable you are. Is it supposed to mean that because you are paying rent you should get the full value or something like that?

Most people are paying rent in a house share because they can't afford their own place, and if they could afford their own place they would be gone in two seconds flat and certainly wouldn't be moving in some strangers so they could have a chat.

Somebody who keeps to themselves in a flat is no different to a house owner who keeps to himself instead of calling into his neighbours every evening for supper.

Imagine your neighbours said hello when they passed you on the street but never called over or tried to be best friends, would they be classed as weirdos?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

I've never had to house-share thank god because I couldn't bear feeling forced to make a conversation after a bad day at work.

It was bad enough when I had kids waiting for me but at least you can tell them "listen I've had a bad day, just leave me to myself".

I've often wondered though, if everyone in a house-share nowadays is going to their rooms is there not 4 or 5 televisions going? Would this not drive you mad? The noise level like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,537 ✭✭✭pgj2015

Jesus from the responces here I have to say some people are awful dry ****es, I wouldnt mind if you live with a bunch of arseholes but most people are pretty sound. We all neeed some time alone in our rooms but not the whole time, that is like being in a prison. Same people who hide in their rooms are probably the very people who tell interviewers they are a people person.

Just to pick up on this, I'm not sure why you think paying rent has any bearing on how sociable you are. Is it supposed to mean that because you are paying rent you should get the full value or something like that?

Most people are paying rent in a house share because they can't afford their own place, and if they could afford their own place they would be gone in two seconds flat and certainly wouldn't be moving in some strangers so they could have a chat.

Somebody who keeps to themselves in a flat is no different to a house owner who keeps to himself instead of calling into his neighbours every evening for supper.

Imagine your neighbours said hello when they passed you on the street but never called over or tried to be best friends, would they be classed as weirdos?

The neighbours analogy doesn't quite work. It's different. You don't see your neighbours every day. You're not sharing a space and toilet etc.
    It's makes sense to be friendly with your housemates on some level, not best mates or anything, but casual enough. There needs to be a sense of trust and socialising a bit helps with that.

I think also by the time people reach their mid to late 20's they become more selective in who they spend time with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

That only thing that kept me going when house sharing was the knowledge that I was saving money and getting the deposit together for a house. If I could have rented a place on my own for the cost of the house share, I'd have been gone like a shot.

That’s getting harder and harder to do now, even with houseshares.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭somefeen

Nah I appreciate some people want that, but its more effort than its worth for me. Its an hour and when you do want to call it quits you need an excuse because saying you want to be alone now is seen by the extraverted majority as strange or they take it personal.
    Its nice to have an auld cuppa and a chat when I've just got in from work though, I'll give you that. I enjoyed that when I lived with similarly inclined people.

pgj2015 wrote: »
    Jesus from the responces here I have to say some people are awful dry ****es, I wouldnt mind if you live with a bunch of arseholes but most people are pretty sound. We all neeed some time alone in our rooms but not the whole time, that is like being in a prison. Same people who hide in their rooms are probably the very people who tell interviewers they are a people person.
    The neighbours analogy doesn't quite work. It's different. You don't see your neighbours every day. You're not sharing a space and toilet etc.
    It's makes sense to be friendly with your housemates on some level, not best mates or anything, but casual enough. There needs to be a sense of trust and socialising a bit helps with that.

A fact that is being glossed over here is that most of the people being discussed here are actually perfectly friendly and sociable to their flatmates. They will stop for a chat when paths cross in the kitchen, or say hello and have a catch up the odd time when watching TV.

It would be a very small percentage who are actually oddballs that never show their face for weeks at a time. Instead most people are perfectly normal, they just don't want to have communal mealtimes or forced conversation for hours in the evenings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

I think it can be job related aswell, if your in a job where you have alot of people interaction you don't want to have that interaction when you come home. I think spending all your time in your room is not healthy and a bit of time with your housemates is a good thing. But I can totally understand why someone would stay in there room

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

My son has a housemate in Canada who keeps her cat in her bedroom and she has it declawed, now that's a weirdo bitch.

I've never seen her cook, only time I've ever seen it her is when she came down to get food for the cat and she freaked me out. She looks like the Grudge!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭zcorpian88

Too much of an effort really after a long day, sometimes you just want peace and quiet.

Really I think anyone that's working should have their own place but Ireland has adopted this backwards BS of having 3 and 4 people housesharing well into their 30's like some student in digs. If you're out working you should be entitled to come back to a space that's all yours instead of having people you don't like in your face for the evening.

I still live at home for this very reason, between that and I'd hate to be living with someone unreliable that could f**k off at a moments notice or loud housemates or messy housemates or even worse, housemates that don't cover their share of a bill that comes in, don't fancy having to carry people.

Plus I'd rather watch some tv series with silence, I couldn't follow it with people talking or coming in and out.

I'm picky about who I'd live with in general, wouldn't want to be stuck with some over-educated lefty snowflake that has to debate every little thing if I say something off the cuff after a long day, which you can't seem to do around these knobs. I would say there is like two people in my big enough friend circle I'd consider living with but they are saving for houses and stuck at home, so I wouldn't push them, plus my own income isn't great, I'd want to be stable myself first.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

A people person is probably as bad as it gets in shared accomodation. Constantly in your business talking about mundane, insipid ****e. A bit like Fr Noel Furlong. If I want to socialise I'll go meet friends, play football or fcuk off to the pub. I don't want anybody coming near my front door without an invite. Unknown phone numbers can **** off too.