Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Manchester United Thread..The Final Chapter of 17? (MOD WARNINGS IN OP)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,641 ✭✭✭✭Trigger

So reckon Mkhi will get a chance to redeem himself tonight? Or Maybe put himself in the shop window?

astradave wrote: »
    So reckon Mkhi will get a chance to redeem himself tonight? Or Maybe put himself in the shop window?

It's a funny one. If we were to not see Mkhi line-out again and then leave the club in January, I probably wouldn't be overly bothered. Disappointed that it didn't work out, sure, but not upset that he was allowed to leave given the way it has gone for him.

However, I would have had Luke Shaw out the door in January by that same logic. Then he goes and puts in two good appearances recently and I'm a little less sure of that January departure and his non-future at the club.

Same could happen with Mkhi, for me anyway. If Mkhi appears tonight and has a good game, and then continues that form in his next couple of appearances, I wouldn't be as sure of a January departure for him.

Such players can be destined for the door because they appear to be fúck-all use to the team. A few games can change that very quickly. We've possibly started to see that with Shaw, we need to see it now with Mkhi.

Before anyone points out the level of opposition Shaw faced recently, and the level Mkhi could face tonight, I'm simply talking about promise here. Not a definite show that they are the future of the club in their position, just promise for now.

Oh...and to actually answer your question Dave - Barring injury I think we'll definitely see Mkhi playing tonight, Pogba too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

Confirmed United squad members

Sergio Romero

Joel Pereira

Kieran O'Hara

Matteo Darmian

Victor Lindelof

Chris Smalling

Marcos Rojo

Axel Tuanzebe

Daley Blind

Luke Shaw

Scott McTominay

Paul Pogba

Ander Herrera

Jesse Lingard

Henrikh Mkhitaryan

Juan Mata

Marcus Rashford

Anthony Martial

Romelu Lukaku

Zlatan Ibrahimovic

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,640 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

We on T V?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭martinr5232

Sky i think.

Lord TSC wrote: »
    We on T V?

Sky sports main event

jayo26 wrote: »
    Confirmed United squad members

I wouldn't mind seeing...

...................Romero...................

Axel T...Lindelof.......Rojo......Shaw

....Herrera....Pogba...McTominay....

............Mkhi..........Martial........

....................Ibra....................

-Mkhi roaming, Ibra dropping deep as he likes to do.

-Herrera in to continue to run the 'stoned' off, McTominay because he deserves it, Pogba for minutes ahead of the weekend and also to be the most advanced of the three.

-In reality, I expect that Jose will play Darmian and Lukaku over Axel and Ibra. Rashford over Martial. He might also give Blind the shout over Shaw or Rojo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,487 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

I wouldn't mind seeing...

...................Romero...................

Axel T...Lindelof.......Rojo......Shaw

....Herrera....Pogba...McTominay....

............Mkhi..........Martial........

....................Ibra....................

-Mkhi roaming, Ibra dropping deep as he likes to do.

-Herrera in to continue to run the 'stoned' off, McTominay because he deserves it, Pogba for minutes ahead of the weekend and also to be the most advanced of the three.

-In reality, I expect that Jose will play Darmian and Lukaku over Axel and Ibra. Rashford over Martial. He might also give Blind the shout over Shaw or Rojo.
    Tuanzebe at CB beside Lindelof imo. Rojo one booking from being suspended.

That makes sense. And then Darmian at RB?

Rojo...

qqhI5DY.gif

That makes sense. And then Darmian at RB?

Rojo...

qqhI5DY.gif

4 bookings in 19 days I think :pac: headcase

• Registered Users Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭ericzeking

Mark Ogden was on Off the Ball AM this morning and he said Miki is particularly out of favour because he stood up to Jose after a video session where his defensive contribution was questioned.

Ogden said Miki is as good as gone in January....make of that what you will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

ericzeking wrote: »
    Mark Ogden was on Off the Ball AM this morning and he said Miki is particularly out of favour because he stood up to Jose after a video session where his defensive contribution was questioned.

Ogden said Miki is as good as gone in January....make of that what you will.

Disapointing if true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

The most likely answer is usually the most obvious. He was playing muck and others are performing much better than him and that's why he's out of flavor. All the same sort of stories were doing the rounds last season when he was out of the side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,498 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Playing muck and then stood up in front of the team and confronted the manager?

The usual suspects will come along and start bleating about how this is yet another man-management failure from Mourinho :rolleyes: but here is a simple fact of life: There isn't a manager on the planet that would put up with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,236 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Should probably steer clear of Dortmund from now on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,999 ✭✭✭paulbok

J. Marston wrote: »
    Should probably steer clear of Dortmund from now on.

Dunno, Reus for CM has always been tempting. ;)

paulbok wrote: »
    Dunno, Reus for CM has always been tempting. ;)

Always room for a good central Midfielder in our team :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

When Bayern buy players from the smaller Bundesliga clubs they turn into World Cup winners, when we do it they can barely win a corner.

Would not shed a tear if he was sold, doesn’t deserve to be at this club on the performances he has put in. Probably a good indication of our attacking strength that he was in the team for so long despite being shít.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,245 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Playing muck and then stood up in front of the team and confronted the manager?

The usual suspects will come along and start bleating about how this is yet another man-management failure from Mourinho :rolleyes: but here is a simple fact of life: There isn't a manager on the planet that would put up with that.

Surely it'll be some remarks about Jose questioning Mkhitaryan defensive qualities? How dare he try to make an attacking player defend etc. etc. etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,409 ✭✭✭xtal191

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,158 ✭✭✭✭hufpc8w3adnk65

Ibra cm?

MrMac84 wrote: »
    Ibra cm?

Or blind cm and 4 at the back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,281 ✭✭✭limnam

Captain ibra..

nice

Pogba at 10, Ibra up front. Martial and Rashford out wide. Blind at LB.

Sky think 3-5-2 Rashers and Martial up top with ibra at 10

523 formation against championship opposition Jose is trolling TheDoc and robson99 :):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,954 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Romero

Lind--Rojo--Blind

Darm---McT---Pogba---Shaw

Rash
    Ibra
    Martial

Look at all the pace running off and behind Ibra

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,049 ✭✭✭Unearthly

That's a grand team. Should get the job done

wasnt particularity pushed about the game but with Ibra up top supported by the 2 young lads you have my attention Jose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,475 ✭✭✭secman

Nice blend of youth and experienced players.
    Going for 3 -0 to us.

Mars Bar wrote: »

Romero

Lind--Rojo--Blind

Darm---McT---Pogba---Shaw

Rash
    Ibra
    Martial

Look at all the pace running off and behind Ibra

This the one.. I expect Ibrahimovic to fall back into the 10 behind rash and tony

This lot won’t be push overs and we haven’t been setting the world on fire lately! Would be thrilled with 2/3 goals but can see extra times and peno’s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭Always Be Closing

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/42404704

"Pull your tongue out of my arsehole, Gary. Dogs do that. You're not a dog, are ya, Gary?"

Ooh, it's looking like Blind is kicking off in midfield anyway

Ugh, I hate the camera angle....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭Noel82

Pogba does that alot when the easy pass is on

Ugh, I hate the camera angle....

Too high

That was close

• Registered Users Posts: 7,054 ✭✭✭wanderer100

Martial looking very sharp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,236 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Ref getting on my nerves already.

Daily Blind is no Matic thats for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,176 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Seriously lacking in centre midfield.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

What is Pogba doing there

That’s another red card tackle

Wake the **** up Romero

Pogba lucky he didn't catch your man there. Studs up . Red card tackle

Has Shaw fallen asleep a couple of times already?

Ibra looks very rusty unsuprisingly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,022 ✭✭✭✭adox

McTominay not had a great half.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

Great tackle by Blind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Nolars

Shocking half