Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United Thread..The Final Chapter of 17? (MOD WARNINGS IN OP)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,054 ✭✭✭wanderer100

Let's go go go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Good man jese one few players who's really stepped up this season.

Least we won't lose today anyways.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

Tylerdurex wrote: »
    Lets face it, we are just ****. I expect Chelsea Spurs and Liverpool to all finish above us

"Lets face it, we are just ****"

Second in table.

tenor.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,195 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Ref give that time waster a red

Pope is an unbelievable time water

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,167 ✭✭✭Notorious

Unearthly wrote: »
    Very poor game. Don't deserve anything

I could be watching a different Utd v Burnley game, but in this game they’re doing quite well. Some of the crosses have been questionable, but the attacking is good. Always hard to score against 11 defenders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

nullzero wrote: »
    Pathetic display. Nicking a draw at home to pile of sh1te side like burnley is a joke.

They have beaten Chelsea and drawn with scouse and spuds.

They are a better team than given credit for.

I agree we should be beating them though.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,369 ✭✭✭Rossi IRL

Shaw has been brilliant

Hard watch but that point will count gods damn it

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,605 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Well fought draw, but we need better than draws.

I felt overall we were by far the better team. We just didn't switch on quick enough, or score enough.

I'm falling deeper in love with Lingard with each game though. He's in incredible form.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

****ing joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,159 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

1 point better than zero.

Jesse has to be the first name on the team sheet now.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,790 ✭✭✭Bret Hart

Terrible performance and awful result. PSG are welcome to Jose. They'd be doing us a great favour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,225 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

adox wrote: »
    You missed a great goal.

Busy watching Aladdin. Glad your grit was rewarded though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,667 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

Adamocovic wrote: »
    "Lets face it, we are just ****"

Second in table.

tenor.gif

Theres only so long we can keep saying "but we're 2nd..."

We're not going to be 2nd for long in the form we're in. We had 2 games we could have made a gap against the rest and got 2 points from 6. It's not good enough.

The performances in the last month or so are extremely worrying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,463 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Pathetic display. Nicking a draw at home to pile of sh1te side like burnley is a joke.

They've lost 5 games so far. Their 10 pts behind United, could have closed to within 7 with a win. It's not a bad result considering United were 2 down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,450 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Chelsea snapping at our heels now, city off in the distance with their feet up and there's people here saying we did well to be peppering an "actually OK" burnley sides goal after capitulating in the first half.

Can't see this United side keeping second place at this rate we're heading back out of the top four.

Fvcking Burnley, at home, Christ.

Glazers Out!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 375 ✭✭Tylerdurex

Was Pogba **** again today?

Bret Hart wrote: »
    Terrible performance and awful result. PSG are welcome to Jose. They'd be doing us a great favour.

Its like some people forget where we are in the table now verses where we've been for the last 4 years....

Fair play to the lads for fighting back.

But shocking defending has cost us again today . First goal was tragic. Couldn't do much about the 2nd but we should never be in that position at home. First half was a joke and cost us the 3 points

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

Lord TSC wrote: »
    Well fought draw, but we need better than draws.

I felt overall we were by far the better team. We just didn't switch on quick enough, or score enough.

I'm falling deeper in love with Lingard with each game though. He's in incredible form.

I feel like most teams that have played Burnley would say that. It's an incredible upturn for them

Bret Hart wrote: »

Oh yeas. Its post game so it must be time for this again. Joys

• Registered Users Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

We're not going to be 2nd for long in the form we're in. We had 2 games we could have made a gap against the rest and got 2 points from 6. It's not good enough.

It's head in the sand stuff. Similar to the "2nd highest goalscorers line".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

Great comeback for United, shame it didn't end in the result we wanted but the team showed huge spirit, minus a bit of quality. Delighted for Jesse.

Btw, Martian Atkinson blowing on 95 mins exactly was a joke. I'd say their goalie netted them 10 mins minimum time wasting, yet it was not reflected in the time. We also saw 45 seconds wasted on 90 mins as Burnley ****housed around when we wanted to take a free, then we scored a goal, which adds to the time as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,418 ✭✭✭secman

Heard it all now.. defending a home draw against the might of Burnley. Pogba strolling around again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

Thought he was really good second half, kept Burnley penned in well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

Very disappointing result. Been a poor week.

All the money spent on the alleged “stars” of the game and its Lingard who drags us out of it. Says a lot about a lot of those big money siginings.

We should be look8ng over our shoulder now with a bit of panic.

Real positive was both full backs played well.

Its like some people forget where we are in the table now verses where we've been for the last 4 years....

Its after every match now. Regardless of result.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭Quandary

Hard hard fought draw. Oncecagain, a disappointing result for us though. 2 points dropped at home to an average team who are having a great season. We really need to able to put these teams comfortably to the sword..

Our delivery into the box is truly shocking considering it seems to be one of our main avenues of attack.

Chelsea only a point behind now . Be surprised if they don't over take us in the next couple of games or so

J. Marston wrote: »
    Busy watching Aladdin. Glad your grit was rewarded though.

*Support

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,450 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

They've lost 5 games so far. Their 10 pts behind United, could have closed to within 7 with a win. It's not a bad result considering United were 2 down.

We're Manchester United.
    We're performing like a bunch of plebs almost every week and have been for quite some time.
    Manager criticizing the players in every post match interview and persisting with counterintuitive tactics (especially against at city side we could have got at had we tried).
    Something is very wrong at the club right now.

Glazers Out!

Burnley defense was impassible at times Shaw young and Mata exceptional Matic and Lukaku hit and miss we got some serious reshuffling to do so much see you all on Saturday for Southampton

• Registered Users Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

Chelsea snapping at our heels now, city off in the distance with their feet up and there's people here saying we did well to be peppering an "actually OK" burnley sides goal after capitulating in the first half.

Can't see this United side keeping second place at this rate we're heading back out of the top four.

Fvcking Burnley, at home, Christ.

There was a time when you were losing 2-0 to Oxford United in the league and it wasn’t that much of a surprise. You’re in a group with Liverpool, Spurs, Chelsea and Arsenal which means you’ll win more than you lose but you can also drop points to anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,383 ✭✭✭S.M.B.

Saddest thing about that game is confirmation that Mhki is pretty much worthless when on the pitch these days. The only meaningful contribution he had today was that he miscontrolled the ball in the box and it inadvertently led to our first goal.

Not sure if we'll even see him in a united shirt again.

S.M.B. wrote: »
    Saddest thing about that game is confirmation that Mhki is pretty much worthless when on the pitch these days. The only meaningful contribution he had today was that he miscontrolled the ball in the box and it inadvertently led to our first goal.

Sure as fuck hope not. Jesse our best #10 Mhiki can go and shíte back to the Bundesliga.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭Minderbinder

Jose should rip into Atkinson in the interview. Pope held onto the ball for 16 seconds at one stage. There was a goal in injury time as well. Yet nothing extra added to what was already a disgracefully short amount of added time.

You see the time wasting every week. Sometimes we are doing it too. But the referees are 100% to blame for why teams do it because it is definitely worth it as these walking dildos in black do nothing to discourage it.

Apart from that it was a poor performance today. No quality at all from wide positions it was like a team of valencias in terms of creative imagination. Young was probably the only one with a bit of quality. I thought Shaw did quite well too. It was nice to see him outmuscling Walters at the end.

Rashford was poor. Lukaku had only one moment of quality.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

The problem is the money spent, most people expected ye to at least compete with City in the league, myself included, as ye are the only team who have competed financially. Hindsight is 20/20 obviously, but City have just spent better too. I think it helps that their DoF is totally in sync with Guardiola's needs, United more scattergun in their approach. The chasing pack have a massive job on their hands next season, as City look to be starting a Fergie era style of dominance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,418 ✭✭✭secman

Man for man we are a better side than Burnley, their manager is getting more out of his squad than the sum of it... we are probably at 65 to 70 %.....

Wasn’t ****e but wasn’t very good.

He’s not the sort of guy I’d be looking to when your backs to the wall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭limnam

S.M.B. wrote: »

The falling over when any player gets into him is infuriating

Then today of all days to stick up for himself. still falls over and gets booked.

We're Manchester United.

This meant something five years back when Fergie was with us.

The sad fact is "We're Man United" for the last 4 years has meant battling for the top four, and failing at times too.

There's issues in the squad, but it's really getting tiring that there's the usual 5 or 6 people who are always ready to pop in when the team draw or lose calling for Jose's head, utterly ignoring all the progress thats been made in the last 12 months. The same posters who, btw, are barely posting when we win games.

We were badly, badly damaged by Moyes and Van Gaal, and jose is very clearly taking us in the right direction. But, it's a process. If you think any manager was going to walk in, or would walk in now, and have us topping the table after the damage done under Van Gaal and Moyes, you are very, very wrong, and very, very ignorant.
    The problem is the money spent, most people expected ye to at least compete with City in the league, myself included, as ye are the only team who have competed financially. Hindsight is 20/20 obviously, but City have just spent better too. I think it helps that their DoF is totally in sync with Guardiola's needs, United more scattergun in their approach. The chasing pack have a massive job on their hands next season, as City look to be starting a Fergie era style of dominance

Unied's issue is less a "scattergun" and more that we've changed philosophies a few times; Van Gaal's players aren't good in jose's system. If Jose retains the backing of the board and continues to replace the players from before he arrived with the same level as he has been, we'll catch up with City. Pep, ultimately, joined with a better foundation in place for him. Jose was presented the ruins of a house, and people are annoyed that the walls are all up but the roof isn't on yet. But we are moving in the right direction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

Training at old trafford yesterday did **** all use anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,114 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Given our resources versus burleys it's a very hard result to stomach.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

I'm as annoyed as anyone that we dropped points last two key games.
    And of course it's been disappointing after the start we got, and we need to cop on and get a good run.

But saying stuff like ""Lets face it, we are just ****" is a huge hyperbole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭limnam

Tyson Fury wrote: »
    Given our resources versus burleys it's a very hard result to stomach.

Why?

They're 2 points behind arsenal ffs.

Again I'm delighted all the expectation levels have gone up again.

Means we're back doing something right.

They beat us in 2009 when they had a hell of a lot less resources than they do now.

Means nothing.

We played well for the most part, they got a bit of luck for the first goal and scored a great free kick.

We were not beaten by a conference side.

I think things are starting to stagnate a bit and the old “character” issue is raising its ugly head again.

I get that people are annoyed that the usuals are frothing at the mouth with glee and chiming in with their prophecies of doom but I do think it’s got to the point where it is getting very concerning.

Also I do think questions should be asked of Jose and the trainers when you see Utd so uncomfortable under the high ball despite having some very tall players. The team are very static in both boxes and that just not right.

Also the team only seem to play with intensity in fits and starts. That’s not good enough. Also quite passive whe we don’t have possession.

Anyway I’m still of the opinion(apart from everything else) that playing Pogba in a midfield two just invites pressure on your back four when you lose the ball, no matter who the opposition are.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

A very poor result and one that's simply not good enough.

Lingard has become one of our most important players. Though Ibrahimovic was pretty ineffective in the first half. Rashford wasn't great, his set pieces and crossing are poor. He stumbled over the ball and lost possession twice in the first too. Matic's passing in the final third is shocking at times. Like in the end of the Leicester game, there were times where he literally passed the ball to Burnley players. Mkhitaryan tried when he came on but I think he also showed why he probably doesn't have a future at the club. Mata was his usual busy self with little actual end product. We badly need a player that can use the ball intelligently in the final third, a real specialist attacker. If Ozil is available in January then we should be welcoming him with open arms.

I don't think we are getting much from Lukaku at all. It's very rare that he actually has the ball at his feet in a dangerous position. He's pretty much just a target man for lumping poor quality long balls and crosses to. He has a very difficult job to do in that United side and we're definitely not getting the best out of him. I'd love to see him get involved more and drag defenders out of position. He must be quite easy for 2 centre halves to mark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,225 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

adox wrote: »
    Wasn’t ****e but wasn’t very good.

He’s not the sort of guy I’d be looking to when your backs to the wall.

I'm guessing he was captain again today so if you can't look to your £100 million attacking, creative captain when you're down, who do you look to exactly?

It's head in the sand stuff. Similar to the "2nd highest goalscorers line".

Ah would you stop.
    Some of the exaggerations that go on in here is pathetic to read at times.

We're far from a perfect side and of course we have to be disappointed with recent results but to think we are just plain **** because of that is absolutely ridiculous, a **** team doesn't find themselves in 2nd place halfway through the season or progress to the knockouts of the CL. You can disregard stats, and facts all you want and then roll out the classic in here "head in the sand stuff".

I'm getting out of here because I truly cannot be arsed with the ridiculous over-analysis that will now ensue from both sides of the debate in here.

Happy holidays you filthy animals.