Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Walking Dead | Season 8 | Episode 8 | How It's Gotta Be [AMC] [SPOILERS]

• 08-12-2017 1:19am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,101 ✭✭✭

:: MID SEASON FINALE ::

The Walking Dead - Season 8

Episode 8 - "How It's Gotta Be"

Airdate - December 10th on AMC at 9/8c | December 11th on FOX UK at 9PM

Every story and battle from the first half of the season comes together.

* This is an extended 88 minute episode (including commercials)
    * The Walking Dead will return for episode 9 in February 2018

Promo

Sneak Peek

How did you rate this episode? 96 votes

0%
    1%
    Keplar240B 1 vote
    4%
    Loughcworker beeJasper79[Deleted User] 4 votes
    18%
    WashoutduridianNUTZZclaivaBlazingSaddlerguaposIang87Zadkielfritzellyriceroebbsydownesykevin2800Rosie RantBret HartMrnewjrkbRamona Flowers 18 votes
    18%
    rtrongeeceeMc Lovegoose06A New earthwillowthewispcharlietheminxxmooreman09Zero-Cooldinky earnshaw8mvCiano35joxer1988AOH77AAmazingfunBrego888ReclinerNoel82 18 votes
    17%
    HippoJimmy BottleheadYakultFreudianSlippersirelandroverShane St.mojesiuslanger91Banjaxed82Monifealchemist33Roger HassenforderForeign SportsSpirit of 67duffysfarmMac Bsabhail 17 votes
    16%
    machiavellianmeCinastorkerTerrorFirmerskipper_GHande hoche!DeWittRichard teabrianregan09[Deleted User]Maravilla33coolisin2Mad2BeMadDavidLyons_Rory28JackTaylorFan 16 votes
    6%
    Macker1Sudden ValleyEncrypted Pigeoncrustyblapatsfan1286Peatys 6 votes
    10%
    Ronan|RavenrayfitzharrisPennterryduff12tcddMrLaureldavo2001Agent CoulsonCiaranWDoyler152 10 votes
    6%
    TinCoolbig sykeDarth MelkormountainOblivoidGwynplaine 6 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,101 ✭✭✭NUTZZ

AMC promises Sunday's "The Walking Dead" mid-season finale will be one viewers will want to tune into live. Why? There's supposed to be some big, shocking moment which will have everyone talking.

Though we believe that means a big character is biting the dust, there are a few other possibilities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,362 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

No, not Ron! How can they kill Ron?(Ron is probably te name of some random background character whose name we should know for some reason)

An extended episode? Means more things to complain about. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 191 ✭✭sabhail

mmm I wonder is Michonne safe... Not sure they'd kill Judith, so then maybe Carl or Michonne...

I've liked last few episodes so looking fwd to Monday..

Think what keeps it watchable is characters.. Maybe cos ur familiar with them from season 1 etc.. But I always think they're believable cos they do stupid things. ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,795 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Wouldn't mind if either Michonne or Corral caught a bullet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,327 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

They need to kill off more than one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

A lot of Rick's group are pretty expendable, maybe they could make way for some new blood for another season or two if they're planning on dragging it out...Rosita and Eugene, Tara (although I actually like her), and I wonder if Gabriel will meet his maker, as the doctor said that his organs were failing in the last episode. I'm sure Gregory will be killed off at some stage.

As for Daryl - who knows. The character is hugely popular with viewers, as (if not more) popular than Rick, and it would be a real risk killing him off. But nobody is safe.

I personally wouldn't like to see Carol or Morgan bite the dust yet, nor Michonne or even Carl (I think that would send Rick into another spiral and do we really need another season of Farmer Rick?). I don't think they'd kill off a pregnant Maggie...or would they??

I'd like to see Aaron and Enid get some proper storylines as opposed to being on the fringes of whatever is happening, and some of the other minor Hilltop/Sanctuary/Alexandria folk step up and get a decent scene or two, and NOT be blatantly wearing a red shirt to get killed off in the next scene.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

I want Negan to strike back and literally wipe out at least half of the Brady Bunch.
    No, not Ron! How can they kill Ron?(Ron is probably te name of some random background character whose name we should know for some reason)

But I'm more afraid of this. I was baffled at the first few episodes, so much emotional weight placed on the fate of characters I hadn't a clue who they even were... or why we were supposed to care. I almost felt like I'd missed a season of the show somewhere along the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,795 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

CastorTroy wrote: »

An extended episode? Means more things to complain about. :)

Now you're giving me flashbacks to season four. RIP Julio.

julio___santiago_cirilo_the_walking_dead_capa_para_by_twdmeuvicio-d71mdgw.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭jonon9

Im confused.com

Jesus was that episode all over the place but wasn't the worst of them, I got a bit of a Twin Peaks feel from some of the acting though. Im gonna let it ferment for a few days before giving my testament :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭empacher

RIP Carl.

Dont understand why maggies convoy surrendered so easy.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭uncleoswald

Ezekiel’s leg sure healed quickly.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,173 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I've really lost most of my enthusiasm for this show in the last few seasons, but I thought after last seasons lacklustre efforts and the drop in ratings and fans complaints that what passes for the writers would at least try and up the quality of pacing, plotting and character, but no. All they did was up the infinite bullets action sequences and close ups and amateur dramatics monologues. The plot holes are too numerous to mention, the character changes ditto. It has become utterly farcical. Game over IMHO.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,173 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

empacher wrote: »
    Dont understand why maggies convoy surrendered so easy.
    Ezekiel’s leg sure healed quickly.
    Well just because... The baddies escape from certain doom, down to their last bullets, zombies overrunning them, covered by snipers(who magically get taken out) just because... The only "explanation" given is Eugene. Because a plot hole that wide and deep just can't be explained away.

And said baddies who were apparently decimated and running away from the magic of Eugene's magical escape plan(while he stays behind just because...) are able within hours to mount a magic counteroffensive magically to take out every one of the goody's clans at multiple locations, including one planned road block, on a road they just knew, magically, when and where their target would be on. Just because.

And as you say, said target gave up without a shot fired, though we did lose an apparently liked red shirt, who's entire input was "damn straight".
    And then she asks for just one favour, the box to bury said red shirt in. Just because.

And the baddies just let one of the Big Three Goodies go without even an escort? One of main the drivers of all their mates being killed and their hideout being destroyed? To let her go back to her hideout with its collection of baddy prisoners and start plotting yet another counterstrike? Just because.
    The goodies road block was a bit daft in places too. We'll ignore the A-Team Endless Bullet supply company, again, but how did the lady baddy get away and why did we have to listen to more exposition from her, in the middle of an A-Team gunfight, rather than just shoot the traitor? Just because.

Then Negan and his gang are able to take out all of the goody's lookouts and surround Alexandria, again within hours of coming back from Eugene's Magical Escape Plan. Just because. And they decide to trash the place for no real good reason. Coral dropping a few pitiful smoke grenades while the place was already burning to fcuk just piled on the farce.
    Why didn't Rick kill Negan with the business end of the bat? Just because. Never mind him running away after a hiding and a flight through a window. Just because.

Rasta mans magical healing leg and his singlehanded saving of all and improvisation of a fireball. Just because.

The Garbage patch kids running away again. And Rick thought they were a good bet? Again? Just because.

The come join us mission to the Lady Camp of course means one of our hero's shoots and wounds their leader lady.

On top of Maggie's gestation period which seems to similar to a mammy elephant's and Rick's baby's accelerated growth. Never mind the close ups. They must have got a new macro lens this year.

The only bit I personally though worked and I liked was Negan and Coral's talk at the gates. Their relationship deserves more exploration, a tale of two fathers vibe, but it looks like that's done now. And not like it wasn't hammered home in pre exposition, when every one else starts mentioning you by name, you're a goner.

Look I have zero issue with suspension of disbelief, its a zombie show for a start :), but Jesus, this has become really really badly written drama. And one that is increasingly pilloried by reviewers and fans alike and is dropping ratings. Who the hell is in charge and why are they not seeing all this? There are clearly decent writers in the wider mix. Fear's last season was head and shoulders, standing on someone else's head and shoulders above in quality than the last(at least) two seasons of the main show.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭duffysfarm

I wont spoil it for anyone who hasn't see it yet, bit for those that have - even though he is not one of my favourite characters there are at least 20 other characters I would have liked seen getting bitten than him!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

I'm the houses that spontaneously combusted in an attempt to make the episode more interesting.

duffysfarm wrote: »
    I wont spoil it for anyone who hasn't see it yet, bit for those that have - even though he is not one of my favourite characters there are at least 20 other characters I would have liked seen getting bitten than him!
    Ditto. It's killed off a shedload of actually interesting storylines that could have been had with the character. Big bloody shock mind you, considering the room full of monkeys with typewriters they have writing and directing this show's story. I'd bet they're just going with this because of trying for shock value and reinforcing the "nobody's safe" stuff.

And/or someone big like Rick is leaving soon enough so they're winnowing out the original gang and pointing to newer characters in the hope of keeping the franchise going. I'd be willing to bet enough of the actors have read the reviews and fans asking WTF and may want to jump the currently sinking ship while the jumping's good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

Really poorly paced episode which was all over the place at the best of times. Really zero reason for it to be extended either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,014 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Why isn't there an option for 0 in the poll? Only right choice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,969 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

To steal a line from another Zombie show please "Mercy" me so I won't watch this sh1te again when it comes back in the New Year.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,499 ✭✭✭Yester

To steal a line from another Zombie show please "Mercy" me so I won't watch this sh1te again when it comes back in the New Year.

Yeah it needs more puppies and kittens. I've stopped complaining about TWD. I'm addicted no matter how bad it gets.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭thegreengoblin

The only conclusion I can draw from this is that the producers finally realised that Chandler Riggs is never going to be even a half decent actor and therefore they let him go. He certainly didn't want to go...

https://www.hollywoodreporter.com/live-feed/walking-dead-is-carl-going-die-chandler-riggs-exit-interview-1066031

I was just utterly confused by so much of that episode. The fact that I was watching shadows move across the screen for so much of it didn't help. I couldn't even make out what was going on for large parts of it. I know that Aaron and Edna (is that her name?) found themselves in some kind of trouble but maybe someone can enlighten me. I saw Carl stumble around and throw a few smokebombs and stuff.

I saw Father Gabriel make a Lazarus-like recovery from his deathbed. Was that him listening in at the fence at Alexandria? Eugene made that face that makes him look like he's badly constipated. And when Rick turns up at the gang's underground lair, was Morgan actually there? Where had he been the whole episode?

I also saw the never-ending supply of Saviours go back to what they do best and set up these roadblocks cos they always know exactly where their enemies are going to be at any one time. And in the dark as well. What a clever bunch. And how many of the fookers are there?! I honestly thought we were down to a mere handful by now.

But seriously, Carl is getting killed off because he got bitten while out on some pointless fumble in the woods with some bloke he had only met five minutes before...who comes up with this stuff?

As I said, I'm confused.

The only conclusion I can draw from this is that the producers finally realised that Chandler Riggs is never going to be even a half decent actor and therefore they let him go. He certainly didn't want to go...

https://www.hollywoodreporter.com/live-feed/walking-dead-is-carl-going-die-chandler-riggs-exit-interview-1066031
    It seems he really didn't. Not surprising given he goes and buys a gaff to be closer to set and gets college all lined up, figuring not unnaturally that his character keeps going in the comics and is one of the pivotal ones going forward(for good plot reasons) so that he was relatively safe for the long term. Then that gets dropped on him. Note how he mentions Andrew Lincoln and how he is "tired" and leaves his family in the UK every shooting season. Which would plug into my notion that killing such a "safe" character is lining up a new TWD crew to keep the show going in case someone like "Rick" or "Dooorl" or Carol" thinks feck this, I've had enough/got a better gig.

Or maybe it's another Glenn not death feint? And Coral will magically recover? After all magic is the order of the day of late. EG last week preacher boy was barely conscious and near death, yet this week(and a matter of hours in the story) is able to get up and walk out of the baddy's place. Now I doubt it as that would be jumping a whole ocean of sharks, but at this stage...

Though I reckon its more likely the show runner with the usual daft lack of imagination they display just did it for empty effect, to try and shore up the falling ratings with a "shock"(which almost never works anyway). Look at the idiocy they pulled with Glenn's not death, then the long drawn out run to his real death and throw in another liked character dying while they're at it. Even after the massive blowback from their fans and critics, pretty much everyone at the time. They either didn't care, or are truly clueless. Sure, it's often best to ignore some fan/critic stuff, but if one person tells you you smell, ignore it, if twenty do, buy soap. And yet, they do it all over again?

It's a pity as I did really like the show, or would always be ready to watch. And it was a better show even with ups and downs in I suppose and very generally pre Terminus days.
    As I said, I'm confused.
    Not as clueless as the show runner and writers methinks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭Noel82

Anyone else notice elements of political correctness creeping into the show?

I rated a 7 probably because I'd rate most of season 8 a 3.

Wibbs wrote: »
    It seems he really didn't. Not surprising given he goes and buys a gaff to be closer to set and gets college all lined up, figuring not unnaturally that his character keeps going in the comics and is one of the pivotal ones going forward(for good plot reasons) so that he was relatively safe for the long term. Then that gets dropped on him. Note how he mentions Andrew Lincoln and how he is "tired" and leaves his family in the UK every shooting season. Which would plug into my notion that killing such a "safe" character is lining up a new TWD crew to keep the show going in case someone like "Rick" or "Dooorl" or Carol" thinks feck this, I've had enough/got a better gig.

Or maybe it's another Glenn not death feint? And Coral will magically recover? After all magic is the order of the day of late. EG last week preacher boy was barely conscious and near death, yet this week(and a matter of hours in the story) is able to get up and walk out of the baddy's place. Now I doubt it as that would be jumping a whole ocean of sharks, but at this stage...

Though I reckon its more likely the show runner with the usual daft lack of imagination they display just did it for empty effect, to try and shore up the falling ratings with a "shock"(which almost never works anyway). Look at the idiocy they pulled with Glenn's not death, then the long drawn out run to his real death and throw in another liked character dying while they're at it. Even after the massive blowback from their fans and critics, pretty much everyone at the time. They either didn't care, or are truly clueless. Sure, it's often best to ignore some fan/critic stuff, but if one person tells you you smell, ignore it, if twenty do, buy soap. And yet, they do it all over again?

It's a pity as I did really like the show, or would always be ready to watch. And it was a better show even with ups and downs in I suppose and very generally pre Terminus days.

Not as clueless as the show runner and writers methinks.

I honestly thought about that and wondered would they, could they. The fact that he's not actually dead yet, they've left it hanging. But I think you're closer to the mark with the cheap shock death angle. It's pretty much all they have left for a ratings boost these days.

There's so much about this show that is weirdly different these days. The wooden and lifeless acting. The flashbacks that are just thrown in there at seemingly random points just for the sake of it. Even the musical cues are different. The whole thing is just off. It's all very strange.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,233 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Noel82 wrote: »
    Anyone else notice elements of political correctness creeping into the show?

I rated a 7 probably because I'd rate most of season 8 a 3.

What way?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭uncleoswald

pjohnson wrote: »
    What way?
    I can only imagine because of the muslim character? It's PC gone MAD!

That episode was grand, or it would have been if it was in a half decent season. But as it is I've been pummeled into not caring about any of these characters anymore so the impact is lost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,843 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Here is what i wrote during last week's episode...

"I'll make a prediction for next week's mid season finale.
    Please read the below in the Clarkson introducing top gear voice.

Rick explains wtf happened to the cilit bang group.
    Daryl looks sad
    Lion king man grows balls
    Negan fights back.
    ****e cliffhanger."

Now with the exception of the first one i think I can safely say i summed up this epsiode quite accurately.
    GOODBYE CARL I WONT MISS YOU!

Noooooooo! Why? Why does this have to happen?
    Why Neil?

Oh and Carl's on his way out as well.

Good job Negan went on a great recruitment drive as soon as they escaped the Sanctuary. I guess they needed the recruit to help reinforce the Sanctuary again in order to make it liveable for everyone they didn't bring.

You would think after seeing Negan bash the skulls of Glenn and Abraham, that Rick would know what end of the bat would do the most damage.

And if Rick goes back to the Garbage people again looking for help, he deserves to die.

Ezekiel showing his ninja skills by moving lots of heavy barrels into position while guys are looking for him.

And the first Saviour prisoner Maggie should've killed is that long haired one who has been causing the most trouble.

Guessing Morgan will save Ezekiel. Are we supposed to know the woman it kept showing in the Kingdom that fought back?

Seems Eugene's plan still involved the plane and the iPod. No idea how it would work for drawing a horde away from fresh meat

bear1 wrote: »
    Here is what i wrote during last week's episode...

"I'll make a prediction for next week's mid season finale.
    Please read the below in the Clarkson introducing top gear voice.

Rick explains wtf happened to the cilit bang group.
    Daryl looks sad
    Lion king man grows balls
    Negan fights back.
    ****e cliffhanger."

Now with the exception of the first one i think I can safely say i summed up this epsiode quite accurately.
    GOODBYE CARL I WONT MISS YOU!

Well you were close with the Cilit Bang group. "Bang" and they were gone

Ha Coral's real dad has lashed out at Scott Gimple. This is getting nasty!

https://www.hollywoodreporter.com/live-feed/walking-dead-stars-father-reacts-show-exit-1066234

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,670 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

is it me or is the episode visually very dark?

Definitely not you. Read my post from earlier. I honestly had a hard time making out a lot of what was going on.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

Old Roll on his heels doing the Omar Little whistle. No comparison. A stupid annoying character. TWD has gone to the dogs, time to be put down.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,670 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Did feel a little twinge of sadness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,134 ✭✭✭dashoonage

8 ****ing seasons building our hate for that little fooker and we are denied seeing him getting ripped to pieces by walkers. **** you walking dead. **** you!!

I cant believe i wasted good whiskey on this episode.

• Registered Users Posts: 503 ✭✭✭terryduff12

Weren't Negans posse nearly overtaken at the Sanctuary by the workers because Negan was gone and all off a sudden he has 50+ men laughable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Because I've relegated it to watching while on my tablet, I missed Carl dying , what happened?

How many chances does rick need to kill negan? Its getting real old. Hes on the ground and youre standing over him with Lucille, don't jab him in the ribs with the butt end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭jrkb

Gwynplaine wrote: »
    Old Roll on his heels doing the Omar Little whistle. No comparison. A stupid annoying character. TWD has gone to the dogs, time to be put down.

What?

jrkb wrote: »
    What?

Sorry im a bit slow tonight I get what you mean now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

Because I've relegated it to watching while on my tablet, I missed Carl dying , what happened?

He got bitten off camera/in another episode.

He isn't actually dead yet and the show is so terrible now that i wouldn't be surprised if they swerved it and he survives somehow.

Ha Coral's real dad has lashed out at Scott Gimple. This is getting nasty!

https://www.hollywoodreporter.com/live-feed/walking-dead-stars-father-reacts-show-exit-1066234
    "Watching Gimple fire my son 2 weeks before his 18th birthday after telling him they wanted him for the next 3 years was disappointing" Going on this, that show runner, as well as being an utterly useless plot driver, is clearly a dick with it. Sure actors are used to "resting between roles", but the character in the comics is and remains a central one and for good reasons, him being the "next generation", so the actor involved would have thought it was OK to relax and enjoy the ride. I mean the kid bought a house in the are of filming just before this, surely the show runner would have known that. Yeah, dick sums him up and his residence in the show runner role has been almost universally panned.

Maybe this Gimp thinks he'll groom a young woman/Rick's daughter for the role*, y'know to tick all the demographics. Or like I said he reckons this "shock" will stop the ratings falling away. I'll bet it won't and I'd further bet the other actors are going to be reading the almost universal reviews panning the series direction and thinking "WTF, I'm next and don't trust the eejit in charge, whatever he tells you".

*after all she's growing with magical super speed, while Maggie will give birth in ten years time. I love how the preacher wants to get the baddy's doctor to Maggie for the birth. At this rate the doc's son or daughter could be in time...

• Registered Users Posts: 503 ✭✭✭terryduff12

The zombie could have false teeth in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,707 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

This whole "artistic" thing is really pissing me off this season - hell it's a zombie show, do we really need slo mo takes of characters heads all the time on top of all the presumptions about what has happened in between each episode

Still not renewed for season 9...hmmm is Amazon vying for it (hope not)

Wait - so did Carol crash the car? Was that Jerry with the gun to his head? How did Rick magically get to Alexandria and Carol magically get to the Kingdom? How did they get away from (I presume) The Saviours after the accident and just leave Jerry there?....

What?

DoozerT6 wrote: »
    Wait - so did Carol crash the car? Was that Jerry with the gun to his head? How did Rick magically get to Alexandria and Carol magically get to the Kingdom? How did they get away from (I presume) The Saviours after the accident and just leave Jerry there?....

What?

They were all in different vehicles.

but.....

but.....

At the beginning of the episode when they were all in the same car they said they were going to split up and use differant vehicles.

Ah. I must have been checking facebook then. But we didn't see how they got Jerry in the first place, did we? Did Maggie take him back to Hilltop or do the Saviours still have him?

#justice4jerry

Ah. I must have been checking facebook then. But we didn't see how they got Jerry in the first place, did we? Did Maggie take him back to Hilltop or do the Saviours still have him?

#justice4jerry

facebook bgrrr I hope the zombies get you next..don't know what happened jerry hope he lives I like his character.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

fritzelly wrote: »
    This whole "artistic" thing is really pissing me off this season - hell it's a zombie show, do we really need slo mo takes of characters heads all the time on top of all the presumptions about what has happened in between each episode

Still not renewed for season 9...hmmm is Amazon vying for it (hope not)

It was like an episode of the Angelus, Jesus wept