Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PUBG on Xbox [preview program]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Fuzzy Logic

Has anyone downloaded and tried the patch yet? I'm interested to see if theres any noticeable benefits.

Just played a round there. No more sluggish strafing from side to side in it. It does feel a lot better because yesterday I played a few rounds after coming from pc and hated it a lot. This has got me playing more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭Stone Deaf 4evr

the plane and island look better anyway, some weird dips at the very end for some reason, but for a 1st patch it looks like a solid start

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,019 ✭✭✭davycc

Jayop wrote: »
    I'm IWTK123

Finally figured out how to add you and Graham as friends! Be warned I have no microphone for the foreseeable future and still haven't managed a single kill yet! S

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭Grahamer666

davycc wrote: »
    Finally figured out how to add you and Graham as friends! Be warned I have no microphone for the foreseeable future and still haven't managed a single kill yet! S

You really need a Mic for this game if you're planning on playing squads or duo's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Yeah big time. You can use a mobile phone headphones for comms, but directional headset is a must have for this type of game anyway as otherwise you have zero idea where people are coming from.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,436 ✭✭✭FAILSAFE 00

Yeah big time. You can use a mobile phone headphones for comms, but directional headset is a must have for this type of game anyway as otherwise you have zero idea where people are coming from.
    For a laugh I tried a mobile phone headset into the Xbox controller using Dolby Atmos. It actually worked perfectly with regard to sound Q's and direction :eek:

Directly into the controller or using the wee thing you plug in with the volume control?

Both. I had one of the old headset adapter things. They both worked. I wouldn't recommend it but just thought that it was interesting.

Ya at a pinch it'll do till you get the turtles sorted.

also had to turn HDR off as the image was too dark. Hopefully they add an option menu as it needs it. Early versions of the test server on PC were too dark too but they have since fixed that.

If you want to use HDR with the game just go to an area that's dark and increase your TVs brightness.

Most games that use HDR have an in-game adjustable brightness slider to help you get just the right brightness level for the HDR to be effective.

Unfortunately this one doesn't yet have a brightness setting so to counter it the TV brightness level needs to be increased.

Mr.S wrote: »
    Picked this up as it was cheap on CDKeys. Turning off game recording DVR and streaming in the settings helps loads with stuttering / lower FPS and I had to crank up all the sensitivity options, but totally playable bar the odd game crash.

Best tips for winning!? My biggest downfall seems to be jumping to a location where everywhere goes to, or spending to long looting and then spend 90% of the map trying to outrun the restricted field and then get popped off by room campers in the last 20.
    There are many things but one I can think of is when you approach a location like buildings look around for signs of looting like open doors. If they are open redirect to some where else. Even when the doors are closed I move next to a window for a peek inside to see if there is still loot inside indicating that it could be safe to enter.

That tends to avoid many of the nasty surprises while looting.

Try to loot off the flight path. So if the flight path is north to south consider far east or west. This will give you time to do a good loot while many players are killed in the meantime.

I saw a fella streaming the other night and if he came across a car or bike in the wild that he didnt need, he'd shoot the tires so no one else could use it.

thats just feckin mean!

I saw a fella streaming the other night and if he came across a car or bike in the wild that he didnt need, he'd shoot the tires so no one else could use it.

thats just feckin mean!

I do that too. Takes them longer to get out of the blue zone that way

• Registered Users Posts: 983 ✭✭✭wexdevil

I always shoot out the tires, didn't realise other people did it too.

I tried it on one occasion but didn't notice the tyres "losing pressure" so wasn't sure how much of my ammo I'd need to waste or could I take it that one shot to each was enough.

Considering only one can win, it's fair game really.

Might try it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,468 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

oh yeah...and if its a bike I shoot out my cars tyres and take the bike instead :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭Dozyart

The buggy has been my most powerful weapon so far :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,519 ✭✭✭ECO_Mental

Dozyart wrote: »
    The buggy has been my most powerful weapon so far :pac::pac::pac:

Yeah cars kill me more than anything at the moment.... last 5 or 6 games about 4 times I've been run over:(

6.1kWp south facing, South of Cork City

• the plane and island look better anyway, some weird dips at the very end for some reason, but for a 1st patch it looks like a solid start

Anything for the X1X?
    That looks a bit better on the One S at least

M!Ck^ wrote: »
    Anything for the X1X?
    That looks a bit better on the One S at least

Its just so hard to gauge whats lag and whats the game engine chugging. we were playing last night and there seemed to a fair old bit of rubberbanding. and Anytime I crossed the threshold of a warehouse it would happen.

i would have to say that i've been lucky when it comes to bugs, other people report lots of problems but for me, by and large its been pretty good.

Its just so hard to gauge whats lag and whats the game engine chugging. we were playing last night and there seemed to a fair old bit of rubberbanding. and Anytime I crossed the threshold of a warehouse it would happen.

I would have to say that I've been lucky when it comes to bugs, other people report lots of problems but for me, by and large its been pretty good.
    We start calling out when we get a bit of lag. For us it seems to be across the board so all of us getting it at the exact same time so I'd say thats possibly a server related issue.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,465 Mod ✭✭✭✭F1ngers

Easy game this, picked up another chicken dinner.

2 kills, last circle, one lad crawled in front of me and last man I saw peek from a bush, so just sprayed in that direction...:p

F1ngers wrote: »
    Easy game this, picked up another chicken dinner.

2 kills, last circle, one lad crawled in front of me and last man I saw peek from a bush, so just sprayed in that direction...:p

#accidentalporno

Raging here. Most annoying game ever. Landed on the big mountain at the north east and was raiding away. Seen where the circle was at the south west and started running. It's a bit stupid that you have no chance of getting back in the circle. Spend ten minutes running the length of the map to die.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,825 ✭✭✭IvoryTower

Raging here. Most annoying game ever. Landed on the big mountain at the north east and was raiding away. Seen where the circle was at the south west and started running. It's a bit stupid that you have no chance of getting back in the circle. Spend ten minutes running the length of the map to die.

Its all in the game yo. Landing on one end of the island and the circle appears far away means you have to get a vehicle quick smart. Looting can wait

My controller didn't have the headphone jack so I am hopefully collect a microphone and headphone combo from my nephews over Xmas... annoying not being able to talk to your own squad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,519 ✭✭✭ECO_Mental

I really want to like this game but the controls are the most awkward almost impossible to figure out in any game I know. Why is it you have to pull the trigger twice to ads? I'm loosing 1v1 all the bloody time cannot for the life of me get a handle of it.

6.1kWp south facing, South of Cork City

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭Stichy

Whats the craic lads, if yer ever looking for an extra squad member throw me an invite gamertag is SEAN1E D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭Stichy

ECO_Mental wrote: »
    I really want to like this game but the controls are the most awkward almost impossible to figure out in any game I know. Why is it you have to pull the trigger twice to ads? I'm loosing 1v1 all the bloody time cannot for the life of me get a handle of it.

I think you just tap the trigger once to ads. I usually only use ads when they are in the distance. Maybe try changing your senstivity as well a youtuber called The Average Sniper has a video up off his settings they are suppose to be better then the default ones I havnt had the chance to try them yet.

ECO_Mental wrote: »

It just clicks after a while. Theres no doubt it feels akward as hell at first. Hold b to reload? Wut?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,468 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

IvoryTower wrote: »
    It just clicks after a while. Theres no doubt it feels akward as hell at first. Hold b to reload? Wut?

That’s because just holding x lets you do the interact action.
    Can you imagine holding x for opening doors, picking up stuff etc?

Also Xbox users love their cars, at the 2nd last circle I counted 5 cars all circling each other out of 10 users.
    On Pc that would be a death sentence for all of them :)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,416 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

Blazer wrote: »

That’s because just talking x lets you do the interact action.

Also Xbox users love their cars, at the 2nd last circle I counted 5 cars all circling each other out of 10 users.

I find it near impossible to hit someone from further than ten feet away, so the chances of hitting someone in a car are infinitesimal.

While it's effective, I just couldn't bring myself to do it, kinda defeats the purpose of the game for me

CatInABox wrote: »
    I find it near impossible to hit someone from further than ten feet away, so the chances of hitting someone in a car are infinitesimal.

While it's effective, I just couldn't bring myself to do it, kinda defeats the purpose of the game for me

the cars dont take that much punishment, its also more about positioning with rocks or trees, but thats not really any help if the circle ends in a wide open field.

http://xboxdvr.com/gamer/Stone%20xb/video/41026956

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,425 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

That’s because just talking x lets you do the interact action.

Yeah it's hilarious how people are driving around in the last few circles where that just doesn't happen on pc, I think it's because it's so much harder to shoot people out of them with a controller.

My last round yesterday involved 8 in the final circle. 5 of those were in cars and buggies. Decided to take out the cars with a DP-28 only to leave myself down to the final 2 with 4 bullets left and trying to take a guy out climbing on a rock. Needless to say it ended with me getting a bullet to the head :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,434 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

Well seeing as it's Hold X then holding B is awkward alright :pac:

emmetkenny wrote: »
    Well seeing as it's Hold X then holding B is awkward alright :pac:

ah yes :D

Stichy wrote: »
    Whats the craic lads, if yer ever looking for an extra squad member throw me an invite gamertag is SEAN1E D

I'll add you next time I turn the machine on, Marinebinkie615 is mine

Completely new to this I got a message saying fatal flaw on the screen and now when I try turn the game on it shows me the gold dacia and church behind but it won't display my character or anything else no matter what buttons I try.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,465 Mod ✭✭✭✭F1ngers

Completely new to this I got a message saying fatal flaw on the screen and now when I try turn the game on it shows me the gold dacia and church behind but it won't display my character or anything else no matter what buttons I try.

Happened to me a few times too, you were killed between the fatal flaw and when you loaded back in.
    Only way I could sort it was to restart console.

Can't see an option to close the game and re-open.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,416 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

Hmm. Quit out of the game fully first: on the main Xbox screen, press menu, then select "Quit". If that doesn't work, try a hard reset of the console: hold down the power button until it turns off, then restart it.

If that doesn't work, uninstall and reinstall the game.

Word is the update didn't install correctly for many people.

https://www.reddit.com/r/PUBGXboxOne/comments/7ladam/update_not_installed/?st=JBGREIX1&sh=f00f257e

Check it out. Mine didn't install correctly. Reinstalling now.

Hmm. Quit out of the game fully first: on the main Xbox screen, press menu, then select "Quit". If that doesn't work, try a hard reset of the console: hold down the power button until it turns off, then restart it.

If that doesn't work, uninstall and reinstall the game.

Thanks cat that worked perfectly fine. Only have the Xbox one a few days and completely in fear and awe of it's complexity lol

Word is the update didn't install correctly for many people.

https://www.reddit.com/r/PUBGXboxOne/comments/7ladam/update_not_installed/?st=JBGREIX1&sh=f00f257e

Check it out. Mine didn't install correctly. Reinstalling now.

Absolute madness. Even the Digital Foundry video there has them unknowingly running two different versions.

Countless people must still be running the old code, all while thinking they're getting the latest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭ibFoxer

Just reinstalled there, went into a game for a peep, icons on screen. Will check it out shortly properly.

Yep, I was the same, weird though. It was like half a patch, had the updated squad screen and map markers but no icons. Re-downloading now.

New patch out, the last one of the year:
    This patch will be live at 1AM PST / 10AM CET / 6PM KST.
    Please restart your Xbox after the patch goes live to get the update.

Optimization
    Continued performance optimizations

In-game
    The tuning range for the general sensitivity option has been expanded
    Weapon recoil reduced across the board (Xbox Only)
    Team UI will now correctly display voice chat status
    Additional Localization updates

Bug
    A variety of crash fixes
    Fixed an issue where casting bar UI remains onscreen when spectating a target who died while using an item from their inventory

Hopefully this one actually takes for everyone this time.

Absolute madness. Even the Digital Foundry video there has them unknowingly running two different versions.

Countless people must still be running the old code, all while thinking they're getting the latest.

Thats got to be a bit of egg on their faces, much and all as I think that their analysis is second to none, the fact that they're so preoccupied with counting pixels that they didn't notice that the different UI between the two versions is a bit of a booboo!

• Registered Users Posts: 299 ✭✭SSr0

Anyone up for a Duo?
    JohnsMamsFace02