Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 5) *Read Mod Note in Post 1*

• Registered Users Posts: 18,151 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Men are far more likely to be a victim of an unprovoked attack, why no free men's class ..

Men are attacked by men. Women are vulnerable to savage attacks by men.
    Pay for classes if you want to go.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,860 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

Men are far more likely to be a victim of an unprovoked attack, why no free men's class ..

Argh jaysiz...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

Two young women raped and burtally murdered within a few days of each other and you're moaning because they're offering 1 hour a week free to women.

Build a bridge.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

How soon do people reckon we'll find out the result, if any, of Conor's talks with Dana this weekend?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,198 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Dear Lord!!! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭Asus X540L

The Nal wrote: »
    Fantastic from Kavanagh.

Not a recognised sport in Ireland. Greyhound racing and coursing are though.

Why do you think Kavanagh made the gesture?

He got front page of the red tops.

With Conor not delivering milk at the moment he needs to be back in the spotlight

• Registered Users Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭Asus X540L

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Dear Lord!!! :rolleyes:

It's true.
    And if a lad gets savagely beaten you'll hear stuff like "why didn't you run" "why didn't you fight back" "what were you doing there at that time of night" "you are probably asking for it"
    Etc

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Asus X540L wrote: »

With Conor not delivering milk at the moment he needs to be back in the spotlight

Or maybe he sees a trend in society and is using his platform to try to change it. I don't think that he took out ads in the red tops to announce this either or has given any interviews about it.
    As far as spotlight searching goes, I think that you are reaching. It's not about him, it's about offering FREE BJJ lessons.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,860 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

Everyone wins so! Great!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,454 ✭✭✭slicus ricus

Cynical at best! Regardless of the true motivation (and you have no way of knowing what his true motivations are unless you can read his mind), it is a positive thing he has done by offering these free classes. End of.
    Asus X540L wrote:
    It's true.
    And if a lad gets savagely beaten you'll hear stuff like "why didn't you run" "why didn't you fight back" "what were you doing there at that time of night" "you are probably asking for it"
    Etc

Do either of you have any statistics to back up this claim? Even if true in terms of likelihood, due to differences in strength, a male with no combat sports training has a much better chance of successfully defending themselves against another male than a female with no combat sports training does against a male. BJJ (as I'm sure you know) is a martial art that teaches defense techniques that can be used by smaller, less strong fighters against much bigger and stronger opponents - Think back to the early UFC days where Royce Gracie was tapping out guys twice his size. Seems like a pretty good form of self defense if you're talking about females defending themselves against male attackers!!

• Registered Users Posts: 39,419 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

It's true.
    Etc
    People say all sorts of things. But I don't see the connection. How is John Kavanagh supposed to stop people saying those stupid things.

People are entitled to their opinions about anyone. But having a problem with free self defense classes for women is really bizarre.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,724 ✭✭✭Inviere

Damned if he does & damned if he doesn't eh? Personally I think it's a great idea, & give credit where it's due. I wonder if the virtue signallers will complicate this for him using the LGBT community...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,464 ✭✭✭Ultimate Seduction

Inviere wrote: »
    Damned if he does & damned if he doesn't eh? Personally I think it's a great idea, & give credit where it's due. I wonder if the virtue signallers will complicate this for him using the LGBT community...

Ya, a gender neutral or fluid gender person partake ha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭JohnMc1

Maybe they can get in if they claim to identify as a Woman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Two young women raped and burtally murdered within a few days of each other and you're moaning because they're offering 1 hour a week free to women.

Build a bridge.
    Some people don't identify by what they stand for, only what they stand against.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

JK also gives free classes to members of the Gardai. This was offered out during the Floyd camp so no free publicity needed then at all so I'd have to believe this gesture comes from a good place

• Registered Users Posts: 3,935 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

That'll be a nice benefit to whoever attends, Jacqueline is rather good.

I tend to agree.

Gyms (incl SBG) regularly offer free beginners sessions, open days, come down for a free consultation etc. I think most people can see these offers for what they are. It's not altruism, it's just trying to attract new clients.

There's nothing wrong with trying to get new clients. Every business does it. It's a bit scummy to piggyback those murders for self-promotion though. I guess self-promotion at all costs is something John has learned from Conor.

It's a bit scummy to piggyback those murders for self-promotion though.

Or, y'know, he actually gives a fuck and is using his position to be able to empower people.

Inviere wrote: »
    Or, y'know, he actually gives a fuck and is using his position to be able to empower people.
    And maybe the fish & chips association want to cure world hunger and that's why they were doing half-price the other day.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

Lads, ye managed to turn something good into a conversation about self promotion and gender politics.

Get a f*cking grip it's miserable to read, it must be a grim existence to see everything through that lens

Lukker- wrote: »
    Lads, ye managed to turn something good into a conversation about self promotion and gender politics.

Get a f*cking grip it's miserable to read, it must be a grim existence to see everything through that lens

What's good about it. Offering women a few free classes in the hope they enjoy it and then pay up for a membership.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,636 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

What's good about it.

Trying to give people who may need help some help. This is embarrassing.

mayordenis wrote: »
    Trying to give people who may need help some help. This is embarrassing.

It's a publicity stunt, a fairly obvious one.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭thebull85

John Kavanagh is a business man, and what he is doing here makes good business sense.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭dulux99

Is John Kavanagh doing a good deed? Yes

Is the notoriously fame hungry and attention seeking John Kavanagh also milking a bit of good PR in this? Yes - and that's fine too

And maybe the fish & chips association want to cure world hunger and that's why they were doing half-price the other day.

Misery, misery, & more misery. Yawn.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

What's good about it. Offering women a few free classes in the hope they enjoy it and then pay up for a membership.

Concorde is very close to being closed to membership. Classes are full daily from 6am onwards

• Registered Users Posts: 1,682 ✭✭✭monty_python

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭Autecher

I think some of the more negative posters have chosen to purposefully ignore the words John used which is unsurprising but depressing nonetheless. Every Saturday morning at 11 there will be a free BJJ self defence class for women, it will be ongoing and open to all women. So a woman could go to 10 of them, 1 of them or none of them. If that upsets you in any way then you should for your own sake analyse why that is, why would you get upset in any way about something like that? Do yourselves a favour and better yourself instead of running everyone else down.