Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 5) *Read Mod Note in Post 1*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,568 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

walshb wrote: »
    Quality rebuttal.

Good job.
    You are hardly offering intelligent insight yourself. :rolleyes:
    Wailin wrote: »
    Can any of you just accept that maybe mcgregor is not actually that good? Yes, he can pick off opponents rushing in in the early rounds. But when it descends into the nitty gritty stuff, he's just not that good. He wouldn't stand a chance against someone like ferguson, or even pettis imo. No engine and he just burns out after 2 rounds. Maybe he should drop back to the little guys in 145 where he had success. 155 is a step too far for him.
    How is being outgrappled by the best grappler in MMA, sudden equal to being exposed as not very good.
    The only thing last night exposed was the people who haven't a clue what they are watching. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,193 ✭✭✭Eircom_Sucks

Lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,261 ✭✭✭threeball

Lol

That piss will flop as bad as the man himself last night. Doubt he has much invested in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

229 tells us less about Conor, certainly nothing that we didn't already know, and more about just how insanely good Khabib is.

Exactly and people won't hear of it today but if anything McGregor's ground game last night was better than most people thought it was. Khabib is an animal on the ground and yet he took until the 4th to finish McGregor off. If he was mauled, smashed and destroyed (as many would have us believe today) then the fight would have been stopped but it wasn't as McGregor's defense from Khabib's GnP was excellent.

People saying he has been found out haven't a clue.

Likewise Khabib was very impressive on his feet and better than most gave him credit for. Much like the first Diaz fight McGregor stood and brawled when he should really have been more economical with his energy and waited for Khabib to come forward, which is what JK was saying between rounds, among other things.

People should remember that despite loading up on his shots in that first Diaz fight, McGregor never put Diaz down. In the second fight he put him down multiple times. As he said at the time, he made mistakes in that first fight and felt he could get that win back if he addressed them. Well, I see no difference here and hope he gets a chance to prove the doubters wrong once more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,127 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

threeball wrote: »
    That piss will flop as bad as the man himself last night. Doubt he has much invested in it.

in and out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭JoeyJJ

Its a funny world. I was going to ufc229 well before Mcgregor was annoinced. It was bitter sweet when he was annoinced tickets more expensive and less chance of getting one, which i did.

Fast forward to trip here. So many embarressing Irish people what ever reputation we think we have its false majority of irish people i encountered here were rude, hammered etc. The rest was decent craic and only wanted to enjoy themselves.

I was there for every fight last night a decent card. After Mcgregor fight my wife wanted to get out and get back to hotel so missed alot of whatever happened. There was a video of irish surrounding Russians behind section 101 at the bars i seen some of those people over the last few days. Pure scum.

McGregor didnt do anything wrong last night Khabib lost the head and I hope nac go hard on him.

Now on social you loads congratulating on his demise. Really shows how we have fallen as a nation.

Also during fights last night there -

During other fights talking really loud about man united during bouts after coming in late and celebrating kicking people out of seats trying to get reaction from them

Called khabib a homosexual for wrestling

No understanding of mma terminology etc shouting random wrong terms

I am pissed at a few things however wont ruin my holiday timr for a few drinks and hit a show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,694 ✭✭✭Feisar

JJayoo wrote: »
    https://youtu.be/rZhduV6cRZ8

Don't feck with the Russians

You'll do feckin' nutin

First they came for the socialists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭evolving tipperary

Asus X540L wrote: »
    That was 20 year old Max, and let's be fair Alvarez is a bruiser who was tailor made for Conor. Conor doesn't beat any of the other top lightweights.
    The win against prime Aldo was good, but it was more Conor mind games than anything else.

Nonsense.

He beat Max on one leg.

Alvarez wasn't 'tailor made'... - jesus wept.

More mind games than anything hahahha o h lord

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

I did hear a little rumour about 4 weeks ago of alot of staf infection around the sbg gym.

Possibly the reason, possibly just a rumour.....

Not started by me I might add. Just something I heard from a guy that trains there.

McGregor vs Diaz I thread is way down the list, I think that’s the one you’re after.

Nobody collected this offer downtown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭JJayoo

JoeyJJ wrote: »

That's a fine carpet they have

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭spix

the only thing I can think of is him asking khabib why he didn't drink and called him a backwards cnut

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭thebull85

spix wrote: »
    the only thing I can think of is him asking khabib why he didn't drink and called him a backwards cnut

The truth hurts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

thebull85 wrote: »
    The truth hurts.

Somebody who doesn't drink is a backwards cnut?

Looks like McGregor needs to lay off the drink for awhile before he fights again.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Looking at McGregors footwork yesterday morning compared with previous fights, I thought he was quite flat footed and predictable.

What won the fight for Khabib was the punch he landed at the start of the second round (then the subsequent grapple etc.). McGregor never fully recovered from that.

Thought McGregor was poor and Khabib was his normal self, a master technician. I wouldn't rule out McGregor winning a potential rematch if it were to happen. Very unlikely I'd say.

• Registered Users Posts: 37 strettyend

Leaving the events of the fight aside khabib held him selve very well leading up to the fight and the press conference. I watched the full conference and mcgregor came across as a complete knacker and scumbag. His foul language was disgusting, drinking whiskey , insulting khabib , his family, his dad and his religion. He certainly doesnt represent me as an irish person. Personally i think he is a foul mouted lowlife who is a total egomaniac who has no regard for the law or otherwise and i for one was delighted to see khabib beat him senseless the other night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,452 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

Looks like McGregor needs to lay off the drink for awhile before he fights again.

He was taunting him with the drink as he knows that in Islam alcohol is generally forbidden.

Like you say if Conor laid off the drink, other substances and spent less time being a d*ckhead celebrity he may have had more discipline and cardio to have a chance in the fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

He was taunting him with the drink as he knows that in Islam alcohol is generally forbidden.

Like you say if Conor laid off the drink, other substances and spent less time being a d*ckhead celebrity he may have had more discipline and cardio to have a chance in the fight.

I was referring to the poster posting " The Truth Hurts" in relation to the not drinking thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

McGregor isn't a great fighter now? Lads would ye stop. Khabib is the only fighter I see that could beat him at lightweight. Ferguson maybe could beat him if he can take the beating he would receive for a few rounds. Ferguson is tailor made for Conor imo, USADA Pettis had him on skates for FFS.

Khabib fought the perfect fight, take him down early and take his energy for striking away, now everyone is convinced he can't strike or was overated, madness.

Conors cardio definitely improved from previous fights as it did not fall off a cliff like against Diaz twice and Mayweather. It was a more normal looking decline. Yes he was badly slowed after the first but thats exactly what happens everybody when you grapple with a monster like Khabib for 5 minutes, totally to be expected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 704 ✭✭✭jodaw

Maybe McGregor would not have to worry too much about doing his FAST regime in the future, since i cannot see how he can headline a PPV without a title on the line. So it could be back to three rounds.

Maybe he should also practice what he preaches and give a guy a rematch. Aldo should get his rematch at 145 or 155, and now that there is no belt on the line, it should be an easy match to make.

One thing for certain is Aldo is much more deserving of a rematch against McGregor than McGregor is with Khabib. Also, Aldo smashes the McGregor in the cage at the weekend.

McGregor in a way had his brand restored after the Alvarez destruction and a good showing against floyd. He did not stick to the slogan. "Get in, Get rich and Get out".

If anything the cash he got last night does not make up for the damage to his brand.

darced wrote: »

Conors cardio definitely improved from previous fights as it did not fall off a cliff like against Diaz twice and Mayweather. It was a more normal looking decline. Yes he was badly slowed after the first but thats exactly what happens everybody when you grapple with a monster like Khabib for 5 minutes, totally to be expected.

To me, his cardio and lack of fitness was the thing that was most obvious in the fight. From the opening bell he looked flat flooted, slow and lethargic.

I think McGregor is just genetically a cardio non-responder. I would question that Dr. fella aswell

• Registered Users Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

We have passed peak McGregor. Alvarez was when it peaked.

Now he's just looking for the money. He's clearly not as hungry for it. More worried about his whisky than anything. Surprised he took a 6 fight deal.

No way does he deserve a rematch with Khabib. It was boy v man in there.

The pre fight ritual is boring now. McGregor is just gonna use any from now to market his whisky.

He could have stuck with the "I'm doing this for money" persona like Mayweather. But no, he had to keep with the "I'm gonna insult everyone" persona.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,534 ✭✭✭RocketRaccoon

I'd say that was more of a shot at his religion being backwards rather than him being backwards just for not drinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,568 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

darced wrote: »
    McGregor isn't a great fighter now?

He was out grappled by the best grappler in MMA.
    So he's basically a novice. The choke wasn't even under his chin. Found out.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Mellor wrote: »

Look at how McGregors head moves when the crank is released and tell me there wasn't a huge amount of pressure behind it.
    He actually protected his neck well enough there.

But yes, he was out grappled, nobody is going to beat Khabib at that.
    and he underestimated Khabib on the feet and how he can absorb shots.

It is funny how things from the past can come back to haunt you

anyone remember "losers concentrate on winners, winners concentrate on winning"

This epitomizes the Khabib match. Also every time he slaps someones hand/arm at weigh-in he loses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,935 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

Mellor wrote: »
    Sure it wasn't even a choke, why did he tap, pussy.

Etc

This place needs a sarcasm font :)