Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 5) *Read Mod Note in Post 1*

• Registered Users Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Maybe. I'm not trying to insult the fella. Some people seem to be taking it personally and jumping to his defense. I don't follow MMA. All I know is that he fought in Dublin before. I had to google and it was in 2014 in the O2/Point. Capacity 9500.

And that was before he was the superstar he is now.

That's fine and to be expected. I'd expect you to go to a show he was on in Ireland. And I'd expect there to be plenty more like you. I just wouldn't expect there to be 80,000 of you

I dunno if there'd be 80,000 Irish at it, but plenty travel for rugby, soccer, hell even darts.

Fair enough. How much would you pay though? Say it was a non-big-name opponent? Would you pay 500 to attend? 200? 100? 50?

The "yungfellas" who were denied boarding at Dublin Airport would be able to attend at least :pac:

I dunno, it'd have to be competitive, so Joe Punchbag as an opponent at 500 bills would be an ask. But someone like Max Holloway? 100 bills would be about my limit.

FYI, I'm not standing by those lads that got stopped, **** them, but there's plenty of us law abiding folk that would go. And the dodgy ones as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭evolving tipperary

Gintonious wrote: »
    Sweet Christ, listen to yourself!

How can you listen to text?

What about it?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭dulux99

To be honest I reckon a McGregor fight in Croker would probably be a disaster. You'd get all sorts of clowns turning up. A tiny, tiny amount of idiots managed to ruin the reputation of the Irish in Vegas last weekend so imagine how it'd turn out if every Tom dick and Harry would be able to go.

Sweet Christ, listen to yourself!

You would get people from Europe going to a croke Park fight. I met Dutch, Italian and French people in Vegas at the weekend especially for Mcgregor. Why wouldn't they travel to Dublin. I have travelled myself to events in Europe. What's so crazy about the thought of Europeans coming to Dublin for a fight? Confusing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭evolving tipperary

dulux99 wrote: »
    You would get people from Europe going to a croke Park fight. I met Dutch, Italian and French people in Vegas at the weekend especially for Mcgregor. Why wouldn't they travel to Dublin. I have travelled myself to events in Europe. What's so crazy about the thought of Europeans coming to Dublin for a fight? Confusing

The amount of Eastern Europeans alone that would come would be insane!

• Registered Users Posts: 318 ✭✭hewhoscares

I know he's just lost and his personality splits many but you cannot deny his stardom.

Conor takes a fight against Joe Duffy say and it sells out Croke Park or Wembley. The vast majority are buying for the A side of the fight and the opponent won't matter as much to them.

Tickets would be priced similar to Anthony Joshua fights I'd imagine.

Its very unlikely as the the gate would be better in Vegas/NY and the PPV would be affected due to less media and time difference but to he would sell it out easily. With people in the UK travelling to Croke as well and vice versa if it ever did happen.

Guess ìf Conor wanted it he'd have to eat the loss of revenue himself but thats up to him.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,431 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Why did they not have the event last weekend in a bigger venue?

It is a genuine question. Are there no bigger venues where it was? I looked and didn't seem to find any. But if people will come from all over Europe to Croke Park surely people in the US would have traveled to a different city with a bigger venue?

Mayweather/Pacquiao took place in a simlar sized venue. Maybe they can't get licenses in bigger venues for these type of events or maybe they don't work too well there. Does anyone know?

Has there ever been a UFC event in a large stadium? It would also be worth taking into account that Croke Park would have a significantly bigger pitch than most stadia. Maybe the soccer pitches with the running tracks might be bigger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

Why did they not have the event last weekend in a bigger venue?

It is a genuine question. Are there no bigger venues where it was? I looked and didn't seem to find any. But if people will come from all over Europe to Croke Park surely people in the US would have traveled to a different city with a bigger venue?

Mayweather/Pacquiao took place in a simlar sized venue. Maybe they can't get licenses in bigger venues for these type of events or maybe they don't work too well there. Does anyone know?

Has there ever been a UFC event in a large stadium? It would also be worth taking into account that Croke Park would have a significantly bigger pitch than most stadia. Maybe the soccer pitches with the running tracks might be bigger.

Mayweather vs Pacquaio was in the MGM garden arena. The t-mobile didn't exist at that time. The T-mobile is a much bigger stadium, its the biggest in las vegas.

Big events are held mostly in Vegas due to the UFC being based their, the logistics of a big fight week like this are relatively easy as big fights have been held there for so long. Vegas also seems to be the place where they can consistently charge huge prices, not sure the exact reason for that. Maybe they're able to rope in lots of Americans who will make a weekend of it.

Ah 80k seater would be the biggest attendance for the UFC, The record is 55k. But Anthony Joshua fights in Wembley stadium every few months. 95k+

Also can I just note I don't think a croke Park fight will ever happen.

Joshua boxed in Wembly a few times. But the tickets were priced from 40 pound upwards. Which goes back to the original point I made - "Unless the tickets were cheap enough".

There would be plenty of people who wouldn't go to a UFC event in the near future after the scenes that were seen at the last one. Of course, that will diminish over time. It wouldn't put off the "real fans" of the sport but it would have some effect on the casual people going along to see what it's all about

anyway, it's all hypothetical for now :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,464 ✭✭✭Ultimate Seduction

Anthony Joshua regularly sells out 90k Wembley stadium even against some Bulgarian binmen. McGregor much bigger star than him. He'd sell out croker in seconds a few times s year.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,500 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

Because the UFC is really well tied in with its big events going to big fight cities, like Vegas and NY now.

You meeting people from wherever isn't really a gauge of hosting a large scale event outside of Vegas. Regardless of McGregors nationality, Ireland/Dublin isn't a fight city, Dublin haven't hosted an event like that.

Also factor in that McGregor isn't even a champion now, and an event like that would have to have something on the line in order for it to be even considered. If UFC are going anywhere outside America for a massive card/event, I would hazard a guess it's Russia.

Because the UFC is really well tied in with its big events going to big fight cities, like Vegas and NY now.

You meeting people from wherever isn't really a gauge of hosting a large scale event outside of Vegas. Regardless of McGregors nationality, Ireland/Dublin isn't a fight city, Dublin haven't hosted an event like that.

Also factor in that McGregor isn't even a champion now, and an event like that would have to have something on the line in order for it to be even considered. If UFC are going anywhere outside America for a massive card/event, I would hazard a guess it's Russia.

I don't think he'll fight in Ireland or even anywhere outside the US, but if he did there's no doubt he'd sell it out against anyone title or not.

Anthony Joshua regularly sells out 90k Wembley stadium even against some Bulgarian binmen. McGregor much bigger star than him. He'd sell out croker in seconds a few times s year.

Ah he's not really now is he?

McGregor well known by MMA people. Well known by Irish people. Gets decent coverage in US, partly by playing off the Irish card. Was given massive exposure by boxing one of the biggest names in boxing.

I wouldn't rank him as a bigger star than an Olympic gold medalist and holder of multiple heavyweight belts. I get the impression that Joshua is a well respected and liked figure in UK sport.

He might sell it out with cheap tickets on a one off event.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭Fromvert

I'd assume in Vegas a lot of those high priced tickets are bought by the casinos and comped out.

I don't think he'll fight in Ireland or even anywhere outside the US, but if he did there's no doubt he'd sell it out against anyone title or not.

Surely that would depend on his opponent though, no? If he was just set up to fight a nobody, it would be a hard sell.

But I agree with your first point, Vegas is the fight town for UFC, maybe NY but I doubt he will fight there again after his incident.

McGregor well known by MMA people. Well known by Irish people. Gets decent coverage in US, partly by playing off the Irish card. Was given massive exposure by boxing one of the biggest names in boxing.

I feel you're living up to your username at this point.

Anthony Joshua instagram followers - 7.8m
    Conor McGregor instagram followers - 28m

Conor takes a fight against Joe Duffy say and it sells out Croke Park or Wembley. The vast majority are buying for the A side of the fight and the opponent won't matter as much to them.

I'd pay to see McGregor vs Joe Duffy

How does it make yaaaaaaaa feeeelllllll.

The Liveline one, not the boxer/mma fella

I wouldn't rank him as a bigger star than an Olympic gold medalist and holder of multiple heavyweight belts. I get the impression that Joshua is a well respected and liked figure in UK sport.

He might sell it out with cheap tickets on a one off event.

Yes he is, without a doubt a much bigger star, more famous than AJ. You can go buy PPV buys, TV an media coverage. McGregor has 5 times more followers on social media. AJ might be more respected because of his personality but that isn't what we are talking about is it. You really don't realise how popular McGregor is outside of Ireland.

I feel you're living up to your username at this point.

Anthony Joshua instagram followers - 7.8m
    Conor McGregor instagram followers - 28m

Right, whatever. That's your opinion.

Katie Taylor only has 118k followers. She's a comparative nobody I suppose

Yes. She is a comparative nobody. Not even in the same galaxy in terms of stardom.

The fact that McGregor has so many more social media followers is not an opinion either. It's a literal fact.

Yes. She is a comparative nobody. Not even in the same galaxy in terms of stardom.

The fact that McGregor has so many more social media followers is not an option either. It's a literal fact.

It's your opinion that having more instagram followers makes him bigger star

Joshua is hugely popular in England though, and England is more of a boxing country as well. Joshua selling out Wembley is fairly relative when you consider the population of London and England in general.

UFC has always found it hard to get traction in England, even with Bisping and now Till its still not as popular as boxing over there.

It's your opinion that having more instagram followers makes him bigger star

No its not. Social media numbers measure stardom in this day and age.

I'd pay to see McGregor vs Joe Duffy

How does it make yaaaaaaaa feeeelllllll.

The Liveline one, not the boxer/mma fella

Duffy by submission by condescension..

• Registered Users Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭Too Tough To Die

Yes!

No its not. Social media numbers measure stardom in this day and age.

Poor oul' Garth Brooks appears to only have 1 million followers. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭Fromvert

All anecdotal but I live in Canada, no one in my day to day life has ever mentioned Anthony Joshua, his fights are never advertised in bars or on TV (it's on DAZN and time zone not great), I rarely see him on Sports Centre and if he is it's a lightning fast clip shown once or twice. Close to zero media coverage.

McGregor on the other hand, all my friends with no interest in MMA wanting to watch it, everyone in work chatting about him at lunch in the days leading up to it, no interest in the other fights, just McGregor. Bars packed and erupting when he wins, my old lady barber tried talking to me about him, I was walking through a furniture store on Sunday and their were middle aged women talking about it! Seriously a couple of 50+ year old chatting away about falling asleep and missing the fight only to wake up to the fight after the fight. He's hugely popular and they eat up all his hype. Rarely a bad word said about him, they all love what he brings.

Poor oul' Garth Brooks appears to only have 1 million followers. :pac:

Because all of his fans are pensioners. We're talking about current world stardom. You're delusional mate.

Grand. Well I'll be proven wrong when he has his big show in Croke Park.