Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Drivers in the overtaking lane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,156 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Xcellor wrote: »
    I expect this has already been covered but if I'm traveling the speed limit in the left lane and some muppet is in the overtaking lane traveling under the speed limit what then? At some point I am going to undertake.

Legally you are supposed to pull into the overtaking lane and wait for them to wake up to get past. Or to annoy them and since it's illegal to pass on the left you catch up and pace them in the driving lane, which is most dangerous as they since they don't have mirrors they'll just swing across your lane a few meters before the junction they want to exit.

Or else do what most sensible drivers do and continue on past them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

bear1 wrote: »
    Ok I'm convinced...
    It's my own opinion, I've driven there so many times that i believe they are well disciplined with how the motorway is supposed to be used.
    No one is saying this is simply an Irish thing, you see it a lot in Italy and Poland for example.

Ok, I am convinced... :rolleyes:

Your opinion is wrong. Motorway discipline in Germany is no better than Ireland. The driving in General is actually worse if you want to look at it statistically. You're driving with rose tinted glasses on if you think it's somehow better, based on the couple of times you were driving in Germany. Well i'm driving in Germany all the time and can tell you now that you haven't a clue what you're talking about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,888 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Ok, I am convinced... :rolleyes:

Your opinion is wrong. Motorway discipline in Germany is no better than Ireland. The driving in General is actually worse if you want to look at it statistically. You're driving with rose tinted glasses on if you think it's somehow better, based on the couple of times you were driving in Germany. Well i'm driving in Germany all the time and can tell you now that you haven't a clue what you're talking about.

Don't care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭Arbie

It would be interesting to hear what makes speeders tick. I like driving but I don't have any interest in speed. I go right to the limit and move to the leftmost lane as soon as possible, so others can do what they want.

I do often wonder what the craic is with drivers who are so keen to overtake at 10-20kph over the limit. I mean those instances where someone is going below the limit in the middle lane, I go to overtake at 120 and instantly there is someone up behind me flashing as if I am crawling along. Then a few seconds later when I pull left they are tootling by at maximum 140. Is that not a bit odd?

Say your journey is 100km distance and you do 140kph instead of 120kph, you would save 7 minutes, best case scenario. And most journeys are shorter so you get even less of a benefit.

Is it worth risking penalty points to save a few minutes? Or do people not get caught for penalty points on motorways?

If it's because you love to speed, or if you have a fancy car and want to enjoy it, surely you would max it out and go way faster than 140?

Genuinely interested to hear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Brian Scan

thelad95 wrote: »
    No point momentarily blinding or startling someone, just get up their hole and if necessary undertake.
    thelad95 wrote: »
    let idiots be idiots.

Yeah.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭rosmoke

I rarely had this problem, before I go on the overtaking lane I tend to assess if I'm incommodating any other traffic participants, be it garda car, ambulance, or just a regular driver.
    Noticed here, drivers don't really see ambulances coming from behind at all, only when it's right behind them and I find it disappointing and dangerous for people in need of medical assistance.

Arbie wrote: »
    It would be interesting to hear what makes speeders tick. I like driving but I don't have any interest in speed. I go right to the limit and move to the leftmost lane as soon as possible, so others can do what they want.

I do often wonder what the craic is with drivers who are so keen to overtake at 10-20kph over the limit. I mean those instances where someone is going below the limit in the middle lane, I go to overtake at 120 and instantly there is someone up behind me flashing as if I am crawling along. Then a few seconds later when I pull left they are tootling by at maximum 140. Is that not a bit odd?

Say your journey is 100km distance and you do 140kph instead of 120kph, you would save 7 minutes, best case scenario. And most journeys are shorter so you get even less of a benefit.

Is it worth risking penalty points to save a few minutes? Or do people not get caught for penalty points on motorways?

If it's because you love to speed, or if you have a fancy car and want to enjoy it, surely you would max it out and go way faster than 140?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,795 ✭✭✭Isambard

first , are you sure you are actually doing the speed limit? 120 on your speedo might actually be 110 or so, as we've often said on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 845 ✭✭✭blackvalley

Isn’t it strange that only really good drivers post on forums such as this? Full of comments about what “ other drivers “ do on the roads and how “ people “ need to learn the rules of the road.
    Come to think of it after forty years of driving I have never had a conversation with a bad driver. My friends, work colleagues, family regularly complain about the “other “drivers doing dangerous and stupid things but they themselves have never made a mistake.
    Leads me to wonder who the heck all the bad drivers out there are. Maybe I am just lucky that ALL MY acquaintances are really good drivers.::D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,562 ✭✭✭TheChizler

Isambard wrote: »
    first , are you sure you are actually doing the speed limit? 120 on your speedo might actually be 110 or so, as we've often said on here.
    And quite often it's bang on. Much safer to stick with that assumption without first checking otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭homik

A lot of lane hoggers are oblivious to what is going on behind and around them. I see so many cars being driven with especially rear but also side windows fully steamed up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭rosmoke

Not mentioning about those driving in complete dark with their lights off, others with only fog lights on ..

homik wrote: »
    A lot of lane hoggers are oblivious to what is going on behind and around them. I see so many cars being driven with especially rear but also side windows fully steamed up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Aonrud

We need more traffic cops on our highway's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

Zulu wrote: »
    "Ramming speed"

Coming Fcukin' Thru.. Outta da Way..

5-post-bull-bar-2.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 429 ✭✭JimmyMcGill

homik wrote: »

Fake taxi springs to mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭Arbie

I just go by the speedometer - how do I test that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭i57dwun4yb1pt8

download DIGIHUD to an android phone , stick it on your dash and find a long straight motorway , no bends for a few k with data and location set ON

watch your speedo compared to the phone

in my car

speedo HUD

53 50
    64 60
    84 80
    104 100
    126 120
    130 125

this also corresponds with those red speedo meters you see on some villages o towns

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

DaDumTish wrote: »
    download DIGIHUD to an android phone , stick it on your dash and find a long straight motorway , no bends for a few k with data and location set ON

watch your speedo compared to the phone

in my car

speedo HUD

53 50
    64 60
    84 80
    104 100
    126 120
    130 125

this also corresponds with those red speedo meters you see on some villages o towns

...and if you get nicked speeding sure just blame the phone.

Satnav GPS will be more accurate than a speedo. The reading on the speedo will vary in any case due to tyre wear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

Isn’t it strange that only really good drivers post on forums ...

Come to think of it after forty years of driving I have never had a conversation with a bad driver...
    I'm a terrible driver. And I'm happy to have a chat with you :)
    It would be interesting to hear what makes speeders tick
    As a "speeder" it's not that I want to break the law, it's just that I always want to get where I'm going as quickly as possible. The travelling is something I need to do to get where I'm going, so I'll minimise it where possible.

When I walk, I walk as fast as possible. I hate walking behind people, and often find myself walking faster than comfortable simply not to be behind someone. It's the same when driving. If it wasn't "reckless endangerment" i'd simply floor it everytime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Yes, except in very limited circumstances listed in the legislation, being behind an idiot is not one of them. I think there was a whole thread on this before but here goes

S.I. No. 182/1997: ROAD TRAFFIC (TRAFFIC AND PARKING) REGULATIONS, 1997

(5) A driver may only overtake on the left—

( a ) where the driver of the vehicle about to be overtaken has signalled an intention to turn to the right and the driver of the overtaking vehicle intends, after overtaking, to go straight ahead or to turn to the left,

( b ) where the driver of the overtaking vehicle intends, after overtaking, to turn left at the next road junction and has signalled this intention,

( c ) in slow moving traffic, when vehicles in the traffic lane on the driver's right are moving more slowly than the overtaking vehicle.

Have read this a few times, unfortunately none seem to cover some noob, doing 20kph under the limit in the overtaking lane, on a empty stretch of DC or motorway.

One scary encounter, came up behind such a driver, indicator right did not encourage them, briefest flash of lights did not encourage them, unfortunately the driver behind me did not have the same patience, and proceed to undertake both of us. I spotted him, the hogger didn't and moved over to the driving lane, as undertaker was nearly level.

there lies the reason you shouldn't "under"take..... I think the wording in the RT regulations should be tweaked to spike the guns of all those who quote it to justify passing on the left where a car is doing 99 or 119 km/h

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

there lies the reason you shouldn't "under"take..... I think the wording in the RT regulations should be tweaked to spike the guns of all those who quote it to justify passing on the left where a car is doing 99 or 119 km/h

Doesn't matter what speed the person is doing, if there is room to pass them on the left then they are in the wrong lane.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭doolox

I have seen unmarked garda cars on the M50 at 6pm pulling over slow cars in the rightmost lane going slower than the cars in the middle lane.

Although rare it has happened on more than one occasion. Also pulling over aggressive lane changers, tailgaters and some obviously aggressive undertakers. I have seen at least 4 different 2 liter midrange type saloon cars suddenly putting on the blue lights and pulling over people for acting the maggot on the motorway.

Sometimes the driver gets lucky and pulls over into the empty left lane after the first blue warning flash and the garda car speeds off, probably on its way to an incident with bigger fish to fry but at other times the offender get pulled over for a chat.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,090 ✭✭✭Vic_08

doolox wrote: »
    I have seen unmarked garda cars on the M50 at 6pm pulling over slow cars in the rightmost lane going slower than the cars in the middle lane.

Although rare it has happened on more than one occasion. Also pulling over aggressive lane changers, tailgaters and some obviously aggressive undertakers. I have seen at least 4 different 2 liter midrange type saloon cars suddenly putting on the blue lights and pulling over people for acting the maggot on the motorway.

Sometimes the driver gets lucky and pulls over into the empty left lane after the first blue warning flash and the garda car speeds off, probably on its way to an incident with bigger fish to fry but at other times the offender get pulled over for a chat.......

If there were a dozen of them going up and down the M50 every day ticketing lane hoggers the word would quickly get around and we'd see less of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,033 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Doesn't matter what speed the person is doing, if there is room to pass them on the left then they are in the wrong lane.

I dunno about that, if I'm trundling along in my van in the slow lane and get close to a tractor/lorry ahead of me, I'll signal and go to the fast lane, there will be room for a car to whip around and undertake me and maybe pull in front, (maybe not), but I try to make my manoeuvres in plenty of time.. And 😠to the dicks in the "overtaking lane" who speed up as soon as i put my indicators on..

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,004 ✭✭✭McCrack

Markcheese wrote: »
    I dunno about that, if I'm trundling along in my van in the slow lane and get close to a tractor/lorry ahead of me, I'll signal and go to the fast lane, there will be room for a car to whip around and undertake me and maybe pull in front, (maybe not), but I try to make my manoeuvres in plenty of time.. And 😠to the dicks in the "overtaking lane" who speed up as soon as i put my indicators on..

Where does one begin...

McCrack wrote:
    Where does one begin...

Do go on,

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Subscribers Posts: 42,582 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

McCrack wrote: »
    Where does one begin...

Mirror?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭11214

I like to tailgate them bumper to bumper and shine lasers at the rear view mirror.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

Do go on,

Slow lane..... Fast lane..... **** sake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

es anyone else get slight social anxiety when they are behind a overtaking lane hogger trying to get them to move over, that the person behind you might think it is you who is the hogger. I usually make a point of passing the hogger at maximium warp. Usually I am sure these people think I am total asshole...but I am good with that.

Slow lane..... Fast lane..... **** sake.

Oohh-Kkkaaayyy
    Left lane..... Right lane...
    For **** sake
    (there are those that would say driving lane and overtaking lane)

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

sydthebeat wrote:
    Mirror?

Took me a good while to get that... Still gave me grin though..

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,775 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    Have read this a few times, unfortunately none seem to cover some noob, doing 20kph under the limit in the overtaking lane, on a empty stretch of DC or motorway.

One scary encounter, came up behind such a driver, indicator right did not encourage them, briefest flash of lights did not encourage them, unfortunately the driver behind me did not have the same patience, and proceed to undertake both of us. I spotted him, the hogger didn't and moved over to the driving lane, as undertaker was nearly level.

I've encountered this too. Behind an overtaking lane dawdler driving in the overtaking lane at 80kmh on an otherwise empty dual carriageway one evening for the best part of 2km.

Gave a gentle hint with the right indicator, oblivious..., a quick flash of high beam, oblivious..., double flash of high beam, still oblivious to the road behind them.

I gave up and moved back into the driving lane. I was just considering putting the goot down overtaking on the left but thought better of doing it coming up to an interchange and stayed back a little.

Sure enough as the idiot swerved straight across me, from the overtaking lane to the exit ramp, without indicating, tootling along completely clueless.

Makes me a bit cautious of overtaking on the left as an idiot who hasn't a clue how to use a dual carriageway is likely to be utterly clueless about other aspects of driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,467 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Oohh-Kkkaaayyy
    Left lane..... Right lane...
    For **** sake
    (there are those that would say driving lane and overtaking lane)

Yeah, "those" who drive correctly.
    If you don't understand that there is only 1 driving lane then you are probably a MLM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,239 ✭✭✭kirving

I'd change this to - "If there is room to pass them safely on the left".

If I overtake a truck doing 100kph, at say 120kph, it will take a full 10 seconds of me driving in the right hand lane to build up a 2 second gap between myself and the truck before pulling back in.

This would be the correct way to do it in theory anyway. The problem is that the car behind me has plenty of time in that 10 seconds to cut off the truck and undertake me, all while justifying it by "if there's room to undertake you're in the wrong lane".

I do a lot of motorway driving and have had people pull out from basically stopped on the shoulder into the driving lane, stuff fall of trucks, bits of trees, animals, a truck with its air brakes locked in the left lane, so there's no way I want to take a trucks braking distance and then have to brake hard myself, so I try where possible to give as much distance as I can before pulling back in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,156 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

If I overtake a truck doing 100kph, at say 120kph, it will take a full 10 seconds of me driving in the right hand lane to build up a 2 second gap between myself and the truck before pulling back in.

This would be the correct way to do it in theory anyway. The problem is that the car behind me has plenty of time in that 10 seconds to cut off the truck and undertake me, all while justifying it by "if there's room to undertake you're in the wrong lane".

I do a lot of motorway driving and have had people pull out from basically stopped on the shoulder into the driving lane, stuff fall of trucks, bits of trees, animals, a truck with its air brakes locked in the left lane, so there's no way I want to take a trucks braking distance and then have to brake hard myself, so I try where possible to give as much distance as I can before pulling back in.

You pull in when you can see both lights in your rear view mirror. Don't worry a large vehicle driver will have already anticipated that you will pull under their bumper so will have adjusted their driving. You are accelerating away from the vehicle so braking doesn't come into the equation.

That's the excuse that the overtaking/middle lane hoggers use. Someone might do something stupid in the driving lane, so I'll be stupid and drive in the passing lanes.

GreeBo wrote:
    Yeah, "those" who drive correctly. If you don't understand that there is only 1 driving lane then you are probably a MLM.

MLM?

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

MLM?

Middle Lane Malcolm, someone's watching too much UK TV (probably me)

in your example the 2 second rule (which is just a soundbite in reality) does not apply as you are pulling away from the other guy, pull in once you are clear, a couple of car lengths clear would be sufficent to start pulling in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭TG1

There's a fine line here between what is actually incorrect driving and what is just irritating though.

For example I was driving at 120k by my speedo on a motorway the other day. There was a Micra doing about 100k in the driving lane. There were headlights visible but far enough back that the driver could adjust in my mirror. I indicated, pulled out, stayed at 120k and passed the Micra, and stayed in the overtaking lane until I was comfortable that there was a safe distance to pull into the driving lane again.

I felt this was a totally legal and safe manouver. The plonker driving about 160k in the overtaking lane had other thoughts and started to flash and swerve and honk the horn as soon as they caught up

Who was right here? Im sure the driver behind went home swearing about slow drivers hogging the overtaking lane, while I went on my way swearing about speeding and not allowing enough room to make a safe legal manouver... Opinion is like that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,888 ✭✭✭✭bear1

TG1 wrote: »
    There's a fine line here between what is actually incorrect driving and what is just irritating though.

For example I was driving at 120k by my speedo on a motorway the other day. There was a Micra doing about 100k in the driving lane. There were headlights visible but far enough back that the driver could adjust in my mirror. I indicated, pulled out, stayed at 120k and passed the Micra, and stayed in the overtaking lane until I was comfortable that there was a safe distance to pull into the driving lane again.

I felt this was a totally legal and safe manouver. The plonker driving about 160k in the overtaking lane had other thoughts and started to flash and swerve and honk the horn as soon as they caught up

Who was right here? Im sure the driver behind went home swearing about slow drivers hogging the overtaking lane, while I went on my way swearing about speeding and not allowing enough room to make a safe legal manouver... Opinion is like that!

120 by the speedo will actually be slightly less, count around 5% less.
    But in any case I believe yours was correct.
    Usually if I'm overtaking and I see someone is comimg quickly behind me I speed up to finish the overtake quicker and move out of the way.
    Once I can see the car im overtaking both in my side mirror and in my rear view then i know it's safe to pull in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

TG1 wrote: »

You were in the right. I was overtaking two cars that were traveling about 20 yards apart on the motorway one night, I was doing 140 and some dope came up behind tailgating and flashing his lights. Some people think if they want to do 180 on the motorway that everything should be clear for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

I usually do around 130 kmph on the motorway, so usually passing other people. If I’m overtaking and someone comes up fast and hard behind me, I’ll finish my overtake and pull in as quickly/safely as I can, to let them pass. Better that they’re away from me, rather than up my hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

dudara wrote: »
    I usually do around 130 kmph on the motorway, so usually passing other people. If I’m overtaking and someone comes up fast and hard behind me, I’ll finish my overtake and pull in as quickly/safely as I can, to let them pass. Better that they’re away from me, rather than up my hole.

But most of them want you off the road before you finish overtaking, that's where the problem is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,562 ✭✭✭TheChizler

in your example the 2 second rule (which is just a soundbite in reality) does not apply as you are pulling away from the other guy, pull in once you are clear, a couple of car lengths clear would be sufficent to start pulling in.
    What if you've to brake suddenly just after you've pulled in on top of someone leaving them no room? You're both f****d.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭TG1

Dakota Dan wrote: »
    But most of them want you off the road before you finish overtaking, that's where the problem is.

Exactly, the overtaking lane is for overtaking. Not for ensuring those who wish to break the law have a clear run home... Sometimes I think the people giving out about others driving slower than them in it forget this! I have more of an issue with someone driving at 180 in the overtaking lane all the time than I do with someone driving at 90 in it to overtake someone doing 80.