Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

lunch near mater hospital Dublin

• 19-12-2017 11:20pm
    Registered Users Posts: 14

Just wondering if anyone has a suggestion where to bring 2 elderly relatives for a nice lunch near mater hospital. I will have a car so somewhere I can drop them at and either go park car onsite or somewhere I wont find hard to find parking near. Was thinking somewhere either around Phibsborough or Drumcondra. We have relative sick in mater so dont want to be too far away.

• Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 47,305 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Moved from Forum Requests

• Registered Users Posts: 7,518 ✭✭✭matrim

The brian boru (Hedigans) would be a decent shout. It has a large car park at the back and does decent carvery style food

• Registered Users Posts: 56 ✭✭marquise

Woodstock in Phibsborough also does carvery style food and is nice.

• Registered Users Posts: 14 suncatch

marquise wrote: »
    Woodstock in Phibsborough also does carvery style food and is nice.

Thank you martim and marquise for your suggestions much appreciated

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,202 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Other possibilities- the Botanic gardens where there is parking, Canajun cafe on Berkeley road or Bleecker St on Dorset street, though you would have to walk to them.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Clarke Bakery on the Old Cabra Rd had/has a cafe.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,812 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Used to go to Aurora on the corner of Eccles and Dawson Street, or at a slightly lower end of the scale Tasty Options on Dorset Street when I was in the area.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,490 ✭✭✭amtc

The Gresham does a nice lunch and had parking. As does Jury's inn in parnell street

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

The White Moose Cafe

• Registered Users Posts: 241 ✭✭Stephenc66

The Skylon the food in the bar there is good and parking on site. There are a three or four restaurants across the street from the hotel as well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

January wrote: »
    The White Moose Cafe

Do not bring them near this place. It's run by that moron that loves himself and media attention. Even on their site it has his "unique" sense of humor
    The White Moose Cafs the only 5-Michelin-Star restaurant on planet Earth. We specialise in high-carb, low-protein meals. We don’t do decaf coffee, non-alcoholic beer or gluten-free dishes, as we firmly believe that you only live once. If you are not happy with any of the above, you are probably a precious snowflake in which case we don’t want you in our cafnyway. Thank you now. Bye Bye.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 16,287 Mod ✭✭✭✭quickbeam

RasTa wrote: »
    Do not bring them near this place. It's run by that moron that loves himself and media attention. Even on their site it has his "unique" sense of humor

Jaysus! Just visited their site. You ain't exaggerating. What a tool! :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭vandriver

But what do you think of the food, following your last visit?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,344 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

vandriver wrote: »

I get your point but anyone who talks down to their customers like he does doesn't deserve custom unless their surname is Fawlty.

Anyway, enough about him. I'm sure he's loving the mentions.

Of the selections above I think Hedigan's is your best bet. Woodstock decent too but doesn't have parking

• Registered Users Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭vandriver

Collie D wrote: »
    I get your point but anyone who talks down to their customers like he does doesn't deserve custom unless their surname is Fawlty.

Anyway, enough about him. I'm sure he's loving the mentions.

Of the selections above I think Hedigan's is your best bet. Woodstock decent too but doesn't have parking

Of course I knew you'd never been there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭SB_Part2

I came here to recommend The White Moose Cafe as well.

The food is great there but if you're the kinda person who believes he'd just walk up and shout at you for no reason then you're better off not going.

vandriver wrote: »

Average, that was before he became a media whore. Opened to the public on Christmas day for breakfast ffs.

Since he's only been on snapchat about a year I'm guessing you went before then.

He's changed chefs since and the new dishes are gorgeous.

• Registered Users Posts: 108 ✭✭CD-R 80

What’s the problem with that? It’s a small hotel as far as I know and I’m sure the staff are paid accordingly.

I suppose you want pubs to remain closed on good Friday too?

Food is actually very nice there by the way!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭flanzer

You sound like a barrel of laughs. I'd say you're great craic on a night out

CD-R 80 wrote: »
    What’s the problem with that? It’s a small hotel as far as I know and I’m sure the staff are paid accordingly.

I suppose you want pubs to remain closed on good Friday too?

Food is actually very nice there by the way!

Fine for guests but not the public
    flanzer wrote: »
    You sound like a barrel of laughs. I'd say you're great craic on a night out

You think he is funny?
    All our food is cooked to order. This can take time. If you want fast food, there’s a McDonalds in Phibsborough village. If you venture into the village I’d strongly advise that you carry some form of handheld weapon and wear a good helmet of some sort.

Hilarious right?

What has him being funny or not funny in your opinion got to do with the food?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,309 ✭✭✭✭alastair

SB_Part2 wrote: »
    What has him being funny or not funny in your opinion got to do with the food?

If you have to endure the proprietor’s attention-seeking idiocy in order to get a bite to eat, well, there’s better grub options locally, without the penalty of feeding the troll.

alastair wrote: »
    If you have to endure the proprietor’s attention-seeking idiocy in order to get a bite to eat, well, there’s better grub options locally, without the penalty of feeding the troll.

You realise he’s the manager and doesn’t actually serve the food or seat people, right?

You realise I never made any such claim, right?

Then how would you have to endure his behaviour?

There’s plenty of people who eat there who don’t have snapchat and know nothing about him.

Then how would you have to endure his behaviour?

There’s plenty of people who eat there who don’t have snapchat and know nothing about him.

They avert their eyes as they walk into the place, do they? You don’t need to use Snapchat to recognise his idiocy.

No they go in, get coffee, a nice breakfast or lunch and leave again.

You seem determined to miss the point.

And you seem determined to discredit the Cafe as a nice place to go for coffee and food.