Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Trainee April Intake 2018

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 pedrigo

I'm hoping to apply to join An Garda Síochana in the next recruitment drive but just have a few questions surrounding payscale and allowances. On attestation I will be elligible for a basic salary of €28,405 plus whatever O.T. and unsociable hours allowances. It says that as I have a 3rd level degree after 2 years I can apply for an additional 2/3 increments.

So my first question is, in addition to the basic salary, on average how much is O.T. and unsociable hours worth per year? (Roughly)

Secondly, does a 3rd level degree qualify you for 2 or 3 increments?

And finally, will you always be 2/3 increments ahead of somone who does not have a 3rd level degree or is this a once off payment?

Any info/ advice would be greatly appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭Leeroyjenkins

Shane3321 wrote: »
    Have everything passed emailed hrm about my Vetting. Got an email back saying it has been signed off by senior management I've am oom of mid 600 for sept 16 campaign what are my chances for April ?

What email address did you use? I've rang them and I've been told so many different things.

I emailed hrm and got a response along the lines of my file is awaiting decision regarding suitability for the position of garda Trainee.
    Anyone else get a response like this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭SinWin

Wonder when will offers be out... I'd say next week before Paddy's day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭diddlybo

SinWin wrote: »
    Wonder when will offers be out... I'd say next week before Paddy's day

It would make for some party Paddy's weekend alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Sjh191

“Offers due out in the coming week or so”
    What I was told this morning by HRM.

Best of luck all... may the odds forever be in your favour LOL

Fingers crossed for ALL of us who are running low on patience :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 Morgan09

I emailed hrm and got a response along the lines of my file is awaiting decision regarding suitability for the position of garda Trainee.
    Anyone else get a response like this?

I got the same one,not sure what it means

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭Mowley

Hi I'm from the june 17 campaign and have everything passed. Met sergeant and superintendent. What should I be doing now? Just sit and wait or should I contact hr for information? Any info will be much appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭RedDragon386

I have a feeling if I emailed them that would be the response I would get too. I have everything passed from sept 2016 but the super meeting didn't go to well due to having my name taking for petty stuff over a decade ago. Some stuff I didn't even remember! So I couldn't even respond to it. I'm actually afraid to email them tbh. As far I know if you get an email it's good news and a letter is bad. Sorry to say this but I wouldn't be too optimistic by that response but keep the faith!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭jimmythedivil

Mowley wrote: »
    Hi I'm from the june 17 campaign and have everything passed. Met sergeant and superintendent. What should I be doing now? Just sit and wait or should I contact hr for information? Any info will be much appreciated.

Sit and wait might be best option. You could contact HR but it won't speed things along and people have been known to get misleading info. Hopefully offers for the April intake will be out soon enough anyway.

looking back on last years thread offers for April/May came out 15th of March (first round)
    Second Round 21st March

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 NeeNawNeeNaw

Rang HRM there a few days ago. File is signed off and done. I'm from the Sep 16 ppm low 400s so fingers crossed. He told me that offers for April will be out at the end of this week so good luck everyone!

Congrats Buddy , you're deffo in with such a low OOM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Donegal2018

So new to this!! I'm from sept 2016.. have all done but only done my fitness test in January. What's my chances for April? My oom was late 300s
    Thanks guys

So new to this!! I'm from sept 2016.. have all done but only done my fitness test in January. What's my chances for April? My oom was 400s
    Thanks guys

If everything passed I'd say you stand a good chance for this intake... don't mind me asking why your PCT test only took place in Jan?

Ah I hope so.. such a long waiting process!!
    With me having a child with my partner I had to get all of his family's info as well and he has so many aunties and uncles and some of their dobs were wrong and then their postcodes and the leaving certificate I got from school public jobs reckoned it was fake so I had to prove to them it was real.. lol but got there inth end

Looks like there are quite a few of Sep 2016 still waiting and I know some 2017's have already gone into college so you just wouldn't know how they operate all these campaigns...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 paddyp123

I just got an email back from HRM saying
    vetting still outstanding. So very unlikely il get a offer for April. Anyone else in sept 2016 (800OOM) still waiting on vetting?

paddyp123 wrote: »
    vetting still outstanding. So very unlikely il get a offer for April. Anyone else in sept 2016 (800OOM) still waiting on vetting?

Do u mind posting the email paddy? Every time I ring them they're just pig ignorant on the phone so I kind of giving up hope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 paddyp123

Do u mind posting the email paddy? Every time I ring them they're just pig ignorant on the phone so I kind of giving up hope

I emailed appointments@garda.ie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭ALTHEPAL

paddyp123 wrote: »

Yeah I am the same as yourself , I got an email yesterday saying the same .

Thanks paddy!! Took the bull by the horns and rang them. I only rang them two weeks ago and my application wasn't signed off and there today they told me it was! So don't lose hope! Said the offers for April will be out incoming days so here's hoping they reach my oom (late 300s)!!
    Hopefully we will all have offers by end of the week!!

Thanks paddy!! Took the bull by the horns and rang them. I only rang them two weeks ago and my application wasn't signed off and there today they told me it was! So don't lose hope! Said the offers for April will be out incoming days so here's hoping they reach my oom (late 300s)!!
    Hopefully we will all have offers by end of the week!!

When you rang them two weeks ago, did they tell you your vetting was complete and you were awaiting sign off ? I find when you ring them it all depends on who picks up the phone as to the answer you get.

ALTHEPAL wrote: »
    When you rang them two weeks ago, did they tell you your vetting was complete and you were awaiting sign off ? I find when you ring them it all depends on who picks up the phone as to the answer you get.

Ah stop it's defo who picks up the phone. A few ones that I got didnt want to know about it but thankfully today she was lovely. The one I got two weeks ago basically ate me telling me that it wasn't near ready for signing off whatever that meant so I presumed my vetting wasn't done either and she basically told me there was no chance of April. Although in January the sergeant from my local station came up to my house to talk to me about my vetting he wanted to find out stuff that had came up and was sent to them to find stuff out so my vetting defo wasn't complete at that stage

I don’t get it to be honest, like why they can be like that do they not realise we just want to try and plan our lives ha ! I rang once with a question about my pct, the man put me on hold and then came back on with a totally different answer about vetting still outstanding ha ! That’s great for you hopefully you will get an offer when they come out, this week they are due out is it ? It also gives me a little hope now too !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭mutter_man

I'm in the 100s from sept2016 and still waiting vetting. Well I think I am, I can't be sure as I adopted an "ignore it" approach to the whole thing for sanity sake. Been through the vetting mill before so I'll just keep going with my current posting and stimg they will arrive at the right answer. We shall see if the coming weeks bring any interesting news.

Everyone tr to stay sane, don't over worry if offers don't come out exactly when we think they will and don't overthink vetting. The email answers sound like your awaiting sign off and the actual vetters have done their bit so that's good bi. That's just reading between the lines. A lot of vetting can be about checking your honesty and integrity. Sometimes its not about what you or family have done, but what you've done since and how open and honest you are about your errors etc.

Mutter Nutter

Sine Timore Aut Favore

I don’t get it to be honest, like why they can be like that do they not realise we just want to try and plan our lives ha ! I rang once with a question about my pct, the man put me on hold and then came back on with a totally different answer about vetting still outstanding ha ! That’s great for you hopefully you will get an offer when they come out, this week they are due out is it ? It also gives me a little hope now too !
    I know it's crazy isn't it!!
    God I hope so, yeh she said in the next coming days 😠No defo don't lose hope, I thought that was me out for another couple of months but hopefully not now, they've another couple of days yet so hopefully they get around to you

Morgan09 wrote: »
    I got the same one,not sure what it means

If you don't mind me asking but have you anything in your past or some unsavoury relatives that might hinder your progress? Because I don't, so I would've assumed the response would be a yes or no in regards to vetting not something else entirely.

Looks like there are quite a few of Sep 2016 still waiting and I know some 2017's have already gone into college so you just wouldn't know how they operate all these campaigns...

I think that is so disorganised and backwards. Surely people from earlier campaigns would have priority over later ones that doesn't make sense. Like they should sit down, do everyone from one year then move onto the next. I'm from sep 2016 and everytime I ring up I get told a different answer and I emailed them and got told something completely different and not nothing to do with the vetting. So frustrated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭mutter_man

I think that is so disorganised and backwards. Surely people from earlier campaigns would have priority over later ones that doesn't make sense. Like they should sit down, do everyone from one year then move onto the next. I'm from sep 2016 and everytime I ring up I get told a different answer and I emailed them and got told something completely different and not nothing to do with the vetting. So frustrated.

Vetting is the most common cause for people from older campaigns getting left waiting. I'm afraid security vetting the world over is a variable thing. Simplified a vetting officer has a stack of files which grows with each new campaign. Every day they check them all and send off the necessary requests to other departments and state security forces and then wait for the answers.

If a relatively new file has all the answers needed come back then its ready and that's it. When it came in makes no difference. Annoying as it is it makes no logical sense to simply ignore all new files until all the old ones come back because some of them take an age. This is a very over simplified explanation but I'm afraid its not backwards, its national security level vetting and its very annoyingly variable. I know the drill and its no fun.

Mutter Nutter

Sine Timore Aut Favore

P.S. what system they use for medical and pct invites is a bit of a mystery to me. And im afraid HR know little about vetting beyond done or not done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 DuffsC

Does anyone think offers will be out this?? Or maybe next week? Not sure if i will have a chance for this intake but just have to sit tight and wait

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 Shane3321

DuffsC wrote: »
    Does anyone think offers will be out this?? Or maybe next week? Not sure if i will have a chance for this intake but just have to sit tight and wait

I have a feeling next week but I'm hoping for today just going by other intakes I'd say next week ðŸ‘ðŸ¼

I'd say next week for sure

Dear applicant,

I can confirm your file has now been signed off.

Offers for the next class intake will be made in the coming days. Should we reach your place on the order of merit, you may receive an offer to attend.

Kind regards

That's the email I got back.. so hopefully this week. I got that the other day

Dear applicant,

I can confirm your file has now been signed off.

Offers for the next class intake will be made in the coming days. Should we reach your place on the order of merit, you may receive an offer to attend.

Kind regards

That's the email I got back.. so hopefully this week. I got that the other day

That’s brilliant news, well done . Did you email them again since you called ?

I got the same email....

I’m from January 2016 campaign with an OOM in the 600’s...

I’m wondering is it that OOM they use or are all the campaigns mixed together ... like because it’s an older campaign will they be taken in first if the file is signed off etc ..

My head if fryed checking emails.

Sjh191 wrote: »
    I got the same email....

I’m from January 2016 campaign with an OOM in the 600’s...

I’m wondering is it that OOM they use or are all the campaigns mixed together ... like because it’s an older campaign will they be taken in first if the file is signed off etc ..

My head if fryed checking emails.

Good stuff, I think they use a combination of things to be honest. Like if your file is complete and your roughly around the oom they are taking from you get a call ! Oh I know, my head is the same ha ! I got a mail this week saying my vetting was still outstanding, so I am hoping it clears within the next few days. Wishful thinking maybe, one has to dream though !

Yeh I'm sept 16 oom 300s.. I just hope they stick to their word now and send them out this week and we all get a nice wee email. Ah stop, I'm like is ye, me nervous are gone 😂 I wouldn't panic about that, as of couple weeks ago my file wasn't touched and now it's done so you could be lucky! Fingers and toes crossed!!!

That’s brilliant news, well done . Did you email them again since you called ?

No didn't bother, ringing them after that, don't think I could stomach getting a pig on the phone and put a dampener on it all lol

Yeh I'm sept 16 oom 300s.. I just hope they stick to their word now and send them out this week and we all get a nice wee email. Ah stop, I'm like is ye, me nervous are gone 😂 I wouldn't panic about that, as of couple weeks ago my file wasn't touched and now it's done so you could be lucky! Fingers and toes crossed!!!

Yeah well hopefully they will, the waiting game is not fun ha ! Cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Jg990

Hi guys. Just wondering does anybody know about getting time off during training? I know in templemore it is very hard and thats understandable. I might need two weeks off after the 32 weeks in college in a garda station for a wedding in OZ. Does anybody know of people getting off at this time? Is it a bit easier to get off when stationed? Im signed off and in low 100s so thinking ill be called in April. Just trying to sort out things. Thanks...

Jg990 wrote: »
    Hi guys. Just wondering does anybody know about getting time off during training? I know in templemore it is very hard and thats understandable. I might need two weeks off after the 32 weeks in college in a garda station for a wedding in OZ. Does anybody know of people getting off at this time? Is it a bit easier to get off when stationed? Im signed off and in low 100s so thinking ill be called in April. Just trying to sort out things. Thanks...

which campaign you are? I doubt it they will let you 2 weeks off but it depends where you stationed , we do have 2 weeks I think ''reading week'' where we don't attend college...

doesn't look like it will happen today lads....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭stiimpreza1984

Sourced from:
    NOTES FOR APPLICANTS
    AND
    CONDITIONS OF SERVICE SEPTEMBER 2016

"Phase I is 32 weeks duration plus 2 weeks leave. The initial period of 34 weeks which includes two reading weeks comprises a block period at the Garda College."

The two reading weeks are at the end and I know of a previous Garda Trainee who went on holidays during these reading weeks. So I'd say you're fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭stiimpreza1984

Sorry read it wrong

This training period may be extended for longer periods as the Garda Commissioner so directs. On successful completion of Phase I training the Trainee Garda will be attested and will progress to Phase II of their training. The Trainee Garda will now be a Probationer Garda and will be appointed as a member of An Garda Síochána.

Phase II:
    Phase II is 34 weeks in total (17 weeks assisting and 17 weeks assisted)

Might be best to ask the Super when you do get that start at phase II for the time off.

doesn't look like it will happen today lads....

Pray tomorrow! Iv been snooping through past campaign boards all day and the last few rounds of offers seemed to go out Ina Friday at around 3 or so.. probably before re the weekend so they don't have Any of us on the phone whinging lol

You would think after being in this process over 2 years I’d be a pro at the waiting game..... but nope! Il be having a bottle of rescue remedy for lunch tomorrow in anticipation for what’s to come or what might not come! :(

September 2016 oom in the 700s. I'm so fed up of waiting, people from later campaigns getting in and people with higher oom getting in and my vetting still not done so I've completely given up hope for April.... Anyone know the next intake after April??

Don't give up the hope bud, it can all change in just one day ... fingers crossed

I don't think it will be today anyway... it would be mad fire out offers before the weekend... they'd come back Monday with thousands of messages and phone calls...
    I'd recon from next week Tuesday ...