Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours 2018

• Registered Users Posts: 4,989 ✭✭✭Potential Underachiever

With that fee every small error will be magnified in the media and social media world.

Exactly, can he handle it! Let's hope so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

World record transfer fee for a defender.

Wiki says Bruno Mendy was £52m

It's a huge gamble. That fee is astronomical

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

Well, that should be the end of FSG/Klopp wont/dont spend big on players. Looks like we'll pay if Klopp thinks its the right player. I'm surprised we went that high, didn't think we'd go that high but fair play, they are making a decision and going with it. Hope it works out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

Ricero right now....

tenor.gif?itemid=5320758

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Mad money.

Mad necessary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,406 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Holy **** we actually did it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 781 ✭✭✭davyboy1975

Mourinho will be fuming, even Liverpool are paying striker money for defenders these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,941 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Completely crazy money.

giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 781 ✭✭✭davyboy1975

Finally, Liverpool doing business like a proper big club. Arsed about what they cost, just get the best players in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,620 ✭✭✭Damien360

Is this a definite sign that Coutinho is gone in January for a huge sum. Has to blow 75m out of the water. Hope VVD does well but that's a hell of a lot of money and he will be under huge pressure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,395 ✭✭✭GiftofGab

Great - he'll definitely be playing in the City Vs Liverpool game on the 14th Jan. Delighted with the signing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,395 ✭✭✭GiftofGab

Damien360 wrote: »
    Is this a definite sign that Coutinho is gone in January for a huge sum. Has to blow 75m out of the water. Hope VVD does well but that's a hell of a lot of money and he will be under huge pressure.

Coutinho to Barcelona is always a done deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

I'd be disappointed if thats the case. Summer yes but January? I hope not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,662 ✭✭✭DJIMI TRARORE

Only Forster,Bertie and Tadic left for us to buy in summer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭sparrowcar

You would want to see the hurt on Twitter from the mancs over his signing already. Hilarious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

sparrowcar wrote: »
    You would want to see the hurt on Twitter from the mancs over his signing already. Hilarious.

sure why go that far, just have a look at good ou'l M!cks last few posts :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,650 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

Done deal, good!
    Raised my reservations about the deal earlier, but now it's done it's done, welcome aboard and let's see what the lad is made of.
    If he can even defend corners and keep things tight at the back, he'll be worth it. His talent is clear. The money side plus slightly irrelevant at this stage. None of these fees make much sense to us mortals anyway, but it does show that the owners mean business

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,977 ✭✭✭HandsomeBob

The money has been there since last Summer so I imagine it has nothing to do with Coutinho.

I'll reserve judgement on the signing anyway. I'm glad Klopp has got his man but I still have this nagging feeling at the back of my head that our issues at the back run deeper than personnel.

Southampton have taken £160m off FSG since they bought Liverpool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,067 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Absolutely delighted with this! Just hope it's not Coutiniho money.

Sign a new goalkeeper in the summer (or in January) and it should make a massive difference to our defence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,504 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Money no issue, club know they have 200m worth of sales in summer.

Do you think Chelsea would sell Kante they don't seem to mind selling players to rivals.

Stick Kante in front of our defence and a lot of defensive issues would be solved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,056 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

Southampton have taken £160m off FSG since they bought Liverpool.

Yes and Southampton FC in it's entirety, was sold to the Chinese lads last year for £200m !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,506 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

The timing of the VVD transfer makes perfect sense, the club knew they needed cover for Flanagan while he’s in prison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,397 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Welcome to Liverpool.

virgil0021.jpg?w=640

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭bur

Mind boggling fee, but we' picked up some bargains a splurge has been overdue.

Coutinho is obviously off sooner or later anyway, bit insincere to be going on about him in relation to this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

DSEknmxWkAE13Tz.jpg

Mother of fcuk

I can die happy now..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,278 ✭✭✭x43r0

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Welcome to Liverpool.

virgil0021.jpg?w=640

Saints put up an admirable fight but, in the end, everyone's got a price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,506 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Welcome to Liverpool.

virgil0021.jpg?w=640

And he’s got a nice new wage to show off!

Classic_Photos_02_1.jpg

sparrowcar wrote: »

Are telling me the hurt are hurting the hurted caller...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 876 ✭✭✭Rumple Stillson

not yet wrote: »
    Are telling me the hurt are hurting the hurted caller...

They're miserappalling over there!

£75m
    mr93-06.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭brevity

Crazy money imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,397 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

The f*cking butthurt on here is worth a couple of million alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,956 ✭✭✭garra

1. Neymar, Barcelona to Paris St Germain, 2017, £200.6million

2. Ousmane Dembele, Borussia Dortmund to Barcelona, 2017, £96.8m

3. Paul Pogba, Juventus to Manchester United, 2016, £89m

4. Gareth Bale, Tottenham to Real Madrid, 2013, £85.3m

5. Cristiano Ronaldo, Manchester United to Real Madrid, 2009, £80m

6. Gonzalo Higuain, Napoli to Juventus, 2016, £75.3m

7= Romelu Lukaku, Everton to Manchester United, 2017, £75m

7= Virgil van Dijk, Southampton to Liverpool, 2018, £75m

9. Luis Suarez, Liverpool to Barcelona, 2014, £65m

10. James Rodriguez, Monaco to Real Madrid, 2014, £63m

£100m on Lemar now so we can do Lemar singer gifs.

We paid £75m for a first team starter for the next 5/6/7 seasons and it is crazy money no doubt.

City were willing to spend £60m on him to be there 3rd choice CB I'm not sure which is the crazier to be honest.

So the real question that needs to be answered is...

Does Kevin Palmer really know his sh1t or did he get really lucky with calling the transfer and the price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Irishmale0399

Hope people now understand how Klopp/FSG operate....if they see something they like they will make money available if it ticks all the boxes.

This move should put an end to FSG are tight fisted cxxts etc. Simple fact is...if Klopp wants a player and they have the money they will try to do the deal. However for a deal to be done in Klopps world....the player must want it from the word go and the selling club must be willing, if Klopp aint sure he aint going to sign anyone for the sake of it. Thats 50-60 million on Keita and 75 million on VDV.....not a bad spend within a period of 6 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

This is no more crazy than spending 35m on Andy Carroll six years ago. That's a transfer fee that still blows my mind. 75 million is nothing these days. The Neymar deal has changed everything, the money side of the game doesn't really interest me now. It's not my money so once the club can afford it, i'm just happy to get the player in.

I wonder will he be captain next season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,067 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Virgil Van Dijk £75m
    Keita £48m
    Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain £35m
    Mohamed Salah £34m
    Sadio Mane £34m

Tusky wrote: »
    Virgil Van Dijk £75m
    Keita £48m
    Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain £35m
    Mohamed Salah £34m
    Sadio Mane £34m

Coutinho to Barca price = £226m.

• Registered Users Posts: 418 ✭✭S. Goodspeed

I have mixed feelings with this. If someone told me we spent £75mil on our defence over a transfer window i’d be very hopeful that our shaky defence had been finally sorted out. I don’t get that same expectation with it all spent on the one player regardless of how good VVD. Hope we back it up with some proper investment in the goalkeeper position

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Kerrigooney

• Registered Users Posts: 11,611 ✭✭✭✭ERG89

garra wrote: »
    1. Neymar, Barcelona to Paris St Germain, 2017, £200.6million

2. Ousmane Dembele, Borussia Dortmund to Barcelona, 2017, £96.8m

3. Paul Pogba, Juventus to Manchester United, 2016, £89m

4. Gareth Bale, Tottenham to Real Madrid, 2013, £85.3m

5. Cristiano Ronaldo, Manchester United to Real Madrid, 2009, £80m

6. Gonzalo Higuain, Napoli to Juventus, 2016, £75.3m

7= Romelu Lukaku, Everton to Manchester United, 2017, £75m

7= Virgil van Dijk, Southampton to Liverpool, 2018, £75m

9. Luis Suarez, Liverpool to Barcelona, 2014, £65m

10. James Rodriguez, Monaco to Real Madrid, 2014, £63m

Ugh we got done on that Suarez deal.... :(
    A few of those players have had issues with form and injury.... :/
    Don't know what to make of the Van Dijk deal tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

Reading the excitement on here and twitter and elsewhere I feel this is going to be extremely difficult for VVD.

The weight of expectation is immense, if we concede at all he will be micro assessed by everyone, pundits and fans.

We could do with getting Nabby in now in January to dilute the transfer hysteria. VVD really could fold under the pressure and end up our new nervol!!

I do hope he hits the ground running, and can ignore the circus!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 876 ✭✭✭Rumple Stillson

ERG89 wrote: »
    Ugh we got done on that Suarez deal.... :(
    A few of those players have had issues with form and injury.... :/
    Don't know what to make of the Van Dijk deal tbh.

I don't know, watching El Clasico, Suarez was moving around like a barge, not the same player he was at all.

VVD is nailed on to score an OG against Everton in the FA Cup game!

They're miserappalling over there!

Jaysus what'll be next, Bankers being ripped of by their customers, priests being fondled by altar boys..