Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours 2018

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,928 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

And we are paying Southampton the £75m over three years and in installments of £25m.

• Registered Users Posts: 522 ✭✭✭Raisins

ricero wrote: »
    Turns out barca are to pay the 105 million in installments over 4 years and pearce is saying there will be no more signings this window.

What a time to be alive

We bought a player for £75m in this window. You're not supporting one of the 3/4 clubs in world football that would satisfy your obsession with spending cash. That penny needs to drop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

Raisins wrote: »
    We bought a player for £75m in this window. You're not supporting one of the 3/4 clubs in world football that would satisfy your obsession with spending cash. That penny needs to drop.

But then sold our best player for nearly 150 million and have danny ings as our back up striker :pac:

Disappointing is all as will all lfc fans if we miss out on champions league football for next season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,388 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

I was sure a lot of people suggested we got 104 million up front.

Very dissapointed with this transfer window even with van dijk. I see it again as a failure to kick on and improve the team. Think the clubs reluctance to add to the attack will see us pipped to top four

You need to start supporting City, United, PSG, Barca or Real.

All you seem to do in here is complain about lack of transfers. If your that annoyed about it go play Football Manager and sign everyone you want.

At this point your constant moaning is tiresome, predictable and childish. Please just let it rest. Everyone knows how you feel but we don't need to here it numerous times a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,595 ✭✭✭✭Trigger

emmetkenny wrote: »

All you seem to do in here is complain about lack of transfers. If your that annoyed about it go play Football Manager and sign everyone you want.

At this point your constant moaning is tiresome, predictable and childish. Please just let it rest. Everyone knows how you feel but we don't need to here it numerous times a week.

Tbf all of those teams very rarely buy in the winter window. Sanchez coming in to United was more due to him becoming available than us going out activity looking for players..

Rumours that Barca only moved for Coutinho as Real and Bayern are putting pressure on Uefa to bring in FFP 2.0 which is supposed to limit transfer spend to 100m net.

Which makes his moaning even weirder looking from the outside in with ye having added VVD to the defence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,036 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

I was sure a lot of people suggested we got 104 million up front.

Very dissapointed with this transfer window even with van dijk. I see it again as a failure to kick on and improve the team. Think the clubs reluctance to add to the attack will see us pipped to top four

I think this was a mixup in terms people were using at the time. Loads of people were using 'up front' instead of 'guaranteed'. But I don't think there was ever much likelihood we were getting the guaranteed money in one lump sum.

I dont fully get this argument......we will wait until they are available.....so does that mean that if we want to buy a player who has 3 years left on a contract, and the club wont sell, then we will wait 3 years for him, or wait 2 and get him cheap? Makes no sense to me....Player is not available, so surely there should be a Plan B???

It's not exactly an argument, it's simply what's happened. I don't personally agree with this stance, but it's what we've done so far..

But I think there's a certain amount of common sense that has to be attached to it... like, if Klopp likes Mbappe, I don't think we're going to not sign a forward player until he becomes available in 13 years.

But if Klopp reckons he can get the right person within a year or so, he seems to prefer waiting than moving on to another target. Very debatable whether this is a good strategy in a transfer market that moves so fast, and with players patience to play in a work-in-progress team becoming ever shorter. But right now, it's clearly our strategy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

I dont get why people get so bad at others who complain about lack of transfers when we just lost our best player. Sure we got VVD in but what other top team would that be acceptable. What team would be happy with losing their best attacking player but getting in a CB?

We have a lot of money to spend and I'm happy enough to let Klopp make his own decision on who to bring in and when, but I am disappointed we had no replacement in mind for January when we knew Coutinho was going 4 months ago. Sell and replace or dont sell, what good is the money in the bank when we need points on the board. Why put top 4 etc in danger?

NukaCola wrote: »
    I dont get why people get so bad at others who complain about lack of transfers when we just lost our best player. Sure we got VVD in but what other top team would that be acceptable. What team would be happy with losing their best attacking player but getting in a CB?

We have a lot of money to spend and I'm happy enough to let Klopp make his own decision on who to bring in and when, but I am disappointed we had no replacement in mind for January when we knew Coutinho was going 4 months ago. Sell and replace or dont sell, what good is the money in the bank when we need points on the board. Why put top 4 etc in danger?

I think i'd feel better if I knew who he had in mind. Like, with VVD and Keita, at least there was a tangible next step.

But just waiting for some random figure to be the chosen one is a bit frustrating. Especially when we can see a few lads around that would probably be gettable. Klopp's stance on never getting the backup before the first choice is annoying - we need both, and I see no harm in bringing in a good quality stand in, before moving for the guy you really want when they come available.

Rafa was great for that. Had a solid core of players, and then an ever-cycling array of other guys who could do a job when they had to stand in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    Rafa was great for that. Had a solid core of players, and then an ever-cycling array of other guys who could do a job when they had to stand in.

Like ngog?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,337 ✭✭✭jasonb

Sure we got VVD in but what other top team would that be acceptable.

Not picking on you or your posts specifically, but I don't really consider Liverpool a top team anymore myself. We're a big club, with a big history, but until we start winning things again, and qualifying for the Champions League consistently again, we're not a top team in my opinion.

Like ngog?

As with all transfers some work out better than others. Also, there was nothing wrong with buying N'Gog, was actually a great bit of business. The problem with him, was not having another option between him and Torres. He really shouldn't have had the pressure of being thrown in to deputize for one of the best centre forwards in the world at the time..

But on N'Gog himself, I believe Liverpool trebled their money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Like ngog?

Even Origi would be more useful than Solanke right now I suspect, but that ship has sailed no doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,928 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Liverpool chief executive Peter Moore takes aim at ticket touts

Reds have employed private investigators to get to the bottom off the unofficial trade in tickets
    “One way to help immediately is to stop purchasing tickets from unofficial sources. We will continue this work and are committed to looking at new ways how we can help to stop this illegal trading.”

Liverpool, who have teamed up with an investigation agency who specialise in tracking touts, have recently suspended a number of people from buying tickets and attending games at Anfield.

A club statement read: “In the club’s latest clampdown around the Bournemouth v Liverpool game in December, a live investigation - which included purchasing tickets from unauthorised sellers - led to finding a number of individuals advertising and selling tickets well above face value.

https://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/liverpool-chief-executive-peter-moore-14203840.amp

jasonb wrote: »
    Not picking on you or your posts specifically, but I don't really consider Liverpool a top team anymore myself. We're a big club, with a big history, but until we start winning things again, and qualifying for the Champions League consistently again, we're not a top team in my opinion.

Not to get into a debate about it, I'll rephrase to say what other top 4/5 EPL team would the same be acceptable.

Even Origi would be more useful than Solanke right now I suspect, but that ship has sailed no doubt.

Origi was miles ahead of Solanke at the same age, yet many still gave out about him.....he's still miles ahead of him now anyway, Solanke looks decent but he's not quite ready. Origi was scoring in the Europa league knockout stages at a similar age to Solanke iirc.

The drop of quality between our first top 3 and the rest is huge. We need a front 3 player. There may not be a lot of players out there as good as our starters but there is a lot of good players out there that are better than our bench options.

Origi was miles ahead of Solanke at the same age, yet many still gave out about him.....he's still miles ahead of him now anyway, Solanke looks decent but he's not quite ready. Origi was scoring in the Europa league knockout stages at a similar age to Solanke iirc.

The drop of quality between our first top 3 and the rest is huge. We need a front 3 player. There may not be a lot of players out there as good as our starters but there is a lot of good players out there that are better than our bench options.

Yup, for a 22 year old centre forward Origi is still one of the best around. He unfortunately doesn't quite suit our style, but would still be my first choice backup ahead of Sturridge and Solanke. If Ings can get fit and firing, he's actually a great option in terms of style and quality. Just the question of if he can be the player he was before.

But in general, there's really not a lot of strikers that pull up trees at that young age - and the ones that do are instantly worth 30 or 40+ million right now.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Liverpool chief executive Peter Moore takes aim at ticket touts

Reds have employed private investigators to get to the bottom off the unofficial trade in tickets

https://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/liverpool-chief-executive-peter-moore-14203840.amp

That's great, but Liverpool should stop allowing their tickets to be sold through official travel partners and resellers which sell at inflated prices too.

Getting front 3 players to suit our attacking system can't be easy.

Mane isn't at ease with the tweaked system that Salah has flourished in.... will Salah continue scoring at the rate he has to date?

Coutinho was arguably at his best in the front 3 yet didn't come close to Salah s first half season :)

Tough one to recruit for to be fair.

• Registered Users Posts: 683 ✭✭✭PhuckHugh

That's an awful blow for Utd losing Sanchez to a 10 game ban for missing a drugs test.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,404 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

PhuckHugh wrote: »
    That's an awful blow for Utd losing Sanchez to a 10 game ban for missing a drugs test.

Huh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,991 ✭✭✭sword1

PhuckHugh wrote: »

More likely 10k fine

sword1 wrote: »
    More likely 10k fine

Yeah, certainly doesn't look like he'll be missing any games at all. Doesn't even seem like he's to blame for any of it. Seems to be a club responsibility thing, so it's they who will likely be fined.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

This is 99.9% not true (the offer that is) but I'll post it anyway as there's feck all happening

https://twitter.com/GFFN/status/956653766970957825

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,480 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Fairly unremarkable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,991 ✭✭✭sword1

In the summer we signed chamberlain and Salah while only losing lucas from midfield, keita is signed for the next window and we also have some prospects with wilson and Woodburn. I would love to see a attacking player like Mahrez but if they decide they have enough then you can't say the club is being mismanaged either as attempts have been made to prepare for Coutinho s exit.
    Hopefully I am wrong and they are playing the waiting game for their targets to become available at the right price rather than go chasing after them with bags of cash and an overcharge me sign on their forehead

If we play Barca in Champions league final will Coutinho get a winners medal when we beat them?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,611 ✭✭✭✭ERG89

If we play Barca in Champions league final will Coutinho get a winners medal when we beat them?

No I'd guarantee it'll be the group stage next year & I'll be still amazed seeing Karius

ERG89 wrote: »
    No I'd guarantee it'll be the group stage next year & I'll be still amazed seeing Karius

But has Coutinho done enough to get a medal when we win Champions League this season?

O0YkB0A.gif

Rondon looks a sound lad .

It would be weird if we beat them in final but Couthino walks up and collects medal with Liverpool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,546 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

This is a really negative tone that is a prevalent narrative in this thread.

Do people really believe that Liverpool don't have the money to spend on improvements to the squad?

Do you think we gain a morale high ground by not spending like the clubs mentioned above?

Would people be disappointed if the club spent big money to improve the squad?

Many said that Klopp does not like to spend big money and prefers to develop players and that's why they don't spend.
    Wel that has been blown out of the water by the VVD signing which is great to see but the questions still remains if it has been funded by the Coutinho sale and I think Ricero is quite within his rights to ask the question especially as it could cost us a Champion's League spot. He only wants the team to be successful on the pitch and the jury is out at the moment after the Swansea defeat as to what selling Coutinho sale will actually cost us.

It's never wise to sell you best player without replacing.
    I have no issue with waiting for the right player but don't forget the club will have earned even more TV money in the Summer so they will be flush and you have to question if FSG are holding money back. There should easily be a budget of £200-£200m in the summer if you include the Coutinho money but would we spend that?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,611 ✭✭✭✭ERG89

murpho999 wrote:

If we miss out on Champions League football next season the sh*­t will hit the fan big time on the January business.
    It's a lot of pressure on the team & if we get injuries in the front 3 we'll be in trouble. That & how we get on in Europe will play a part on how the season goes.

murpho999 wrote: »

Do people really believe that Liverpool don't have the money to spend on improvements to the squad?

Do you think we gain a morale high ground by not spending like the clubs mentioned above?

Many said that Klopp does not like to spend big money and prefers to develop players and that's why they don't spend.
    Wel that has been blown out of the water by the VVD signing which is great to see but the questions still remains if it has been funded by the Coutinho sale and I think Ricero is quite within his rights to ask the question especially as it could cost us a Champion's League spot. He only wants the team to be successful on the pitch and the jury is out at the moment after the Swansea defeat as to what selling Coutinho sale will actually cost us.

I have no issue with waiting for the right player but don't forget the club will have earned even more TV money in the Summer so they will be flush and you have to question if FSG are holding money back. There should easily be a budget of £200-£200m in the summer if you include the Coutinho money but would we spend that?

I was with you up to bolded bit.

IMO, from all our history with Klopp, it's Klopp who chooses 'when' and 'how much' we spend. He's very consistent in this. If we're not buying someone new, it's cause Klopp wants someone he can't get right now.

There is zero evidence FSG are holding money back - if they were, we wouldn't have bought the most expensive defender of all time. If money were an issue, that 75 million would obviously have been spread around. But it doesn't look like that - Klopp is simply stubborn and specific about who he brings into the club.

I'd like a new attacker too - but if we don't get one and it hurts us, the only person to look at for better or worse, is the manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Bowlardo

I think lemar in the summer will be got for 65

I was with you up to bolded bit.

IMO, from all our history with Klopp, it's Klopp who chooses 'when' and 'how much' we spend. He's very consistent in this. If we're not buying someone new, it's cause Klopp wants someone he can't get right now.

There is zero evidence FSG are holding money back - if they were, we wouldn't have bought the most expensive defender of all time. If money were an issue, that 75 million would obviously have been spread around. But it doesn't look like that - Klopp is simply stubborn and specific about who he brings into the club.

I'd like a new attacker too - but if we don't get one and it hurts us, the only person to look at for better or worse, is the manager.

It looks like we're not buying anybody this window.

Last season, after a net spend of £54m, they earned £145m in TV money and I assume they'll get that again. Add the Coutinho money then there should be a considerable war chest in the summer. I understand of course that the club have running costs to be met as well.

So as I said if big money is not spent in the summer then people will question FSG's motives and commitments and it will look like VVD was bought with the Coutinho money and still have £70m over.

Also, I don't buy this thing of Klopp being stubborn etc. How could you possibly know this?

Last season, after a net spend of £54m, they earned £145m in TV money and I assume they'll get that again. Add the Coutinho money then there should be a considerable war chest in the summer. I understand of course that the club have running costs to be met as well.

So as I said if big money is not spent in the summer then people will question FSG's motives and commitments and it will look like VVD was bought with the Coutinho money and still have £70m over.

Also, I don't buy this thing of Klopp being stubborn etc. How could you possibly know this?

I have yet to see any evidence whatsoever that he is not being backed with whatever he's asked - to the contrary, every word that comes out of the clubs mouthpieces, and from Klopp himself, is the opposite.

As for Klopp being stubborn over his purchases, well, he wanted Keita. but we couldn't get him. Rather than moving on, we wait a year. He wanted VVD, but we couldn't get him. Rather than moving on, we wait 6 months.

And these are huge money moves - so if money were an issue, and we need more players, it stands to reason that perhaps we wouldn't be breaking the world record, and instead get an attacker, midfielder and defender for the combined 130 or so million, rather than going for very two very expensive options.

And as you said yourself, we know the money is there. So every single factor, and every single comment, points towards Klopp choosing when, and how much, we spend. So if we don't buy an attacker this window, I expect him to buy one next window when whoever it is he has decided upon is available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,509 ✭✭✭✭noodler

I have yet to see any evidence whatsoever that he is not being backed with whatever he's asked - to the contrary, every word that comes out of the clubs mouthpieces, and from Klopp himself, is the opposite.

As for Klopp being stubborn over his purchases, well, he wanted Keita. but we couldn't get him. Rather than moving on, we wait a year. He wanted VVD, but we couldn't get him. Rather than moving on, we wait 6 months.

And these are huge money moves - so if money were an issue, and we need more players, it stands to reason that perhaps we wouldn't be breaking the world record, and instead get an attacker, midfielder and defender for the combined 130 or so million, rather than going for very two very expensive options.

And as you said yourself, we know the money is there. So every single factor, and every single comment, points towards Klopp choosing when, and how much, we spend. So if we don't buy an attacker this window, I expect him to buy one next window when whoever it is he has decided upon is available.

Precisely, 35m on the Ox hardly seemed like a bean counter's decision either. Clear Klopp wanted him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,787 ✭✭✭Benimar

I’m pretty sure we bought some Dutch lad who can play center half. Could be wrong though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,105 ✭✭✭mada999

we could recall him early from the loan...

Benimar wrote: »
    I’m pretty sure we bought some Dutch lad who can play center half. Could be wrong though.

From the funds of the Coutinho sale is what I meant which adds fuel to the speculation that Coutinho's sale has funded the VVD deal , although I'm prepared to wait until the Summer to make a call on that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,181 ✭✭✭Sappy404

He's not the only one who feels that way.

We've sold our best player. We've not replaced him.

We're actively selling our 2nd best striker. We're not linked with any replacement strikers.

We've loaned out a CM despite a long-term injury to Henderson, and poor performances fro Can, who is likely leaving in June, and Wijnaldum, who has regressed dramatically since last year. And again, we've not been linked with a replacement for him.

Yes VVD has come in, but he's not a one-man defence. He's not going to improve our midfield. He's not going to deputise for Bobby if the unthinkable should happen and he gets injured. We're still no closer to knowing when Clyne will relieve an ailing Gomez at RB. We're apparently happy to loan out a striker (who at times is world-class) without having a replacement ready to go. We're still reliant on the fitness of Lallana - a player that has managed 90 minutes a grand total of 11 times since the start of last year and has just come back from a long-term hamstring injury.

If you were to ask Klopp on 1st Feb if having shipped out Coutinho, Sturridge and Grujic and signed VVD whether we're in better shape than we were in December, he'd be lying through his teeth if he said yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

Part of the reason Sturridge stayed this season was he played a big role at the end of last season in getting top 4.

Letting him go on loan after selling Coutinho & buying no one would be a mistake.

I never mentioned that Liverpool haven't the money to spend, morale high ground has nothing to do with this and no I wouldn't be disappointed if they did spend big.

Ricero and a few here constantly mention how poor FSG are, how tight they are and how they sell to buy. Of course he is entitled to ask the questions but do those same questions need to be asked every second day?

It is extremely tiresome reading the same thing over and over. If you are that upset by the actions of the club/board/manager then start to support a team who makes many large signings on a regular basis.

I never mentioned that Liverpool haven't the money to spend, morale high ground has nothing to do with this and no I wouldn't be disappointed if they did spend big.

Ricero and a few here constantly mention how poor FSG are, how tight they are and how they sell to buy. Of course he is entitled to ask the questions but do those same questions need to be asked every second day?

It is extremely tiresome reading the same thing over and over. If you are that upset by the actions of the club/board/manager then start to support a team who makes many large signings on a regular basis.

You do realise that it's entirely normal to support a team but not be happy with how it's being run.

Nobody was happy with Hicks and Gillet and according to your logic we should all have jumped ship and start supporting another team.

Sappy404 wrote: »
    He's not the only one who feels that way.

We've sold our best player. We've not replaced him.

We're actively selling our 2nd best striker. We're not linked with any replacement strikers.

We've loaned out a CM despite a long-term injury to Henderson, and poor performances fro Can, who is likely leaving in June, and Wijnaldum, who has regressed dramatically since last year. And again, we've not been linked with a replacement for him.

Yes VVD has come in, but he's not a one-man defence. He's not going to improve our midfield. He's not going to deputise for Bobby if the unthinkable should happen and he gets injured. We're still no closer to knowing when Clyne will relieve an ailing Gomez at RB. We're apparently happy to loan out a striker (who at times is world-class) without having a replacement ready to go. We're still reliant on the fitness of Lallana - a player that has managed 90 minutes a grand total of 11 times since the start of last year and has just come back from a long-term hamstring injury.

If you were to ask Klopp on 1st Feb if having shipped out Coutinho, Sturridge and Grujic and signed VVD whether we're in better shape than we were in December, he'd be lying through his teeth if he said yes.

In all likelihood Couthino would not have played for us again based off Klopps statement after he left.

Sturridge can't be relied upon. When we need him he's injured. What exactly is the point in keeping him? Let him leave and free up his wages for new contracts for Firmino et al. (I wish Sturridge wasn't injury prone but that's not the case). He hasn't been world class since his famous season with SSS.

Grujic hasn't played much and needs to develop, if he stayed he wasn't going to get much game time ahead of Wij, Can, Ox, Lalana, Milner and Henderson. If this loan helps him come back next season and have a better chance of getting into the first team it has been worthwhile. Henderson is meant to be back this weekend anyway.

I'd like to see TAA come back in at RB and give Gomez a rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

Equally it is very frustating when it looks like the same mistakes as last January are being made when we signed no one when the squad was knackered recovered after getting knocked out of the FA Cup & then had more recovery time.

Klopp has rotated superbly this season but with Coutinho gone we are now short in the forward area's & will probably mean less rotation. Mane also is off form & looking tired too.

I would have no problem selling Coutinho in the summer but selling in Jan & no replacement undoes the great work in getting VVD.

It is too risky to rely on Ings although I thought he looked sharp against Swansea. Solanke & Woodburn are not ready yet.

[/B]
    You do realise that it's entirely normal to support a team but not be happy with how it's being run.

Nobody was happy with Hicks and Gillet and according to your logic we should all have jumped ship and start supporting another team.

Yes i do realize you can support a team and not be happy with how it's run. However Liverpool isn't been run poorly, under Hicks and Gillette it was, under FSG it's been given the ability to stand on its own feet and won't be be in danger of collapse again.

What I said is there is no point complaining about the same thing every second day. If it's bothering you to that level then it's time to walk away.

It's a sport at the end of the day, it's not life or death.

MD1990 wrote: »
    Equally it is very frustating when it looks like the same mistakes as last January are being made when we signed no one when the squad was knackered recovered after getting knocked out of the FA Cup & then had more recovery time.

Klopp has rotated superbly this season but with Coutinho gone we are now short in the forward area's & will probably mean less rotation. Mane also is off form & looking tired too.

I would have no problem selling Coutinho in the summer but selling in Jan & no replacement undoes the great work in getting VVD.

It is too risky to rely on Ings although I thought he looked sharp against Swansea. Solanke & Woodburn are not ready yet.

Lalana wasn't available while Couthino was here and he is back now. After a few games I'm hoping he will be back playing like last season and he will be un-droppable if he manages it.