Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours 2018

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,555 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Happy New Year Lads.
    Virgil van Dijk signs for us today!

Great start to a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,319 ✭✭✭emo72

shaunr68 wrote: »

ok. give us the final link.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

Happy virgil van dijk day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,404 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,937 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Liverpool will demand astronomical fee from Barcelona to sell Philippe Coutinho after Nike website blunder

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/football/2017/12/31/has-philippe-coutinho-signed-barcelona-nike-make-bizarre-kit/amp/?__twitter_impression=true

J2yEbNDg.jpg
    8dfgwdS.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,564 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

Merry new day

tumblr_oj39ieWjw91u2ragso4_r1_500.gif

Go hangover now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,438 ✭✭✭j8wk2feszrnpao

Liverpool will demand astronomical fee from Barcelona to sell Philippe Coutinho after Nike website blunder

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/football/2017/12/31/has-philippe-coutinho-signed-barcelona-nike-make-bizarre-kit/amp/?__twitter_impression=true
    It's gonna be a long transfer window unless Liverpool come out with a statement saying they aren't selling. If that doesn't happen early, this will drag on again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

murpho999 wrote: »
    Happy New Year Lads.
    Virgil van Dijk signs for us today!

Great start to a year.
    Happy virgil van dijk day

Sorry lads, it's tomorrow. No registration possible on January 1st :p

That's alright this day will always belong to someone else on Boards.

Certain rags linking us with Lanzini as Coutinhos replacement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,056 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

Don't have a good feeling about the game today, rotation of players + Burnley bus = nil points :(

I think we should risk a full team to start, keep the presure on city now we have them on the ropes!

Vicxas wrote: »
    Certain rags linking us with Lanzini as Coutinhos replacement
    A month of speculation ahead.
    Print as many as possible, claim credit for the ones that occur, just forget the ones that don't (as they were more than likely made up).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 876 ✭✭✭Rumple Stillson

By any chance, are we the 3pm game today on Sky? That's assuming there is one.

No. Brighton v Bournemouth at 12:30, followed by Utd v Everton at 5:30pm. Leeds v Forest in between.
    Stream it is.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

3 points would be great today. Bound to be tired legs on both sides so could be plenty of mistakes. Tough game though, Burnley are doing well. It'd be a nice new years present to be up to 3rd this evening, could be 6 back though by the same token.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,396 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

, followed by Utd v Everton at 5:30pm.

The immovable object and the unstoppable force. Bus v bus.

Saying that it'll probably have a lot of goals.

5starpool wrote: »
    3 points would be great today. Bound to be tired legs on both sides so could be plenty of mistakes. Tough game though, Burnley are doing well. It'd be a nice new years present to be up to 3rd this evening, could be 6 back though by the same token.

3 points today would be immense. Last year we played city and then Sunderland in 48 hours and snoozed around the pitch

Not confident of any positive result today

Salah is out for two weeks apparently. Okay he'd have missed this match anyway in all likelihood and maybe Everton as well being a Cup game but he'll be missed against City that's for sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,301 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Salah is out for two weeks apparently. Okay he'd have missed this match anyway in all likelihood and maybe Everton as well being a Cup game but he'll be missed against City that's for sure

2 weeks exactly to the city game he might make it yet. Zaha caused City nothing but problems yesterday Salah could do the same. Don't know why but I've a feeling we will beat city at home then obviously drop points the next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

I'd take a point now if I'm honest.

Utd thread must be stuck for things to talk about when there are suggestions that Lukaku and Rashford would get a game with Liverpool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

https://streamable.com/8eh19

VVD first interview

Utd thread must be stuck for things to talk about when there are suggestions that Lukaku and Rashford would get a game with Liverpool.

Just a bit of fun, for us. Imagine having Lukaku leading the line, nearly as galumphing as banjo-backside Benkete

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,392 ✭✭✭GiftofGab

No. Brighton v Bournemouth at 12:30, followed by Utd v Everton at 5:30pm. Leeds v Forest in between.
    Stream it is.

Its not on BT either

Just a bit of fun, for us. Imagine having Lukaku leading the line, nearly as galumphing as banjo-backside Benkete
    Lukaku is a decent striker, but they wanted Morata as he's a far better player. No top side in Europe would want Lukaku though, bit of a panic buy. He'll score goals for Utd, but even the fans know he's not good enough for their ambitions.

One poster in particular making himself look an angry twit over there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,187 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

GiftofGab wrote: »
    Its not on BT either

Just popped here to see if United fans had moved over to this thread since ye moved into ours. Alas no.

BUT if its any help I can tell ye that you're game is on TodayFM Premier Leage Live! (coverage starts @ 2pm) Be it radio or app. So if you cant get a way to watch it, you can at least listen to it! Happy New Year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,397 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

As bad as our defense is portrayed I wouldn’t have Lukaku in it. Gifted goals to a few teams this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,799 ✭✭✭Enzokk

It's gonna be a long transfer window unless Liverpool come out with a statement saying they aren't selling. If that doesn't happen early, this will drag on again.

Didn't stop the stories in the summer about Coutinho, even after the club insisted he is not for sale. The papers were trying to sell him up to the deadline.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,989 ✭✭✭Potential Underachiever

Dodgy game today. Interesting to see how we cope without the main man. I've a feeling Firmino might be rested too. Just getting bad vibes about it, it's being going a little too well the last little while.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

Wouldn't take any of their options in our front four.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,805 ✭✭✭mightyreds

Strong rumours Phil firminio and salah not starting , mane ,lallana and solanke up top

Milner could go to left back and ox in the middle

Wouldn't take any of their options in our front four.

Some Liverpool posters seem to be trying to placate them by saying Martial might have a chance...I’d have Origi ahead of him.

Enzokk wrote: »
    Didn't stop the stories in the summer about Coutinho, even after the club insisted he is not for sale. The papers were trying to sell him up to the deadline.
    It didn’t stop the press, but the club showed that they would not sell. A similar string stance now, early in the window, would settle my mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,805 ✭✭✭mightyreds

Rashford can't even get in a united team that's starting to falter but he's still "world class"

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Some Liverpool posters seem to be trying to placate them by saying Martial might have a chance...I’d have Origi ahead of him.

Martial would do well at Liverpool. He wouldn't be a starter but good backup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Islander13

rob316 wrote: »
    2 weeks exactly to the city game he might make it yet. Zaha caused City nothing but problems yesterday Salah could do the same. Don't know why but I've a feeling we will beat city at home then obviously drop points the next week.

Thought Walker had Zaha in his pocket all game to be honest. In his pocket actually too strong, but he defo won the battle

Just watching Brighton v Bournemouth.
    Shane Duffy a step off Cook and he heads in the cross from the corner.
    Commentator says nothing the defense could do. It was man marking which always seems to get a pass when a goal is conceded, yet when you concede when you go zonal, it gets blasted as a terrible system.
    It’s like Maguire almost been given MOTM despite repeatedly pulling and dragging players, but you go down softly and you’re a cheat.

Islander13 wrote: »
    Thought Walker had Zaha in his pocket all game to be honest. In his pocket actually too strong, but he defo won the battle

Zaha got his "breakthrough" when he switched to the right maybe that's what was being referenced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,511 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Wouldn't have Lukaku in our front four at the moment of course.

However, still think he is an excellent player who will score incredible amounts of goals.

emmetkenny wrote: »
    Martial would do well at Liverpool. He wouldn't be a starter but good backup.

Same as Origi.

Martial is vastly overrated because of who he plays for.

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Same as Origi.

Martial is vastly overrated because of who he plays for.

He is a different type of player and a much better player than Origi.

emmetkenny wrote: »
    He is a different type of player and a much better player than Origi.

Ah yeah, surely we agree Martial is more talented than Origi.

Martial miles better than Origi, he would get plenty of games for us, might not be a nailed starter but he's a very good player. Lukaku not a hope would he start, I actually shudder at the thoughts of it tbh, him just lumbering around up top, no hold up play, no link up play, no movement, ugh no thanks. Granted, he has a good goalscoring record and is a decent finisher but I think even most Utd fans are starting to realise they wasted a wedge on him no matter how many he scores he doesn't bring enough to the team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,861 ✭✭✭Mr.H

Jesus what's going on here

Martial and lukaku are both class players. They are. Rashford is a really talented kid who could end up being a sterling that can finish (although sterlings finishing has improved this season).

But none of those players would make it into our first team. None of hem would be considered "klopp players". It's not saying they are or they are not better Ham our players. I'm just saying they are not good enough to be klopp players. Either is Origi for that matter unfortunately.

Mr.H wrote: »
    Jesus what's going on here

Martial and lukaku are both class players. They are. Rashford is a really talented kid who could end up being a sterling that can finish (although sterlings finishing has improved this season).

But none of those players would make it into our first team. None of hem would be considered "klopp players". It's not saying they are or they are not better Ham our players. I'm just saying they are not good enough to be klopp players. Either is Origi for that matter unfortunately.

Yeah the Lukaku abuse is very poor imo. Like the last five years never happened (or even first quarter of this season).

noodler wrote: »
    Ah yeah, surely we agree Martial is more talented than Origi.

Unless you're wearing blinkers yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,280 ✭✭✭Glico Man

As per James Pearce, no Salah or Coutinho at Burnley

That's it both gone to Spain.

Coutinho to Barca

Salah to Madrid.

£300m to FSG's bank account.

Glico Man wrote: »
    As per James Pearce, no Salah or Coutinho at Burnley

No creativity or No goals either!

Hopefully they do make an appearance!

This is a game we just need to eek out the 3 pts, it's gonna be ugly I think but tough it out and hopefully the squad players can get us a win.