Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bulls*it Jobs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

So called 'hospitality' sector - dead end, low paid jobs with no career path.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭Vela

The gazillion job titles invented to make sales jobs not sound like sales jobs.

And any job title including the word "Ninja".

Oh, and "Customer Happiness Officer". **** off.

Del2005 wrote: »
    The President of Ireland. Quarter a million Euro a year for 7 years and a hundred grand pension for a figure head with no responsibility.

100% agree here. Aside from his rubber-stamping role in terms of confirming government and judiciary, his only real power is to sign legislation into law and that, too, is essentially more rubber stamping of the wishes of the government of the day - Cearbhall Ó Dálaigh's decision to refer a bill to the supreme court notwithstanding. All these rubber-stamping powers of the presidency can easily be transferred to a committee, such as the Council of State, and we can just call the head of government the head of state also if people really want a "head of state".

The money wasted on the current set up of 'president' is, like the money wasted on Seanad Éireann (aka the Irish House of Lords), merely a product of a very anglocentric Irish history. Both institutions are in reality redundant, particularly since the development of continental-style committees in the Oireachtas since we joined the EU. The sole reason why we have a president is because Dev was, entirely correctly, rejecting the British Crown's claim (via the Governor-General) to be head of the independent Irish state. In that specific context, the creation of the office of presidency in Bunreacht na hÉireann in 1937 is wholly understandable.

However, now that the state's independence is undisputed, the original justification for the office is non-existent. Switzerland, for instance, has no head of state and, by most standards, has far greater separation of powers than Ireland has. Of course, there's a peculiarly cultural cringe Oirish mindset which cannot think beyond what happens in Mother England. If "separation of powers" is done a particular way in Mother England, then that's the only way it could ever possibly be done to these myopic little colonised minds!

TLDR: Pointless, but very costly jobs for the Irish taxpayer = president of Ireland and members of Seanad Éireann.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

MDH spends a lot of time meeting foreign dignitaries, bestowing credentials to ambassadors and fulfilling public functions. If his office didn't exist this workload would be added to what you may think of as the more executive public figures. The Taoiseach, Tánaiste etc. So they can deal with the more functional or executive aspects of governing.

That being said, the Salary is a bit over the top. Especially since the incumbent will have no rent, bills or expenses of any kind for seven years. And will be waited on hand and foot.

Another issue is the allocated salary takes no account of other incomes of the President. MDH is in receipt of numerous Government and University pensions. It is a problem echoed throughout the public sector and in the social welfare system. Accumulating benefits. Accumulating pensions. No ceiling on total returns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,558 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Hr.

Such a pointless waste of time. A phalanx of people with nothing to do coming up with ways to validate their positions: courses on how to lift a box correctly, or company wide workshops on handling discussions with disabled black midget lesbians, or some other equally opressed minority. Kanbam walls with targets on 'positive staff engagements' and the like. An industry built on sh1te.

Also, most recruiters. Complete spoofers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

Spent a couple of weeks when I was a young lad cleaning hen sheds that had 5,000 chickens in them each, don't know about bull**** jobs but it certainly was a chicken**** one :)

Are you Napoleon Dynamite?

Did the chickens have large talons?

Nursing, teaching, garda and army.
    I admire the people who do these jobs because the money is poor and the abuse high, especially in the last two.
    They really have to have a vocation for these jobs.

Nursing, teaching, garda are not low paid jobs, especially outside of Dublin (and the majority are outside of Dublin).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,619 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

salonfire wrote: »
    Nursing, teaching, garda are not low paid jobs, especially outside of Dublin (and the majority are outside of Dublin).
    A Registered Nurse (RN) earns an average salary of €30,806 per year
    The first point of the Garda incremental pay scale of €28,405.30.
    The average salary for a Primary School Teacher is €30,128 per year.

Not great wages for what they do at all imo.

And all fully taxed income, which is a rarity in the Irish jobs market. How many of the whingers receive cash in hand/are tax evaders for at least part of their work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,541 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Add in the cost/value of their pension.

Then add in all the extras and top up that guards get.

For primary school teachers, then work it out on a per hour basis (When they can get a permanent position)

(Not claiming that I'd do any of those jobs.......but in terms of benefits and reward for effort, they beat most lower end office jobs by a country mile)

Compete lies.

Garda on point 7 of salary scale: €44,373.55 + allowances + shift allowance + overtime (limited I know).

Nurse on point 7 of salary scale: €37,137 + shift allowance + specialist allowance if working in A+E for example.

Teacher on point 7 of salary scale: €45,972 + allowances

This is only the midway point of their scales. The numbers mentioned here only go up as the years go by.

salonfire wrote: »
    Compete lies.

Garda on point 7 of salary scale: €44,373.55 + allowances + shift allowance + overtime (limited I know).

Nurse on point 7 of salary scale: €37,137 + shift allowance + specialist allowance if working in A+E for example.

Teacher on point 7 of salary scale: €45,972 + allowances

This is only the midway point of their scales. The numbers mentioned here only go up as the years go by.
    Not lies. I googled it. Why would I want to tell lies?
    It's a poor wage starting off imo.

In your post on average salaries on 22/4/11 you spoke about the dangers of looking solely at average salaries.

So what? I am talking about poor wages now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,558 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

you started talking about average salaries, now you say the numbers reflect starting salaries.
    pick one or the other. starting on 28k+ is fine, especially outside dublin

Everyone's wages are poor starting off! That's a stupid argument!!

There are not many examples of entry level, high paid jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,792 ✭✭✭Postgrad10

It can take many many years for a teacher to get a permanent job so they work on a casual and quite often non contract basis earning a lot less than the 30,000.00 start off figure posted above.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,118 ✭✭✭job seeker

Clearly drunker than the OP..

Only seen this now..

I can only drink in moderation unfortunately, due to my illness. Anyway, what I mean't was that the tourism and hospitality was bullsh*t. After qualifying a chef, I have seen first hand the sh1t that goes on in this line of work!

Firstly something so normal as taking a break is frowned upon!

Working in unsuitable conditions, (water leaking from fridges, been one of the issues off the top of my head) because well management prefer to spend the money on accommodation, bar and restaurant departments, where the customer will see those vintage chairs or silk table cloths!

Constantly finishing at 11 or 12 pm and been in the following morning for 7/8 am.

While I realise that these issues don't occur in every establishment. It something I have experienced in many!

To the people who do this for a living and likes it, I say fair play! :) But for me it was an extremely stressful and depressing experience. So forgive me if I'm not "feeling the buzz!" chef! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,541 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

job seeker wrote: »
    I can only drink in moderation unfortunately,

I used to drink in Moderation for a while.

Ten the cunts barred me

Shite name for a pub anyways

retalivity wrote: »
    you started talking about average salaries, now you say the numbers reflect starting salaries.
    pick one or the other. starting on 28k+ is fine, especially outside dublin
    28K is a poor wage no matter where you live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,930 ✭✭✭Greyfox

28k is a good bit more than what a lot of people earn, and good pay for people with no dependants that don't have desirable skills or experience

Just as well then those in the public sector don't stay on 28K. It rises from there each year.