Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scum cause bad crash on N7 thankfully only scum injured

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭Autochange

You sound disappointed.
    Did you know any of the passengers?

I was in the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,619 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Autochange wrote: »
    I was in the car.
    Seemed like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭thee glitz

pablo128 wrote: »
    https://www.thesun.ie/news/1981241/three-members-of-burglary-gang-arrested-as-another-fights-for-his-life-after-getaway-car-crashes-on-n7-limerick-dublin-road/

The Sun has a good insight into the incident and description of the suspects. Turns out they are 4 teenage travellers from Tallaght.

A good insight? They've already got a conviction.
    The thugs committed a raid on a property in Athy, Co Kildare this afternoon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭CeilingFly

I was just thinking that it sounded like poor impoverished members of a certain ethnic group.

Seems I was right.

Time gutless politicians started waking up to the traveller community and tell them their "way of life" is no longer tolerated and that their ethnicity is a load of bollox.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,855 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Will be interesting when they are named and addresses disclosed when they are charged in court :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Four teenage travellers from Tallaght in Dublin sparked chaos on the N7 this afternoon when their car careered across three lanes of traffic and ploughed into an innocent motorist

Three members of a burglary gang are in custody and another is fighting for his life after their getaway car spun wildly out of control and smashed into another.

F*ck that fool anyway. No sympathy for him. Tramp.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭BillyBobBS

Omackeral wrote: »
    F*ck that fool anyway. No sympathy for him. Tramp.

Hopefully is on serious pain right now and has an allergy to morphine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

cold. so get the coal in and keep the fire lighting.

You guys keep right on burying your heads in the sand right up till the minute the burgling gang land at your front door.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

CeilingFly wrote: »
    I was just thinking that it sounded like poor impoverished members of a certain ethnic group.

Urgh. Impoverished people are the worst.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

I've been here so many years now, but this still stuns me.

A piece of news breaks, with some minimum of information on various news sites. But many residents of AH have an absolutely uncanny ability to read so much more information and so many more details that must be hidden somewhere between the lines, invisible to a naive little non-native like me. They can tell you the exact details of the incident, down to the family history of everyone involved up to 4 generations back, as well as their shoe size, star signs and leaving cert results.
    Simply amazing, everytime.

Jesus wept.

That’s the current prevailing atmosphere in the country at the moment,
    Everyone else is responsible and guilty except the criminal.

My father worked as a Dublin firefighter for 30 plus years and the disgust he'd have attending scenes like this. He's a tough resilient man and has been in situations you or I couldn't imagine. My mother told me the only thing that ever effected him greatly was an accident to do with trapped children. He cried for nearly two days before when he attended as a first responder where a toddler was paralysed in a car crash that was the fault of idiots like these. So forgive me if I have a little chuckle at the thought of this dirtbird laid up in hospital (which we'll pay for, though) for the New Year fighting for his pathetic life. He'll never offer anything to society. Nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

Shenshen wrote: »

A piece of news breaks, with some minimum of information on various news sites. But many residents of AH have an absolutely uncanny ability to read so much more information and so many more details that must be hidden somewhere between the lines, invisible to a naive little non-native like me. They can tell you the exact details of the incident, down to the family history of everyone involved up to 4 generations back, as well as their shoe size, star signs and leaving cert results.

The exact details of the incident are in a news report I linked on the previous page. Have a read of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭Negative_G

It's a pity the scumbags car didn't go up in flames.

Remember, these are the type of people who bully, intimidate and assault ordinary law abiding citizens.

They are nothing more than the pond scum of society and deserve to be treated as such as a consequence of their actions.

The usual do-gooders are here already spreading their rhetoric. Maybe someday when some of their ilk break into your home, or better yet, break into your parents/grandparents home and beat them to within an inch of their life, maybe then your eyes will open.

pablo128 wrote: »
    Are you from Pavee Point?

I deleted my post, given some brief consideration, but here it is again:
    The people in the car who caused the crash are 100% to blame

All occupants, and 100%?
    I am not happy one of them is in a serious condition however I have zero sympathy for them either as they had zero regard for other road users.

Will you be giving a statement?

I'm far from Pavee Point, just wondering why AGS bothered doing an investigation when AH / The Sun have already established the facts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,255 ✭✭✭mightybashful

Seen them first hand. You wouldn't invite them round for dinner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,619 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I doubt you have that bit right.

Jimbob1977 wrote: »
    The Gardai will probably get criticised for pursuing the vehicle and endangering the general public.

And the obligatory GSOC investigation when it's obvious what happened.

You can be sure the family of the guy seriously injured in hospital are blaming the Gardai.
    The Garda brutality is both illegal and discriminatory.

Negative_G wrote: »
    The usual do-gooders are here already spreading their rhetoric. Maybe someday when some of their ilk break into your home, or better yet, break into your parents/grandparents home and beat them to within an inch of their life, maybe then your eyes will open.

They'd probably blame themselves for having nice things worth robbing in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭Negative_G

They'd probably blame themselves for having nice things worth robbing in the first place.

Probably. Idiots.

True.
    What socialism boils down to really is the comical notion that if I have €10 and you have €5 omackeral then firstly, I shouldnt have €10 and secondly, it’s not enough that I share my €10 with you, I have to give you the whole €10, for having the cheek to earn €10 in the first place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 mikeweird

Would they have targetted this specific house beforehand travelling from Dublin to Athy

Or would they be on the prowl?

It seems to be the door to door types feeding the information to the gangs, probably using GPS too to get the exact location

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭elperello

In the USA if you drive away from a police stop like that you will most likely be fired on.
    These guys might be feeling sorry for themselves but they are alive.

elperello wrote: »
    In the USA if you drive away from a police stop like that you will most likely be fired on.

Do you agree with that though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,028 ✭✭✭✭anewme

These scumbags use the roadways to escape ......I live fairly near to this incident...and had the same a few years ago...lone female in the house early am with someone kicking your front door and thought they’d be away down the N7 ......Hope they die roaring as someone else said!

Guards told me what the plan was, away down the n7 before anyone copped on,

Garda station abolished in the town so lots of time to escape.

Guards said dodgy accent was a deterrent

thee glitz wrote: »

If it prevents other innocent road users being killed or injured, then yes, of course.

mikeweird wrote: »
    Would they have targetted this specific house beforehand travelling from Dublin to Athy

Or would they be on the prowl?

It seems to be the door to door types feeding the information to the gangs, probably using GPS too to get the exact location

The motorway network to and from Dublin is a god send for these scumbuckets.

Patww79 wrote: »

They were stopped on suspicion of being part of a burglary. Any real connection has yet to be proved.

However, they were stopped by the Gardai and did try to escape after the Gardai stepped out of their own car. As far as I can see, avoiding the police is the only crime capable of being proven at this stage. Since you're concerned with facts. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭EmptyTree

elperello wrote: »

This is simply not the case.

They were stopped on suspicion of being part of a burglary. Any real connection has yet to be proved.

However, they were stopped by the Gardai and did try to escape after the Gardai stepped out of their own car. As far as I can see, avoiding the police is the only crime capable of being proven at this stage. Since you're concerned with facts. ;)

Quick search of the boot will have upped the anti I’d imagine.
    Unless you want to argue that they’ve borrowed the car.
    Or borrowed whatever is in the boot.
    I understand any lengths of the imagination will be stretched in order to exonerate certain citizens from any blame.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,201 ✭✭✭Doltanian

If we had a proper country the gardai would have shot every one of them dead and asked questions after. Scum like this deserve the bullet and nothing less, I know a few lads who own legally held firearms and everyone of them would shoot to kill scum like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭EmptyTree

splinter65 wrote: »
    thee glitz wrote: »

If it prevents other innocent road users being killed or injured, then yes, of course.

This is more likely to result in an innocent road user being killed or injured by a stray round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,509 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

anewme wrote: »
    These scumbags use the roadways to escape ......I live fairly near to this incident...and had the same a few years ago...lone female in the house early am with someone kicking your front door and thought they’d be away down the N7 ......Hope they die roaring as someone else said!

Guards told me what the plan was, away down the n7 before anyone copped on,

Garda station abolished in the town so lots of time to escape.

Guards said dodgy accent was a deterrent

Most of the stations which were closed were only token presences. Was that one open 24 hours a day?

Of the stations to be closed, 98 per cent are currently open part-time, 94 per cent are open for 3 hours or less each day and 88 per cent are served by one garda member.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

Failure to stop is not the only crime under the Road Traffic Acts.

You'll have to think harder if you are going to play armchair legal eagle.

Patww79 wrote: »

You were the one claiming the importance of a "fact"... that wasn't a fact.

Oh, I'm sure they will be found guilty of being involved. However, I'll still prefer innocent until proven guilty. Speculation isn't an indication of fact though.
    splinter65 wrote: »
    Quick search of the boot will have upped the anti I’d imagine.
    Unless you want to argue that they’ve borrowed the car.
    Or borrowed whatever is in the boot.
    I understand any lengths of the imagination will be stretched in order to exonerate certain citizens from any blame.

Hardly related to what I objected to. (As usual.)

Most of the stations which were closed were only token presences. Was that one open 24 hours a day?

Of the stations to be closed, 98 per cent are currently open part-time, 94 per cent are open for 3 hours or less each day and 88 per cent are served by one garda member.

We had one Garda member (who in fairness was very active in the community) and a station and once that was gone, we were a free for all for scumbags such as these.

As someone who these scumbags have tried to target, I’d be delighted to see them all burn.

People are too soft in general in relation to this stuff.

Hateful scum. Death penalty for those who prey on the old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭UrbanFret

STB. wrote: »
    Failure to stop is not the only crime under the Road Traffic Acts.

You'll have to think harder if you are going to play armchair legal eagle.

Hilarious. Where did I either claim authority over the law or even make claims about the law?

A previous poster made a claim as fact. Pure speculation. The only things reported are suggestive rather than proven, except that they were stopped and tried to run. The Gardai stopped them on suspicion of being connected.

Care to provide the proof/evidence right now that shows otherwise?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭previous user

Keep them in their cages, and by cages I mean council estates.

We had one Garda member (who in fairness was very active in the community) and a station and once that was gone, we were a free for all for scumbags such as these.

As someone who these scumbags have tried to target, I’d be delighted to see them all burn.

People are too soft in general in relation to this stuff.

Hateful scum. Death penalty for those who prey on the old.

If it was a one Garda operation you would have been a free for all scumbag area for most of the day anyway.

Keep them in their cages, and by cages I mean council estates.

The good road network provides then with easy escape routes.

Sure rob a few houses in Athy and be back in Tallaght for your tea.

They couldn't do Athy. Garda station open from 9am to 10pm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

Hilarious. Where did I either claim authority over the law or even make claims about the law?

A previous poster made a claim as fact. Pure speculation. The only things reported are suggestive rather than proven, except that they were stopped and tried to run. The Gardai stopped them on suspicion of being connected.

Care to provide the proof/evidence right now that shows otherwise?

I will bet you a months wages it was the 4 in that car that were disturbed breaking into a house in Athy. Would you like to take me up on that bet?

If it was a one Garda operation you would have been a free for all scumbag area for most of the day anyway.

He was always visible. We are a small town.

I can only speak from my own experience and others that we were targeted when the Garda station closed.

They couldn't do Athy. Garda station open from 9am to 10pm.

If you get out onto the motorway you are away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,855 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Gardai need ANPR across the entire motorway network, they need to be working smarter and not harder.