Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dog barked at someone who was afraid of dogs

• Registered Users Posts: 2,233 ✭✭✭mattser

I don't understand why people don't keep their darling muts on a lead. I've lost count of the amount of times I've been out walking and some dog - without a lead- has started barking at me.

The same reason my regular jogs have had to be re-located several times. If I had a Euro for every time I heard " Ah sure he won't touch you ", while it's running behind your heels.

If you have to stop, that's your rhythm, time, and your day spoiled.

Vast majority of owners are responsible, but like all things, it only takes a few selfish prats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭clairewithani

I am sympathetic towards OP in fact I think a person acting as she did is verbal aggression, akin to a dog barking. But come on, surely it is sensible for a person to teach a child not to touch strange dogs.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭Bells21

She began shouting and waving arms prior to the dog barking from my reading of it. If someone you didn't know, that was much bigger than you, began shouting and roaring and waving arms around the place you wouldn't about back at first to tell them to cop on or feck off?!
    Her behaviour startled the dog and caused it to bark.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,697 ✭✭✭DickSwiveller

kylith wrote: »
    It's not the OP's fault that she is afraid of dogs. And it is perfectly legal for dogs to be off lead as long as they are under control, which the OP's dog was.

I would suggest that if someone is so afraid of dogs that it affects them going about their daily life then they should look into getting therapy to desensitise them. 99.99999% of dogs are of absolutely no danger to anyone when out in public, whether on or off lead.

But the fact is that many people are afraid of dogs, even if it is just barking and not physically attacking them. Some people don't like dogs - me being one - and would rather not have to pass them without a lead.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

Keep your dogs on a lead, not every stranger minding their own business is happy to have your dog lunge at them, even if fifi trixiebelle is "harmless".

hmmm wrote: »
    Keep your dogs on a lead, not every stranger minding their own business is happy to have your dog lunge at them, even if fifi trixiebelle is "harmless".

Well said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,030 ✭✭✭njs030

But the fact is that many people are afraid of dogs, even if it is just barking and not physically attacking them. Some people don't like dogs - me being one - and would rather not have to pass them without a lead.

Well that's not what happened here.

If you wave your arms and shout at a dog or a person it's threatening, either species will shout back.
    The woman instigated the problem.

As for the rest of your post if you wish the law to be changed write to your local td.

Or.... Read what happened before posting.

• Registered Users Posts: 212 ✭✭Shaungoater

Had something similar with somebody a few years ago. A couple and their child were picnicking on the beach and only saw them as I turned the corner. My Samoyed, who is the warmest dog ever, went over to them. He feels everyone should pet him, he's full of himself. Anyway, the man freaked out and kicked him. I ran over and asked what you are doing, he attacked me he said. I freaked out and they were freaking at me.

Moral of the story, some people are dicks and there's nothing you can do about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,233 ✭✭✭mattser

Well said.

Nice to see a lot of common sense prevailing here.

Well that's not what happened here.

If you wave your arms and shout at a dog or a person it's threatening, either species will shout back.
    The woman instigated the problem.

As for the rest of your post if you wish the law to be changed write to your local td.

Well, if a person has a fear of dogs, then of course they are going to get agitated if they see one running around near them. I live in Dublin 12 and many stupid dog owners walk around with their dogs off the lead. These dogs are often pitbulls/staffis. If they are walking towards me then I do get agitated. My sister is much worse, and will walk in a different direction if she sees one approaching.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Jurgen Klopp

Fine if your afraid of dogs it happens. But in world dogs are everywhere so toughen the fcuk up

It's unfortunate you had the leash off but it's not a firing squad offence

"Entitled to feel safe in my own area" FFS

These are the kind of eejits that caused a UK council to be investigated cause they were making so many complaints that people in an area received noticed for not only dogs barking too loudly but complained their neighbours children cried too much and too loudly

• Registered Users Posts: 5,419 ✭✭✭FAILSAFE 00

It's not the OP's fault that she is afraid of dogs. And it is perfectly legal for dogs to be off lead as long as they are under control, which the OP's dog was.

I would suggest that if someone is so afraid of dogs that it affects them going about their daily life then they should look into getting therapy to desensitise them. 99.99999% of dogs are of absolutely no danger to anyone when out in public, whether on or off lead.

Can a dog be considered under control without being on a lead in public? I don't think so.

I love dogs but I've seen enough in public places to say they should nearly always be on a lead. We have all seen the scraps with other dogs, the aggressive barking at people, jumping up on people who don't like that.

Having every dog off a lead is asking for massive problems. It's a selfish attitude by a small amount of dog owners.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭dzilla

She sounds like a person who enjoys getting upset and offended and a reason to get into her safe space. Id have just laughed at her irrational response to a nothing situation.

Can a dog be considered under control without being on a lead in public? I don't think so.

I love dogs but I've seen enough in public places to say they should nearly always be on a lead. We have all seen the scraps with other dogs, the aggressive barking at people, jumping up on people who don't like that.

Having every dog off a lead is asking for massive problems. It's a selfish attitude by a small amount of dog owners.

It's selfish that you think the world and all the dogs in it should revolve around you tbh.
    Not every dog is allowed off a lead just those who's owners have them under control.

Anyway this is off topic and you're only interested in pushing an anti dog pov not helping the op so I'm out.

Fine if your afraid of dogs it happens. But in world dogs are everywhere so toughen the fcuk up

It's unfortunate you had the leash off but it's not a firing squad offence

"Entitled to feel safe in my own area" FFS

These are the kind of eejits that caused a UK council to be investigated cause they were making so many complaints that people in an area received noticed for not only dogs barking too loudly but complained their neighbours children cried too much and too loudly

Why are you so arrogant that you can't comprehend that many people just don't like dogs and find them intimidating? I personally can't stand them and wish there were tighter restrictions. There is a sort of cult around dogs, manifested in a bizarre, irrational attachment to the muts.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,038 ✭✭✭✭tk123

LOL that reminded me of a funny story to lighten the mood... My friend's aunt was always terrified of dogs... They went to visit her one day (she had dementia and was in a care home) and there she was sitting with a therapy dog on her lap delighted with the dog - she'd forgotten she was afraid of them :D:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,419 ✭✭✭FAILSAFE 00

It's selfish that you think the world and all the dogs in it should revolve around you tbh.
    Not every dog is allowed off a lead just those who's owners have them under control.

Anyway this is off topic and you're only interested in pushing an anti dog pov not helping the op so I'm out.
    Huh.

So when someone gives a rational point of view you label them as extremists. Nice.

I have a dog hating rally to get to at 8pm lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭clairewithani

tk123 wrote: »
    LOL that reminded me of a funny story to lighten the mood... My friend's aunt was always terrified of dogs... They went to visit her one day (she had dementia and was in a care home) and there she was sitting with a therapy dog on her lap delighted with the dog - she'd forgotten she was afraid of them :D:pac:

Does this kinda prove fear is rational more than irrational I wonder. Really interesting.

• Registered Users Posts: 324 ✭✭spindex

Had something similar with somebody a few years ago. A couple and their child were picnicking on the beach and only saw them as I turned the corner. My Samoyed, who is the warmest dog ever, went over to them. He feels everyone should pet him, he's full of himself. Anyway, the man freaked out and kicked him. I ran over and asked what you are doing, he attacked me he said. I freaked out and they were freaking at me

Moral of the story, some people are dicks and there's nothing you can do about it.

To me the moral of this story is that your dog should be kept under your control and not be able to bother other people.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,038 ✭✭✭✭tk123

Why are you so arrogant that you can't comprehend that many people just don't like dogs and find them intimidating? I personally can't stand them and wish there were tighter restrictions. There is a sort of cult around dogs, manifested in a bizarre, irrational attachment to the muts.

Imagine that - posters in API who like their dogs??!?!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

Had something similar with somebody a few years ago. A couple and their child were picnicking on the beach and only saw them as I turned the corner. My Samoyed, who is the warmest dog ever, went over to them. He feels everyone should pet him, he's full of himself. Anyway, the man freaked out and kicked him. I ran over and asked what you are doing, he attacked me he said. I freaked out and they were freaking at me.
    I'm presuming this is a joke? A man and his child are approached by a large strange dog, and the man reacted. How was he to know your precious dog was "warm" and not there to have a go at the child?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭borderlinemeath

I have one brother who is terrified of dogs. He can't walk certain places like the beach or parks for fear that he will come across some off their leads.

The woman obviously got quite a shock. I've seen my brothers reaction to just happy dogs running up and wagging their tail. I can only imagine if a dog was barking at him off the lead.
    I'd cut her some slack. It's a hell of a fright to someone that is frightened of dogs.

So it's ok that the woman then went up to a complete stranger and said that the OPs dog attacked her? Just because somebody has a fear, then it's ok to embellish the truth to suit their own agenda so they don't look mad as a brush screaming at a dog?

I have 4 medium to large dogs. They don't care if they meet people or other dogs out and about, they're more interested in doing their own thing, sniffing and chasing birds. Now, one is vocal when chasing birds so to anybody who is afraid of dogs might misinterpret this as aggression. But he won't even be looking in their direction, he'll be following the bird. I've had a few people tell me that it's "the law" to put my dogs on lead, when they are nowhere near them, not even looking at them. I tend to either stop and tell them the law - and if they are afraid, then I'll have to shout it from a distance so as not to encroach on their space. One point of my finger sends my dogs in the other direction, up into sand dunes or into a bog and out of sight of people who may have difficulty with dogs. I won't put mine on lead unless I'm in a place that has leash bye laws or am heading into a dog friendly cafe etc. Even yesterday, where I park to go on my walk on the beach was packed, full of people heading out for walks to brush off the cobwebs of Christmas. There were people with kids, kids on bikes, people with dogs, and I knew that somebody might react, as my vocal boy screetches with excitement when I let him out, so I parked down the end of all the cars, reversed in and backed up so when I opened the van door, they were all heading the right direction. One call to head that way and they were gone down towards the estuary where it is far quieter and not as "pretty" as the main beach and used primarily for walking dogs for that reason - you don't meet the fair weather walkers!

Fear of dogs is one of those things that can impact on everyday life, people meet dogs everywhere, on streets, parks, beaches, mountain walks etc. And it's also one of the phobias that is easier to recover from, there are specialist people who do just that.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,603 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

From the OP’s version of events it does sound like the person overreacted. But it does prompt the bigger discussion about dogs off leads in public places. I personally think that lol dogs should be on leads in public places unless there is some advanced certified training completed. A dog off lead is under control until it’s not, and in this case, however fleeting a moment it was, the dog was not under control, albeit briefly.

There is far too much irresponsible behaviour from many owners when it comes to leaving dogs off lead and there is no way of gauging dog and owner competence. Not everyone reacts to dogs the same way and vice versa. (Kids etc)

I equate it to seats belts in a car. We don’t leave our seat belt off when we’re “just nipping out to shop” because we know our car and we know our own driving ability.

Btw this is NOT a dig at the OP. Just a comment on the wider discussion about dogs on leashes in public places.

(I’m a dog owner FWIW)

• Registered Users Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Yes, they are considered so. If the dog doesn't bother others and comes when called it is considered under control.

Well, my mum is deathly afraid of cats and would rather not have other people's cats wandering around loose, but there's bog all she can do about that so she has to live with it. Same as; dogs are allowed in certain places off lead. Therefore if you encounter a dog off lead you'll just have to live with it, at least it has an owner with it to take responsibility.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭borderlinemeath

You'll get some thanks for your anti dog ranting in after hours, but you do realise that you're posting in the pets forum? You may as well head over to the cycling forum and tell them they're all road scourges while your at it.

Huh.

So when someone gives a rational point of view you label them as extremists. Nice.

I have a dog hating rally to get to at 8pm lol

Huh?? Your 'rational' point of view was basically you don't like it so everyone should do what you want regardless that the law is against you.
    That's rational yeah.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,455 ✭✭✭TheChizler

I was this was true but it regularly isn't. I used to walk my own dog and OH's dog quite a bit in a popular park for dogs. We got sick of the number of dogs who would run over worrying them, bowling them over with excitement, or just following us making them nervous. The owners were either out of sight when it happened, or eventually came over laughing saying the dogs were friendly and wouldn't harm ours. Meanwhile poor Lucy (RIP) would be lying on the ground too terrified to walk, panting and heart racing. Alfie would be pulling at his lead whimpering trying to get away.

Yes the dogs didn't harm ours, and yes they were friendly, but we didn't know that before it would have been too late if they weren't. We would have much preferred to have a nice walk where our own dogs could have socialised with other dogs at their own pace, not been knocked over by them. I could understand how someone who was (irrationally) scared of dogs would be terrified or act inappropriately in that situation.

Lucy was great with kids too but the number of parents who would tell their own kids to go rub the lovely puppy without asking was unreal. They always went straight for the eyes as well which scared her understandably. Don't think I ever saw someone put their hands down low and let either dog come to them.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

I think both parties are as bad as each other. If the woman is that afraid she should really look into seeing a professional to work on her phobia. As someone said we live in a world where dogs are around, they are a fact of life. It can't be much of a life if you are scared of them.

The owner should be mindful of other people though. I love dogs but I've lost count of the times an unleashed dog has run at me, mostly in a friendly manner but it's still a pain when I'm not sure of it's intentions. All the owners say "he never normally does that". I can imagine if someone has a fear of a dog that it's very intimidating. As owners the onus is on us to protect ourselves and our pets and the public.

TheChizler wrote: »
    I was this was true but it regularly isn't. I used to walk my own dog and OH's dog quite a bit in a popular park for dogs. We got sick of the number of dogs who would run over worrying them, bowling them over with excitement, or just following us making them nervous. The owners were either out of sight when it happened, or eventually came over laughing saying the dogs were friendly and wouldn't harm ours. Meanwhile poor Lucy (RIP) would be lying on the ground too terrified to walk, panting and heart racing. Alfie would be pulling at his lead whimpering trying to get away.

Yes the dogs didn't harm ours, and yes they were friendly, but we didn't know that before it would have been too late if they weren't. We would have much preferred to have a nice walk where our own dogs could have socialised with other dogs at their own pace, not been knocked over by them. I could understand how someone who was (irrationally) scared of dogs would be terrified or act inappropriately in that situation.

Lucy was great with kids too but the number of parents who would tell their own kids to go rub the lovely puppy without asking was unreal. They always went straight for the eyes as well which scared her understandably. Don't think I ever saw someone put their hands down low and let either dog come to them.

I meant allowed by law rather than owners.
    Yeah I hate the "go rub the dog" thing too!! Though one of mine is a huge black dog so no one wants to rub her! Pity because she loves children. All the youngsters locally play with her and she's happy with that!