Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Trucking general chat - was Forum/Sub-forum proposal

• Registered Users Posts: 55 ✭✭audiavantawx

I’m as courteous as one can be.

I’m off for a few months now, but on my return I’ll be no different.

Truckers aren’t called ‘the kings of the road’ for nothing.

But yes I have had some bad experiences with fellow truckers.

Any chance of a free breakfast if I’m in weatherfield sometime Roy :pac:

Should stick together alright
    I honestly cant understand how a lad can not lift of the trottle for a couple of seconds to help a lad passing out,that is one thing i can say i always do,even in the car if i am getting passed and their struggling i will let them past and flash the light as soon as the back doors pass me bumper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭Rave.ef

bren11 wrote: »
    Details as follows:
    Departure port Rosslare
    Arrival port Cherbourg
    Departure date 03/02/18
    Departure time 16:30
    Vehicle Reg Add reg.
    Length (in metres) 16.5
    SUB TOTAL
    Rate €935.00
    Fuel €17.49
    Passengers €0.00
    Extras €0.00
    TOTAL (EXC VAT)
    €952.49

And that's just the tip of the iceberg on a weeks running cost.:eek:

Why do truck drivers not be more helpfully to each other while trying to overtake? Takes ages for one to get around..

And does the green light on back of cab mean abs is or is not working?

For the most part we all help each other out best we can but it's the same as every walk of life there are dips*** drivers too who have a problem with being passed.
    Drive a certain type of lorry always wearing flannel shirts and superhamton booths.:rolleyes::p

Oh and a V8 jacket

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭bren11

Usually have cruise controle on the limit on a motorway, but will back off a few clicks to let one overtake, and flash them in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭bren11

Usually have cruise controle on the limit on a motorway, but will back off a few clicks to let one overtake, and flash them in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭boardsuser1

Nowadays my truck is so slow on the motorway at top speed i don't even need to back off to let people overtake me, they just fly past, lunacy!

On a trip up the east of west i'm convinced it costs me a half an hour definitely :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,058 ✭✭✭finnharpsboy

Always slow down when trucks are overtaking me, as soon as they are clear flash them back in.

Delivering to Fleet Street this morning, a plain clothed Garda approached, flashed his badge, checked drivers licence then started taking photos of the truck unloading.
    Asked what it was about and wouldn't even answer, just sauntered away.

A bit of respect on the road gos a long way. Seems to be lost on a good few 4 wheelers tho.

Where you wearing the Finn harps jersey:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,068 ✭✭✭✭neris

Rave.ef wrote: »
    Drive a certain type of lorry always wearing flannel shirts and superhamton booths.:rolleyes::p
    Oh and a V8 jacket

Sorry :(

• Registered Users Posts: 55 ✭✭audiavantawx

neris wrote: »

Tangtastic
    Cant bait the scania starter pack

Spur boots,Flannel shirt,Cow boy hat and the fancy wave

Slight lyric s change,Should be pull the fuse in a bullnose truck im heading for the boat haha

Catchy tune though,fair play to him

I actually like it:cool:

Good video, i wonder did i feature in it :pac:

Was it not you on the roundabout:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭s14driftking

Apparently they’ve gotten their act together some bit in recent years have they?

They still aren’t great but nothing near as bad as they were.

Is it the same crowd that likes taking down bridges??
    Usually auld clapped out dafs limited to80kms.

Is it the same crowd that likes taking down bridges??
    Usually auld clapped out dafs limited to80kms.

Yeah they like ‘movin on’ a bit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭s14driftking

Yeah they like ‘movin on’ a bit

Talk bad about them on irish rigs Ull get torn a new arse hole lately.
    Never understood companies restricting the lorries so much, it surly costs them more on overtime and as such the newer trucks are designed to be there most fuel efficient at 90kms.

Talk bad about them on irish rigs Ull get torn a new arse hole lately.
    Never understood companies restricting the lorries so much, it surly costs them more on overtime and as such the newer trucks are designed to be there most fuel efficient at 90kms.

I unfollowed that page, too much going on there, one of the lads i work with added me to another page, Irish Road Haulage photos or something, seems grand and quiet, that's where i come across JB's photos.

Odelay wrote: »
    Is the Diesel Queen still about? Haven't seen her in donkeys, and no, I never stopped for her.

Haven’t seen her in about 15 years.

She aged badly even back then.

That one cleaned up big time.

There is only one way some one knows about the diesel queen........

First I'm hearing of this queen BTW???

Seriously tho I remember being told a few years ago she died but I don't know how reliable that source would be.

There is only one way some one knows about the diesel queen........

First I'm hearing of this queen BTW???

Seriously tho I remember being told a few years ago she died but I don't know how reliable that source would be.

I was 15 when I first heard of her.

All black leather with fish net tights if I remember correctly.

This is a diesel queen.
    https://youtu.be/Tas59JfTrt4

Is it the same crowd that likes taking down bridges?? .

That's stobarts but they have their own enginerring division to rebuild the bridges :D

Talk bad about them on irish rigs Ull get torn a new arse hole .

Is that on the Facebook group? I'm on the site a bit and it's dead, don't have Facebook

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

Is posting HGV / Truck videos allowed here?
    Here's a dash cam vid from a few years back.

Nice U Turn.

Another bunch of wexford rust bucket merchants having problems with the immigrant workers

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/social-affairs/migrant-workers-at-haulage-firm-threaten-to-set-themselves-alight-1.3377871

As there is no union representatives involved almost certainly, dismissal is almost certain.

The workers need psychiatric/psychology assistance possibly.

It must be very difficult for some of them.

I doubt this was their first attempt to try and resolve these problems.

It highlights the need for union representation.

I had it myself and the membership was beneficial.

Companies can’t stop workers signing up.

I know nothing of that particular company, just if a company with the same name in Cork.

This is a diesel queen.
    https://youtu.be/Tas59JfTrt4

As with some of the comments on the video, she’s a lovely wee lass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Gavman84

Was passing watergrasshill yesterday!
    http://imgur.com/uq5LcIJ
    http://imgur.com/jRNye0L

Gavman84 wrote: »
    Was passing watergrasshill yesterday!
    http://imgur.com/uq5LcIJ
    http://imgur.com/jRNye0L

I'd love a proper tour of McCarthy's and even a spin in one or two of the rigs.

All joking aside, if anyone is ever in there for any reason, Colman McCarthy is an absolute gent.

Literly where I am right now. The van parked there made it tight to get on the bay that's already tight with the rsj:rolleyes:

20180205_122239.jpg

Literly where I am right now. The van parked there made it tight to get on the bay that's already tight with the rsj:rolleyes:

20180205_122239.jpg

Did you attempt it?

Was on the bay when I took the pic:D

Just an example of how clueless some lads can be even when they spend all day in places like that. Even the canopy in that place is a joke. Drop the air an truck and trailer to get under it. Still rubs on the way out tho with a load.

Was on the bay when I took the pic:D

Just an example of how clueless some lads can be even when they spend all day in places like that. Even the canopy in that place is a joke. Drop the air an truck and trailer to get under it. Still rubs on the way out tho with a load.

Which place is it?

Need to make a note to avoid it :D

Dropped the trailer only or the tractor unit as well?

Which place is it?

Need to make a note to avoid it :D

Dropped the trailer only or the tractor unit as well?

CGI Middleton

Both. Reefer is a hi cube box and the trailer is a slider so it's chassis on chassis makes it that bit higher. I always say I'll get a solid trailer next time I'm going there but never works out that way.

CGI Middleton

Both. Reefer is a hi cube box and the trailer is a slider so it's chassis on chassis makes it that bit higher. I always say I'll get a solid trailer next time I'm going there but never works out that way.
    Derrynaflan Foods?

The solid trailers are in high demand where you are so :D

Derrynaflan Foods?

The solid trailers are in high demand where you are so :D

Ya sane yard.

We only have a few because I'd say less hassle.

Were those toddlers under the care of a minor?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

Hello Everybody,

We have made a change to cater for this request. What we have done is repurposed the 4x4 & HGVs & Tractors & Diggers & Plant forum to include Trucking related topics. It is now called Haulage & Heavy Machinery. The original forum kind of catered for Trucking anyway. If the Trucking aspect of the forum takes off in a big way, then we can look at providing a dedicated forum. For now, we reckon merging and repurposing is the best solution.

/tD

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

Open to suggestions for renaming this thread and Trucking Pix. There has to be better titles than my pathetic attempts.

tricky D wrote: »
    Open to suggestions for renaming this thread and Trucking Pix. There has to be better titles than my pathetic attempts.

Nothing at all wrong with it.

I would've come up with something similar to be honest.

An article in today's Irish Examiner reporting on the Multi Agency checkpoints in Cork yesterday.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/driver-held-after-fleeing-checkpoint-826777.html

This checkpoint took place between Halfway and Innishannon with members of the gardaí, customs, Road Safety Authority, revenue, and social protection.
    Mr Farrell said several vehicles had very bald tyres, which are a contributory factor in 14% of all fatal road accidents.

He said RSA vehicle inspectors discovered one truck with “dangerous corrosion on its suspension” and it was immediately impounded.

Mr Farrell said the RSA compile data on haulage companies to see if their trucks are properly maintained.

RSA transport officers also inspected tachographs in vehicles driven by professional drivers to ensure they hadn’t exceeded permitted time limits behind the wheel.