Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trucking general chat - was Forum/Sub-forum proposal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭boardsuser1

Rave.ef wrote: »
    I am indeed.

Was speaking with one of your lads at Masterlink in Blarney last year, he said it was a cushy number.

Would you recommend it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭osheen

God that brings me back, first truck I had was a 1979 10t ford custom followed by 1984 ford cargo.
    The 50 multidrops were grafton st area. 10 on grafton 10 on wicklow st etc. Would do about 20km drive total and about 10km walking. All done in 5 or 6 hours!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭Rave.ef

osheen wrote: »
    God that brings me back, first truck I had was a 1979 10t ford custom followed by 1984 ford cargo.
    The 50 multidrops were grafton st area. 10 on grafton 10 on wicklow st etc. Would do about 20km drive total and about 10km walking. All done in 5 or 6 hours!

You defiantly didn't have the crap food and lack of exercise most have to deal with. Tough day to put down id say.

If the scania boys knew they are the same people that brought them the v8

ssssshhhhhhhhhhhhhhh :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 55 ✭✭audiavantawx

Stick this wagon with that trailer of logs haha id love a spin in that

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lqGh60qPFqY

Dungarvan Transport could do with a few of those.
    Stick this wagon with that trailer of logs haha id love a spin in that

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lqGh60qPFqY

Some sound :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 55 ✭✭audiavantawx

Dungarvan Transport could do with a few of those.

Some sound :eek:

I know ye,You would be mutton after a day driving that with the window down
    N14 Cummins Lump in it

Shame they didnt stick with the cummins

I know ye,You would be mutton after a day driving that with the window down
    N14 Cummins Lump in it

Shame they didnt stick with the cummins

Cummins always did great engines.

They even did a 2 stroke engine in the 80's.

That's some machine.

As far as the 2 stroke diesel as far as I know it was only good for site work. Would be clane useless to pull up a hill:p

That's some machine.

As far as the 2 stroke diesel as far as I know it was only good for site work. Would be clane useless to pull up a hill:p

The 80's and 90's single decker city buses in the C.I.E/Bus Eireann fleet had those engines.

The 'KC' class they were called.

Slow out up a hill and regularly overheated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,078 ✭✭✭✭neris

and a leftie aswell..... wont be much us to him when he cant get onto the continent coz of brexit :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭osheen

neris wrote: »
    and a leftie aswell..... wont be much us to him when he cant get onto the continent coz of brexit :D

Wont he be able to get the new ferry to spain! Get a nice rest on that crossing biscay in winter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,907 ✭✭✭Odelay

The twin beacons have to go. Otherwise a cracking rig!

Never drove a leftie, wouldn't mind a go.
    osheen wrote: »
    Wont he be able to get the new ferry to spain! Get a nice rest on that crossing biscay in winter.

How long will it take though, what was Cork to France? 24 hours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭westgolf

Odelay wrote: »
    The twin beacons have to go. Otherwise a cracking rig!

Cracking rig alright. "World Courier" on the head board so beacons might be an airside requirement ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,074 ✭✭✭finnharpsboy

Only a recent member to the C licence club.
    Some day I will join the artic club but for now, its little rigids for me :D

Brand new 181 little 12 tonne MAN arrived for us yesterday in work :)

Only a recent member to the C licence club.
    Some day I will join the artic club but for now, its little rigids for me :D

Brand new 181 little 12 tonne MAN arrived for us yesterday in work :)

Send on the photos ;)

5vaWox8.jpg

It gets worse from here though..... prepare yourself for the colour of the body :eek:

M1pwSib.jpg

HIAB going on early next week.

The other little rigid we drive about in is this one.

A8F7KPQ.jpg

5vaWox8.jpg

It gets worse from here though..... prepare yourself for the colour of the body :eek:

M1pwSib.jpg

HIAB going on early next week.

The other little rigid we drive about in is this one.

A8F7KPQ.jpg

Good god the colour :eek:

Give me the MAN over the DAF any day.

Are you trained up on the hiab?

Good god the colour :eek:

Give me the MAN over the DAF any day.

Are you trained up on the hiab?

Yeah have the cert for the HIAB.
    All remote control, took a bit of getting used to from using the levers on previous HIAB

Yeah have the cert for the HIAB.
    All remote control, took a bit of getting used to from using the levers on previous HIAB

Remote control is cool tho.
    I really like the colour it's not something you see every day.

How heavy is the HIAB. Do ye carry much weight at a time.

Does the tail swing on it worry you?

How heavy is the HIAB. Do ye carry much weight at a time.

The weight of the HIAB on the daf is somewhere between 2 and 3 tonne.
    Depending on what jobs are on, but the average might be 7 to 8 tonne.

The colour is different, a bit loud when ya first see it but I suppose ya get used to it the more you see it. Driving it down the road this morning it was getting some funny looks :D

Odelay wrote: »
    Does the tail swing on it worry you?

Tail swing on the MAN? It looks like the back of it is overhanging by a good bit but I think that’s just the angle of the photo. We had another MAN, something similar but a lot older with the same overhang so well used to getting it around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

The weight of the HIAB on the daf is somewhere between 2 and 3 tonne.
    Depending on what jobs are on, but the average might be 7 to 8 tonne.

The colour is different, a bit loud when ya first see it but I suppose ya get used to it the more you see it. Driving it down the road this morning it was getting some funny looks :D

Ye would be pushing the limit with 5 ton on her never mind 7 or 8:D:P

biko wrote: »

Hey, Rubber Duck, do we have a convoy? Is the truckers forum approved?

Ye would be pushing the limit with 5 ton on her never mind 7 or 8:D:P

Can take 9.9 tonne fully loaded but don’t ask me to drive up one side of a speed bump with that loaded on it :D
    I’d be afraid it wouldn’t make it !!!!

The little MAN will be able to take 5 tonne, once a HIAB goes on I’ll know for certain then.

Can take 9.9 tonne fully loaded but don’t ask me to drive up one side of a speed bump with that loaded on it :D
    I’d be afraid it wouldn’t make it !!!!

The little MAN will be able to take 5 tonne, once a HIAB goes on I’ll know for certain then.

Id imagine she's about 3.5 maybe 4t as it is and plus the HIAB.

I drove a Mercedes 12t for a week from limericks to Dublin something similar to your MAN and id never do it again. Lovely little truck in around the city but up and down I was broken up from it. Couldn't wait to get back into my TGX. Is the TGL comfortable.

Id imagine she's about 3.5 maybe 4t as it is and plus the HIAB.

I drove a Mercedes 12t for a week from limericks to Dublin something similar to your MAN and id never do it again. Lovely little truck in around the city but up and down I was broken up from it. Couldn't wait to get back into my TGX. Is the TGL comfortable.

From the previous scrap we've driven its luxury to us, but yeah its comfortable enough.
    Hasn't been put to use just yet, once the hiab goes on it we will see :D

I expect there was one or two unhappy campers this morning after being woken to move their cars :o hard to squeeze through that

rR9IWbH.jpg

From the previous scrap we've driven its luxury to us, but yeah its comfortable enough.
    Hasn't been put to use just yet, once the hiab goes on it we will see :D

I expect there was one or two unhappy campers this morning after being woken to move their cars :o hard to squeeze through that

rR9IWbH.jpg

I love it :D

Nothing better than dragging some pour soul out of bed early on a Saturday morning to move their car, they might think differently next time :pac:

some of the other scrap we've had the pleasure of owning

A little 7.5 tonne Isuzu. We would have been better off with a bag of magic beans and hoping for the best.
    kz8VBuS.jpg

Another 12 tonne MAN
    Ay5dRck.jpg

CE test march 1st, was hopeing they put it off till may or june. :(

Have you done many lessons? many scheduled between now and then?

Where abouts are you doing it?

• Registered Users Posts: 196 ✭✭eyebrows63

• Registered Users Posts: 202 ✭✭911s

I love it :D

Nothing better than dragging some pour soul out of bed early on a Saturday morning to move their car, they might think differently next time :pac:

Can you explain your thinking here, cars legally parked outside owners homes in residential street and looks like enough room left to allow other cars to pass through and you think they should think differently and expect to have a truck down their quiet street on a Saturday morning. Surely it’s the transport manager for the builders suppliers who should have a knowledge of his local area who needs to think differently, and perhaps plan to use a vehicle more suitable for residential area or bread down delivery into smaller units.
    The expectation of truck driver to think he is justified in getting people out of bed on Saturday morning to allow his truck through is the type of thing that would just add ammunition to the anti-truck lobby

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Kevwoody

911s wrote:
    Can you explain your thinking here, cars legally parked outside owners homes in residential street and looks like enough room left to allow other cars to pass through and you think they should think differently and expect to have a truck down their quiet street on a Saturday morning. Surely it’s the transport manager for the builders suppliers who should have a knowledge of his local area who needs to think differently, and perhaps plan to use a vehicle more suitable for residential area or bread down delivery into smaller units. The expectation of truck driver to think he is justified in getting people out of bed on Saturday morning to allow his truck through is the type of thing that would just add ammunition to the anti-truck lobby

What if it was an ambulance? Or the fire brigade?

911s wrote: »
    Can you explain your thinking here, cars legally parked outside owners homes in residential street and looks like enough room left to allow other cars to pass through and you think they should think differently and expect to have a truck down their quiet street on a Saturday morning. Surely it’s the transport manager for the builders suppliers who should have a knowledge of his local area who needs to think differently, and perhaps plan to use a vehicle more suitable for residential area or bread down delivery into smaller units.
    The expectation of truck driver to think he is justified in getting people out of bed on Saturday morning to allow his truck through is the type of thing that would just add ammunition to the anti-truck lobby

The anti truck brigade have enough to be dealing with.

As Kev said, fire engines,ambulances etc may have to get through there.

In the face of it,I wouldn’t stand a chance of getting my rig through there.

And I have had to knock on the doors of homes to kindly request them to move their vehicles to accommodate my safe passage through their estate.

The last thing I want to be doing is filling in accident report forms unnecessarily.

I’d take verbal grief at having to get someone out of bed over that any day.

Anyone who thinks us truckers have it easy have never driven them in the modern era.

Kevwoody wrote: »
    What if it was an ambulance? Or the fire brigade?

The ambulance or fire brigade dispatcher should have a knowledge of the area and send smaller vehicles instead. :D

Also the resident of the house the delivery was for couldnt get his van and trailer passed, perhaps he should have purchased in an area with wider roads.

Could have done multi drops i suppose on our "in case of emergency" vehicle, but it could only carry 5 blocks at a time instead of the 300 the customer got.

IDnOhAW.jpg

The anti truck brigade have enough to be dealing with.

As Kev said, fire engines,ambulances etc may have to get through there.

In the face of it,I wouldn’t stand a chance of getting my rig through there.

And I have had to knock on the doors of homes to kindly request them to move their vehicles to accommodate my safe passage through their estate.

The last thing I want to be doing is filling in accident report forms unnecessarily.

I’d take verbal grief at having to get someone out of bed over that any day.

Anyone who thinks us truckers have it easy have never driven them in the modern era.

Upon waking the drivers of two vehicles in order for safe passage, they were most apologetic for delaying the delivery and causing an obstruction.

No grief from them at all :)

Upon waking the drivers of two vehicles in order for safe passage, they were most apologetic for delaying the delivery and causing an obstruction.

No grief from them at all :)

I'm glad to hear that they were accommodating.

It's a tad bit different here though, i've had grief, not always, but on one or two occasions.

One guy said he couldn't move the car as he was only in the door 2 hours previously after drinking all night.

Nonetheless, the stories are positive in the majority.

Again, the approach and attitude of the driver has a lot to do with it most of the time.

If the driver is narky or cranky that will backfire.

Polite manners never cost a person anything and you seem like a nice polite person judging by the reception you received. :)

I'm glad to hear that they were accommodating.

It's a tad bit different here though, i've had grief, not always, but on one or two occasions.

One guy said he couldn't move the car as he was only in the door 2 hours previously after drinking all night.

Nonetheless, the stories are positive in the majority.

Again, the approach and attitude of the driver has a lot to do with it most of the time.

If the driver is narky or cranky that will backfire.

Polite manners never cost a person anything and you seem like a nice polite person judging by the reception you received. :)

I apologised more to them for disturbing them than they apologised for the obstruction.

As you say the right approach has a big bearing on the outcome.

Believe it or not, just had a look at the delivery board for Monday and one of the residents who was awoken from their Saturday morning slumber has placed an order for delivery on Monday, unaware that we actually delivered so far from our location to theirs.
    According to the sales guy just now, he said she appreciated the good mannered approach this morning and found herself getting a good deal on her decking too :)

Have you done many lessons? many scheduled between now and then?

Where abouts are you doing it?

not done lessons since before halloween. id book the test back in october and got a date in january but i was away and hadnt been driving so postponed it. ive done the test once that got a heap of lessons but stopped n then went back for more lessons months later and thats where i am now. booked into do the test in finglas. would have got the test 1st time but the gearbox on the truck was banjaxed