Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Non-Nationals attacking Taxi drivers in West Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,142 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Yeah, see the people that don’t live it just make silly jokes and pretend everything is normal as you can see from this thread.

It’s horrible feeling like a stranger in your own country.

Whats worse is the denial from society that there is a problem.

I had youths coming up to my face saying “black power”.

Going to work for 60hours a week and coming home to that crap was too much.

I empathise with west Dublin people who can’t get a taxi home.i dont blame the taxi men. They are entitled to be safe.

I blame people who are afraid of being honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭mrhoppy

Fair enough. I was only going on what I’ve seen. I don’t be out and about in Lusk as much as I used to.

Well enough for ya, stay away, it's a kip :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

mrhoppy wrote: »
    Well enough for ya, stay away, it's a kip :)

The Stage!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭ZeroThreat

anewme wrote: »

Whats worse is the denial from society that there is a problem.

I had youths coming up to my face saying “black power”.

Going to work for 60hours a week and coming home to that crap was too much.

I empathise with west Dublin people who can’t get a taxi home.i dont blame the taxi men. They are entitled to be safe.

I blame people who are afraid of being honest.

Boards.ie tends to have a relatively high proportion of Irish times reading/gated community upper middle class Fintan O'Toole virture signalling ivory tower types who care nothing for the concerns of the 'plebs' sadly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Rumpy Pumpy

I've colleagues who bought a house in Balbriggan during the madness of the Celtic Tiger housing bubble. Unfortunately, it doesn't appear to be a nice place to try and bring up a family. They don't mince their words as to what is causing the increasing amount of social discord taking place in the area. Male teenagers of African origin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mrs Shuttleworth

511 wrote: »
    We have our own home-grown gangs, so wouldn't importing more increase the number of gangs in Ireland. My understanding of basic maths would indicate the answer is yes, but obviously that's too complex for you to comprehend.

Who are more violent than the previous tenants. We're always being told that immigration benefits us and multiculturalism works, but I'm not sure how Ireland is benefiting from Africans having an employment rate of 40%, most of them living on rent allowance and the communities requiring extra policing to stop them for mugging us.

There's not much we can do with Irish scumbags because they're born here, but we can stop taking in Africa's and pay the ones here to return to their ancestral homeland before we end up with 350 years of racial tension like in America.

I own an apartment in Dublin 15, rented out to an American girl with a degree in biophysics and looking for work here. Immigration have told her to leave the country by the end of January as she should have been applying for work outside the country. Yet in the apartment right next door are living a family from Kazakhstan on rent allowance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,806 ✭✭✭iamtony

humberklog wrote: »
    Or let's throw in some holistically poor areas of Dublin (off the top of my head): Jobstown, Clonshaugh, Darndale, Sean McDermott St, Sherrifer? Don't see much evidence of such trouble with gangs of Irish teens with African parents there.

Clonshaugh? That's not a poor or rough area. I've lived their all my life. It's not d4 but it's far from rough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I've colleagues who bought a house in Balbriggan during the madness of the Celtic Tiger housing bubble. Unfortunately, it doesn't appear to be a nice place to try and bring up a family. They don't mince their words as to what is causing the increasing amount of social discord taking place in the area. Male teenagers of African origin.

Don't worry I'm sure the inevitable white flight will sort their problem and then we'll be as advanced as the other western countries we are so jealous of. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

You think if you got rid of Africans you'd know everyone? Or that if they turned white you wouldn't feel awkward? Because if they looked the same as you, you wouldn't notice them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

511 wrote: »
    We have our own home-grown gangs, so wouldn't importing more increase the number of gangs in Ireland. My understanding of basic maths would indicate the answer is yes, but obviously that's too complex for you to comprehend.

See the two words I put in bold? You're using them wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,806 ✭✭✭iamtony

As a taxi driver, I've never been robbed but I will say the ethnic group I've had the most trouble with are white Irish late teen/early twenties.
    Its a Shame a group of teens from blanch who just happen to be black are starting a race war in a way.
    Unfortunately us Irish are generally very racist but we like to cover it up. I hear it in the taxi all the time. I'm not racist but....
    This is just a sad product of poverty and possibly revolt from racism they have received from their peers in school.
    My 14 year old used to be best friends in primary school with a black guy, no idea where he's from but unfortunately society has pressured him to fitting in with his own kind. Very sad but this is going to get a lot worse.
    Even the whole vigalante thing is probably racially motivated. Plenty of Irish scumbags they could of focused on over the last decade but because it's the blacks people decide to mobilise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭JenovaProject

Grayson wrote: »
    You think if you got rid of Africans you'd know everyone? Or that if they turned white you wouldn't feel awkward? Because if they looked the same as you, you wouldn't notice them.
    See the two words I put in bold? You're using them wrong.

Heres your "right on" badge.
    Some smell off those posts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Rumpy Pumpy

Bambi wrote: »
    Don't worry I'm sure the inevitable white flight will sort their problem and then we'll be as advanced as the other western countries we are so jealous of. :D

Always thought you were a Republican Socialist, Bambi. Even of the stickie tradition. :eek:

I'm not living in Balbriggan, but it's not a nice place to live by all accounts. Which is a shame.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,649 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

ZeroThreat wrote: »
    Boards.ie tends to have a relatively high proportion of Irish times reading/gated community upper middle class Fintan O'Toole virture signalling ivory tower types who care nothing for the concerns of the 'plebs' sadly.

I’m going to challenge this “gated community” nonsense again. They don’t exist.

I read the Irish Times. I am probably upper middle class, based on education and earnings. But I grew up in a working class area of Tallaght. The complaints I see about black teenagers are exactly what my peers were up to when I was a teenager in Tallaght.

Virtue signalling is a meaningless phrase.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

Always thought you were a Republican Socialist, Bambi. Even of the stickie tradition. :eek:

I'm not living in Balbriggan, but it's not a nice place to live by all accounts. Which is a shame.

I used to live in Balbriggan. It’s grand.

I was talking to a friend who still lives there yesterday. He was laughing at the nonsense going on. His assessment was similar to my own, it’s teenagers being teenagers. The backlash is being led by ex Provos who want to seem relevant.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

Brian? wrote:
    I’m going to challenge this “gated community†nonsense again. They don’t exist.

I've said this before. It's not fcuking South Africa we live in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

Brian? wrote: »
    I used to live in Balbriggan. It’s grand.

I was talking to a friend who still lives there yesterday. He was laughing at the nonsense going on. His assessment was similar to my own, it’s teenagers being teenagers. The backlash is being led by ex Provos who want to seem relevant.

I do live there and it’s not grand. It’s not “no go areas” and “people are afraid to leave their homes” like what is being pushed on alt-right sites/articles but there are issues. There’s incidents daily and they are mostly coming from a certain demographic.

I’m more concerned about what’s coming down the line. These “teenagers being teenagers” (that’s not the case at all) won’t be teenagers forever.

This is exactly the kind of attitude from people who don’t have a clue.

It’s very obvious when you are the only Irish person on the road.

There was no neighbourly spirit, very transient because of renters, lack of care of area, very poor because of EHB, I remember someone came to visit me and they were shocked at the place.

When you are working hard to keep a roof over your head, and you are the only one doing so(with the exception of one close neighbour family) it becomes depressing and you wonder why you bother.

I have no problem living where an area has a mix of people but I dont want to live in an area where most people are immigrants on social welfare.

I’m going to challenge this “gated community” nonsense again. They don’t exist.

I read the Irish Times. I am probably upper middle class, based on education and earnings. But I grew up in a working class area of Tallaght. The complaints I see about black teenagers are exactly what my peers were up to when I was a teenager in Tallaght.

Virtue signalling is a meaningless phrase.

A gated Community does not have to have a “gate.”

Maybe the “gate”is your earnings.

I grew up in a very working Class area in West Dublin before we had this influx of immigrants. There was a great sense of Community.

So I will always be working class, maybe now working class made good.

To move to somewhere that ended up being a transient dumping ground for immigrants on social welfare was not a nice experience. Part of the problem was the Celtic tiger, with people being able to keep their house, rent it and move somewhere nicer themselves.

By moving up the ladder and taking in debt meant for me getting out of living that whole cycle of poverty and the challenges that come with it.

There’s no physical gate here, but it’s a totally different way of life not being in a minority, but I know what other people here are saying.

A gated Community does not have to have a “gate.”

Actually it does. I've seen plenty of them in the US. I actually lived in one for a while. In an ivory tower. ;)

This whole "liberal elite, gated community, virus signalling" line of debate is lifted straight out of US alt right sites or talking heads. It doesn't really work for Ireland though. I find it really grates.
    I grew up in a very working Class area in West Dublin before we had this influx of immigrants. There was a great sense of Community.

So I will always be working class, maybe now working class made good.

To move to somewhere that ended up being a transient dumping ground for immigrants on social welfare was not a nice experience. Part of the problem was the Celtic tiger, with people being able to keep their house, rent it and move somewhere nicer themselves.

By moving up the ladder and taking in debt meant for me getting out of living that whole cycle of poverty and the challenges that come with it.

There’s no gate, but it’s a totally different way of life, but I know what other people here are saying.

It sounds like we've had similar life paths. When I look back on some of the things I saw as a kid, a "sense of community" isn't high on the list.

Are you trying to say the gate is metaphorical? I don't disagree. But everyone has a key, it's called hard work.

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

Actually it does. I've seen plenty of them in the US. I actually lived in one for a while. In an ivory tower. ;)

This whole "liberal elite, gated community, virus signalling" line of debate is lifted straight out of US alt right sites or talking heads. It doesn't really work for Ireland though. I find it really grates.

It sounds like we've had similar life paths. When I look back on some of the things I saw as a kid, a "sense of community" isn't high on the list.

Are you trying to say the gate is metaphorical? I don't disagree. But everyone has a key, it's called hard work.

I think also the problem is the size of these areas; they are too big and very anonymous. We grew up in a very small estate of 80; if the teens st the time were acting the candyman, The Da’s knew exactly where to follow up.

Yep that’s exactly what I’m trying to say, hard hard work plus a bit of luck (celtic tiger) worked for me.

That said, even on a decent salary if you were married with children and had taken out a big mortgage initially, it would be hard to get out.

I’ve a friend in Bslbriggsn and like Sheikh says above, there are challenges that you’d rather be without. He’s worried about bringing up his kids when the kids there get older, but despite a good job he’s mortgaged to hilt and is very frustrated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,686 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Some people don't be that lucky and the ones who are lucky are the ones who dont work.

That's one of the problems

If my mother tongue is shaking the foundations of your state, it probably means you built your state on my land.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,686 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

When you are working hard to keep a roof over your head, and you are the only one doing so(with the exception of one close neighbour family) it becomes depressing and you wonder why you bother.

You work hard, and they enjoy the fruits. its a disgusting system in this country.

We are taken for mugs.

If my mother tongue is shaking the foundations of your state, it probably means you built your state on my land.

EVENFLOW

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,321 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

iamtony wrote: »
    As a taxi driver, I've never been robbed but I will say the ethnic group I've had the most trouble with are white Irish late teen/early twenties.
    Its a Shame a group of teens from blanch who just happen to be black are starting a race war in a way.
    Unfortunately us Irish are generally very racist but we like to cover it up. I hear it in the taxi all the time. I'm not racist but....
    This is just a sad product of poverty and possibly revolt from racism they have received from their peers in school.
    My 14 year old used to be best friends in primary school with a black guy, no idea where he's from but unfortunately society has pressured him to fitting in with his own kind. Very sad but this is going to get a lot worse.
    Even the whole vigalante thing is probably racially motivated. Plenty of Irish scumbags they could of focused on over the last decade but because it's the blacks people decide to mobilise.
    Yep and I agree and again it shows the notion of multiculturalism is seriously problematic. It quite simply doesn't work at worst, at the very best it adds to existing social problems in a society. This is a demonstrable reality and one we can see everywhere this social experiment is in operation.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

RustyNut wrote: »
    Any evidence that these lads are not Irish yet?

Likewise any evidence that they are?

You are labelling them as Irish without knowing anything about them and for all you know, they dont even want to be considered Irish.

My uncle moved out of ireland 50 years ago and still classes himself as irish as does his children. We constantly here about the "undocumented Irish" in america, based off the logic of some here thats racist and they should be called Americans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

I've family living out by Balbriggan and Blanchardstown as well as other parts that I visit a few times a year. Some are black while others are half black half Latino. Same as myself but I live in the US.

It's funny reading the blind defense and getting bent outta shape by some posters to deny problems by what I presume are white Irish people. I've seen it with my own eyes when there. Only recently over the Christmas. And I hear the stories when Skyping with family. They are living there a long time and they say it's definitely changed and it's all black gangs. Some of my family have lived in gang areas out here in the US so they know. And I'm in law enforcement and very familiar with gang behavior. What I witnessed in Dublin over the Christmas is an emulation of what I've seen here in terms of mannerisms and clothing.

That **** would want to be stomped out soon before you end up with no go hoods. Always found Ireland to be accepting as have my family with very low reports of racism. Mostly drunken slurs and such. But you can't dump people from one race all into an area with low levels of poverty. That's some major oversight by whoever is responsible for that happening.

I see others have been called racist for similar statements. Let's see if the black man can be a racist here too.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,321 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

But you can't dump people from one race all into an area with low levels of poverty.
    Exactly. It's not even about "race" El H, it's about obvious differences between groups. It can be skin colour, but it can also be culture, religion, ethnicity. Humans may be a social animal, but we're also a very tribal one too and we don't mix well, certainly not equally. Irish culture is extremely tribal, which will likely make this kinda thing worse.
    That's some major oversight by whoever is responsible for that happening.
    More likely ignore it and it'll go away thinking with no single individual responsible and any that would be in the decisions process don't have to live in such areas. With some "right on", if genuinely heartfelt, but extremely naive thinking on top.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

Some people don't be that lucky and the ones who are lucky are the ones who dont work.

That's one of the problems

Luck has nothing to do with it. I've a good life because I worked hard in school, college, work and a post grad. To say I'm lucky is an insult. I've put in decades of graft.

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I'm just a realist, I don't think we're going to somehow succeed where far more able societies has failed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭pumpkin4life

Luck has nothing to do with it. I've a good life because I worked hard in school, college, work and a post grad. To say I'm lucky is an insult. I've put in decades of graft.

While I disagree with the whole genetic reductionist view (it's all in the genes and I can do nothing to improve my position)
    IQ and to a lesser degree personality traits (hard work can be quantified in terms of the Big Five Personality test as conscientiousness) have a massive genetic component to them.

This is becoming a nightmare. because as more and more jobs become automated, more and more people get kicked out of the workforce. Become a computer programmer! Sorry, that ain't going to fly.

The liberal lad seems to think that everyone is equal and everything is fine and dandy like and we just need to remove or demolish existing social structures, which is complete bullcrap.

The conservative lad seems to think that those scum on the dole should just get up and work harder, which is complete bullcrap as well.

Like I said before, I think a lot of these problems (mass immigration for example) stem from public sector bennies who have no conception of how other people think and operate outside their circle.