Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Honda Civic petrol or vw tdi Passat 2008

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

But tax doesn't add monetary value to a car. Might make it easier to sell alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Sexual Chocolate

Obviously but the seller is going to use it as an excuse to get what he wants for it. When you break it down 8 months on a 1.8 works out at 424.

If he got 3k for it he should be greatful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭byrnem31

zweton wrote: »
    Ok lads what about this one? Just went up recently. Dont think it has the panaoramic roof.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/honda-civic-1-8l-petrol/17824784

I like that colour. These cars hold their value.
    I've mine now a couple of weeks and love it. Plenty of poke in them and I'm averaging 40mpg which isn't bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,522 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

The tax is worth its value to the buyer to be fair but if you’re gonna pay big money for a 12 year old Civic, get one with some toys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,688 ✭✭✭zweton

What toys are missing bar panoramic roof? Guessing most?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭TooObvious

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    For the type s and the saloon it only came down to €570

I couldn't understand why the tax was so high on my Type S when I bought it originally, as all of the info that i could find on line suggested that it should have been in the €390 bracket. To this end, I appealed the CO2 Emissions to the Revenue and argued that the emissions were 152gm as opposed to 156gm. I sent through all of the relevant info I could find, and they accepted my appeal without any fuss. I've renewed the tax on it 3 times now so that's €570 in my back pocket.

What toys are missing bar panoramic roof? Guessing most?

Fogs, passenger side temperature control, cruise control and leather/heated seats. Some of the newer ones/UK ones have built in sat nav.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

TooObvious wrote: »
    I couldn't understand why the tax was so high on my Type S when I bought it originally, as all of the info that i could find on line suggested that it should have been in the €390 bracket. To this end, I appealed the CO2 Emissions to the Revenue and argued that the emissions were 152gm as opposed to 156gm. I sent through all of the relevant info I could find, and they accepted my appeal without any fuss. I've renewed the tax on it 3 times now so that's €570 in my back pocket.
    Could you pm me more info on this?

byrnem31 wrote: »
    I've mine now a couple of weeks and love it. Plenty of poke in them and I'm averaging 40mpg which isn't bad.

Will accept 3k for it, what do ya think. Still overpriced ?

According to parkers the co2 on those civics is 156. Where did you get the 152 figure from?

Wave 2700 in front of him and see what he says.

I’ll be up that way over the weekend - if you’re serious about buying it.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2007-honda-civic-1-8-es-5dr/17849976

Heres one that was added yesterday for much cheaper and a year newer.

Edit

When I look at the ad more I'm quite sure that was for sale in Dublin at the start of the month when I was looking for one myself. The damage on the rear passanger door rings a bell. Also down as transferred to dealer on the 22nd Jan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭piobhan

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2007-honda-civic-1-8-es-5dr/17849976

Heres one that was added yesterday for much cheaper and a year newer.

Edit

When I look at the ad more I'm quite sure that was for sale in Dublin at the start of the month when I was looking for one myself. The damage on the rear passanger door rings a bell. Also down as transferred to dealer on the 22nd Jan.

Your right, it was for sale a few weeks back. The damage is memorable, well spotted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Those Civics linked here would get 5-7k easily here. I paid 6500chf (5900e) in March for a high spec 2006 with 93k kms.

https://www.donedeal.ie/view/17852931

Called up about that one, looked lovely, low mileage, Honda history and great spec, ad was up only a few hours and it was sold

piobhan wrote: »
    https://www.donedeal.ie/view/17852931

Called up about that one, looked lovely, low mileage, Honda history and great spec, ad was up only a few hours and it was sold

That's definitely not a top spec model. It lacks the dual zone climate control for a start and im not so sure if it has the panoramic roof either or auto wipers?

No it’s the same spec as someone on this thread got. Same as the standard model but with heated leather.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    No it’s the same spec as someone on this thread got. Same as the standard model but with heated leather.

Just saying cause the dealer thinks it's top spec. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,229 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

It's in fantastic condition anyway, same car as mine, color n all

That’s what I thought, great condition and decent history, I would have bought it

That's a lovely car. They are the nicest in the black and that's better with cream leather.
    I would have bought that one over the one I bough few weeks back. It's always the same when looking for a car.

I folded down the back seats in my civic today and carried cavity blocks and bags of Mortar and cement in the back. Handy little car to have.

That's definitely not a top spec model. It lacks the dual zone climate control for a start and im not so sure if it has the panoramic roof either or auto wipers?

Thats the same as mine, wouldnt call it top spec but its still good all the same.

According to parkers the co2 on those civics is 156. Where did you get the 152 figure from?

Ah, should have said, and only occurred to me afterwards, it was because my model is the i-shift gearbox. This apparently produces less CO2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Ah, should have said, and only occurred to me afterwards, it was because my model is the i-shift gearbox. This apparently produces less CO2

Great to see someone else drives an iShift :)

And you know what - i'm delighted with it. Upshifts as quick as i need it to, so handy for city driving, and grand for a blast across country as well. Never had a problem with the I-shift.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Likewise. I do mostly motorway driving but around town it's absolutely fine too.

It got a lot of bad press I think, once you are aware of what you are driving it's perfectly competent but if you are expecting it to perform like a torque conveter automatic you will probably be in for a bad time.

Good to hear yours has been reliable as that is my biggest concern with it, I've 130k kms on it and it still changes smoothly, no clutch slip or missing gears etc.

Nice one owner and low kms. Not a huge fan of that trim level but it sure is a nice car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭Hugo_Whoriskey

Lovely car alright, if it was the ES version I'd be trying to get myself and a mechanic out to see it.

Still on the hunt (know I'd mentioned main dealers previously but think it's too much of a premium alright.
    Thankfully some insurance quotes I got for feelers weren't too insane, first policy as a main driver

Lovely car alright, if it was the ES version I'd be trying to get myself and a mechanic out to see it.

Still on the hunt (know I'd mentioned main dealers previously but think it's too much of a premium alright.
    Thankfully some insurance quotes I got for feelers weren't too insane, first policy as a main driver

I know it's not the highest spec but if that car is as good as it looks the spec wouldn't bother me so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭Hugo_Whoriskey

I know it's not the highest spec but if that car is as good as it looks the spec wouldn't bother me so much.

I know but I'm not in a rush to buy so would prefer the higher spec ES, some nice things have in that spec

Mine is an se spec. Has parking sensors and all. Air con, electric mirrors etc. Heated leather seats.

Is that a low spec though se ?

I think it just hadn't got front fogs. I couldn't see anything else different from mine.

Heres one for the dreamers thread.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/honda-civic-1-8-type-s-sport-3dr/17840021

NzUyMWI0MDFhZDI0NGVjODI0YjMyODIyYmNlYzk1ODA5fhsSIVjBfP29vHq0eLCoaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b185NDIwNTMzM3x8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

Mine is an se spec. Has parking sensors and all. Air con, electric mirrors etc. Heated leather seats.

Is that a low spec though se ?

It’s not low spec, you get the heated leather as extra above the base model. Even the base model has a decent amount of kit. It’s just (for me anyway) the extras the ES has (and keep in mind there are higher specs than that that more again) can’t really be retrofitted (auto lights/wipers, glass roof, cruise, dual climate) and to my mind the leather is at odds with the whole spaceship thing!

I think it just hadn't got front fogs. I couldn't see anything else different from mine.

Heres one for the dreamers thread.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/honda-civic-1-8-type-s-sport-3dr/17840021

NzUyMWI0MDFhZDI0NGVjODI0YjMyODIyYmNlYzk1ODA5fhsSIVjBfP29vHq0eLCoaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b185NDIwNTMzM3x8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

Seen.a few more the same as that one by them for similar money. They are very overpriced even by main dealer standards but to be fair the cars seem to be in excellent condition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,837 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

Gearbox in the civic can be troublesome.bearings tend to go some lads specialize in reconditioning them it’s that common.a lot of people reckon the civic is bulletproof but they do suffer problems but that’s the joys of motoring like most cars

The 8th gen civic is not bullet proof but it is still one of the most reliable cars of it's era. Not saying you are wrong or that it doesn't happen but I've never seen gearbox bearings going in.an 8th gen civic. I know the previous model suffered from it alrite.

The 5th and 6th generation civics were as reliable as cars got though.

On the 6 speed?

What's the story when you get these cars nct'd with no spare wheel ?
    What do you do ?

What's the story when you get these cars nct'd with no spare wheel ?
    What do you do ?

They never came with a spare wheel. It was an optional extra.

I’ve never even seen one with it as an option. traded in a 2005 one (very rare) with a spare but it wasn’t actually fixed into the boot.

Yeah but do you not need to show a spare wheel in the boot to pass the nct ?

Nope, it’s not a requirement. Loads of cars don’t have spares these days.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I’ve never even seen one with it as an option. traded in a 2005 one (very rare) with a spare but it wasn’t actually fixed into the boot.

You could and probably still can buy them from honda but they are expensive afaik. Got one from a breakers for mine.

I don't have one in mine but my mate has one of the yellow space savers in his Type S.

Off topic but was up at a Honda only breakers up at Antrim town yesterday (not for my yoke). Few EP3s and FN2s as well as a few ordinary hatches. Nice little set up he had. He did mention that he mostly sells body parts/pannels opposed to engine parts giving how reliable they are.

Thought I done well for 40 quid petrol up and back from Dublin. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭greasepalm

if they ask where my spare wheel is i point to my belly:eek::D:D.
    on another note i had a 2007 tdci passat in with failed offside inner steering arm worn,nope it was ok issue was up and down movement in rack:eek::eek:

Never considered a diesel. They reliable like petrol model?

Never knew the diesel was only 140 bhp !